Thomas Jurk: Where economy meets science

The Dresden region without a doubt belongs to the future-oriented economic regions. A high quality of life and good investment conditions have brought the region a good reputation internationally. Many entrepreneurs of medium-sized organizations have steered their businesses along successful paths; many large organizations have found their way to Dresden. Be it mechanical engineering firms, ambitious engineering service provider or producer of infra-red booths for medical applications: The list of new settlements reveals a wide spectrum.

Experiences with the economic upheaval of 1989 have shown that the preservation of industrial cores and competencies are decisive for the future prospects of a region. In times of globalization and worldwide location competition, the uni­­que­­­­ness of the marketing of the Dres­­den research and technology constellation will, however, matter even more in the future.

RENEUM---Blaues-Wunder

Especially in an increasingly knowledge-based economy, innovations be­­come an important factor for growth and employment.
Only if research and development are able to find sufficient qualified employees with a high level of education, will the region profit in its entirety.
A close interlinking of economics and science is therefore an important prerequisite for a successful innovation pro­­cess. With its well-educated and highly motivated qualified employees, the Dres­­den economic and scientific location offers a special potential to profit from the transfer of scientific and technological innovations into commercial application.
In order to further develop the interlinking of science and economy, the Saxon state government has raise the bar higher even stronger on “priority for innovation, growth and employment”. With nu­­merous political grant instruments, it contributes towards optimal basic conditions, provides incentives and support.
In the Dresden region, imagination, courage and entrepreneurial spirit are tradition. Convince yourself of the advantages of the Dresden region. I am certain that we will also in future be pleased with the economic and technological successes in Dresden and Saxony.

 

_MG_9048The author was born in Görlitz in 1962. After an apprenticeship as a radio technician, he worked at PGH Elektro, Rund­­funk, Fernsehen Weißwasser until 1989. He has been a member of Saxony’s State Legislature since 1990. From 1999, he was the leader of the SPD faction in the State Legislature. He has been Dep­­uty Prime Minister and State Minister for Economic Affairs and Labour since 2004.

Thomas Jurk: Wo Wirtschaft auf Wissenschaft trifft

Die Region Dresden gehört ohne Zwei­­fel zu den zukunftsorientierten Wirt­­schafts­­standorten. Hohe Le­­bens­­­­qualität und gute Investitions­­be­­din­­gun­­gen haben der Region international einen guten Ruf beschert. Viele Mittel­­ständler haben ihr Unterneh­­men in er­­folgreiche Bahnen gelenkt; viele große Unternehmen haben den Weg nach Dres­­den gefunden. Ob Ma­­­­schi­­nen­­­­­­bauer, anspruchsvoller In­­ge­­n­ieur­­­­dienst­­leister oder Hersteller von In­­frarot-Ka­­binen für medizinische An­­­­­­­wen­­dun­­gen: Die Liste der Neu­an­sied­­­lungen zeigt ein breites Spek­trum.

Die Erfahrungen mit dem wirtschaftlichen Umbruch 1989 haben gezeigt, dass der Erhalt industrieller Kerne und Kom­­petenzen entscheidend für die Per­­spek­­tiven einer Region ist. In Zeiten von Glo­­balisierung und weltweitem Stand­­­­ort­­wett­­bewerb wird es zukünftig aber noch mehr darauf an­­kommen, die Einzig­­artig­­keit der Dres­­dener For­­schungs- und Tech­­­­­no­lo­giekonstellation zu vermarkten.

RENEUM---Blaues-Wunder

Gerade in einer zunehmend wissensbasierten Wirtschaft werden Inno­va­­ti­­onen zu einer entscheidenden Größe für Wachstum und Beschäf­tigung. Nur wenn Forschung und Entwicklung ge­­nügend Fachkräfte mit einem hohen Bildungsniveau vorfinden, kann die Re­­­­gion als Ganzes profitieren.
Eine enge Ver­­zahnung von Wirtschaft und Wis­­sen­­schaft ist deshalb eine wichtige Voraussetzung für einen er­­folgreichen Innovations­prozess. Mit seinen gut aus­­gebildeten und hoch motivierten Fach­­kräften bietet der Wirtschafts- und Wis­­sens­standort Dresden ein besonderes Potenzial, um von dem Transfer wissenschaftlicher und technischer Inno­vationen in die wirtschaftliche Anwen­dung zu profitieren.

Um die Verzahnung von Wissenschaft und Wirtschaft weiter auszubauen, hat die sächsische Staatsregierung die Wei­­chen noch stärker auf „Vorrang für In­­no­­vation, Wachstum und Be­­schäf­­ti­­gung“ gestellt. Mit zahlreichen förder­­po­­litisch­­en Instrumenten trägt sie zu optimalen Rah­­men­be­ding­un­gen bei, gibt Anreize und Unter­stützung.
In der Region Dresden haben Ideen­reichtum, Mut und Unternehmergeist Tradition.
Über­­zeu­­gen Sie sich selbst von den Vorteilen der Region Dresden. Ich bin sicher, wir dürfen uns auch künftig über die wirtschaftlichen und technologischen Er­­folge in Dresden und Sachsen freuen.

_MG_9048Der Autor, 1962 in Görlitz geboren, ar­­beitete nach seiner Ausbildung zum Funk­­mechaniker bis 1989 bei der PGH Elektro, Rundfunk, Fernsehen Weiß­­was­­ser. Seit 1990 ist er Mitglied im säch­­si­­schen Land­­tag. Ab 1999 führte er die SPD-Fraktion an. Seit 2004 ist Thomas Jurk stellvertretender Ministerpräsi­dent und sächsischer Staatsminister für Wirt­­schaft und Arbeit.