Thomas Bahr: Planning for your future today – what to look for in a retirement insurance policy

In the media and in government circles the debate over the intergenerational contract is in full swing; opinions on the sub­ject also vary widely. However, one thing is certain: Germany is in a state of profound demographic change. The number of pensioners is increasing but the number of people in the workforce paying taxes is decreasing. The average retire­­ment period is also lengthening. The conse­­quence is that, later on, pensioners will not be able to live on their state pensions alone. There is no way around additional private retirement insurance, but many people feel ut­­terly overwhelmed by the wealth and complexity of retirement insurance products, preferring general explanations about the best type of policy for them. However, this broad statement is neither possible nor advisable, as every customer has different needs and wants for his or her retirement. And it is precisely these needs and wants that should be reflected in their retirement insurance.

Generally speaking, the earlier you start saving for your old age, the better. Due to the effect of compound interest, even those starting out in the workforce can benefit from paying a monthly premium of just 50 euros. Shares, unit trusts and unit-linked insurance policies are ideal for young people. While they offer no fixed interest rate, they do offer higher potential returns over the long term and, due to the term of the contract of 30 years or more, short-term losses can be compensated for. It is also important for those starting out in the workforce to take out disability insurance so that they have a more carefree future.

CF033687p

With life assurance policies, a distinction should be made between an endowment life policy and a unit-linked life policy. The former is characterized by its security in the form of a guaranteed minimum rate of interest. However, this interest rate has dropped to 2.25 per cent over the last ten years and will probably continue to drop. Then there is the annual permanent profit sharing rate of two per cent currently, but clients will have to expect reduced returns here as well due to lower interest rates.

For this reason, the demand for unit-linked life policies has increased. These products use opportunities for potentially higher returns on international stock ex­­changes and are therefore suitable for retirement insurance contracts of terms of ten years and longer.
Certainly, some people have become worried due to the recent fluctuations in unit prices. Yet funds are not automatically share-based unit trusts. There are many variations, including guarantee funds, which combine security and potential re­­turns. Due to the great demand for guar­­antee funds from large sections of the public, some financial services companies such as Heidelberger Leben have established guarantee funds over the last ten years. But there are differences in guar­­antee funds as well, for instance in the level of security, the percentage to which the capital is guaranteed, and or whether the guarantee refers to the premiums or the final accumulated amount.

Use state subsidies. People with private retirement insurance should not forgo taking advantage of gov­­ern­­ment sub­sidies. The basic private pen­­sion is of particular advantage to senior exec­­u­­tives and the self-employed due to its tax advantages, as payments can be deducted from income tax as “special expenses”. Thus, about 70 per cent of the maximum amount (20,000 euros for sin­­gles and 40,000 euros for married couples) can be deducted from income tax.


CF032227

The “Riester-Rente” (“Riester Pension”, named after its architect) is suitable for low and mid-level employees. For example, any­­one paying four per cent of their previous year’s gross annual income into a Riester retire­­ment insurance policy receives a govern­ment subsidy of 154 euros. There are additional subsidies for children, and personal contributions and subsidies can be deducted from income tax. This clever idea of retirement insurance with a state subsidy should be included in your plan­­ning in all cases because it is money easily earned.

Expanding retirement insurance provision and optimization for “Generation 50plus”. For those aged over 50, retirement insur­­ance requirements differ for those aged between 50 and retirement age and pen­­sioners over 65. Most of the first group are approaching the end of their working life and want to increase provision for their retirement. Many use inheritance or life insurance policies that have been paid out in a single amount.

 

CF034951p

Pensioners, on the other hand, often enjoy the first few years of their retirement by travelling and on cultural activi­­ties. Short-term liquidity plays a greater role for them, which is why their demand for daily interest rates or short-term, fixed-interest securities increases. Due to their higher life expectancy, they also need more additional capital for their retirement, which they can most easily draw on from income-oriented investments.
Anyone wanting to will their heirs tangible or financial assets is well advised to use the advantages of life assurance policies in the form of a cross-over policy. In such policies, a wife takes out a life policy on the life of her husband and the husband does the same in respect of his wife. The big advantage of these policies is that no inheritance tax is payable.

A good retirement insurance policy is an individual retirement insurance policy. The wealth of products and the various different subsidy options show that only a detailed analysis of one’s personal situa­­tion and life planning can give a substan­tial idea as to what the optimal provision for retirement should be. Besides age, income and marital status, expectations and sense of security must be taken into account. What is crucial is that clients get solid advice and retirement insurance solutions tailored to their needs.

 

HLE_Thomas-Bahr-PorträtThomas Bahr (born in 1963) lives with his family near Heidelberg. He is an ex­pert on sales of assurance products. His goal is to establish unit-linked life assurance policies and flexible guaranteed funds at all tax-assisted levels.

Thomas Bahr: Heute für später planen – was es bei der Altersvorsorge zu beachten gilt

In Politik und Medien ist die Debatte um den Generationenvertrag in vollem Gange und die Meinungen gehen weit aus­einan­der. Fest steht: Deutschland befindet sich in einem tiefgreifenden demo­­grafischen Wandel. Die Zahl der Rentner nimmt zu, die der Beitrags­zahler ab. Zudem steigt die durch­­schnittliche Bezugszeit der Rente. Die Folge: Die gesetzliche Rente wird später nicht reichen. Ohne private Vorsorge geht es also nicht, doch zahlreiche Sparer fühlen sich von Fülle und Komplexität der Produkte überfordert und würden sich eine allgemeine Aussage über die beste Vor­sorge wünschen. Doch leider ist diese Pauscha­­li­­sierung nicht möglich oder rat­­sam, denn jeder Kunde hat unterschied­liche Bedürf­­nisse und Anforderungen an ein sorgenfreies Leben im Alter. Und genau diese Wünsche sollten sich indivi­duell in seiner Vorsorge widerspiegeln.

Generell gilt, je früher mit der Vorsorge begonnen wird, desto besser. Dank des Zinseszinseffektes lohnt sich bereits für Berufsanfänger eine erste Vorsorge mit Monatsbeiträgen von 50 Euro. Ins­beson­­dere Aktien, Aktienfonds und Fonds­­lebens­­versicherungen sind für junge Menschen ideal. Zwar bieten sie keine Fest­ver­zinsung, dafür aber langfristig höhere Rendite­chancen, und aufgrund der Vertragslaufzeit von 30 und mehr Jahren können kurzfristige Verluste aus­­geglichen werden. Weiterhin ist besonders für Berufseinsteiger wichtig, ihre Arbeits­kraft mit einer Berufsunfähig­keits­ver­siche­­rung abzusichern, damit sie in eine sorgenfreie Zukunft blicken.

CF033687p

Vorsorge mit Absicherung für junge Familien. Bei Familien rückt ein anderer Aspekt in den Mittelpunkt. Sie wollen eine finan­­zielle Absicherung von Ehe­partnern und Kindern, falls einem Eltern­teil etwas zustößt. Gut geeignet hierfür ist eine Lebensversicherung, die eine Hinterbliebenenabsicherung mit einer Altersvorsorge verbindet.

Bei der Lebensversicherung ist zwischen der kapitalbildenden und fondsgebundenen zu unterscheiden. Erstere zeichnet sich durch ihre Sicherheit in Form des garantierten Mindestzinses aus. Dieser ist jedoch in den vergangenen zehn Jahren auf 2,25 Prozent abgesenkt worden und wird vermutlich eher weiter sinken. Hinzu kommt die laufende Überschussbetei­­ligung von derzeit rund zwei Prozent, doch die Kunden müssen aufgrund niedrigerer Zinssätze mit abnehmenden Werten rechnen.

Aus diesem Grund ist die Nachfrage nach Fondslebensversicherungen gestiegen. Diese Produkte nutzen potenziell höhere Ertragschancen an den internationalen Börsen und sind daher insbesondere für Vorsorgeverträge mit Laufzeiten ab zehn Jahren geeignet.
Gewiss sind einige Bürger aufgrund der zuletzt starken Kursschwankungen verun­­sichert. Doch Fonds sind nicht automatisch Aktienfonds. Es gibt viele Varianten, unter anderem sogenannte Garantie­fonds, die Sicherheit mit Ertragspotenzial verbinden. Aufgrund der großen Nachfrage vieler Bürger haben einige Finanzdienstleister, wie Heidelberger Leben, in den vergangenen Jahren Garantiefonds aufgelegt. Auch bei ihnen gibt es Unterschiede, etwa in der Höhe der Sicherheiten, zu wie viel Prozent das Kapital garantiert wird oder ob sich die Garantie auf einbezahlte Beiträge oder erreichte Höchststände bezieht.


CF032227

Staatliche Förderungen nutzen. Wer privat vorsorgt, sollte sich staatliche Förderungen nicht entgehen lassen. Die Basisrente etwa lohnt sich aufgrund der steuerlichen Vorteile besonders für leitende Angestellte und Selbstständige, da sich Einzahlungen als Sonderausgaben geltend machen lassen: So können circa 70 Pro­­zent des Höchstbeitrages (20.000 Euro für Singles/40.000 Euro für Ehepaare) angerechnet werden. Die Riester-Rente eignet sich für Angestellte niedrigeren und mittleren Einkommens. Wer beispiels­weise vier Prozent seines Vorjahres-Brutto­­einkommens in einen Riester-Vertrag ein­­zahlt, erhält 154 Euro Zulage. Für Kinder gibt es zusätzliche Förderungen, und Eigenbeiträge oder Zulagen können als Sonderausgaben geltend gemacht werden. Diese clevere Idee der Vorsorge mit staatlicher Förderung sollte in der Planung unbedingt berücksichtigt werden, denn sie ist leicht verdientes Geld.

Vorsorgeausbau und Optimierung bei „Generation 50plus“. Bei den Über-50-Jährigen unterscheiden sich die Vorsorge­anforderungen bei Menschen ab 50 bis zum Ruhestand und Rentnern sowie Pensionären über 65 Jahren. Die Mehr­heit der ersten Gruppe nähert sich dem Ende ihrer Berufszeit und möchte ihre Altersvor­sorge weiter ausbauen. Viele nutzen dafür Auszahlungen aus Erb­schaften oder Lebens­versicherungen, die sie in eine Rentenversicherung gegen Einmal­beitrag investieren.

Rentner und Pensionäre genießen da­­gegen bereits die ersten Jahre ihres Ruhe­­standes, häufig mit Reisen und kulturellen Aktivitäten. Kurzfristige Liquidität spielt für sie eine größere Rolle, weshalb ihre Nachfrage nach Tagesgeld oder kurz laufenden, festverzinslichen Wertpapieren steigt. Zudem benötigen sie aufgrund der gestiegenen Lebenserwartung für einen Ruhestand mehr zusätzliches Kapital, das sie am ehesten aus renditeorientierten Anlagen ziehen können.

CF034951p

Wer seinen Angehörigen Sach- oder Geldwerte vermachen will, ist gut damit beraten, die Vorteile von Lebensver­­sicherungen in Form von Über-Kreuz-Policen zu nutzen. Bei diesem Vertrag schließt beispielsweise die Ehefrau als Versicherungsnehmerin eine Lebensver­­sicherung auf das Leben ihres Mannes ab und umgekehrt. Der große Vorteil bei diesen Policen ist, dass keine Erb­schaftssteuer zu zahlen ist.

Gute Vorsorge ist individuelle Vorsorge. Die Fülle der Produkte und die unterschied­­lichen Fördermöglichkeiten zeigen, dass nur nach detaillierter Analyse der persön­­lichen Situation und Lebensplanung eine Antwort erfolgen kann, wie die optimale Altersvorsorge aussieht. Neben Alter, Einkommen und Familienstand müssen Erwartungshaltung und Sicherheits­em­pfinden beachtet werden. Entscheidend ist, dass Kunden eine fundierte Beratung und auf sie zugeschnittene Vorsorge­lösungen erhalten.

HLE_Thomas-Bahr-PorträtThomas Bahr (Jahrgang 1963) lebt mit seiner Familie bei Heidelberg. Er ist ein ausgewiesener Experte für den Vertrieb von Versicherungen. Fondsgebundene Altersvorsorgelösungen und flexible Garantiefonds sollten sich nach seiner Meinung in allen steuerlich geförderten Schichten etablieren.