Thomas May: Ensuring the competitiveness of science in Germany

Germany, as a country without raw materials, is dependent on a strong science landscape. However, the innovative strength of the German scientific community is not solely a question of money. What matters most in the international innovation competition is a close networking between science, business, politics and culture. Ensuring the competitiveness of science is a key task for the future which needs to be addressed both at national and state level.

 

Brilliant minds, ideas, products, contributions to de­­bates, exhibitions and expertise – science uses many channels to shape society, business and culture, and is itself stimulated in return. As a result of this close interconnection, ensuring the competitiveness of science in Germany is not some obscure demand voiced from an ivory tower, rather it is essential for ensuring the competitiveness of Germany as a science and business location. The value of science goes far beyond mere technological progress, which is often cited when it comes to describing the most important guarantor for securing the location. The value of science is far greater. It is the indispensable foundation of a modern society encompassing intelligentsia, curious, thoughtful and critical persons as well as a flourishing, multifaceted cultural landscape.

As easy as it is to document the importance of science, it is still difficult to mobilise public investments in line with this recognition in times of limited financial resources, particularly since the rewards and benefits from science can hardly be reaped during a short legislative period and the “return on investment” does not feature a simple causal relationship. Never­theless, state and federal governments have firmly prioritised and supported science in the past years so that the current state of science in Germany does not provide any reason for exaggerated worries. A look at the medium term, however, may provide cause for scepticism while at the same time issuing a warning not to rest on the status quo. The fixed-term “pacts” between federal and state governments – the Excellence Initiative, the Pact for Research and Innovation and the Higher Edu­cation Pact – are expiring one after the other. The situ­ation at German universities remains critical despite these “pacts”. Many universities are hardly able to satisfy their core tasks in proper fashion, let alone develop and implement innovative strategies in order to position themselves as being ready for the future and allowing them to strategically master the increased demands – such as the ever more heterogeneous student body, increased and more specialised qualification require­­ments brought on by business and society and the expanded and more intense international competi­tion. Science is all in all characterised by challenging developments: generating scientific insights is becoming increasingly complex and has to deal with an ever-growing number of preconditions. New technologies and elab­orate scientific infrastructures create a completely new access to knowledge. The globalisation driven by modern communication technologies enables an ever-­quicker ex­­change of ideas and insights. International competi­tion continues to intensify. Players, particularly in Asia, are investing an ever-increasing percentage of their gross domestic product in their scientific landscapes.

There are various options for dealing with existing and future challenges. And, to avoid any misunderstandings: the competitiveness of the German scientific community is not solely a question of money. Equally important prerequisites include suitable structural and legal conditions, institutions capable of developing strategies and acting upon them, as well as a balanced and complementary institutional structure. No matter which path is chosen, a number of basic principles should provide guidance to ensure the future viability and competitiveness of science in Germany:
1. Science is more than just research. The entire scientific performance spectrum must be supported so that, along with research, in particular teaching, trans­­fer (to politics, society, culture and business) and the entirety of the infrastructure-related scientific performances are supported and recognised. These different performance spectrums are closely related and interwoven.
2. The necessary scientific diversity should be supported in a correspondingly diverse manner on a structural and institutional level. This justifies and requires a multidimensional differentiation in the overall science system, combined with a profiling of individual institutions or organisations.
3. In this, universities play a constitutive role in the science system; they are the place where all scientific performance sectors and disciplines principally meet. Most of all, their teaching function serves as their biggest influence on society.
4. The structures facilitating the evolution of science are just as important as the targeted stimuli addressing its development. Science requires tailored, variable funding options, flexible conditions as well as creative financial leeway provided in the spirit of a “culture of enablement”. The scientific institutions and each and every scientist must be willing and able to actually take advantage of the opportunities provided.
5. Creating suitable financial and legal conditions for the scientific community is a key task for state and federal governments, which they must master with mutual responsibility in light of increasing demands and the growing pressure from international competition. This requires new ways of cooperation be­­­tween the federal and state authorities.



These guidelines provide a framework for orientation, which the German Council of Science and Humanities has used as the basis for its “perspective on the future of the German scientific system”1. At the heart of the Council‘s recommendations is a series of coordinated and bal­anced measures, which is to be implemented in a “future pact” between federal and state governments. The pact is to strengthen research, teaching, transfer and infrastruc­ture services equally and to include universities of applied sciences, universities and non-university sectors. It is a follow-up to the successes already achieved through the expiring individual “pacts”. It is characterised by a balance between competition, basic security as well as reliability and dynamics, and it targets a balanced and flexible promotion of persons and institutions. State and federal governments are called upon to implement the “future pact” together, while scientific institutions and individ­uals are required to fill the measures included in the pact and its basic principles with life – for the future of Germany as a science and business location.

From 1987 to 1995, Thomas May worked for the German Research Foundation. In 1995, he joined the head office of the German Council of Science and Humanities, where he headed the “Hochschulstruktur- und Rahmenplanung” department for five years. He then took over the “Lehre, Studium und Wissenschaftlicher Nachwuchs” department and was named deputy Secretary General. From 2003 to 2008, May was Chancellor of the Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München. Thomas May has been Secretary General of the German Council of Science and Humanities since 1st  February 2009.

Thomas May: Sicherung der Konkurrenzfähigkeit der Wissenschaft in Deutschland

Als Land ohne Rohstoffe ist Deutschland auf eine starke Wissenschaftslandschaft angewiesen. Die Innovationskraft der deutschen Wissenschaft ist dabei nicht allein eine Frage des Geldes. Im internationalen Innovationswettbewerb zählt vor allem die enge Vernet­zung von Wissenschaft mit Wirtschaft, Politik und Kultur. Die Sicherung der Wettbewerbs­fähig­­keit der Wissenschaft ist eine zentrale gemeinsame Zukunftsaufgabe für Bund und Länder. 

 

Köpfe, Ideen, Produkte, Debattenbeiträge, Ausstel­lungen, Expertisen – über viele Kanäle wirkt Wissen­schaft in Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Kultur hinein und lässt sich ihrerseits anregen. Die Wettbewerbs­fähigkeit der deutschen Wissenschaft zu sichern ist aufgrund dieser engen Verwobenheit keine Forderung aus dem Elfenbeinturm; sie ist vielmehr zur Sicherung der Wettbewerbsfähigkeit des Standortes Deutschland unabdingbar. Der Wert von Wissenschaft erschöpft sich indes nicht im technologischen Fortschritt, der gerne als wichtigster Garant der Standortsicherung angeführt wird. Der Wert von Wissenschaft geht viel weiter: Sie ist die unverzichtbare Grundlage einer modernen Gesellschaft umfassend gebildeter – nicht nur ausgebildeter –, neugieriger, nachdenklicher und kritischer Menschen und einer florierenden, vielfältigen kulturellen Landschaft.

So einfach es also ist, die Bedeutung der Wissenschaft aufzuzeigen, so schwierig ist es in Zeiten knapper Kas­sen, entsprechend dieser Anerkennung öffentliche Inves­­titionen zu mobilisieren, zumal die Erträge der Wis­senschaft sich kaum in der kurzen Dauer einer Legis­latur ausprägen und der „return on investment“ kein einfaches Kausalitätsverhältnis auf­­weist. Dennoch: Die Länder und der Bund haben in den vergangenen Jahren die Wissenschaft nachdrück­lich und prioritär unterstützt, so dass die derzeitige Lage der deutschen Wissenschaft keinen Anlass für übertriebene Sorge gibt. Der Blick in die mittlere Zukunft jedoch mag skeptisch stimmen und warnt davor, sich auf dem Status quo auszuruhen: Die befristeten „Pakte“ von Bund und Ländern – die Exzellenzinitiative, der Pakt für Forschung und Innovation sowie der Hochschulpakt – laufen nach und nach aus. Überdies ist trotz der „Pakte“ die Situ­ation der Hochschulen weiterhin kritisch: Viele von ihnen sind kaum in der Lage, ihre vielfältigen Kernaufgaben angemessen zu erfüllen, geschweige denn, innovative Strategien zu entwickeln und umzusetzen, um sich zu­­kunftsfähig zu positionieren und mit den gestiegenen Anforderungen – etwa der zunehmend heterogenen Studierendenschaft, den gestiegenen und spezieller gewordenen Qualifizierungsanforderungen aus Wirt­schaft und Gesellschaft, dem ausgeweiteten und intensiver gewordenen internationalen Wettbewerb – strategisch umzugehen. Die Wissenschaft insgesamt ist von fordernden Entwicklungen geprägt: Die Generierung wissenschaftlicher Erkenntnis wird immer komplexer und voraussetzungsvoller; neue Technologien und aufwendige wissenschaftliche Infrastrukturen eröffnen gänzlich neue Wissenszugänge; die mit modernen Kom­munikationstechnologien vorangetriebene Globali­sierung erlaubt einen immer schnelleren Austausch von Ideen und Erkenntnissen; der internationale Wett­bewerb verschärft sich weiter, Akteure insbesondere im asiatischen Raum investieren immer höhere Anteile ihres Bruttoinlandsprodukts in ihre Wissenschafts­landschaft.

Verschiedene Wege sind denkbar, mit diesen bestehenden und kommenden Herausforderungen umzugehen. Und, um keine Missverständnisse aufkommen zu lassen: Die Wettbewerbsfähigkeit der deutschen Wissen­schaft ist nicht allein eine Frage des Geldes. Geeignete strukturelle und rechtliche Rahmenbedingungen, strategie- und handlungs­­fähige Institutionen sowie ein balanciertes, komplementär ausgerichtetes Institutio­nengefüge sind mindestens ebenso wichtige Voraus­setzungen. Ganz gleich, welcher Weg für die Sicherung der Zukunftsfähigkeit und Wett­­bewerbsfähigkeit der deutschen Wissenschaft gewählt wird, einige zentrale Grundsätze sollten dabei leitend sein:
1. Wissenschaft ist nicht nur Forschung. Wissenschaft muss in ihrem gesamten Leistungsspektrum gefördert werden, so dass neben der Forschung insbeson­dere die Lehre, der Transfer (in Politik, Gesellschaft, Kultur und Wirtschaft) und die infrastrukturbezogenen wissenschaftlichen Leistungen in ihrer jeweiligen Eigen­heit gefördert und honoriert werden. Diese unterschiedlichen Leistungsbereiche sind eng aufeinander bezogen und miteinander verwoben.
2. Die notwendige Vielfalt der Wissenschaft sollte durch eine korrespondierende Vielfalt auf struktureller und institutioneller Ebene gefördert werden. Dies begrün­­det und erfordert eine mehrdimensionale Differen­zierung im Wissenschaftssystem insgesamt, verbun­den mit einer Profilierung der einzelnen Einrichtungen beziehungsweise Organisationen.
3. Den Hochschulen kommt eine konstitutive Rolle im Wissenschaftssystem zu, sie sind der Ort, an dem prin­­zipiell alle Leistungsbereiche und Disziplinen der Wis­­senschaft zusammenkommen, und sie wirken vor allem über die Funktion der Lehre am breitesten in die Ge­­sellschaft hinein.
4. Mindestens ebenso notwendig wie gezielte Anre­gungen zur Entwicklung der Wissenschaft sind Er­­möglichungsstrukturen für ihre Entfaltung. Im Geiste einer „Kultur der Ermöglichung“ braucht die Wissen­schaft bedarfsgerechte, variable Förderoptionen, fle­­­­xible Rahmenbedingungen sowie finanzielle Gestal­tungsspielräume. Die wissenschaftlichen Einrichtungen und jede einzelne Wissenschaftlerin beziehungsweise jeder einzelne Wissenschaftler müssen willens und in der Lage sein, die gegebenen Möglichkeiten auch tatsächlich zu nutzen.
5. Die Schaffung geeigneter finanzieller und rechtlicher Rahmenbedingungen für die Wissenschaft ist die we­­sentliche Aufgabe der Länder und des Bundes, die sie angesichts zunehmender Anforderungen und des zu­­nehmenden internationalen Wettbewerbsdrucks in gemeinsamer Verantwortung wahrnehmen müssen. Dafür sind neue Wege der Kooperation zwischen Bund und Ländern notwendig.



Diese Leitlinien bieten einen Orientierungsrahmen, den der Wissenschaftsrat seinen „Perspektiven für das deut­­sche Wissenschaftssystem“1 zugrunde gelegt hat. Im Kern empfiehlt er darin ein Bündel von abgestimmten, ausbalancierten Maßnahmen, das in einem „Zukunfts­pakt“ von Bund und Ländern umzusetzen ist. Der Pakt soll der Stärkung von Forschung, Lehre, Transfer und Infrastrukturleistungen gleichermaßen dienen und so­wohl Fachhochschulen als auch Universitäten sowie den außeruniversitären Bereich einbeziehen. Er knüpft an die mit den auslaufenden einzelnen „Pakten“ bereits er­­zielten Erfolge an, er weist eine Balance von Wettbewerb und Grundsicherung, von Verlässlichkeit und Dynamik auf, und er zielt auf eine ausgewogene und flexible För­­derung von Personen und Institutionen. Bund und Länder sind gefordert, den „Zukunftspakt“ gemeinsam umzusetzen, die wissenschaftlichen Einrichtungen und Indi­viduen sind gefordert, die Maßnahmen des Paktes und seine Grundsätze mit Leben zu füllen, im Interesse der Zukunft des Standorts Deutschland.

Von 1987 bis 1995 war May bei der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft tätig. 1995 wechselte er in die Geschäftsstelle des Wissenschaftsrates. Dort leitete er fünf Jahre das Referat „Hochschulstruktur- und Rahmenplanung“, danach übernahm er das Referat „Lehre, Studium und Wissenschaftlicher Nachwuchs“ und wurde stellvertretender Generalsekretär. Von 2003 bis 2008 war May Kanzler der Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München. Seit dem 1. Februar 2009 ist Thomas May Generalsekretär des Wissenschaftsrates.