Tanja Gönner: More innovation and more entrepreneurship for Tunisia

Tunisia is facing many challenges. Along with political stability, the country has to confront issues concerning sustainable growth and unemployment, particularly among young academics. An important step is to increase competitiveness of small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs). These comprise 95 per cent of busi­­nesses in Tunisia. For them it is im­­­portant to maintain competitiveness, es­­pecially towards the European Union, in light of aspirations towards a market open­ing.

The promotion of innovations and start­­up companies plays a vital role in the pro­­cess. The Deutsche Gesellschaft für Inter­­­nationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH therefore supports the Tunisian govern­­ment on behalf of the Federal Ministry of Economic Cooperation and Develop­­ment (BMZ) in developing a tailor-made promotional offer for SMEs and start-ups. One focus of this operation lies in the improvement in terms of advisory services offerings for SMEs in the area of innovation.

Innovation as a success factor GIZ has intensively trained Tunisian management advisers in the subject of innovation ma­n­­a­­­gement. These have, in turn, advised 80 small and medium-sized enterprises in the context of a pilot project. This type of practical advisory service in innova­tion management has had a positive im­­­pact on both sides.

On the one hand, companies can now better manage innovation projects and deal with risks related to the introduction of new products. On the other hand, 90 per cent of participating management ad­­­visers are now offering the Tunisian SMEs innovation advice as a fixed part of their advisory services. Moreover, they established the first advisor network for innovation and sustainable development in Tunisia to convey the importance of innovations and to support them in doing so in a joint effort.

The breakthrough around the topic of in­­novation with companies and ma­­­na­­ge­­­ment advisers also brought about a breakthrough on the political level. As a consequence, the Tunisian government is now for the first time providing finan­­cing instruments and promotion meas­­u­­res. The Ministry of Industry has further­­­­­more set up a special department for the development of innovation and technol­ogy.

GIZ has developed an “innovation score­­­­­board” to measure the innovation perfor­m­­ance of Tunisian companies. Thanks to this scoreboard, it is now possible to as­­­sess the amount of expenditure of Tuni­­sian companies for research and develop­­ment at the ministerial level. The information that is obtained in this way helps the Tunisian government in formulating a suitable innovation policy and to control the implementation in an efficient manner.

GIZ-PAEI-061-Kopie

The Tunisian dairy company Vita­­lait is a good example of successful in­­­no­­vation management. When Vitalait was established in 1998, it only had 50 em­­­ployees and merely produced milk in bottles along with butter. Today, Vitalait has 450 employees and multiple modern production plants with which it produces a high number of milk and yoghurt varie­­ties. The annual turn­over amounts to 12 million dinars and the gross profit to 5.5 million – about 2.9 million euros mind you. The diversification at Vitalait started with a pilot project initiated by GIZ. Management advisers trained in the field of innova­tion developed a new strategy in coopera­tion with Vitalait and thus were able to open new markets with new products.

Creating sustainable companies But GIZ not only contributes to improving the innovation performance of existing companies; it also provides strong support in the formation of new businesses. Local particularities in the specific region are always a core focus when advising start-ups. Does an area have natural re­­­sources at its disposal? Do specific economic sectors already exist? What does the infrastructure have to offer? By answering these questions it is possible to identify short and medium-term market niches with potential for growth in the va­­­rious economic regions. To promote and develop these niches, GIZ networks the va­­rious funding institutions with one another.

Networks that are created in this way integrate experts who work together in offering advice, supporting start-ups and providing financing instruments. The ad­­­vising orientates itself towards the needs of the individual would-be entrepreneurs. It com­­prises specialised, technical and economic components and those intended for financial support. The offer also adresses particular requirements of graduates, returning migrants and women.

GIZ-PAEI-054-Kopie

Along with advising on fundamental is­­sues related to SMEs, GIZ also provides support in the linking of the economy and universities. In the meantime, the Ministry of Higher Education, which de­­­velops the curriculum and methods at universities, has been involved in the na­­­tional policy for entrepreneurial training and start-ups. One of the results of this in­­­clusion is the possibility of writing dip­­­lo­­­­­ma theses at companies – just the same as it can be done in Germany. Another advantage is that this practical advice can already be direct­ed at students. This should help to promote the entrepreneurial potential of students through professional management advisers, who offer ad­­vice on the possible subsequent formation of a business while they are working on their theses.

Aouini Itissar represents a vivid example of the successful work with students. The Tunisian native studied biotechnol­ogy at the Jendouba University in Beja. She came up with the idea to extract edible oil from tomato pips, which ac­­­cumulate as a waste product in large quantities during the production of to­­­mato purée or dried tomatoes. In the con­­text of her bachelor thesis and in co­­­operation with the company Sicam, she developed a method to utilise the oil from pips. Without further ado, the young woman participated in the competition for the best business ideas, which was organised by her university and GIZ, and won the first prize.

She has since graduated from university and participated in the national competition for the best business plan right after. Supported by GIZ, this competition is organised by the Ministries of Indus­­try, Higher Education and Labour. Here she took the third place. In the meantime she has patented her method for extract­­­­ing edible oil. Right now she is looking for partners who are interested in her idea and willing to invest capital for a joint venture. The experts at GIZ, who are ac­t­ing on behalf of the Federal Ministry of Economic Cooperation and Develop­­ment (BMZ), offer active support in identifying serious business partners and developing a business plan eligible for financing.

GIZ_Vorstand2012_Goenner_3181-KopieThe fully trained lawyer was born in Sigmaringen in 1969 and was the Minis­­ter for the Environment for the State of Baden-Wuerttemberg from 2005 to 2011. Since July 2012, she has been the spokes­­­person for the management board of the Deutsche Gesellschaft für Inter­­nationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH.

Tanja Gönner: Mehr Innovation und mehr Unternehmertum für Tunesiens Wirtschaft

Tunesien steht vor vielen Heraus­for­der­ungen. Neben politischer Stabi­li­tät muss das Land für nachhaltiges Wirt­­schafts­­wachstum sorgen und die Ar­­­­bei­­­ts­­losigkeit, vor allem unter jungen Akade­­­­mikern, senken. Ein wichtiger Schritt dabei ist, die Wett­bewerbsfähigkeit der kleinen und mittleren Unternehmen (KMU) zu steigern. Sie machen 95 Prozent der Be­­­triebe in Tunesien aus. Gerade sie müssen angesichts der angestrebten Markt­­­öffnung, insbesondere gegenüber der Euro­­päischen Union, konkurrenzfähig bleiben.

Die Förderung von Innovationen und Exis­­tenzgründungen spielt hierbei eine wich­­­tige Rolle. Die Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zu­­sammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH unterstützt deshalb die tunesische Regierung im Auftrag des Bundes­­­ministeriums für wirtschaftliche Zu­­­sam­menarbeit und Ent­wicklung (BMZ) dabei, ein maßgeschneidertes Förderangebot für KMU und Existenzgründer aufzubauen. Ein Schwerpunkt der Arbeit liegt auf der Verbesserung des Angebots an Be­­ratungs­­dienstleistungen für KMU im Bereich In­­novation.

Erfolgsfaktor Innovation. Zum Thema Innovationsmanagement hat die GIZ tune­­sische Unternehm­ensberater intensiv wei­ter­­gebildet. Die wiederum haben im Rah­men eines Pilotprojektes 80 kleine und mittlere Unternehmen beraten. Diese prak­­tische Beratung zum Innovations­mana­ge­ment hatte auf beiden Seiten positive Aus­wirkungen.

Auf der einen Seite können die Unter­neh­men Innovationsprojekte inzwischen besser managen und bei der Ein­­führung neuer Produkte besser mit den damit verbun­den­en Risiken um­gehen. Auf der anderen Seite bieten 90 Prozent der beteiligten Unternehmensberater den tunesischen KMU nun Inno­vationsberatung als festen Bestandteil ihres Beratungsangebots an. Mehr noch: Sie gründeten das erste Bera­­­­ternetzwerk zu Innovation und Nach­haltiger Entwicklung in Tunesien, um ge­­meinsam den Unternehmen die Be­­­deu­­tung von Innovation zu vermitteln und ihnen zur Seite zu stehen.

Mit dem Durchbruch des Themas Inno­va­­tion bei Unternehmen und Unter­nehmens­­beratern gelang auch der Durchbruch auf politischer Ebene. Als Ergebnis stellt die tunesische Re­­gierung den Unternehmen erstmals Finanzierungsinstrumente und Förder­maßnahmen zur Verfügung. Das Indus­trieministerium hat zudem eine ei­­­gene Abteilung für Innovation und Tech­nologieentwicklung geschaffen.

Um die Innovationskraft tunesischer Unter­­­nehmen messbar zu machen, hat die GIZ ein „Innovations-Scoreboard“ mit entwickelt. Heute kann damit auf Ministeriums­ebene gemessen werden, wie hoch bei­­­­­spielsweise die Ausgaben der tunesischen Unternehmen für Forschung und Ent­wick­­lung sind. Die so gewonnenen Informa­­tio­nen helfen der tunesischen Regierung, eine geeignete Innovationspolitik zu formu­­lieren und deren Umsetzung effektiv zu steuern.

GIZ-PAEI-061-Kopie

Ein gutes Beispiel für gelungenes Inno­vationsmanagement ist das tu­­ne­sische Molkereiunternehmen Vita­lait. Als Vitalait 1998 gegründet wur­de, hatte es gerade einmal 50 Mit­arbeiter und produzierte nur Milch in Flaschen und Butter. Heute hat Vita­lait 450 Mitarbeiter und mehrere moderne Pro­duktionsanlagen, mit denen es eine Vielzahl von Milch- und Joghurt­­va­­­rianten herstellt. Der Jahresumsatz be­­­läuft sich auf 12 Millionen Dinar, der Brut­­to­­­gewinn auf 5,5 Millionen – immerhin rund 2,9 Millionen Euro. Angefangen hat die Diversifizierung bei Vitalait mit einem Pilotprojekt mit der GIZ. Zum Thema Innovation ausgebildete Unternehmens­berater entwickelten mit Vitalait die neue Strategie und eröffneten so gemeinsam mit dem Betrieb neue Märkte mit neuen Produkten.

Nachhaltige Unternehmensgründung. Doch nicht nur bei der Verbesserung der Innovationskraft bestehender Un­terneh­men, sondern auch bei Grün­dung neuer Unternehmen unter­stützt die GIZ in Tu­­nesien tatkräftig. Im Fokus der Bera­­tung bei Unter­nehmens­gründungen stehen im­­mer die lokalen Besonderheiten einer spezifischen Region. Verfügt ein Gebiet über natürliche Ressourcen? Existieren bereits bestimmte Wirtschaftssektoren? Wie sieht die Infrastruktur aus? Mit der Beantwortung dieser Fragen lassen sich kurz- und mittelfristige Marktnischen mit Wachstumspotentialen in verschiedenen Wirtschaftsregionen identifizieren. Um diese Nischen zu fördern und zu entwick­­eln, vernetzt die GIZ verschiedene För­der­institutionen miteinander.

In den so geschaffenen Netzwerken arbei­­ten heute Fachleute zusammen, die beraten, Unternehmensgründungen begleiten und Finanzierungsinstrumente anbieten. Die Beratung orientiert sich an den Be­­dürfnissen der Unternehmer in spe. Sie umfasst fachliche, technische, betriebs­­­­wirtschaftliche Komponenten und solche zur finanziellen Förderung. Auch die beson­­deren Anforderungen von Hoch­­­schul­ab­sol­­­venten, rückkehrenden Migranten und Frauen berücksichtigt das Angebot.

GIZ-PAEI-054-Kopie

Neben der grundsätzlichen Beratung von KMUs leistet die GIZ auch bei der Ver­­netzung von Wirtschaft und Hoch­schule Unterstützung. Inzwischen ist das Hoch­­­schul­­ministerium, das die Lehrinhalten und -methoden an Universitäten erarbeitet, in die nationale Politik zur Unternehmer­bildung und Existenzgründung mit einbezogen. Eines der Ergebnisse dieser Ein­­beziehung ist, dass künftig – wie in Deu­tschland üblich – Diplomarbeiten in Betrieben geschrieben werden können. Ein weiteres ist, dass die praktische Be­­­ra­­tung bereits bei Studierenden ansetzt. So soll das unternehmerische Potential der Studierenden gefördert werden, indem professionelle Unternehmensberater sie bereits während ihrer Abschlussarbeiten zu einer möglichen Gründung im An­­schluss beraten.

Ein anschauliches Beispiel für die erfolg­­reiche Arbeit mit Studenten ist Aouini Itissar. Die Tunesierin studierte Biotech­­­nologie an der Universität Jendouba in Beja. Sie hatte die Idee, Speiseöl aus To­­matenkernen zu extrahieren. Die fallen als Abfallprodukt in großen Mengen bei der Herstellung von Tomatenmark oder getrockneten Tomaten an. Itissar entwickel­­te in ihrer Bachelorarbeit zusammen mit dem Unternehmen Sicam eine Methode, das Öl der Kerne zu nutzen. Kurz entschlos­­sen nahm die junge Frau am Wettbewerb der besten Geschäftsidee teil, den ihre Uni gemeinsam mit der GIZ ausrichtet – und gewann den ersten Preis.

Ihr Studium hat sie inzwischen abgeschlos­sen und auch gleich beim nationalen Wettbewerb des besten Geschäftsplans teilgenommen. Den richten das Industrie-, Hochschul- und Arbeitsministerium aus, unterstützt von der GIZ. Hier erlangte sie den dritten Platz. Ihre Methode zur Gewin­­nung des Speiseöls hat sie inzwischen patentieren lassen. Momentan sucht sie nach Partnern, die sich für ihre Geschäfts­­­idee interessieren und mit eigenem Kapi­­tal in ein gemeinsames Geschäft einsteigen. Bei der Identifizierung seriöser Par­­­t­­ner und der Erarbeitung eines finanzierungsfähigen Geschäftsplans stehen ihr die Experten der GIZ, die hier im Auf­­trag des Bundesministeriums für wirtschaft­­liche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung (BMZ) tätig sind, tatkräftig zur Seite.

GIZ_Vorstand2012_Goenner_3181-KopieDie Volljuristin wurde 1969 in Sigmar­ingen geboren und war von 2005 bis 2011 Umweltministerin des Landes Baden-­­­­­Württemberg. Seit Juli 2012 ist sie Sprecherin des Vorstands der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Internatio­nale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH.