Thomas Kraus: International hub in the heart of Europe

From the state capital of Hessen to the whole world: For TNT Express, the loca­­tion of Wiesbaden represents one of the most important junctions in the Euro­pe­­an network. Here, the company operates not only one of its 31 national branch­­es but also its worldwide third-largest sort­­ing centre. Thomas Kraus, chairman of the executive board of TNT Express Ger­­many, about the location and signi­fi­cance of the region for TNT Express:


tnt-info

The Rhine-Main region is Germany’s most important traffic junction. With the Rhine-­Main airport and its CargoCity, the Frank­­furt motorway interchange, the main Frank­­furt railway station and the Frankfurt air­­port long-distance railway station, the re­­gion around Wiesbaden and Frankfurt offers ideal conditions from a traffic lo­­gistics viewpoint. Moreover, numerous companies have settled here in sectors for which TNT Express can offer cus­­tomized transportation solutions.
How well-positioned are we in this high­ly interesting region? As the third-largest fa­­cility in the worldwide TNT Express net­work, our location in Wiesbaden plays a decisive role in optimizing operational proc­­esses as well as shortening national and international run times. As one of the lead­­ing providers of expedited service in the B2B field, TNT Express makes up to 4.4 million weekly time-critical deliveries to destinations in over 200 countries. To this effect, 26,600 vehicles and over 40 com­­pany-­­owned aeroplanes are being de­ployed. Our own hubs are junctions in the world­­wide network, where single deliveries are instantly transferred and redirected. From its Wiesbaden hub, TNT Express can reach 30 destinations in Germany and up­­wards of 520 across Europe – partly by land, part­­ly by way of our aerial network. For this purpose, we set up our own perma­nent shuttle trucking service between the road hub in Wiesbaden and the TNT Air­freight Center at the Frankfurt airport, which is synchronized with the flight departure times.
Our clients – almost exclusively industrial and commercial companies – are entitled to expect from us, as a premium service provider, that we offer them an uninterrupted, punctual and reliable ser­­­vice network. In this regard, our Wi­­es­baden hub is an ideal location – in the middle of the flow of goods and in prox­­imity to our customers in the region.Hub means centre. Like the spokes of a wheel, multiple connections converge at this central location. Those hubs in our net­­work are crucial building blocks of a strategic orientation towards present and future developments in the field of ex­­pe­­dited transport service.

TNT_Express_Shed

This is where traffic merges, splits up, and is directed. In Germany, the high serv­­ice level of TNT Express products is achieved by means of a “backbone” com­­prising three hubs, which provides our clients a critical time and quality advantage: While deliveries within the North are transferred at the Hanover hub and those within the South at the Nu­­rem­­berg hub, the Wiesba­­den fa­­cility serves as a north-south and east-west junction – including cross-border deliveries.
Our gates to the world are the international road hub in Arnheim and the TNT Express air hub in Liège. Those two lo­­­­ca­­tions connect us with the group’s world­­wide network and provides our clients access to trade with, say, the so-called BRIC countries: Brazil, Russia, India, and China. With their above-average growths, they have been on the verge of catching up with the “old” economic powers for years now. To provide our clients the best possible connection with those econom­ic powerhouses, TNT Express has been making long-term investments in all emerg­ing markets of the global economy – and our hub in Wiesbaden ensures a quick and trouble-free traffic of goods with those regions.
In other words: The location of Wies­baden puts us exactly where our clients need us. The various services offered by TNT Express have your needs covered at all times. They range from our standard prod­­­ucts to professional branch-specific solutions for the life science, automo­tive and high-tech markets. For deliveries that, due to their size, weight or extraordinary time requirements, cannot be han­­dled by the standard Express network, our special services open up unique al­­­ternatives: nation- and Europe-wide direct deliveries, international air charter, on­­board couriers, and other options are available for every transportation requirement.


TNT_Express_Delivery_2

By the way, the Rhine-Main region has more to offer to the TNT Express network than outstanding traffic connections. As a premium service provider, we rely on skilled and motivated personnel – which we can find in the region. Already, the lo­­gistics and mobility sector in Hessen now­adays employs more than 200,000 peo­ple. Moreover, no other region in Ger­ma­­ny boasts an equally high density of scientists and companies in the mobility and logistics branches. That, too, is part of the structural conditions that have made our success story in Wiesbaden possible. Since opening the hub in 2001, we have doubled our administrative and non-ad­­min­­istrative staff to a total of 400.
As a sustainability-conscious company, we are, of course, aware of our signi­fi­­cance for the location. Employing young talent, for example, is one of our prior­ities. Every year, many young persons are trained in logistics and business professions, and our branch has maintained a training part­­nership with the Wiesbaden Ora­nien­schu­le (school) since 2009. This is a way for us not only to fulfil our responsibility but al­­so to bring the students closer to the econ­­omy and our company – after all, today’s students will be tomorrow’s professionals.

I am therefore convinced that the Rhine-­­Main region and TNT Express are a per­­fect match – in a productive cooperation, which makes a lasting contribution to the economic growth of the region as well as its significance in the international move­­ment of goods and services.

 

TNT_Express_GER_CEO_Thomas_KrausThomas Kraus was born in 1966 and has occupied various management po­­si­­tions at TNT Express Germany since 1 July 1990. Be­­fore becoming chairman of the executive board in 2006, he had been managing director of sales, marketing and customer service for three years.

Thomas Kraus: Internationale Drehscheibe im Herzen Europas

Von Hessens Landeshauptstadt in die gan­ze Welt: Der Standort Wiesbaden ist für TNT Express einer der wichtigsten Kno­­tenpunkte im europäischen Netz­werk. Hier betreibt das Unternehmen nicht nur eine von 31 nationalen Niederlassungen, sondern auch sein drittgrößtes Sor­tier­zentrum weltweit. Thomas Kraus, Vor­sit­zender der Geschäftsführung von TNT Express Deutschland, über den Stand­ort und die Bedeutung der Region für TNT Express:
Das Rhein-Main-Gebiet ist Deutschlands wichtigste Verkehrsdrehscheibe. Mit dem Rhein-Main-Flughafen und seiner Car­go­City, dem Frankfurter Kreuz, dem Frank­furter Hauptbahnhof und dem Fern­bahn­hof Frankfurt Flughafen bietet die Re­­gi­on rund um Wiesbaden und Frankfurt aus verkehrslogistischer Sicht optimale Vor­­aussetzungen. Darüber hinaus sind hier zahlreiche Unternehmen aus Branchen angesiedelt, für deren Bedürfnisse TNT Express maßgeschneiderte Trans­port­lö­sungen anbietet.
Wie sind wir in dieser hochinteressanten Region aufgestellt? Unser Standort in Wies­baden spielt als drittgrößte Anlage im weltweiten Netzwerk von TNT Ex­­press eine entscheidende Rolle für optimale operative Abläufe sowie kurze nationale und internationale Laufzeiten. Als einer der führenden Anbieter für Ex­­press­dienst­leistungen im B2B-Bereich befördert TNT Express wöchentlich bis zu 4,4 Mil­li­o­nen zeitsensible Sendungen an Ziele in über 200 Ländern. Weltweit sind hierfür 26.600 Fahrzeuge und über 40 eigene Flug­zeu­ge im Einsatz. Knotenpunkte dieses welt­um­­spannenden Netzwerks sind unsere Hubs, in denen die einzelnen Sendungen un­­mit­­telbar umgeschlagen und weitergeleitet werden. Vom Wiesbadener Hub aus er­­reicht TNT Express 30 Zielorte in Deutsch­land und mehr als 520 weitere in Eu­­ro­pa – teilweise auf dem Landweg, teilweise über unser Luftnetzwerk. Dafür wurde unter anderem ein eigens auf die Ab­­flug­zeiten abgestimmter permanenter Lkw-Rundlauf zwischen dem Road Hub in Wies­baden und dem TNT Airfreight Cen­­ter am Flughafen Frankfurt eingerichtet.


tnt-info

Unsere Kunden – fast ausschließlich Un­­ternehmen aus Industrie und Handel – er­­warten zu Recht, dass wir als Pre­mi­um­­­dienstleister ihnen ein lückenloses Ver­sor­gungsnetz anbieten und dieses so­­wohl pünktlich als auch zuverlässig bedienen. Das Wiesbadener Hub ist für uns in die­ser Hinsicht ein idealer Standort – mitten in den Warenströmen und nah an un­­se­ren Kunden in dieser Region.
Hub heißt Nabe. Und wie bei einem Rad die Speichen, laufen auch hier viele Ver­bindungen auf einen zentralen Punkt zu. Diese „Naben“ in unserem Netzwerk sind wichtige Bausteine der strategischen Aus­richtung auf aktuelle und zukünftige Ent­­wicklungen im Expresstransport.
Hier werden die Verkehre zusammen­ge­führt, aufgesplittet und gelenkt. In Deutsch­­land sichern wir das hohe Ser­vice-Level der TNT Express-Produkte mit einem „Rückgrat“ aus drei Hubs und er­­zielen damit die entscheidenden Zeit- und Qualitätsvorteile für unsere Kun­­den: Wäh­rend Sendungen aus dem Norden für den Norden im Hub Han­no­ver und die aus dem Süden für den Sü­­den im Hub Nürnberg um­­geschlagen werden, fungiert unsere An­lage in Wiesbaden als Nord-Süd- und Ost-West-Drehscheibe – auch für viele grenzüberschreitende Sen­dungen.
Unsere Tore zur Welt sind das internationale Road-Hub in Arnheim sowie das TNT Express-Air-Hub in Liège. Diese bei­den Standorte verbinden uns mit dem weltweiten Netzwerk des Konzerns und bieten unseren Kunden damit zum Bei­spiel Zugang zum Handel mit den so­­ge­nannten BRIC-Staaten: Brasilien, Russ­land, Indien und China. Mit ihrem über­­durchschnittlichen Wachstum sind diese seit Jahren auf dem Sprung, die „alten“ Wirtschaftsmächte einzuholen. Um den bestmöglichen Anschluss an diese „eco­nomic powerhouses“ für unsere Kun­den zu schaffen, investieren wir bei TNT Ex­­press nachhaltig auf allen kommenden Märkten der Weltwirtschaft – und stellen unter anderem mit dem Hub in Wies­ba­den den schnellen und reibungslosen Wa­­renverkehr in diese Regionen sicher.

TNT_Express_Shed

Am Standort Wiesbaden sind wir also ge­­nau dort, wo unsere Kunden uns brau­chen. Mit den vielfältigen Services von TNT Ex­­press bieten wir ihnen jederzeit genau das, was sie benötigen. Das kön­nen unsere Standardprodukte sein oder professionelle Branchenlösungen für die Märk­te Life Science, Automotive und High­tech. Auch für Sendungen, die wegen ihrer Grö­ße, ihres Gewichtes oder aufgrund au­­ßer­gewöhnlicher zeitlicher An­­for­der­un­gen nicht über das standardisierte Express-Netzwerk laufen können, eröffnen wir mit unseren Special Services einzigartige Al­­ternativen: Nationale und europäische Direktfahrten, internationale Aircharter, On-Board-Kuriere und weitere Optionen stehen für jede Transportanforderung zur Verfügung.
Die Rhein-Main-Region nimmt im Netz­werk von TNT Express übrigens nicht nur durch ihre hervorragende Ver­kehrs­an­bin­dung eine besondere Stellung ein. Als Pre­miumanbieter setzen wir auf gut aus­ge­bildete und motivierte Fachkräfte – und die finden wir in der Region. Schon heu­te zählt die hessische Logistik- und Mo­­bi­li­tätsbranche mehr als 200.000 Er­­werbs­tätige. Keine andere Region in Deutsch­land weist zudem eine ähnlich große Dich­te an Wissenschaftlern und Unter­neh­men aus den Bereichen Mobilität und Logistik auf. Auch dies gehört zu den Rah­menbedingungen, die unsere Erfolgs­ge­schichte in Wiesbaden ermöglicht haben: Seit der Eröffnung des Hubs im Jahr 2001 haben wir die Anzahl der Mitarbeiter im gewerblichen und kaufmännischen Be­­reich auf insgesamt 400 verdoppelt.
Als auf Nachhaltigkeit bedachtes Un­­ter­nehmen sind wir uns natürlich über un­­se­re Bedeutung für den Standort im Kla­ren. Nachwuchsarbeit zum Beispiel genießt bei uns einen hohen Stellenwert. Zahl­rei­che Jugendliche werden jährlich in lo­­gis­tischen und kaufmännischen Berufen aus­­gebildet, und mit der Wiesbadener Ora­nienschule unterhält die Nie­der­las­sung seit Anfang 2009 eine Lern­part­ner­schaft. Damit nehmen wir nicht nur un­­se­re gesellschaftliche Verantwortung wahr, son­­dern tun auch etwas, um den Schü­lern die Wirtschaft und unser Unternehmen nahezubringen – schließlich sind die Schü­ler von heute die Fachkräfte von morgen.


TNT_Express_Delivery_2

Ich bin daher überzeugt, dass das Rhein-Main-Gebiet und TNT Express sich per­­fekt ergänzen – in einem produktiven Miteinander, das einen nachhaltigen Bei­­trag leistet zum wirtschaftlichen Wachs­­tum der Region und ihrer Bedeutung in den internationalen Strömen von Wa­­ren und Dienstleistungen.

TNT_Express_GER_CEO_Thomas_KrausDer 1966 geborene Thomas Kraus ist seit dem 1. Juli 1990 bei TNT Express Deutschland tätig und bekleidete in die­­ser Zeit ver­schie­dene Management-Po­sitionen. Be­­­vor er Ende 2006 Vor­sit­zen­der der Ge­­schäfts­­führung wurde, war er drei Jahre lang Ge­­schäftsführer Sales, Marketing und Cus­­tomer Service.