Susanne Koelbl: Letter from America

The security officer at Detroit Airport is wearing a dark leather holster with a walkie-talkie and a pistol around the waist over a black shirt with black trousers. He stands like a tree, arms folded, broad stance at the exit of the plane. As the queue of passengers slowly moves forwards, I happen to be standing right in front of him. He glances at me for a second and then smiles: “I like your jacket.”

My favourite jacket. It is a slim-cut frock coat made of green and blue striped dark silk with red embroideries on the collar and cuffs, tailor-made in Kabul.

The jacket arrived just in time, by courier, as agreed, before I left for China in August for two months and then flew to the USA, where I would attend the University of Michigan for a year. “With warm wishes from Kabul, Nazima” – the note was written in blue ink on a small piece of card­­board in the package.

AFG_2010_12-6180-Kopie

Nazima is the director of Zarif Design, a truly unique tailor in Butcher Street in Shar-e-Nau, near the centre of the Afghan capital. This small fashion label was founded six years ago by a Swiss architect of Afghan origin. Together with her team, she developed an eye-catching elegant style, fusing old oriental material and embroidery designs with exquisite tailoring, the sort which may be found in Italy nowadays.

Why am I telling you this? Because the story of my jacket is also my story of Afghanistan. A great experience in a difficult country.

As a journalist I have written a lot about the war. But the war is not Afghanistan. Afghanistan is the sum of all the stories of the Afghan people together with their memories.

The Americans here in the Midwest now only remember the victims and the cost of this conflict: of the 2,706 Western soldiers who lost their life in Afghanistan in the period up to the beginning of Nov­­em­ber 2011, 52 were German and 1,748 American. “What are our soldiers still dying for?” – this is the question on the lips of US citizens ten years after they first marched into the Hindu Kush. And why is nine billion still being spent on this war every month at a time when the USA itself is threatening to go bankrupt under the weight of its national debt?

My most vivid memories of Afghanistan are meeting people on my travels through this untamed land. I have travelled to the country over fifty times for the current affairs magazine “Der Spiegel”, and as part of this I was able to visit 27 of the 34 Afghan provinces. Most of the population are still unimaginably poor and every family lost several members in these bloody decades. However, almost all Afghans who I have worked with or encountered through my job were surprisingly friendly and reliable partners. The same even applies to a man who you would certainly not expect to be this way. After all, he is “on the other side” and his followers are fighting our soldiers.

“Tomorrow at five, in front of your house,” said the bearded Kabuli. He was my contact who had promised to take me to one of Gulbuddin Hekmatyar’s most trusted associates. Hekmatyar is an Islamist politician and guerrilla commander who lives in the underground and carries out bomb attacks and suicide bombings against Western troops. Hekmatyar is one of the most wanted extremists.

It was certainly a risky situation: I had to trust my contact that I was not going to be kidnapped. But by the same token, he had to trust that I wouldn’t inform the Americans about the whereabouts of Hekmatyar’s representatives, despite the US hunting his troops with special forces. My hosts approved the meeting because they were keen to give their version of the conflict through the German media.

AFG_109-Kopie

The journey led down dusty streets out of the capital to the east. Our destination was the Afghan-Pakistani border post Tork­­ham at the Khyber Pass. At the time (shortly after the fall of the Taliban), the drive took almost eight hours as the roads were peppered with potholes the size of moon craters.

Hekmatyar’s confidant revealed his identity to me as the commander’s former secretary. He knew exactly where his superior was at that very time. The discussion lasted almost two hours, we ate together and had a considerable debate. We argued about whether the American invasion was legal, about the right to armed resistance, and even the possibility of Hekmatyar’s Hesb-i-Islami Islamist party working together with the West in order to allow Afghans a better life – something he radically ruled out at the time.

I have seen Hekmatyar’s secretary several times over the years, as I wanted to know how the other side thinks and how their views were evolving. He was always punctual and when he kept something from me for security reasons, he would apologise for it next time around. This man’s world is certainly not mine. But we respect one another nonetheless.

In the end, it was this type of contact with different classes of society and regions of the country which enriched my Afghan experience, providing access to the world of Afghan people, even those who think differently to me. Some of them are indeed very approachable.

Afghanistan is not only war and corruption, despite what often seems to be presented in the news. Every day there are numerous positive interactions between Afghans and foreigners. Development workers train teachers and craftsmen, connect remote villages to the electricity grid and water supply, and help found companies. Life-long friendships are for­­ged. This part of reality will also no doubt be adopted into the country’s collective memory.

But for the Americans around me in Michigan, Afghanistan seems more like a dark hell around 20,000 kilometres away. As split as US society is, everyone seems to be agreed that the quickest possible withdrawal from the Hindu Kush should be the next course of action. Only a few still remember that ten years ago their country promised the Afghans that they would be on their side in the long run.

On the tenth anniversary of the attacks on the World Trade Center, I attended a commemoration at the University of Michi­­gan campus. Hundreds of students gathered. They carried candles and speeches were given about tolerance and understanding. They even mentioned humility. Together they sang the US national anthem, many placing their right hand on their heart as they sang.
On the lawn there were thousands of tiny US flags to commemorate the dead with a larger Stars and Stripes flag flying above them on the main mast. It was a moving moment. The University of Michigan of course only represents a very small part of the USA, but it was almost as if America was crying for itself.

On the lawn there were thousands of tiny US flags to commemorate the dead with a larger Stars and Stripes flag flying above them on the main mast. It was a moving moment. The University of Michigan of course only represents a very small part of the USA, but it was almost as if America was crying for itself.

The war in Afghanistan cannot be won mili­­tarily. With hindsight, the aims set out at the start of the conflict seem excessive, but they were in part unachievable due to the contradicting interests throughout the region. This war will go down in history as a lesson that deep-rooted change in a country cannot be “made” from the outside, but has to come from within. And it takes time. Not ten but perhaps twenty or thirty years.

But in the end, a war is made up of numerous small stories. Stories made by people. For instance about smart minds investing in the long term by training young people and supporting the Afghan economy.

AFG_076-Kopie

Never before were the relations between the USA and the Afghan government as good as at the time of the special envoy and later US ambassador to the new republic, Zalmay Khalilzad. The diplomat from Mazar-e Sharif, who is now 60, first travelled to the USA as a young scholarship student and returned to his homeland as the highest representative of the USA. Karzai and Khalilzad trusted each other like brothers. Nowadays hardly a peaceful word is exchanged between the Pashtun President and the representatives of its protecting power.

It is no coincidence that six former Germans of Afghan descent held ministerial posts in the first democratically elected government in Afghanistan. All of them were German uni­­versity graduates; they spoke our language and remained key contacts for the German government. The first Afghan policemen who helped to establish the new police force in Kabul in 2002 were also a German export. They were trained in Germany decades ago, both in the East and West.

The fantastic stories like that of the Swiss architect and her fashion label Zarif Design in Butcher Street may be quieter than the explosions from mortars which hit the headlines every day. But those who venture through the red tin door between adobe walls in Kabul will find the Zarif showroom to be an idyllic garden of roses and hibiscus bushes. Music emerges from the tailor’s shop and upbeat chat fills the air, while the mouth-watering aromas of lunch waft over from the gas cooker. This is where happiness has found a home, in the centre of Kabul.

Portrait-Koelbl-KopieThe author is a foreign reporter for the current affairs magazine “Der Spiegel”. Since 2011, she has travelled extensively in the Afghanistan and Pakistan region. She is also the author of the book “Krieg am Hindu­­kusch – Menschen und Mächte in Afghanistan” (Siedler-Verlag 2010, with Olaf Ihlau). Susanne Koelbl currently is re­­searching about international relations in the Near and Middle East at the University of Michigan.

Susanne Koelbl: Brief aus Amerika

Über der Hüfte des Sicherheitsbeamten am Flughafen in Detroit beult sich ein dunkles Lederholster mit einem Funkgerät und einer Pistole, er trägt ein schwarzes Hemd, schwarze Hosen. Wie ein Baum steht er mit verschränkten Armen breitbeinig am Ausgang der Maschine. Als die Schlange der Passagiere stockt, komme ich zufällig vor ihm zum Stehen, er mustert mich für eine Sekunde und lächelt: „Ich mag Ihre Jacke.“

Meine Lieblingsjacke. Es ist ein schmaler Gehrock aus grünblau-gestreifter dunkler Seide mit roten Stickereien auf Kragen und Armaufschlägen, maßgeschneidert in Kabul.

Das Jackett kam gerade noch rechtzeitig, wie vereinbart per Kurier, bevor ich im August für zwei Monate nach China und dann in die USA aufbrach, um für ein Jahr an die Universität von Michigan zu gehen. „With warm wishes from Kabul, Nazima“, stand in blauer Tinte auf einem kleinen Pappzettel in dem Paket.

AFG_2010_12-6180-KopieNazima ist die Geschäftsführerin von Zarif Design, einer außergewöhnlichen Schnei­­derei in der Butcher-Street in Shar-e-Nau, nahe dem Zentrum der afghanischen Hauptstadt. Das kleine Modelabel wurde vor sechs Jahren von einer Schweizer Architektin afghanischer Herkunft gegründet. Sie und ihr Team entwickelten einen bestechend eleganten Stil, eine Fusion aus alten orientalischen Stoff- und Stickerei-­­Designs und exquisiter Schneidermeister-­­kunst, wie man sie vielleicht noch in Italien findet.

Warum erzähle ich diese Geschichte? Die Geschichte meiner Jacke ist auch meine Geschichte mit Afghanistan. Eine gute Erfahrung in einem schwierigen Land.

Als Journalistin habe ich viel über den Krieg geschrieben. Aber der Krieg ist nicht Afghanistan. Afghanistan ist die Summe der Geschichten seiner Menschen und an was sie sich erinnern.

Die Amerikaner hier im Mittleren Westen der USA erinnern sich inzwischen nur noch an die Opfer und die Kosten dieses Konflikts: Von den 2.706 westlichen Soldaten, die bis Anfang November 2011 in Afghanistan ihr Leben ließen, waren 52 Deutsche und 1.748 Amerikaner. „Wofür sterben unsere Soldaten dort noch?“, fragen die US-Bürger zehn Jahre nach dem Einmarsch am Hindukusch, und warum werden weiterhin monatlich neun Milliarden für diesen Krieg ausgegeben, wenn das Land gleichzeitig unter seiner Schuldenlast bankrott zu gehen droht?

Meine stärksten Erinnerungen an Afgha­­nistan sind die Begegnungen auf den Reisen durch dieses ungezähmte Land. Über fünfzig Mal bin ich für das Nach­­richtenmagazin „Der Spiegel“ dorthin ge­­fahren, von 34 afghanischen Provinzen konnte ich 27 besuchen. Die meisten Bewohner dort sind noch immer unvorstellbar arm und jede Familie hat in diesen blutigen letzten Jahrzehnten mehrere Angehörige verloren. Dennoch, fast alle Afghanen, mit denen ich bisher arbeitete oder geschäftlich zu tun hatte, waren über­­raschend freundliche und zuverlässige Partner. Dieses Prädikat gilt sogar für einen Mann, von dem dies schon deshalb nicht zu erwarten war, weil er auf der anderen Seite steht, seine Gefolgsleute bekämpfen unsere Soldaten.

„Morgen um fünf Uhr, vor Ihrem Haus“, sagte der bärtige Kabuli. Der Kontaktmann versprach, mich zu einem der engsten Vertrauten Gulbuddin Hekmatjars zu bringen. Hekmatjar ist ein islamistischer Politiker und Guerilla-Kommandeur, der im Untergrund lebt und Bombenan­schläge und Selbstmordattentate gegen westliche Truppen verübt. Hekmatjar gehört zu den am meisten gesuchten Extremisten.

Die Sache war riskant: Ich musste meinem Kontaktmann vertrauen, nicht entführt zu werden, er musste umgekehrt mir vertrauen, dass ich die Spur zu Hekmatjars Repräsentanten nicht an die Amerikaner verriet, die mit ihren Spezialkräften Jagd auf seine Führungs-Truppe machten. Meine Gastgeber ließen sich auf das Treffen ein, weil sie ihre Version des Konflikts in einem deutschen Medium dargestellt sehen wollten.

AFG_109-Kopie

Die Fahrt ging über Staub-Straßen aus der Hauptstadt hinaus nach Osten. Unser Ziel war der afghanisch-pakistanische Grenz­­­posten Torkham am Khyber-Pass. Fast acht Stunden dauerte die Fahrt damals, kurz nach dem Fall der Taliban, und die Schlaglöcher auf dem Weg waren so tief wie Mondkrater.

Hekmatjars Vertrauter entpuppte sich als dessen früherer Sekretär. Dieser wusste sehr genau, wo sich sein Vorgesetzter zu diesem Zeitpunkt aufhielt. Das Gespräch ging fast zwei Stunden, wir aßen gemeinsam und stritten heftig. Darüber, ob die amerikanische Invasion legal war, über das Recht zum bewaffneten Widerstand, die Möglichkeit, dass die Hesb-i-Islami, Hekmatjars Islamisten-Partei, in Afgha­nistan doch mit dem Westen zusammen­arbeiten könnte, um den Afghanen ein besseres Leben zu ermöglichen, was er damals radikal ausschloss.

Ich habe Hekmatjars Sekretär über die Jahre immer wieder gesehen, ich wollte wissen, wie die andere Seite denkt und ob sie sich bewegt. Er kam stets pünktlich und wenn er mir etwas aus Sicher­­heitsgründen verschwieg, dann entschuldigte er sich das nächste Mal dafür. Die Welt dieses Mannes ist gewiss nicht meine. Doch wir respektieren einander.

Am Ende sind es diese Art von Kontakten in die verschiedensten Schichten und Re­­gionen, die mich bereichert haben, mir Zugang zur Welt der Afghanen verschafften, auch in die Welt der Andersdenkenden. Mit manchen von ihnen lässt sich reden.

Afghanistan ist nicht nur Krieg und Korruption, wie dies in der Verdichtung von Nachrichten oft erscheint. Täglich finden auch zahllose positive Kontakte statt zwischen Afghanen und Aus­­ländern. Entwicklungshelfer bilden Lehrer und Hand­­werker aus, bringen Strom und sauberes Wasser in entlegene Dörfer, Firmen werden gegründet, Freundschaften fürs Leben entstehen. Auch dieser Teil der Wirklichkeit wird in das kollektive Ge­­dächtnis des Landes eingehen.

Für die Amerikaner um mich herum in Michigan sieht Afghanistan aus 20.000 Kilometern Entfernung dennoch aus wie eine dunkle Hölle. So zerstritten ihre Ge­­sellschaft auch sein mag, beim schnellstmöglichen Rückzug vom Hindukusch sind sich alle ziemlich einig. Nur wenige erinnern sich noch daran, dass ihr Land den Afghanen vor zehn Jahren einmal versprochen hat, ihnen langfristig zur Seite zu stehen.

Am zehnten Jahres­­tag des El-Kaida-­An­schlags auf das World Trade Center be­­suchte ich auf dem Campus der Uni­­ver­­sität von Michigan eine Gedenkfeier. Hunderte Studenten hatten sich versammelt, sie trugen Kerzen, es wurden Reden gehalten über Toleranz und Verständnis, sogar von Bescheidenheit war einmal kurz die Rede. Gemeinsam sangen sie die ameri­­kanische Nationalhymne, viele legten dabei die rechte Hand aufs Herz.

Auf dem Rasen steckten tausende US-­Fähnchen zum Gedenken an die Toten und darüber wehte am großen Mast die amerikanische Flagge. Es war ein anrühren­­der Moment. Die Universität von Michigan repräsentiert natürlich nur einen sehr kleinen Teil Amerikas, doch es war, als weinte das große Amerika vor allem um sich selbst.

Der Krieg in Afghanistan ist militärisch nicht zu gewinnen. Die zu Beginn des Ein­­satzes gesteckten Ziele der westlichen Allianz waren aus heutiger Sicht überzogen, aber auch wegen widerstre­­bender Inte­­ressen in der ganzen Region nicht zu erreichen. In die Ge­­­schichts­­­bücher wird dieser Krieg als Lehr­­stück eingehen, dass der tiefgreifende Wandel eines Landes eben nicht von außen „ge­­macht“ werden kann, sondern von innen heraus erfolgen muss. Und er braucht Zeit, nicht zehn, eher zwanzig, vielleicht dreißig Jahre.

Aber am Ende besteht ein Krieg eben immer aus vielen kleinen Geschichten. Geschichten, die von Menschen ge­­macht wurden. Sie handeln zum Beispiel davon, dass kluge Köpfe zu jeder Zeit langfristig in die Ausbildung von jungen Menschen und in die Wirtschaft Afghanistans in­­ves­­tierten.

AFG_076-Kopie

Nie waren die Bezie­­hungen zwischen den USA und der afghanischen Regierung besser als zu Zeiten des Sonder­ge­sandten und späteren US-Botschafters der neuen Republik, Zalmay Khalilzad. Der heute 60-jährige Diplomat aus Mazar-e Sharif ging als junger Stipendiat nach Amerika und kehrte als höchster Vertreter der USA in seine Heimat zurück. Karzai und Khalilzad vertrauten einander wie Brüder. Heute gibt es kaum noch ein gutes Wort zwischen dem paschtunischen Präsidenten und den Vertretern seiner Schutzmacht.

Es ist nicht zufällig, dass sechs ehemalige Deutsche afghanischer Abstammung Ministerposten in der ersten demokratisch gewählten Regierung Afghanistans besetzten. Allesamt waren sie Absolventen deutscher Universitäten, sie sprechen unsere Sprache und sind wichtige An­­sprechpartner für die deutsche Regierung geblieben. Auch die ersten afghanischen Polizisten, die 2002 in Kabul halfen, die neue Polizei aufzubauen, sind ein deutscher Exportartikel. Vor Jahrzehnten wurden sie in Deutschland ausgebildet, im Osten wie im Westen.

Die guten Geschichten wie die von der Schweizer Architektin und ihrem Mode-label Zarif Design in der Butcher-Street sind leiser als die krachenden Kanonen­kugeln, die es täglich in die Schlagzeilen schafften. Dort, wo sich in Kabul hinter Lehmmauern ein rotes Blechtor zum Zarif-Showroom öffnet, befindet sich ein idyllischer Garten mit Rosen und Hibiskus­­büschen. Aus der Schneiderei dringt Musik und fröhliches Geschwatz, um die Mit­­tags­­zeit brodelt auf dem Gaskocher stets ein duftendes Gericht. Hier ist das Glück zu Hause, mitten in Kabul.

Portrait-Koelbl-KopieDie Autorin ist Auslands-Reporterin beim Nachrichtenmagazin „Der Spiegel“. Seit 2001 bereist die Journalistin intensiv die Region Afghanistan und Pakistan. Sie ist Autorin des Buches „Krieg am Hindukusch – Men­schen und Mächte in Afghanistan“ (Siedler-Verlag 2010, mit Olaf Ihlau). Aktuell forscht Susanne Koelbl an der Uni­­versity of Michi­­gan über inter­­­nationale Beziehungen im Mitt­­leren und Nahen Osten.