Albert-Ludwigs-Universität Freiburg – The University of Freiburg as a driving force of the European Campus

The European Campus is the centre of the transregional research area on the Upper Rhine. The University of Freiburg joins forces with the universities of Basel, Upper Alsace and Strasbourg, and the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology in placing cross-­border research and teaching on a new plat­­form to reinforce their common position in the international arena. In the form of a European Grouping of Territorial Cooperation (EGTC), the consortium of universities is to be granted university-equivalent rights that will enable them to submit joint research applications, endow chairs and offer courses of study. With the combined competencies of the 15,000 researchers, 11,000 doctoral students and 115,000 students, the consortium seeks to create a clearly defined research area without borders and with a presence on the international stage.

A crucial element in establishing the Campus are three Interreg projects. The central project “Eucor – The European Campus: Cross-Border Structures” aims to reduce administrative burdens and set up a modern research infrastructure. A second project facilitates the development of an Upper Rhine Cluster for Sustainability Research. The focus of the third Interreg project, which is implemented by the University of Koblenz Landau in cooperation with the European Campus, is establishing a Trinational Graduate Academy in the field of risk management.

  1. Address

    Friedrichstraße 39
    79098 Freiburg
    Tel +49 761 203-0
    Fax +49 761 203-4369

  2. Chancellor

     Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Hans-Jochen Schiewer

  3. Year of establishment


  4. Number of students


  5. Employees


  6. Study programme

    Academic teaching and research in 11 faculties and in over 200 degree courses