Thomas Rehder: New, authentic content for the successful media of the future

Let’s be honest – has your reading be­­haviour changed over the last few years? Many people only read a good book on holiday or long public holidays such as Easter or Christmas … Even newspapers, magazines and website texts are now considered increasingly strenuous.

The New York Times hit the nail on the head in Fe­­bruary 2009, arguing that a turning-point in the competition bet­ween the computer monitor and printed matter had been overstepped. We are be­­com­­ing increasingly tired of reading and pre­­fer moving images more and more. This also applies especially to the internet, in which the victory march of moving images is perceived in a way no other medium is perceived.
By December 2008, more than a billion people had accessed the World Wide Web. 70 per cent of al internet users watch video films and transmissions on the web; for example, 200 million people around the world watched the swearing-in of US President Obama.


_DSC0348_b

Video is the leading medium of our age. YouTube started up just four years ago and today users all over the world load 13 hours of material onto the portal per minute.

At the same time it is not all about the fun-and-games potential of moving images. A study by Universal McCann and Knowledgestorm found that 63 per cent of all company decision-makers in the USA use online videos at least once a week – and ever more often on subjects from the fields of business and technology. Whereas people used to obtain information on potential business partners by means of brochures, websites or advertisements, today they prefer videos for developing or initiating business deals or business contacts. Videos in which normal people like us appear, not unreal actors.

Hardly any medium is so personal or individual or can be used in so many ways as video. From internal presentations to contacting of job applicants, from online shops to in­-house communication, from event documentation to viral advertisements, vi­­deo is becoming an essential marketing tool for companies. Video is the new success medium for companies of all sizes.
“Stop!” you might object. Not every com­­pany can afford big four to six-digit budgets for producing publicity films; after all, video is an expensive venture.

_DSC0284_b

Or rather, it was. And indeed, many pro­­duction companies are tied down by their just three to five-year-old investments which often ran to hundreds of thousands or even millions. And of course the handling of this complex equipment requires equally complex workflows. This is why the credits in Hollywood films are so long and the production costs so expensive.
But over the years, video production tech­­nology has rapidly become cheaper – and better. Prices for high-performance digital editing workstations have fallen by more than 90 per cent over the last five years.
Because technology has become so cheap, new workflows can develop. Every expensive piece of equipment now no longer requires an equally expensive spe­­cialist – or a handful of other specialists to plan and coordinate the work of expensive specialists and equipment right down to the smallest detail.
Tradesmen, medical specialists, tax ad­­visors or medium-sized production com­­panies don’t need Hollywood – all they need is a top-quality video that they can integrate into their marke­ting ­strategies and that they can use to reach a specific public. The video of tomorrow is no im­­pressive end in itself, it is a means for addressing customers or employees, it is a marketing instrument just like a company website, a newspaper advertisement or a stand at a trade fair. Eve­­ry­­one with a website will be showing videos on it in a few years’ time.
Sight­­­seeker Medien has seen where the change described above is heading and has developed new workflows. For many productions we usually send only a single employee – now called a “video pro­­ducer”, who has been trained in filming, sound and interview techniques – to clients instead of a three-man team. Instead of individual scripts, including the related client liaison, we use standard scripts which correspond to the needs of each target sector. And we’re there right from the start all over Ger­­man-speaking Europe – from Graz to Gelsenkirchen, to Flensburg to Vaduz. Combined with a transparent fixed-price model, we make standardized yet individual products – and completely new target groups have access to video as a marketing medium.

_DSC0223_b

All film productions are controlled, ed­­ited and processed at our company headquarters in Halle an der Saale. Here, you will find an innovative sectoral environment in the form of in­­s­­ti­­­­tutions such as the Multi-Media Cen­­tre. The supply of qualified personnel is ensured by local and neighbouring training centres. And local government does a lot to inspire new companies for the local media cluster and to in­­te­­grate them there. For example, both Sight­­­seeker Medien, the city of Halle and the state of Saxony-Anhalt succeed­­ed in es­­tab­­lishing an efficient and flourishing or­­ga­ni­za­­tion.

This is an organization which with its products is also increasing­­ly successful in the environment of the printed word, since a large number of publishing com­­panies and portals now work to­­gether in joint production programmes with me­­dia and communications companies from Halle.

Th­us, major publishing companies whose only obligation used to be to the printed word are successfully creating structural change of their own – up to moving im­­ages. And they are conquering a market of the fu­­ture – together with companies from Halle an der Saale.

 

Thomas-RehderThe author is the general manager of Sight­­­seeker Medien GmbH. He was the founding manager of the bacHH Busi­ness-Angels Club and sees himself as a “serial businessman” who has success­­fully managed a large number of start-ups and holdings. His main areas of know-how are in M&A, marketing, the new media and strategic company de­­velopment.

Thomas Rehder: Neue authentische Inhalte für die Erfolgsmedien der Zukunft

Hand aufs Herz: Hat sich auch Ihr Le­­se­­ver­­­halten in den letzten Jahren verändert?
Viele Menschen lesen ein gutes Buch nur noch im Urlaub oder an langen Feiertagen wie Ostern oder Weih­nach­­ten … Selbst Zeitungen, Zeitschriften und Texte auf Websites werden zunehmend als anstrengend empfunden.

Die New York Times brachte es im Fe­­bruar 2009 auf den Punkt. Ihre These: Ein Wendepunkt in der Konkurrenz von Monitor und Druckwerken ist überschritten. Wir werden zunehmend des Lesens müde und wenden uns immer mehr dem bewegten Bild zu. Das gilt auch – und vor allem – für das Internet, in dem der Siegeszug des Bewegtbilds spürbar ist wie in keinem Medium sonst.

Auf das World Wide Web griffen im De­­zember 2008 erstmal mehr als eine Milliarde Menschen zu. 70 Prozent aller Internetnutzer schauen Video­beiträge und -übertragungen im Web. So wurde die Vereidigung des US-Prä­si­denten Obama von rund 200 Millionen Zu­­schau­­ern im Internet verfolgt.


_DSC0348_b

Video ist das Leitmedium unserer Zeit. Die Gründung von YouTube ist gerade einmal vier Jahre her – heute laden die Anwender weltweit pro Minute 13 Stun­den Videomaterial auf das Portal.
Dabei geht es keineswegs nur um das Spiel- und Spaßpozenzial bewegter Bil­­der. Eine Untersuchung von Universal McCann und Knowledgestorm ergab, dass 63 Prozent aller betrieblichen Ent­­scheidungsträger in den USA mindestens einmal pro Woche Onlinevideos nutzen – immer häufiger auch zu The­­men aus Business und Technologie. In­­­formierte man sich früher mittels Bro­schüren, Websites oder Anzeigen über künftige Geschäftspartner, so schätzt man heute Videos zur Geschäfts­an­bah­­nung. Videos, in denen nicht perfekte Schauspieler agieren, sondern Akteure wie du und ich.

Kaum ein Medium ist so persönlich, so individuell und so vielfältig nutzbar wie das Medium Video. Von der internen Prä­­­­sentation bis zur Ansprache von Be­­­­wer­­bern, vom Onlineshop bis zur In­house-Kommunikation, von der Event­do­ku­men­­­­tation bis zum viralen Werbe­spot – Vi­­deo wird zu einem unverzichtbaren Mar­­ke­tingbaustein für Unter­neh­­men. Video ist das neue Erfolgsmedium für Un­­ter­neh­­men jeder Größe.

„Halt!“ mögen Sie jetzt einwerfen. Nicht jedes Unternehmen kann sich satte vier- bis sechsstellige Budgets leisten, um einen Imagefilm zu produzieren. Video ist schließlich ein teures Unterfangen.
Das war es – bis vor kurzem. Und in der Tat sind viele Pro­duktions­ge­sell­schaf­ten durch ihre gerade mal drei bis fünf Jah­­re alten Investitionen gefesselt, die oft in die Hunderttausende oder sogar Mil­lio­nen gingen. Und natürlich erfordert das Handling dieses komplexen Equip­ments ebenso komplexe Workflows. Des­­halb sind bei Hollywoodfilmen die Ab­­spän­­ne so lang und die Pro­duk­tions­­kosten so hoch.

_DSC0223_b

Doch die Technik zur Videoproduktion wurde in den vergangenen Jahren rapide billiger – und besser. Die Preise für leistungsfähige digitale Schnittplätze etwa sind in den vergangenen fünf Jah­­ren um über 90 Prozent gefallen.
Weil die Technik so günstig wurde, kön­­nen neue Workflows entstehen. Man braucht nicht mehr für jedes teure Stück Technik einen ebenso teuren Spe­zia­lis­ten – plus eine Handvoll weiterer Fach­­kräfte, die die Arbeit der teuren Spe­­zialisten und Maschinen bis ins Detail planen und koordinieren.
Denn der Handwerker, der Facharzt, der Steuerberater oder das mittelgroße Pro­­duktionsunternehmen brauchen kein Hollywood – sie brauchen ein hochwertiges Video, das sie in ihre Marke­ting­­strategie einbinden und mit dem sie eine spezifische Öffentlichkeit erreichen können. Das Video von morgen ist nicht stimmungsvoller Selbstzweck, sondern ein Mittel zu Ansprache und Mobi­lisie­rung von Kunden oder Mitarbeitern. Es ist ein Marketinginstrument wie die Web­­site, die Tageszeitungsanzeige oder der Messeauftritt. Jeder, der heute eine Web­­site hat, wird in wenigen Jahren auch ein Video darauf zeigen.
Aus den geschilderten Umbrüchen hat Sight­­­seeker Medien die Konsequenzen gezogen und neue Workflows entwickelt. Für viele Produktionen schicken wir statt eines Drei-Mann-Teams meist nur ei­­nen einzigen, auf Kameraführung, Ton und Interviewtechnik geschulten „Video-Pro­­ducer“ zum Kunden. Statt individueller Drehbücher inklusive der damit verbun­­denen Kundenabstimmung nutzen wir Standarddrehbücher, die den Be­­dürf­nissen der jeweiligen Zielbranchen entsprechen. Und wir sind von Anfang an im gesamten deutschsprachigen Raum präsent – von Graz bis Gelsenkirchen, von Flensburg bis Vaduz. Kombiniert mit einem transparenten Fest­preis­modell entstehen so seriell gefertigte und doch individuelle Produkte – und ganz neue Zielgruppen erhalten Zugang zum Mar­­ketingmedium Video.


_DSC0284_b

Gesteuert, geschnitten und veredelt wer­­den die Produktionen am Unter­neh­mens­­­sitz in Halle an der Saale. Hier findet sich ein innovatives Branchenumfeld, das sich in Institutionen wie dem Mul­­timediazentrum kristallisiert. Die Ge­­winnung von qualifiziertem Personal ist durch ortsansässige und benachbarte Ausbildungsstätten sicherge­­stellt. Und auch die Politik tut viel, um neue Un­­ter­­nehmen für den hiesigen Me­­dien­clus­­ter zu begeistern und sie dort zu integrieren. So gelang es Sight­­­seeker Medien mit innovativer Po­­sitio­nie­rung und Unter­­stüt­­zung sowohl der Stadt als auch des Lan­­des Sachsen-Anhalt, eine effiziente und wachstumsstarke Orga­ni­sation auf­­zubauen.
Eine Organisation, die mit ihren Pro­duk­­ten zunehmend auch im Umfeld des ge­­druckten Wortes erfolgreich ist. Denn mittlerweile arbeitet bereits eine Viel­­zahl von Verlagen und Portalen im Rah­­men von Produktionskooperationen mit Medien- und Kommunikations­unter­neh­men aus Halle zusammen.

So schaffen auch große Verlage, die ur­­­sprünglich nur dem gedruckten Wort verpflichtet waren, einen Struktur­wan­­del – hin zum bewegten Bild. Und er­­obern einen Zukunftsmarkt – gemeinsam mit Unternehmen aus Halle an der Saale.

Thomas-RehderDer Autor ist Ge­­schäfts­­­führer der Sight­­­seeker Medien GmbH. Er war Grün­dungs­­­vorstand im bacHH Busi­ness-Angels Club und begreift sich als „Serien­un­­ter­­neh­­mer“, der eine Vielzahl von Start-ups und Beteiligungen zum Erfolg geführt hat. Seine Know-how-Schwer­punkte liegen in den Bereichen M&A, Marketing, neue Me­­dien und strategische Unterneh­mens­­­ent­­wick­­lung.