Walter Heidl: Sustainable and forward-looking – Great potential in agriculture and forestry

Bavaria may have become a high-tech location, but the rural idyll that is still very much shaped by agriculture, is regarded as a sacred part by the Bavarians. Sustainability has thus been implemented on fertile ground with Bavaria being the first federal state to introduce a ministry for the environment.

 

A wide choice of healthy and high-quality foods, a well-­maintained cultural landscape with lush meadows and tilled fields, vibrant rural areas with lively villages: in much of Bavaria, this is not a dream, but reality. The secret is multi-functional agriculture and forestry with different business focuses and forms, and farmers who cultivate the cultural landscape com­­prehensively and sustain­­ably. Agri­cul­ture thus not only characterises the way Bavaria looks, but also makes a signif­­icant contribution to quality of life in the state. The around 100,000 family-run agri­­culture and forestry busi­­nesses in Bavaria represent a future-orientated industry and make Bavaria an attractive location.

Agricultural business – agriculture, forestry and the sectors upstream and downstream of them – is a key part of the Bavarian economy. One in every seven jobs is directly linked to agriculture, forestry and food. With turnover of over 100 billion euros, agriculture is a strong future-orientated industry, espe­­­cially in rural areas. Agricultural exports from Bavaria have enjoyed constant growth in recent years, above the average growth rates for exports in the Bavarian economy. Bavarian agriculture is characterised by variety and is very diverse. Working for themselves in rural areas, our Bavarian farmers are actively involved in business, depending on their location, preferences and suitability. Their activities, both as main and secondary occupations, today extend far beyond arable farming and animal husbandry. Farmers today are service providers, direct marketers, hosts on holiday farms and energy suppliers, to name but a few examples.

 

Bildvorschlag-BBV-(3)

Agriculture is part of the solution to some of the central challenges of the 21st century. According to estimates from the UN’s Food and Agriculture Organ­­ization (FAO), the world’s population will grow to around nine billion people by 2050. At the same time, people’s eating habits are changing, espe­­­cially in emerging nations such as India and China, where demand for highly processed products such as eggs, meat and sau­­sage products, as well as milk and dairy products, is grow­­ing. The FAO es­­ti­­mates that up to 70 per cent more food will be needed to feed the world’s expanding popu­­la­­tion. Bavar­­ian and European agriculture want to remain able to make their contribution to feeding the 500 million EU citizens and the world community. The means of production therefore need to be used in a more efficient and targeted way. This must also apply to agricultural areas, which is why the increasing use of areas needs to be stopped. While 3,800 square me­­t­res of arable land were available per capita in 1970, this has al­­ready sunk to less than 2,500 square metres. In Bavaria alone, over 500,000 hectares of agricultural land have been lost to residen­tial con­­struction and transport projects since 1970. This corre­­s­ponds to approximately the current area of arable and green land in the whole of Lower Bavaria. We urgently need to fundamentally rethink how we value and use agri­­cultural land.

Agriculture is also part of the solution when it comes to climate protection. At around six per cent, agriculture and for­­estry make up a comparatively small part of greenhouse gas emissions. This is because a large pro­portion of the CO2 emissions in food consumption are ab­­­­sorbed earlier during production. In agri­­culture and forestry, sustainability is therefore not just a modern catch­­word but an essential condition for maintaining the necessities of life. Farmers think in generations, not quar­­terly profits. Agri­­culture has a vested interest in cultivating the soil gently and sustainably and handling animals with care. Farmers in Bavaria meet the world’s strictest environ­­­mental and animal welfare regulations and receive compe­nsatory payments from the EU in return. In addition to these agri­­cultural environmental measures, Bavarian farmers also provide voluntary environmental services on one in three hectares.

Through its integration in EU policy, Ba­­varian agriculture is almost completely market-orientated. State inter­­vention and regulatory control in agri­­cultural policy are a thing of the past. But the competitiveness of Bavarian and Euro­­pean agriculture needs to be strength­­­ened further given the great global chal­­­lenges of food secur­ity, energy supply and the fight against climate change. Agriculture can play a key role in achiev­­ing the goal of the EU’s 2020 Strategy for smart, sustainable and inclusive growth. “Green growth” for jobs and economic power, especially in ru­­ral areas, is the guiding theme to which agriculture and forestry are orientating themselves.

 

337560_5895

The question of how the Common Euro­­pean Agri­­cul­­tural Policy (CAP) and therefore Bavarian agri­­culture will look going for­­ward affects not only farmers, but all of society. Soci­­ety rightly makes very high demands on agriculture – after all, it pro­­vides the ne­­cessities of life for all of us. At the same time, however, many people live in a world far away from the realities of agriculture and the work on the farms and in the fields and woods. The trend in public perceptions is to romanticise agri­­culture. We need a realistic and honest discussion. It is encouraging that, accord­­ing to a study by Euro­baro­­meter in 2010, over 90 per cent of Euro­­pean citizens consider agriculture and rural areas of vital importance for the future of Europe. The majority supported the goals of the Common Agri­­cul­­tural Policy. Over 80 per cent of the EU citizens asked were in favour of retaining the European agricultural payments­­. This shows that there is a broad consensus in society in favour of the goals and structure of the CAP. Plans for the CAP in the future need to build on this. Ba­­va­­ria’s farming families represent a type of agri­­culture that is sustainable, entre­preneur­­­­ial, efficient, con­­sumer-orientated, kind to animals and the environment, dynamic, progressive, com­­prehensive and diverse. And it will stay that way in the future.

The goal of my work as farmers’ president is to create farmers who are proud to be farmers, and a society that is proud of its farmers.

 

Heidl_WalterThe author was born in 1959 and gained a degree in Agricultural Engineering from Weihenstephan University of Applied Sciences. Married with children, his main job is as a farmer with his own farm in the Dingolfing-Landau district. Since 2012, Heidl has been President of the Baye­­rischer Bauernverband (Bavarian Farmers’ Association, BBV), a voluntary position.

Walter Heidl: Nachhaltig und zukunftsorientiert – Große Potenziale in Land- und Forstwirtschaft

Bayern mag ein Hightech-Standort geworden sein, doch die noch immer landwirtschaftlich geprägte Idylle im ländlichen Raum ist den Bayern heilig. Nachhaltigkeit fällt deshalb in jenem Bundesland, das als erstes ein Umweltministerium einführte, auf fruchtbaren Boden.

 

Eine große Auswahl an gesunden und hochwertigen Lebens­­­­mitteln, eine ge­­pflegte Kulturlandschaft mit satten Wie­­sen und bestellten Feldern sowie vitale ländliche Räume mit lebendigen Dör­­fern. All das ist in weiten Teilen Bayerns kein Wunschtraum, sondern Wirklich­keit. Dahinter steht eine multifunktio­­nale Land- und Forstwirtschaft mit unter­­schied­­lichen Betriebs­schwer­punkten und Betriebsformen und Bau­­ern, die Kulturlandschaft flächendeckend und nachhaltig bewirtschaften. Damit prägt die Landwirtschaft das Gesicht Bayerns nicht nur, sondern trägt auch zu einem wesentlichen Teil zur hohen Lebens­­qua­­lität im Freistaat bei. Die rund 100.000 land- und forstwirtschaftlichen Fami­­lien­­be­­triebe in Bay­­ern stehen für eine Zu­­kunftsbranche und machen Bayern zu einem attrak­­tiven Standort.

Das Agrarbusiness, die Land- und Forst­­­­wirtschaft mit ihrem vor- und nach­­gelagerten Bereich, ist ein wichtiger Be­­­­stand­teil der bayerischen Wirt­­schaft. Jeder siebte Arbeits­­­­­platz steht unmit­­tel­­bar mit der Land-, Forst- und Ernäh­­­­rungs­­­­wirt­schaft in Verbindung. Die Land­­­­­­­­wirtschaft ist gerade im ländlichen Raum mit über 100 Milliarden Euro eine umsatzstarke Zukunftsbranche. Die bayerischen Agrarexporte sind in den letzten Jahren kontinuierlich ge­­wach­­sen und lagen über den durchschnittlichen Exportzuwachsraten in der bayerischen Wirtschaft. Die baye­­ri­­sche Landwirtschaft zeichnet sich durch Viel­­falt aus und ist breit auf­­ge­­stellt. Als Selbstständige im ländlichen Raum sind unsere bay­erischen Land­­wirte je nach Standort, Neigung und Eig­­nung unternehmerisch aktiv. Die Tä­­tig­­keiten, ob im Haupt- oder Neben­­erwerb, gehen heute weit über Acker­­bau und Viehzucht hinaus. Landwirte sind heute beispiels­­weise Dienstleister, Direktvermarkter, Gastwirt auf dem Urlaubs­­bauernhof oder Energieversorger.

Bildvorschlag-BBV-(3)

Die Landwirtschaft ist Teil der Lösung für zentrale Heraus­­for­­derungen des 21. Jahrhunderts: Nach Schätzungen der Welt­­ernährungsorganisation FAO wird die Weltbe­völ­kerung bis zum Jahr 2050 auf etwa neun Milliarden Menschen an­­­­wachsen. Gleichzeitig ändern sich die Ernährungs­ge­wohn­heiten der Men­schen gerade in den Schwellenländern wie Indien oder China. Hier wächst die Nach­­frage nach hoch veredelten Produkten wie Eiern, Fleisch und Wurstwaren so­­wie Milch und Milchprodukten. Die FAO schätzt, dass zur Ernährung der wachsenden Weltbevölkerung bis zu 70 Pro­­zent mehr Lebensmittel gebraucht werden. Die bay­erische und europäische Landwirtschaft will weiterhin in der La­­ge sein, ihren Beitrag zur Versorgung der 500 Mil­lionen EU-Bürger und der Weltgemeinschaft zu leisten. Deshalb müssen Produktionsmittel künftig noch zielgerichteter und effizienter eingesetzt werden. Das hat auch und gerade für landwirtschaftliche Flächen zu gelten, weshalb auch der zunehmende Flächen­­ver­­brauch gestoppt werden muss. Stan­­den weltweit pro Kopf 1970 noch 3.800 Qua­­­­drat­­meter Ackerfläche zur Verfü­­gung, so sind es aktuell­ schon weniger als 2.500 Quadratmeter. Seit 1970 sind allein in Bayern über 500.000 Hektar landwirt­schaft­­­liche Fläche durch Sied­­lungs- und Verkehrs­projekte ver­­loren gegangen. Das ent­­spricht in etwa dem heutigen Um­fang an Ackerfläche und Grün­­land in ganz Nieder­bayern. Wir brau­­chen dringend ein grundsätz­­liches Um­­denken bei der Wertschätzung und der Nutzung von landwirtschaftlichen Flächen.

Auch beim Klimaschutz ist die Land­­wirtschaft Teil der Lö­­sung. Die Land- und Forstwirtschaft trägt mit einem Anteil von circa sechs Prozent zu einem vergleichsweise geringen Teil zur Emis­­sion klimawirksamer Gase bei. Denn ein großer Teil der CO2-Emissionen beim Ver­­zehr von Nahrungs­mitteln wird vorher bei der Erzeug­ung gebunden. Nach­­haltigkeit ist in der Land- und Forst­­­­wirtschaft also keine moderne Wort­­hülse sondern die Bedingung für den Erhalt der Lebensgrundlagen. Bäue­­r­­in­nen und Bauern denken in Gene­ra­tionen und nicht in Quartalszahlen. Es liegt im ureigensten Interesse der Land­­­­wirtschaft, den Boden nachhaltig und schonend zu bewirtschaften und sorgsam mit Tieren umzugehen. Die bayerischen Landwirte er­füllen die weltweit höchsten Umwelt- und Tierschutz­auf­lagen und erhalten dafür als Gegen­­leis­tung Ausgleichszahlungen der EU. Über die Agrarumweltmaßnahmen erbringen die bayerischen Bauern außerdem auf jedem dritten Hektar zusätzliche, freiwillige Umweltleistungen.

Durch die Einbindung in die EU-Politik besteht für die bay­­erische Landwirt­­schaft fast vollständige Markt­orien­tie­rung. Staatliche Eingriffe und ordnungs­­politische Lenkung in der Agrarpolitik gehören der Vergangenheit an. Ange­­sichts der großen globalen Heraus­­for­­de­­rungen der Ernähr­ungs­sicher­­heit, der Energieversorgung und der Bekämp­­fung des Klima­wandels muss die Wett­bewerbsfähigkeit der bayerischen und europäischen Landwirtschaft weiter gestärkt werden. Die Landwirtschaft kann einen großen Beitrag dafür leisten, das Ziel der EU-2020-Strategie eines intelligenten, nachhaltigen und integra­­tiven Wachstums zu erreichen. „Grünes Wachstum“ für Arbeitsplätze und Wirt­­schaftskraft gerade im ländlichen Raum ist das Leitmotiv, an dem sich die Land- und Forstwirtschaft orientiert.

337560_5895

Die Frage, wie es mit der europäischen Agrarpolitik (GAP) und damit auch mit der bayerischen Landwirt­schaft weiter­­geht, geht nicht nur die Bäuerinnen und Bauern an, sondern betrifft die ganze Gesellschaft. Die Er­­wartungen der Ge­­­sell­­schaft an die Land­­wirtschaft sind zurecht sehr hoch – schließlich liefert sie die Lebensgrund­­lage für uns alle. Gleichzeitig sind je­­doch viele Menschen weit weg von der landwirtschaftlichen Realität und der Arbeit auf den Höfen, auf den Flächen und im Wald. Der Trend in der öffentlichen Mei­­nung geht dahin, die Land­­wirtschaft zu romantisieren. Hier brau­­chen wir eine realistische und ehrliche Diskussion. Ermutigend ist, dass laut einer Studie von Euro­baro­meter aus dem Jahr 2010 über 90 Prozent der europäischen Bür­­ger der Ansicht sind, dass die Land­wirtschaft und der länd­­liche Raum für die Zukunft Europas lebenswichtig sind. Die Ziele der Ge­­mein­­samen Europä­­ischen Agrarpolitik (GAP) werden mehr­­heitlich befürwortet. Über 80 Prozent der be­­fragten EU-Bürger sprechen sich für die Bei­­behaltung der europäischen Agrar­zah­lungen aus. Dies zeigt, dass es einen breiten gesellschaft­­lichen Kon­­sens über die Ziele und die Aus­­ge­stal­­tung der GAP gibt. Daran müssen die Pla­­nun­­gen für die künftige GAP an­­knü­­pfen. Die bayerischen Bauern­fa­mi­lien stehen für eine nachhaltige, unter­­nehmerische, leistungs­­fähige, ver­brau­­­cher­­­­orien­­tierte, umwelt- und tiergerechte, dynamische und fortschrittliche, flächen­­­­deckende und vielfältige Land- und Forst­­­­wirt­­schaft. Und das auch in der Zu­­kunft.

Ziel meiner Arbeit als Bauernpräsident sind Bauern, die stolz sind, Bauern zu sein. Und eine Gesellschaft, die stolz auf ihre Bauern ist.

Heidl_WalterDer 1959 geborene Autor hat an der Fachhochschule Weihenstephan studiert. Der diplomierte Agraringenieur und ver­­heiratete Familienvater ist im Haupt­­be­­ruf Landwirt mit eigenem Hof im Landkreis Dingolfing-Landau. Heidl ist ehrenamtlich seit 2012 Präsident des Baye­­ri­schen Bauernverbandes BBV.