Walter Galinat – Liquid crystals – Technology leadership in Hessen

When the Austrian botanist Friedrich Reinitzer discovered the first liquid crystals in 1888, nobody could have imagined how incredible the career would be of these substances with fascinating op­­tical properties. Today, liquid crystals pro­­duce sharp, high-contrast, brilliant images on the displays of almost all elec­­tronic devices. In 2012 alone, around 230 million televisions, 220 million notebooks, 180 million computer monitors, 120 million tablet computers and over one billion mobile phones were sold worldwide.

As the market and technology leader, Merck supplies this huge display market with liquid crystals and other high-tech materials. By running our fingers over the touchscreen of an exquisite smartphone, we set into motion an array of liquid crys­­tal molecules that have most likely been produced by Merck in Darmstadt. Yet very few consumers know this. For decades, Merck has been a key driver in the tech­­nological development of liquid crystal displays (LCDs): we currently own some 2,500 patents in this area, with a further one hundred new patent applications submitted every year.


32686_02379HIGH_BOY_WITH_PSP-Kopie

The high level of R&D expenditure pays off: In 2011, our Liquid Crystals business unit generated sales of almost 1.1 billion euros, which represents nearly eleven per cent of our total group annual sales. Yet how does an originally medium-sized chemical company in Darmstadt become a world market leader in such a key tech­­no­­logy? Besides intensive research and development, close customer interaction is a second decisive factor. Another is a strategy of long-term thinking.


3998_Montage_Katze_RZ-Kopie

Merck was present in the field of liquid crystals right from the beginning. As far back as 1905, Emanuel August Merck supported Otto Lehmann, a professor of physics from Karlsruhe, for whose pioneering research he had liquid crystals of especially high purity produced in Darmstadt. Molecules normally have a perfect arrangement only in solid crystals, whereas in liquids they wander around chao­­tically. However, liquid crystals turn­ed out to be a hybrid form of matter: al­­­­­­though they are liquid, they show a certain crystalline arrangement. Their rod-­like molecules align themselves like a shoal of fish. In addition, they respond like tiny antennae to the electromagnetic waves of light. Consequently, such swarms of mole­­cules can either transmit or block specially prepared „polarized“ light. This takes place in the pixels of LCDs.


1028_052_12_VH_PM_display-Kopie

Real progress only came into the field of liquid crystals in 1967, however, when the engineer George Heilmeier from Radio Cor­­por­­a­tion of America (RCA) presented the first liquid crystal display. This also excited the attention of chemists working in re­­­search at Merck. The researchers in Darm­stadt soon recog­­nized that liquid crystals made the vision of flat, compact dis­­plays tangible. How­­ever, the liquid crystal substances known at that time still had considerable disad­­van­­­tages. Heilmeier’s first display needed an operating temper­ature of 80 degree in order not to freeze. These liquid crystal displays had very slow switching times, and they were monochrome as well ­– still a very long way off from the full colour, 3D 65-inch wide­screen TVs we know today. It took a long chain of tech­­nological break­­throughs, in which Merck played and still plays a key role.

Merck consistently protected its hard-earned expertise through patents. By 1969 we had all ready introduced the brand name of licristal® for Merck’s liquid crystal products ­– and we still use this today. Although our liquid crystals were already contained in the first Japanese pocket calculators, annual sales were very low in the beginning: in 1970, they totalled just 8,000 German Mark, but climbed to as much as 4.4 million German Mark by 1979.

32219_111122_merck_pm_3193-Kopie

At that time Japanese companies dominated the LCD market, and it became clear to us that we had to be close to these key customers. We could only further develop this still young technology in close contact with them, so in the year 1980 Merck commissioned the first production site at Atsugi near Tokyo in Japan.

At the same time, we implemented a global strategy that has been working successfully ever since. Liquid crystal “singles” are still manufactured at our headquarters in Darmstadt. Central re­­search in Darmstadt was also expanded further, which is a clear commitment to the Rhine-Main Region. We also have an important research laboratory in Chil­worth near Southampton, United King­dom. The re­­search facilities in Darmstadt and Chilworth work closely with subsidiaries in Asia, as they also have a pool of highly qualified scientists. Together with the customers, they develop tailored liquid crystal mixtures that are then produced by Merck at that location. Since the 1980s, new key LCD manufacturers have also sprung up outside of Japan. We have grown along with them and constructed new laboratories and mixing stations in Korea in 2002 and in Taiwan in 2005.

Merck further expanded its patent port­­folio by means of strategic acquisitions. A very valuable patent was that acquired from the Fraunhofer Institute for Applied Semiconductor Physics in 1995: The in-plane switching (IPS) technology enables LCDs to show colored, high-contrast images in a broad viewing angle of up to 170 degree. Today, the IPS technology dominates the smartphone and tablet computer market.

Another milestone is the vertical alignment (VA) technology, which we co-devel­­oped with Fujitsu Ltd. in 1997. It was this technology that first enabled ultrashort switching times rendering smooth, sharp images of fast movements in LCDs. This finally made LCDs suitable for television viewing. For this development, three Merck scientists were awarded the German Future Prize by the German Federal Presi­­dent in 2003.

At Merck, we have succeeded in building bridges from a centuries-old family-owned company with its roots in the Rhine-Main Region, to other cultures around the globe. With this openness, we have successfully established ourselves in Asia and have risen to become world market leader in the liquid crystals business – while strengthening our headquarters in Darmstadt at the same time.

 

WAGA-2010-05_E02-KopieBorn in 1956, the author is head of the Performance Materials division at Merck. Mr. Galinat has been with the company since 1976 and in charge of liquid crystals since 2007. He was managing director in Taiwan for ten years, where he witnessed the success of these high-­tech chemicals first hand. Along with Japan, Korea and China, Taiwan is the most important customer for display materials today.

Walter Galinat – Flüssigkristalle: Technologieführerschaft in Hessen

Als der österreichische Botaniker Fried­rich Reinitzer 1888 die ersten Flüssig­kris­talle entdeckte, konnte niemand erah­­nen, welche unglaubliche Karriere diese Substanzen mit faszinierenden optischen Eigenschaften machen sollten. Flüssig­kristalle sorgen heute in den Bild­schirmen fast aller elektronischen Geräte für scharfe, kontrastreiche und brillante Bilder. Allein 2012 wurden rund 230 Millionen Fern­­sehgeräte, 220 Millionen Notebooks, 180 Millionen Computermonitore, 120 Millio­nen Tablet-PCs und über eine Milliarde Handys weltweit verkauft.

Als Markt- und Technologieführer bedient Merck diesen riesigen Displaymarkt mit Flüssig­kristallen und anderen High­tech-­Materialien. Wer über den Touchscreen seines edlen Smartphones streicht, lässt sehr wahrscheinlich ein Ballett aus Flüssig­­kristallmolekülen tanzen, die Merck in Darmstadt hergestellt hat. Allerdings ist das nur wenigen Verbrauchern bekannt. Dabei treibt Merck die technologische Entwicklung der Flüssigkristall­bildschirme (Liquid Crystal Display, LCD) seit Jahr­zehnten entscheidend mit voran: 2.500 Patente halten wir heute auf dem Gebiet, und jedes Jahr kommen gut hundert neue Anmeldungen hinzu.


32686_02379HIGH_BOY_WITH_PSP-Kopie

Der hohe Aufwand an Forschung und Ent­­­wicklung lohnt sich: Im Jahr 2011 setzten wir im Geschäftsfeld Liquid Crystals fast 1,1 Milliarden Euro um, was knapp elf Prozent unseres Gruppen­um­satzes darstellt. Doch wie wird ein ur­­sprüng­­­lich mittel­­ständisch geprägtes Che­­mie­­un­­ter­­nehmen aus Darmstadt Welt­­marktführer in einer so wichtigen Techno­l­­­ogie? Neben der intensiven Forschung und Entwick­­lung ist die Nähe zum Kun­­den ein zweiter, entscheidender Baustein. Hinzu kommt eine Strategie des langfristigen Denkens.


3998_Montage_Katze_RZ-Kopie

Auf dem Gebiet der Flüssigkristalle war Merck sogar von Anfang an dabei. Bereits 1905 unter­stützte Emanuel August Merck den Karlsruher Physikprofessor Otto Leh­mann, für dessen Pio­nierforschung er in Darmstadt besonders reine Flüssig­kris­talle herstellen ließ. Normalerweise sind Moleküle nur in festen Kristallen perfekt geordnet, in Flüssigkeiten schwimmen sie chaotisch durcheinander. Flüssig­kris­talle entpuppten sich jedoch als Zwitter: Obwohl sie flüssig sind, zeigen sie eine gewisse kristalline Ordnung. Ihre stäbchenförmigen Moleküle richten sich aus wie Fische in einem Schwarm. Zudem rea­gieren sie wie winzige Antennen auf die elektro­magnetischen Wellen des Lichts. Deshalb können solche Molekül­schwärme speziell präparier­tes, „polarisiertes“ Licht entweder durchlassen oder ausblenden. Das geschieht in den Pixeln der LCDs.


1028_052_12_VH_PM_display-Kopie

Richtig Bewegung kam in das Gebiet allerdings erst 1967, als der Ingenieur George Heilmeier von der Radio Cor­por­a­­tion of America (RCA) das erste Flüssig­­kristall-Display präsentierte. Das elektri­sierte auch Chemiker in der Forschung von Merck. Die Darmstädter erkannten früh, dass mit Flüssigkristallen die Vision flacher, handlicher Bildschirme greifbar wurde. Allerdings hatten die damals be­­kannten Flüssigkristallsubstanzen noch erhebliche Nachteile. Heilmeiers erstes Display benötigte eine Betriebs­temp­e­ra­tur von 80 Grad, um nicht einzufrieren. Diese Flüssig­kristallanzeigen schalteten auch äußerst langsam und zäh um. Zu­­dem waren sie monochrom. Noch war der Weg bis zum farbigen, 3-D-fähigen Groß­bild­fernseher mit 65 Zoll Bildschirmdiago­nale von heute sehr weit. Es brauchte eine lange Kette technologischer Durchbrüche, an denen Merck maßgeblich beteiligt war und weiterhin ist.

Das hart erarbeitete Know-how schützte Merck konsequent durch zahlreiche Pa­­ten­­te. Bereits 1969 führten wir den noch heute gültigen Markennamen licristal® für Mercks Flüs­sig­­kristall­produkte ein. Diese steckten zwar schon in den ersten japanischen Taschen­rechnern mit LC-Dis­­plays, doch die Jahres­­umsätze waren an­­­fangs ge­ring: 1970 lagen sie noch bei 8.000 Deutsche Mark, doch bis 1979 kletterten sie auf immer­hin 4,4 Mil­lio­nen Deutsche Mark.


32219_111122_merck_pm_3193-Kopie

Zu diesem Zeitpunkt dominierten bereits japanische Firmen den LCD-Markt. Uns wurde klar: Wir mussten die Nähe dieser wichtigen Kunden suchen, denn nur im engen Kontakt ließ sich die noch junge Technologie weiter entwickeln. Konsequent eröffnete Merck bereits 1980 den ersten Produktionsstandort in der japanischen Stadt Atsugi bei Tokio.

Damals realisierten wir eine globale Stra­­tegie, die bis heute erfolgreich funktio­niert. Dabei verbleibt die Herstellung der „Singles“, also der eigentlichen Flüssig­kristalle, im Stammwerk. Auch die zen­­trale Forschung in Darmstadt wurde weiter verstärkt, ein klares Bekenntnis zur Rhein-­Main-Region. Hinzu kommt unser ebenfalls wichtiges Forschungslabor im süd­­englischen Chilworth. Mit Niederlas­sung­en in Asien sind die Darmstädter und Chil­­­worther eng vernetzt, denn dort sitzen ebenfalls hochqualifizierte Wissenschaft­ler. Diese entwickeln gemeinsam mit den Kunden maßgeschneiderte Flüssig­kristall-­Mixturen, die Merck dann an diesem Stand­­ort produziert. Seit den 1980er Jahren ent­­­­standen auch außerhalb Japans neue, wichtige LCD-Hersteller. Wir wuchsen mit und bauten neue Labors und Mischungs­­­stationen 2002 in Korea und 2005 in Taiwan auf.

Merck erweiterte sein Portfolio an Pa­­ten­­ten zudem durch strategische Zukäufe. Als besonders wertvoll erwies sich ein 1995 vom Fraunhofer-Institut für Ange­wand­te Halbleiterphysik erworbenes Pa­­tent: Die sogenannte In-­Plane-Swit­ching (IPS)-Technologie er­­mög­­­lichte LCDs, die in einem weiten Blick­winkel von bis zu 170 Grad farbige und kon­­trastreiche Bilder zeigen. Die IPS-Tech­­no­­logie beherrscht heute den Smart­phone- und Tablet-PC-­Markt.

Ein weiterer Meilenstein ist die Vertical-Alignment (VA)-Technologie, die wir 1997 gemeinsam mit Fujitsu Ltd. entwickelten. Erst sie erlaubte die ultrakurzen Schalt­­zeiten, mit denen LCDs schnelle Bewegun­gen flüssig und scharf darstellen können. Damit wurden LCDs endlich fernseh­taug­­­lich, und für diese Entwicklung erhielten drei Merck-Wissenschaftler 2003 den Deut­schen Zukunftspreis des Bundes­prä­si­den­ten.

Bei Merck gelang uns der Brückenschlag aus einem alten Familienunternehmen, das in der RheinMain-Region verwurzelt ist, hinaus zu anderen Kulturen. Mit dieser Offenheit konnten wir uns in Asien er­­folgreich etablieren und zum Welt­markt­führer im Flüssigkristallgeschäft aufstei­gen – und zugleich unseren Stammsitz in Darmstadt stärken.

WAGA-2010-05_E02-KopieDer 1956 geborene Autor ist Leiter der Sparte Performance Materials bei Merck. Herr Galinat ist seit 1976 im Unter­nehmen und leitet seit 2007 das Geschäft mit Flüssigkristallen. Er war zehn Jahre Ge­­schäftsführer in Taiwan und hat dort vor Ort den Erfolg dieser High-Tech-Chemi­­kalien miterlebt. Taiwan ist heute neben Japan, Korea und China der wichtigste Ab­­nehmer für Dis­play-Materialien.