Walter Hoffmann: Darmstadt is … culture

The city registry states that “Darmstadt has never made big history.” Adding: “… the city’s true history [was] the history of her culture, which still holds true today.” It is hard to find a more appropriate description of the enormous significance that art and culture have for our fair and fascinating city.

The cultural history of Darmstadt began to flourish with music and theatre at the elector’s court. In 1600, Landgrave Louis V established an orchestra and initiated first theatrical spectacles. Around 1670, the first German theatre was born in Darmstadt. Between 1771 and 1773, the “Great Landgravine” Caroline surrounded herself with the literary circle of sentimentalists. At the beginning of the 19th century, famous composers such as Carl Maria von Weber and Giacomo Meyerbeer were drawn to our city.

With “Peace to the cottages, war on the palaces!”, the most famous of Darmstadt’s writers, Georg Büchner, founded a culture of critical clamour against ignorance, injustice and oppression, which has lived on in Darmstadt to this day. Proof that Darmstadt also has the ability to wrap criticism in humour is given by Ernst Elias Niebergall, whose Datterich holds Eulenspiegel before the “Heiners” (locals).

01_Waldspirale_Hundertwasser__AfWS__Alex_Deppert_

At the beginning of the 20th century, drama flourished in Darmstadt. Under Gustav Hartung, Ernst Legal and Carl Ebert, the Darmstadt theatre gained the reputation of an avant-garde stage. The same period saw a boom in Darmstadt literature, where famous names like Mierendorff, Wolfskehl, Schiebelhuth, and Edschmid played an important role. All that came to an abrupt halt in 1933, a cultureless period in many respects – unfortunately in Darmstadt as well.

Only in the fifties, the Darmstadt theatre could live up to previous apogees again. In 1972, the newly construct­­ed Hessian state theatre was inaugurated. In Darmstadt, the independent theatre scene counts about 32 groups and more than 250 performances per year. The Moller Haus theatre and the socio-cultural centre Bessunger Knabenschule are the most famous event locations of the independent scene. The playhouses “halbNeun” and “TAP die Komödie” complete the theatrical offering.

Darmstadt’s opera tradition is also of exceptional qual­­ity, where names like Karl Böhm and Hans Drewanz are closely linked with the state theatre orchestra. Chamber concerts and contributions by discerning choirs complete the picture. Events such as the Guitar Days and the Blues Week, concerts by Philharmonie Merck, as well as the Darmstadt Residenzfestspiele and the Promenaden­konzerte complement the musical life. For many years, the Schlossgrabenfest has given a wide latitude to the local heroes of the pop and rock scene.

The Academy of Musical Art stands in a long tradition and is held in high esteem. The German Chopin society (Chopin-Gesellschaft Darmstadt) opens the door to in­­ter­­national careers for the best young pianists. The Darmstadt Inter­­national Summer Courses for New Music with the International Music Institute Darmstadt as the global centre for new music have developed a broad inter­­national presence. The Jazzinstitut makes documents related to this significant music style accessible through its scientific work and, along with the Darmstadt Jazz Forum, represents a renowned inter­­national meeting point for researchers and jazz musicians.


jesus_christ_superstar_07

From 1950, the tradition of critically analyzing the current themes was resumed by the “Darmstädter Gespräche” symposiums, which were perceived as an intellectual event in all of Germany. Great European minds such as Günter Grass debated the challenges of the new era.

Darmstadt is proud to be the seat of the German Polish Institute, which does ground-breaking work for international understanding in various cultural and scientific areas. The German P.E.N. Center is committed to persecuted writers and, every year, awards the Hermann Kesten Award for outstanding merits in this field. The Georg Büchner Prize, the most important German literature prize, is associated with the German Academy for Language and Literature. The German Literature Fund, based in Darmstadt, as well as the poetry competition “Literarischer März” are instances of the promotion of young poets and writers. Darmstadt also operates the Literaturhaus (house of literature), where authors are given a podium. The Literaturhaus also supports the “Zentrum junge Literatur” (centre for young literature) for the promotion of young talents and is the home of a great number of literary and cultural associations.

Georg Moller is one of the key names when it comes to Darmstadt’s building culture. The artist colony brought to life on the Mathildenhöhe by Grand Duke Ernest Louis around 1900 earned Darmstadt a significant artistic emergence. With the Jugendstil’s will for new forms and the life reform movement, the young architects and artisans in the following of Joseph Maria Olbrich and Peter Behrens have changed much more than just home décor. In its historical exhibition building, the Mathildenhöhe Institute presents internationally noted exhibitions on contemporary art as well as the art around 1900. The exhibitions of the Kunsthalle art gallery and the Darmstädter Sezession asso­ciation, the “Vogelfrei” art biennial and the International Forest Art Association comple­ment the spectrum of the visual arts, as do the activities of the artists’ workshop Atelier­­haus Darmstadt and a multitude of independent artists. The developments in design become tangible in the Design House on the Mathildenhöhe as well as in the design faculty of the Darmstadt College. Darmstädter Tage der Foto­­grafie is giving Darmstadt a discerning festival with international participation.

10_07_17_imd_ah_0439

An article about the culture and cultural history of Darmstadt would be incomplete without the museums, so let me just mention the Hessian state museum as their representative, where, among others, you can see the world’s largest body of works by Joseph Beuys.

This albeit sketchy overview of Darmstadt’s past and present art and culture alone proves it: Darmstadt was and is … culture.

Foto-NEU-Walter-Hoffmann-09Walter Hoffmann was born in the Waldeck-Frankenberg district in 1952. He studied education in Kassel and completed postgraduate studies
at the Academy of Work in Frankfurt on the Main. After holding offices at the German trade union confederation and the lower house of the German parliament, Walter Hoffmann has been senior mayor of Darmstadt, the city of science, since 2005.

Walter Hoffmann: Darmstadt ist … Kultur

„Darmstadt hat nie große Geschichte gemacht.“ So heißt es im Darmstädter Bürgerbuch. Und ergänzend: „… die be­­deut­­same Geschichte der Stadt [war] ihre Kultur­­geschichte, und dies ist bis heute so geblieben.“ Treffender kann man kaum beschreiben, welch hohe Bedeutung Kunst und Kultur für unsere schöne und spannende Stadt haben.

Das Aufblühen der Kulturgeschichte Darmstadts begann am kurfürstlichen Hof mit Musik und Theater. Im Jahre 1600 gründete Landgraf Ludwig V. ein Orchester und ließ erste theatralische Spektakel geben. Um 1670 entstand in Darmstadt das erste Theater Deutschlands. Von 1771 bis 1773 sammelte die Große Landgräfin Karo­line den litera­rischen Kreis der Empfindsamen um sich. Zu Beginn des 19. Jahrhunderts zog es berühmte Komponisten wie Carl Maria von Weber oder Giacomo Meyerbeer in unsere Stadt.

Der berühmteste Darmstädter Schriftsteller, Georg Büchner, begründete mit „Friede den Hütten! Krieg den Palästen!“ eine Kultur des kritischen Aufbegehrens gegen Ignoranz, Ungerechtigkeit und Unterdrückung, die in Darmstadt bis heute weiterlebt. Dass der Darmstädter durchaus in der Lage ist, Kritik auch in Humor zu verpacken, beweist das Werk von Ernst Elias Niebergall, der mit seinem Datterich den Heinern den Eulenspiegel vorhielt.

01_Waldspirale_Hundertwasser__AfWS__Alex_Deppert_

Der Beginn des zwanzigsten Jahrhunderts brachte eine Blütezeit des Schauspiels in Darmstadt. Unter Gustav Hartung, Ernst Legal und Carl Ebert errang das Darmstädter Theater den Ruf einer Avantgarde-Bühne. In diese Zeit fällt auch der Aufschwung der Darmstädter Literatur, in der bekannte Namen wie Mierendorff, Wolfskehl, Schiebelhuth und Edschmid eine wichtige Rolle spielten. Das alles ging 1933 jäh zu Ende, in einer in vieler Hinsicht kulturlosen Zeit, leider auch in Darmstadt.

Erst in den fünfziger Jahren konnte das Darmstädter Theater wieder an alte Höhepunkte anknüpfen. 1972 konnte der Neubau des Hessischen Staatstheaters eingeweiht werden. Die freie Theaterszene zählt in Darmstadt etwa 32 Grup­­pen mit jährlich mehr als 250 Aufführungen. Das Theater Moller Haus und das soziokulturelle Zentrum Bessunger Knaben­schule sind die bekannten Veranstaltungshäuser der freien Szene. Das halbNeun Theater und die Komödie TAP vervollständigen das Theaterangebot.

Von besonderer Qualität ist auch die Darmstädter Opern­­tradition, die durch Namen wie Karl Böhm und Hans Drewanz eng mit dem Orchester des Staatstheaters ver­­bunden ist. Kammerkonzerte und die Beiträge an­­spruchs­­voller Chorvereinigungen vervollständigen das Bild. Ver­­an­­staltungen wie die Gitarrentage oder die Blueswoche, die Konzerte der Philharmonie Merck, die Residenz­­festspiele so­­wie die Promenadenkonzerte ergänzen das musikalische Leben. Das Schlossgrabenfest bietet den „local heroes“ der Pop- und Rockszene seit vielen Jahren breiten Raum.

Hoch angesehen ist die in einer langen Tradition stehen­­de Akademie für Tonkunst. Die Chopin-Gesellschaft öffnet den besten jungen Pianisten die Tür zu internationalen Karrieren. Eine breite internationale Ausstrahlung ent­­falten die Internationalen Ferienkurse für Neue Musik mit dem Internationalen Musikinstitut Darmstadt als dem Zentrum der neuen Musik weltweit. Das Jazzinstitut erschließt in seiner wissenschaftlichen Arbeit Dokumente dieses bedeutenden Musikstils und ist mit dem Darmstädter Jazzforum ein anerkannter internationaler Treffpunkt der Forscher und Jazzmusiker.,


jesus_christ_superstar_07

Die Tradition der kritischen Auseinandersetzung mit den Themen der Zeit nahmen ab 1950 die „Darmstädter Ge­­spräche“ auf, die deutschlandweit als geistiges Ereignis wahrgenommen wurden. Europäische Geistesgrößen wie Günter Grass debattierten die Herausforderungen der neuen Zeit.

Mit Stolz ist Darmstadt Sitz des Deutschen Polen-Instituts, das wegweisend für die Völkerverständigung in verschie­denen kulturellen und wissenschaftlichen
Arbeitsfeldern tätig ist. Das Deutsche P.E.N.-Zentrum setzt sich für ver­­folgte Autorinnen und Autoren ein und ver­­leiht jährlich die Hermann-Kesten-Medaille für besondere Verdienste auf diesem Gebiet. Mit der Deutschen Akademie für Sprache und Dichtung ist der wichtigste deutsche Literatur­­preis, der Georg-Büchner-Preis, verbunden. Der in Darm­­stadt ansässige Deutsche Literaturfonds sowie der Lyrik­­wettbewerb „Literarischer März“ sind Beispiele für die Förderung junger Dichter und Schriftsteller. Die Stadt Darmstadt betreibt zudem ein Literaturhaus, in dem Autorinnen und Autoren zu Wort kommen. Das Literatur­­haus unterhält auch das Zentrum junge Literatur zur Nachwuchsförderung und ist gleichzeitig Standort für eine große Anzahl literarischer und kultureller Vereine.
Georg Moller ist einer der wichtigsten Namen, wenn es um Darmstadts Baukultur geht. Mit der von Großherzog Ernst Ludwig um 1900 ins Leben gerufenen Künstlerkolonie auf der Mathildenhöhe erlebte Darmstadt einen bedeutenden künstlerischen Aufbruch. Junge Architekten und Kunsthandwerker um Joseph Maria Olbrich und Peter Behrens haben mit dem neuen Formwillen des Jugend­­stils und der Lebensreform weit mehr als nur die Wohn­­kultur verändert. Das Institut Mathildenhöhe präsentiert im histo­­rischen Ausstellungsgebäude international be­­­achtete Ausstellungen zur zeitgenössischen Kunst und zur Kunst um 1900. Die Ausstellungen der Kunsthalle und der Darm­­städter Sezession, die Kunstbiennale „Vogelfrei“ und der Verein Internationale Waldkunst ergänzen das Spektrum der bildenden Kunst ebenso wie die Aktivitäten des Atelier­­hauses Darmstadt sowie eine Vielzahl frei schaffender Künstlerinnen und Künstler. Im Design Haus auf der Mathil­­denhöhe und im Fachbereich Gestaltung der Hochschule Darmstadt werden die Entwicklungen im Design erfahrbar. Mit den Darmstädter Tagen der Foto­­grafie hat Darmstadt ein anspruchsvolles Festival mit internationaler Beteiligung.

10_07_17_imd_ah_0439

Ein Beitrag zu Kultur und Kulturgeschichte Darmstadts wäre unvollständig ohne die Museen, für die stellvertre­­tend das Hessische Landesmuseum genannt sei, in dem unter anderem der weltweit größte Werkkomplex von Joseph Beuys zu sehen ist.

Allein dieser, wenn auch lückenhafte Überblick über Geschichte und Gegenwart von Kunst und Kultur in Darmstadt beweist es: Darmstadt war und ist … Kultur.

Foto-NEU-Walter-Hoffmann-09Walter Hoffmann wurde 1952 im Kreis Waldeck-Frankenberg geboren. Er hat in Kassel ein Lehr­amts­­studium und ein Aufbaustudium an der Aka­demie für Arbeit in Frankfurt am Main absolviert. Nach Mandaten beim Deutschen Gewerkschafts­bund und im Deutschen Bundestag war Walter Hoffmann von 2005 – 2011 Oberbürgermeister der Wissenschaftsstadt Darmstadt.