Stefanie Frommann: Family-friendly environment as an important location factor

Cities and regions in which families are comfortable are well-geared for the fu­­ture, as families also contribute consi­d­­erably towards the economic sustain­ability of a community. This assertion is clearly and precisely formulated in the new family atlas that the company “Prog­­­nos” has undertaken for the Federal Mi­­n­­istry of Family Affairs, Senior Citizens, Women and Youth.

Kinderschirm-048

Jena has the task of moulding the location as a family-friendly location, this theme already having been identified and promoted for years in a city-typical manner – as a network.
“Together we want to commit ourselves to Jena be­­ing perceived as a child and family-friendly city, as well as a city pro­­moting the cooperation of generations.” To this end, all the currently 40 partners of the “Jenaer Bündnis für Familie” (Jena for family alliance), to which the city be­­longs, have set out to promote family-friendliness in the city on the Saale river). “Whether families feel com­­fortable in Jena depends on the professional and social conditions they come across. A family-friendly environment strengthens quality of life and personal cooperation. The sustainability and de­­velopment possibilities of the resident businesses are being fundamentally im­­proved and the attractiveness of the city of Jena is being strengthened.”

The “Jenaer Bündnis für Familie” has existed for more than a year now and through the cooperation of different players (in the business, scientific, political and administrative spheres, social associations and families) wants to sus­­tainably improve the general conditions for families in Jena and so also the family-friendliness in the city. Through a strong network of all the local corporate strengths, the available activities, initiatives and offers for families should be bun­dled and synergies generated.
Not least, through the commitment of the “Jenaer Bündnis für Familie”, the topic of family and career reconcilability has also in Jena developed from a niche topic to an important range of topics. Here the family and single parent centre plays an important role. Since 2002 it has offered flexible child-care possibilities for families. This development is also ap­­parent in the Jena organizations. The company MAZeT (electronic design and ma­­nufacture services), which has been the forerunner for years, was distinguis­hed as a family-friendly enterprise in 2000 by the incumbent Federal President. Last year further good examples were added, like the opening of the company day-care centre of the Jenoptik AG (an optical technology company) in the Göschwitz in­­­dustrial area. Companies like the Carl Zeiss GmbH, Göpel Elektronik and the Stadtwerke Jena-Pößneck (a public utility company) will support their employees through allowances to pay to child day-care costs. Also numerous smaller organizations support their employees in the balancing of career and family. Ex­­amples hereof are, amongst others, the Apotheke am Nollendorfer Hof (a pharmacy) and the mso jena mikroschichtopik GmbH (a laser, optics and photonics company).

Kinderschirm-023

A further field of activity is presented by the topic of education, basic and further training. The city of Jena possesses a wide range of educational concepts for schools and day care centres right up to internationality and multilingualism. The largest university of applied sciences in Thuringia and the almost 450-year-old university have about 26,000 students.
Culture and science assume an identity-creating function for citizens and families in the city. In this way, typical and recurring highlights take place throughout the year, promoting the identification of citizens and families with “their” city. Ex­­amples are: “Lange Nacht der Wis­sen­schaften” (long night of sciences), “Zug der Jenaer Geis­ter“ (the procession of the Jena spirits), the arena of culture, the reading marathon, the jazz mile and also the club and family festival. In addition to its projects, the city’s implicitness in involving all its citizens and its perception of business and science as partners, have moved the German Donor Association to award the city of Jena with the title “Science City 2008” – a title that is both an entitlement and an incentive.

Family-friendliness in and around Jena offers existing organizations economic development possibilities, creates positive general conditions for start-ups, increases location attractiveness and competitiveness of the region and positively influences the local population policy.

Kinderschirm-014

The following forms part of the focal points of a family-friendly city development:

• the need-driven enhancement and safeguarding of current educational, cultural, sport and recreation facilities, which are available to all population levels (school development planning, day-care requirement planning, child and youth advancement planning and accordingly senior citizen care planning in reaction to demographic development),
• the creation of diverse recreation offerings with a high habitation character, for example the layout of the natural ex­­panses along the Saale river, which will also lead to an improved experience of the river in the city, in particular the appreciation of the city centre public park “Oberaue” on the basis of the current agreed overall plan with the protection of historic monument aspects,
• measures for neighbourhood improvement in the areas of the “social cities” Lobeda and Winzerla, which have priority (besides the two district agencies, it is necessary to create further points of call for families),
• measures for the creation of family-friendly housing offers.
Family-friendliness is one of the most important aspects of sustainability of communities. Child- and family-friendliness is one of the critical factors for couples that have decided on having children, to stay in the city or move out. This we have identified in Jena and we are acting accordingly.

 

Steffi-PortraitThe author was born in 1965 and stud­ied physical education. From 1992 until 2003, she was the head of the family centre in Jena. She has been the managing director of the “Familie und Alleinerziehende eV” (a family and single parent association) since 2003 and since 2006, she has also been the coordinator of the “Bündnis für Familie” (alliance for family) in Jena.

Stefanie Frommann: Familienfreundliches Umfeld als wichtiger Standortfaktor

Städte und Regionen, in denen Familien sich wohl fühlen, sind gut für die Zu­­kunft gerüstet, denn Familien tragen wesentlich auch zur wirtschaftlichen Zukunftsfähigkeit der Kommunen bei. Diese Aussage wird im neuen Familien­atlas, den die Firma Prognos für das Bundesfamilienministerium erstellt hat, sehr deutlich und klar formuliert.

Kinderschirm-048

Jena hat die Aufgabe, den Standort familienfreundlich zu gestalten, be­­reits vor Jahren erkannt und fördert das Thema in der stadttypischen Art und Weise – als Netzwerk.
„Wir wollen uns gemeinsam dafür en­­gagieren, dass Jena als kinder- und familienfreundliche sowie das Mitein­ander der Generationen fördernde Stadt wahrgenommen wird.“ Mit diesem Ziel haben sich alle derzeit 40 Partner des Jenaer Bündnisses für Familie, zu denen auch die Stadt gehört, auf den Weg gemacht, die Familienfreundlichkeit in der Saalestadt zu fördern. „Ob sich Fa­­­milien in Jena wohlfühlen, hängt da­­von ab, welche beruflichen und sozialen Bedingungen sie vorfinden. Ein familienfreundliches Umfeld stärkt die Lebensqualität und das menschliche Miteinander. Die Zukunftsfähigkeit und die Entwicklungsmöglichkeiten der an­­sässigen Unternehmen werden nachhaltig verbessert und die Attraktivität der Stadt Jena wird gestärkt.“
Seit nunmehr gut einem Jahr besteht das „Jenaer Bündnis für Familie“, das durch die Kooperation von verschiedenen Akteuren aus Wirtschaft, Wissen­schaft, Politik, Verwaltung, sozialen Ver­einen und Familien die Rahmen­be­dingungen für Familien in Jena und somit die Familienfreundlichkeit in der Stadt nachhaltig verbessern will. Durch ein starkes Netzwerk aller gesellschaftlichen Kräfte vor Ort sollen vorhandene Aktivitäten, Initiativen und Angebote für Familien gebündelt und Synergien erzeugt werden.
Nicht zuletzt durch das Engagement des Jenaer Bündnisses für Familie hat sich das Thema Vereinbarkeit von Fa­­milie und Beruf auch in Jenaer Un­­ter­nehmen von einer Nische zu einem wichtigen Themenfeld entwickelt. Das Zentrum für Familie und Alleiner­zie­hende eV spielt hierbei eine wichtige Rolle. Es bietet seit 2002 flexible Kin­derbetreuungsmöglichkeiten für Fa­­mi­lien an. Auch in Jenaer Unternehmen zeichnet sich diese Entwicklung ab. Vorreiter ist seit Jahren die Firma MAZeT, die im Jahr 2000 als familienfreundliches Unternehmen vom damaligen Bundespräsidenten ausgezeichnet wurde. Im vergangenen Jahr kamen weitere gute Beispiele hinzu, wie die Eröffnung der Betriebskindertages­stät­te der Jenoptik AG im Gewerbe­gebiet Gösch­witz. Firmen wie die Carl Zeiss Jena GmbH, Göpel Elektronik und die Stadtwerke Jena-Pößneck werden ihre Mitarbeiter und Mitarbeiterinnen durch Zuschüsse zu den Kinderbe­treu­ungskosten unterstützen. Auch viele kleinere Unternehmen unterstützen ihre Mitarbeiter bei der Vereinbarkeit von Beruf und Familie. Beispiele hierfür sind unter anderem die Apotheke am Nollendorfer Hof und die mso jena mikroschichtoptik GmbH.

Kinderschirm-023

Ein weiteres großes Handlungsfeld bie­tet das Thema Bildung, Ausbildung und Fortbildung. Die Stadt Jena besitzt ein außergewöhnlich breites Spektrum von Bildungskonzepten der Schulen und Kindertagesstätten bis hin zur In­­ter­na­tionalität und Mehrsprachigkeit. Die größte Fachhochschule Thüringens und die fast 450 Jahre alte Universität zählen rund 26.000 Studenten.
Kultur und Wissenschaft übernehmen in Jena eine identitätsstiftende Funk­tion für Bürger und Familien in der Stadt. So finden über das Jahr verteilt typische und wiederkehrende Höhe­punkte wie die „Lange Nacht der Wis­senschaften“, der „Zug der Jenaer Geis­ter“, die Kulturarena, der Lesemara­thon, die Jazzmeile aber auch das Ver­­eins- und Familienfest statt, was die Identifikation der Bürger und Familien mit „ihrer“ Stadt fördert. Neben den Projekten hat insbesondere das Selbst­verständnis der Stadt, alle ihre Bürger einzubeziehen und Wirtschaft und Wis­senschaft als Partner zu betrachten, den Stifterverband dazu bewogen, der Stadt Jena den Titel „Stadt der Wis­sen­schaft 2008“ zu verleihen – ein Titel, der Anspruch und Ansporn zu­­gleich ist.

Familienfreundlichkeit bietet beste­hen­­­den Unternehmen in und um Jena öko­nomische Entwicklungs­möglich­kei­ten, schafft positive Rahmen­beding­un­gen für Existenzgründungen, erhöht die Standortattraktivität und Wettbe­werbs­fähigkeit der Region und beeinflusst die kommunale Bevölkerungs­politik po­­sitiv.

Kinderschirm-014

Zu den Schwerpunkten der familienfreundlichen Stadtentwicklung gehören:

• die bedarfsgerechte Erweiterung und Sicherung der vorhandenen Bildungs-, Kultur-, Sport- und Freizeitangebote, die für alle Bevölkerungsschichten nutzbar sind (Schulentwick­lungs­pl­a­nung, Kindertagesstätten­bedarfs­plan, Kinder- und Jugendförderplan beziehungsweise Altenhilfeplan reagieren auf die demografische Entwicklung),
• die Schaffung von vielfältigen Frei­raumangeboten mit hohem Aufent­halts­charakter, zum Beispiel die Ge­­staltung der Naturräume entlang der Saale, die auch zu einer besseren Erlebbarkeit des Flusses in der Stadt führen, insbesondere die Aufwertung des innerstädtischen Volksparks Ober­aue auf der Grundlage der vorliegenden, mit den Aspekten der Denk­mal­pflege abgestimmten Rahmen­pla­nung,
• die Maßnahmen der Wohnumfeld­ver­besserung in den Gebieten der „So­­zia­len Stadt“ Lobeda und Winzerla, die Vorrang haben (neben den beiden Stadtteilbüros gilt es, weitere Anlauf­punkte für Familien zu schaffen),
• Maßnahmen zur Schaffung familienfreundlicher Wohnungsangebote.

Familienfreundlichkeit ist einer der wichtigsten Aspekte der Zukunfts­fä­hig­keit von Kommunen. Kinder- und Fa­­milienfreundlichkeit ist einer der entscheidenden Faktoren dafür, dass Paare sich für Kinder entscheiden, in der Stadt bleiben oder zuziehen. Das haben wir in Jena erkannt und handeln entsprechend.

Steffi-PortraitDie 1965 geborene Diplom-Sport­leh­rerin leitete von 1992 bis 2003 das Familienzentrum Jena. Seit 2003 ist sie Geschäftsführerin des Zentrums für Familie und Alleinerziehende eV sowie seit 2006 die Koordinatorin für das Jenaer Bündnis für Familie.