Thomas Metz: Rhineland-Palatinate – The heartland of European history

Villa Ludwigshöhe bei Edenkoben

Villa Ludwigshöhe bei Edenkoben

The face of the Rhineland-Palatinate is characterised by major evidence of a ­turbulent past. Whether Celtic burial grounds, Roman structures, fortresses, castles, churches or imposing monastery complexes: the Rhineland-Palatinate has a rich cultural ­heritage, a treasure of which it is very aware. The General Directorate of Cultural Heritage Rhineland-Palatinate makes this history come alive.

Festung Ehrenbreitstein / Koblenz

Festung Ehrenbreitstein / Koblenz

Hardly any regions in Central Europe are as rich in archaeological relics as those in Rhineland-Palatinate. The extra­ordinarily high number of archaeological finds provides historical evidence of no less than 800,000 years of momentous human history on the Rhine and Moselle. These two rivers have also made the region into a hub, a transit area, in several eras a centre of power and in others a fought-over border region. The location between the cultural areas and the transport arteries of major river systems led to a succession of different and often still visible modern-day cultural influences from frequently distant parts of Europe. In Rhineland-Palatinate, you can discover four UNESCO World Heritage sites at once: the Cathedral Speyer, the Roman Monuments, the cathedral and the Church of Our Lady in Trier; the Upper Middle Rhine Valley and the Upper-German Raetian Limes.

As a higher-ranking state authority, the General Directorate of Cultural Heritage (GDKE) is in charge of not only many cultural heritage monuments but also three excellent state museums in Coblenz, Mainz and Trier together with the State Cultural Heritage Preservation and State Archaeology Directorates. The State Cultural Heritage Preservation Direc­torate is concerned with a broad spectrum of cultural monuments ranging from abbey churches and ruined castles to half-timbered houses and workers’ housing estates. As an authority responsible for monuments, it is directly involved in much repair and restoration work in Rhine­­land-Palatinate and advises contractors, architects and tradespeople. It contributes to the recording, research into and providing information about cultural monuments by investigating historical buildings and restoration work and putting out numerous publications. On “Open Monu­­ment Day” – always on the second Sunday in September – historical buildings and sites not normally open to the public open their doors and invite visitors to have a ramble down the paths of history. Restorers and tradespeople demonstrate their working techniques and direct visitors’ glances to details that would otherwise remain hidden from untrained eyes. Experts use real-life examples to explain the work involved in preserving monuments.

Grabungstechniker bei der Arbeit / Münstermaifeld

Grabungstechniker bei der Arbeit / Münstermaifeld

The working world of the State Archaeology Directorate ranges from life forms in pre-historic oceans through the fragments of a Neanderthal skull to the first works of art of ice age hunters or the mysterious neolithic ritual site in Herxheim. Rich finds of metal from the Bronze Age also characterise the picture, as do the grandiose Celtic gravesites, the first urban centres of Mainz and Trier of Roman times and the remnants of wars along the western border of Germany from the 18th to the 20th centuries. The State Archaeology Directorate is used for researching, securing and preserving all archaeological monuments and historical sources in the Rhineland-Palatinate. With its regional offices in Coblenz, Mainz, Speyer and Trier, it looks after and conducts research in the entire state.

The Fortresses, Castles and Antiquities Directorate looks after and opens about 80 cultural monuments in the Rhineland-Palatinate. These include real treasures such as the Ehrenbreitstein Fortress and Stolzenfels Castle in Coblenz, the majestic Trifels in Annweiler, the Villa Ludwigshöhe in Edenkoben and Roman structures in Trier, such as the Porta Nigra city gate, the Amphitheatre, the Thermal Springs at the Cattle Market and the Imperial Springs. The stately fortresses, castles and antiquities are an expression in stone form of the history of our state. They are also a very important – and hence economic – factor for tourism, especially more exclusive cultural tourism.

Schloss Stolzenfels / Koblenz

Schloss Stolzenfels / Koblenz

The state museums in Mainz, Coblenz and Trier are cultural attractions for everyone. While the Rhine State Museum in Trier presents itself as a “Forum for Finds” in archaeology, the Mainz State Museum contains the state’s most important and oldest collection of objects of art history and culture. The Coblenz State Museum concentrates on regional economic, technological and social history; this is complemented by successful special exhib­itions for the whole family in its prominent location in the Ehrenbreitstein Fortress, high above the Rhine and Moselle. For example, topics such as “Haribo”, “Playmobil” and even the world of ice age animals were presented in a modern setting for all ages.

All directorates adhere to the principle that exhibitions, events and educational offers make history come alive and help pass on knowledge of our cultural heritage. The focus is always on the aim of making the great cultural heritage of our state directly accessible to the point of being “right up close” to all interested visitors both from the local region and from all over the world. To accomplish this, we continue to further develop visitor concepts, for example through digital presentations and with audio-visual “walk-round” guide systems for visitors. We also place particular emphasis on barrier-free access in order to better familiarise all those interested in culture and history with the cultural heritage of Rhineland-Palatinate.

Thomas Metz
Thomas Metz was born in 1955. He studied architecture at the university of Karlsruhe. After completing an internship, he worked initially as a section head and then as a permanent representative of the executive board at the Coblenz South City Engineering Office. From 1995 to 1998, he was a project manager at the Coblenz City Engineering Office. In 1998, he took over the management of the Fortresses, Castles, Antiquities Directorate of Rhineland-Palatinate and, from 2001, the management of the Coblenz State Museum. In 2007, Thomas Metz was appointed Director-General of the General Directorate of Cultural Heritage of Rhineland-Palatinate (GDKE).

Thomas Metz: Rheinland-Pfalz – Kernland europäischer Geschichte

Villa Ludwigshöhe bei Edenkoben

Villa Ludwigshöhe bei Edenkoben

Große Zeugnisse einer bewegten Vergangenheit prägen das Gesicht von ­Rheinland-Pfalz. Ob ­keltische Gräberfelder, Römerbauten, Burgen, Schlösser, Kirchen oder imposante Klosteranlagen: Rheinland-Pfalz verfügt über ein reiches kulturelles Erbe und ist sich dieses Schatzes bewusst. Die Generaldirektion Kulturelles Erbe Rheinland-Pfalz macht diese Geschichte lebendig!

Festung Ehrenbreitstein / Koblenz

Festung Ehrenbreitstein / Koblenz

Kaum eine Landschaft in Mitteleuropa ist so reich an archä­­olo­­gischen Relikten wie die Regionen des Landes Rhein­­land-­­Pfalz. Die außerordentlich hohe Zahl archäologischer Funde und Befunde belegt nicht weniger als 800.000 Jahre wechselvoller Menschheitsgeschichte an Rhein und Mosel. Diese beiden Flüsse sind es auch, die die Region zu einer Drehscheibe, einem Durchzugsgebiet, in manchen Zeiten zu einem Machtzentrum, in anderen zu einer um­­kämpften Grenzregion gemacht haben. Die Lage zwischen den Kultur­­räumen und an den Verkehrsadern großer Flusssysteme führte zu einer Folge unterschiedlicher, oft noch heute sichtbarer kultureller Einflüsse aus oft fernen Teilen Europas. In Rheinland-Pfalz können Sie gleich vier UNESCO-Welter­be­­stätten entdecken: den Dom zu Speyer; in Trier die Römischen Monumente, den Dom und die Lieb­frauenkirche; das Obere Mittelrheintal und den Obergermanisch-Raetischen Limes.

Die Generaldirektion Kulturelles Erbe (GDKE) betreut nicht nur viele Monumente des kulturellen Erbes als Obere Landes­­­­behörde, unter ihrem Dach finden sich auch die drei heraus­­ragenden Landesmuseen in Koblenz, Mainz und Trier sowie die Direktionen Landesdenkmalpflege und Landes­­archäologie. Die Landesdenkmalpflege beschäftigt sich mit einem breiten Spektrum von Kulturdenkmälern, das von der Abteikirche und der Burgruine bis zum Fach­werk­­haus und zur Arbeiter­­siedlung reicht. Als Denkmal­fach­­behörde ist sie unmittel­­bar an vielen Instandsetzungs- und Restaurierungs­maß­nah­­men in Rheinland-Pfalz beteiligt und berät Bauherren, Archi­tekten und Handwerker. Mit bau­­historischen und restaura­­torischen Unter­such­ungen sowie mit zahlreichen Publi­ka­tionen trägt sie zur Erfassung, Erforschung und Vermittlung der Kultur­­denk­mäler bei. Zum „Tag des offenen Denkmals“, immer am zweiten Sonntag im September, öffnen sonst vor­­wiegend nicht zugängliche historische Bauten und Stätten ihre Türen und laden zu Streifzügen in die Vergangenheit ein. Restaura­toren und Handwerker demonstrieren Arbeits­techniken und lenken den Blick auf Details, die einem unge­­schulten Auge verborgen bleiben. Experten erklären an konkreten Beispielen die Aufgaben der Denkmalpflege.

Grabungstechniker bei der Arbeit / Münstermaifeld

Grabungstechniker bei der Arbeit / Münstermaifeld

Die Arbeitswelt der Landesarchäologie erstreckt sich von den Lebensformen in den Urmeeren über das Schädel­frag­ment eines Neandertalers bis hin zu den ersten Kunstwerken eiszeit­­licher Jäger oder zum rätselhaften jungsteinzeitlichen Ritu­alort Herxheim. Reiche Metallfunde der Bronzezeit prägen ebenso das Bild wie keltische Prunkgräber, die ersten urbanen Zentren Mainz und Trier zu römischer Zeit oder auch die Hinterlassenschaften kriegerischer Ausei­n­ander­­­setzungen ent­­­­lang der Westgrenze vom 18. bis zum 20. Jahrhundert. Die Landes­­archäologie dient der Er­­for­schung, Sicherung und Er­­hal­­tung aller archäologischen Denk­­mäler und Quellen in Rhein­­land-Pfalz. Mit ihren Außenstellen in Koblenz, Mainz, Speyer und Trier betreut und erforscht sie das Land flächendeckend.

Die Direktion Burgen. Schlösser, Altertümer pflegt und öffnet etwa 80 Kulturdenkmäler im Land, unter anderem wahre Schätze wie die Festung Ehrenbreitstein und Schloss Stolzen­­­­fels in Koblenz, der majestätische Trifels in Ann­weiler, die Villa Ludwigshöhe in Edenkoben oder auch die Römer­­bauten in Trier mit dem Stadttor Porta Nigra, dem Amphi­theater, den Thermen am Viehmarkt und den Kaiser­­­thermen. Die staatlichen Burgen, Schlösser und Altertümer sind steinerner Ausdruck der Geschichte unseres Landes. Darüber hinaus stellen sie für den Tourismus, insbesondere den gehobenen Kulturtourismus, einen ganz wichtigen und somit auch wirtschaftlichen Faktor dar.

Schloss Stolzenfels / Koblenz

Schloss Stolzenfels / Koblenz

Die Landesmuseen in Mainz, Koblenz und Trier sind kulturelle Anziehungspunkte für alle. Während sich das Rheinische Landesmuseum Trier als „Forum für Fund­stücke“ der Archä­ologie präsentiert, befindet sich im Landesmuseum Mainz die bedeutendste und älteste kunst- und kulturgeschichtliche Sammlung des Landes. Das Landesmuseum Koblenz hat seine Schwerpunkte in der Wirtschafts-, Technik- und Sozial­­geschichte der Region, wird in seiner exponierten Lage in der Festung Ehrenbreitstein hoch über Rhein und Mosel aber auch durch erfolgreiche Sonderausstellungen für die ganze Familie ergänzt. So wurden bereits Themen wie  „Haribo“, „Playmobil“ oder auch die Welt der Eiszeittiere alters­übergreifend und modern präsentiert.

Für alle Direktionen gilt: Ausstellungen, Veranstaltungen und pädagogische Angebote machen Geschichte lebendig und helfen bei der Vermittlung des kulturellen Erbes. Im Vordergrund steht dabei immer das Ziel, allen interessierten Bürgerinnen und Bürgern sowie den Be­­such­er­­innen und Besuchern aus aller Welt das große kulturelle Erbe des Landes direkt und hautnah zugänglich zu machen. Hierfür entwickeln wir Besucherkonzepte stets weiter – zum Beispiel durch digitale Präsentationen oder mit audio­­­­visuellen Führungssystemen. Ein besonderes Au­­gen­­merk legen wir auch auf barrierefreie Zugangs­mög­lichkeiten, um allen kulturinteressierten Menschen das reiche kulturelle Erbe von Rheinland-Pfalz näherbringen zu können.

Thomas Metz
Thomas Metz, Jahrgang 1955, studierte Architektur an der Universität Karlsruhe. Nach abgeschlossenem Refendariat war er zunächst als Hauptsachgebietsleiter und im Anschluss als ständiger Vertreter des Vorstandes im Staatsbauamt Koblenz-Süd tätig. Von 1995 bis 1998 war er Projektbereichsleiter im Staatsbauamt Koblenz. Ab 1998 übernahm er die Leitung von Burgen, Schlösser, Altertümer Rheinland-Pfalz sowie ab 2001 die Leitung des Landesmuseums Koblenz. 2007 wurde Thomas Metz zum General­­direktor der Generaldirektion Kulturelles Erbe Rheinland-Pfalz (GDKE) berufen.