Stefan Winter: Financial centre of Germany from the point of view of foreign banks

It was only in August of 2012 that the Association of Foreign Banks in Ger­­many celebrated its 30-year anniversary and took a look back at its history, while also offering a glimpse at what lies ahead for the financial location of the future. The break that occurred amidst the financial crisis and its after­­math, which has been ongoing since 2007, cannot be ignored. International financial institutes that operate at a cross-border level are increasingly faced with the strategic question of which existing locations remain attractive and where they might settle in the future. The motivations behind these considera­­tions are diverse. In contrast to the past, these are not made primarily for economic reasons and according to the respective business prospects. Much rather, regulatory aspects have a substantial impact, in which case these of course need to be taken into account indirectly during economic assessments in light of costly implementations. In addi­­tion, there are structural policy dis­­cussions in many states regarding the splitting or restructuring of banks that go beyond the previously known regula­­tions and therefore have serious implica­­tions in terms of financial market policy.

So where do we stand today? What can we expect? And: What will the financial location look like a few years from now? These are the central questions that need answering.

Only a few months after the collapse of the US investment bank Lehman Brothers and the impact on the international fi­­nancial markets that fallowed as a result, there was a wave of national and international regulations. And it has not yet reached its peak. To prove this, one must only take a quick look at the first re­­form of deposit insurances, the more strict capital requirements in accordance with Basel III (CRD IV and CRR), the regulation of alternative investments (AIFM), the transfer of numerous bi­­­lateral OTC business activities to regulated trading and transaction platforms (EMIR), the regulations of short sales, the development of new Euro­pean supervisory structures as well as the introduction of national bank levies. In addition, there is a much stricter supervisory practice, which can be seen in Germany, for example, when you consider the minimum requirements for risk management. Further specifications for the redevelopment and restructuring of banks, the concluding reform of de­­posit insurances, the expansion of the liability of depot banks or the specifi­­cations for high-frequency trading are cur­­rently still being discussed, or have already been implemented with considerable effort. Moreover, there is the po­­tential introduction of a financial transaction tax and the deliberations on the separation of various business areas within banks, as was recently outlined by the Liikanen Group and partially implemented by German lawmakers on the basis thereof. The list goes on and on. It does, however, clearly show how deter­­­mined supervisory and policy authorities are in their goals to change the current structures in a sustained manner.

Office_NIBC_The_Hague_2-Kopie

The motivation for this is not only obvious but very much understandable in many cases. No doubt: there have been considerable abuses in the financial sec­­tor and many states around the globe are still dealing with the repercussions. This holds even more true when you take into account that the financial crisis has brought to light many basic deficits of individual countries, which will take quite some time to deal with. On top of this, the financial crisis has not only exposed the international network of financial mar­­­­­kets but has also highlighted the signif­­i­­­­cance of the financial sector for the individual national economies. This be­­comes clear when considering the data published in the Liikanen Report in early October of 2012. The balances of the banks in Luxembourg, for example, add up to 2430 per cent of the country’s gross domestic product. In Great Britain you are looking at 570 per cent, in France at 423 per cent and even in Germany at around 331 per cent. Moreover, if one takes the significance of the financial location for individual national economies into account, it becomes clear just how important and great the concern for the stability of the sector should be. The numbers of the Swiss Federal Depart­­ment of Finance show that the companies of the financial location in Luxem­­bourg hold a percentage of 28.3 per cent of the gross domestic product. In Switzerland, the percentage is 10, in Great Britain 9.4 and in Germany 5.2. This however does not include the im­­portant service and credit supply functions the financial institutes assume for the rest of the economy. In the context of these dependencies, national and inter­­­national discussions are being held on whether or not a restriction of the size and business activity of banks, or even their splitting, is sensible. In this regard, there is also the question concerning the procedure in case of restructuring. For this purpose, central positions were created, among others, by the represen­t­­­atives Dodd and Frank in the USA, the Vickers commission in Great Britain as well as within the context of the Liikanen Report on a European level.

The impact and consequences of these plans remain uncertain at this point. The further development will also have an influence within the euro zone and in Europe in general. Independent from this, the ongoing implementation of the stricter capital requirements on an international level is already leading to significant ad­­justments within the financial industry. Without a doubt, they will also affect the international alignment of banks and with it the financial location Germany. The financial location Germany, however, keeps providing good starting conditions, primarily due to its strong and export-oriented national economy, and will there­­fore continue to play a vital role in the outlined strategic deliberations. The fact that the number of foreign banks in Ger­­many remained stable in recent years in spite of the financial crisis and its rami­­fications can surely be considered an optimistic indication in this respect.

gap height=”10″]

However, lulling oneself in a wrong sense of security and becoming complacent would be the wrong approach. A lot of trust in the financial industry was lost in the past few years – this applies to both the customers and to the public in general. For this reason alone, the general consensus is that reforms are un­­avoid­­able. The financial industry has to de­­vel­­op them itself as well as in cooperation with supervisory and policy authorities. A new and stable financial architec­­ture can only be created through mutual understanding. Customers, supervisory author­­ities, companies and all other mar­­ket par­­ticipants alike and, in effect, the finan­­cial location and the national econ­­omy as a whole will benefit from maximum stability. Numerous reforms have already been initiated which can be em­­ployed to reduce balances and risk-weighted assets. “Compliance” and “Corporate Governance” are the keywords that lead to new structures to further reduce risks and introduce new remuneration structures. Many achievements have already been made in this respect, although this tends to be neglected in light of various individual incidents. All of this will not be enough, however, to revive the lost confidence in a sustainable way. In this regard, the industry as a whole, but also each and every one of us, has the obligation to report and overcome shortcomings. All of this must be carried out without blaming one another. An open and honest dialogue must be our main focus at all times.

Also, it is absolutely necessary to continue to strengthen and expand the Euro­­pean domestic markets. Let there be no doubt that the German national econ­­omy in particular was able to profit from these concerns. Germany as a financial location will only remain competitive on the international market with broadly harmonised framework conditions, as cross-border activities will be even more connected to efficient company structures than ever before. For this reason, it must be clear that Germany will continue to be a pioneer of European integration. Independent from the positive outlook in terms of national economy, this will be a central focus for the future attract­iveness of the financial location and thus for its foreign institutes.

UBS_Stefan-Winter-KopieThe author is a board member of the UBS Deutschland AG and CEO of Invest­­ment Bank. He started his career at the Citibank in Frankfurt and at Bankers Trust in Lon­don. Since he moved to UBS, S. Winter has been responsible for the entire security business in Germany and in charge of the Investment Bank as the coun­­try head in Germany. He is CEO of the Asso­­ciation of Foreign Banks in Germany.

Stefan Winter: Der Finanzplatz Deutschland aus Sicht ausländischer Finanzinstitute

Erst im August 2012 hat der Verband der Auslandsbanken sein 30-jähriges Jubiläum gefeiert und dabei sowohl Rückschau gehalten als auch einen Aus­­blick auf den Finanzplatz der Zukunft unternommen. Unübersehbar dabei ist die Zäsur, die auf die seit 2007 anhaltende Finanzkrise und die Bewältigung ihrer Folgen zurückgeht. International agierende und grenzüberschreitend tä­­tige Finanzinstitute befassen sich mehr denn je mit der strategischen Frage, welche ihrer bestehenden Standorte für sie attraktiv sind und wo sie sich künftig neu ansiedeln. Die Motive für diese Über­­legungen sind vielfältig, sie werden – anders als in der Vergangenheit – nicht nur primär nach ökonomischen Ge­­sichts­­punkten und den jeweiligen Geschäfts­­aussichten angestellt. Vielmehr haben hier auch regulatorische Aspekte einen substanziellen Einfluss, wobei diese an­­gesichts von kostenaufwändigen Imple­­mentierungen natürlich indirekt ebenfalls in die ökonomische Betrachtungen eingehen. Hinzu kommen strukturpolitische Diskussionen in vielen Staaten über die Aufspaltung oder Umstruk­­tu­rierung von Banken, die über die Regu­­lierung im bisher bekannten Ausmaß hinausgehen und erhebliche finanzmarkt­­politische Implikationen haben.

Wo stehen wir also heute? Was wird noch kommen? Und: Wie sieht der Finanz­­platz in einigen Jahren aus? Dies sind die zentralen Fragen, die es zu beantworten gilt.

Bereits wenige Monate nach dem Zu­­sammenbruch der US-Investmentbank Lehman Brothers und den damit verbundenen Verwerfungen auf den internationalen Finanzmärkten setzte eine Welle nationaler und europäischer Re­­gulierung ein. Sie hat ihren Scheitel­­punkt noch nicht erreicht. Zum Beleg sei hier stichwortartig auf die erste Reform der Einlagensicherung, die stren­­geren Eigenkapitalanforderungen nach Basel III (CRD IV und CRR), die Regu­­lie­­rung alternativer Investments (AIFM), die Überführung zahlreicher bilateraler OTC-Geschäfte auf regulierte Handels- und Abwicklungsplattformen (EMIR), die Regulierung von Leerverkäufen, den Auf­­bau neuer europäischer Aufsichts­struk­­turen sowie die Einführung nationaler Bankenabgaben verwiesen. Hinzu kommt eine insgesamt weitaus strengere Auf­­sichtspraxis, wie sie sich in Deutschland beispielsweise in den Mindest­anfor­de­rungen an das Risikomanagement zeigt. Weitere Vorgaben für die Sanierung und Restrukturierung von Banken, die ab­­schließende Reform der Einlagen­­siche­rung, die Ausweitung der Haftung von Depotbanken oder auch die Vorgaben für den Hochfrequenzhandel werden aktuelle noch intensiv diskutiert oder bereits mit erheblichem Aufwand implementiert. Hinzu kommen die mögliche Einführung einer Finanztrans­aktions­steu­­­­er und die Über­­legungen zur Tren­­nung verschiedener Geschäftsbereiche innerhalb von Banken, wie sie vor kurzem beispielsweise die Liikanen-Gruppe skiz­­ziert und hierauf aufbauend der deutsche Gesetzgeber teilweise umgesetzt hat. Die Auf­­zäh­­lung ist beileibe nicht abschließend. Sie zeigt aber nichts­d­­estotrotz sehr deut­­lich die Konse­quenz, mit der Auf­­sicht und Po­­li­­tik bisherige Strukturen nachhaltig ändern wollen.

Office_NIBC_The_Hague_2-Kopie

Die Motivation hierfür ist nicht nur offen­­sichtlich, sondern auch in vielen Fällen nachvollziehbar. Keine Frage: Es hat erhebliche Missstände im Finanzsektor gegeben und viele Volkswirtschaften rund um den Globus haben die Folgen noch lange nicht verarbeitet. Dies gilt umso mehr, weil die Finanzkrise grundsätzliche Defizite in einzelnen Staaten zu Tage gebracht hat, deren Auf­­ar­bei­­tung noch längere Zeit in Anspruch nehmen wird. Darüber hinaus hat die Finanzkrise nicht nur die internationale Vernetzung der Finanzmärkte deutlich zu Tage treten lassen, sondern auch die Bedeutung der Finanzbranche für einzelne Volkswirtschaften. Deutlich wird dies an Hand der Daten, die der Anfang Oktober 2012 veröffentlichte Liikanen-Report zusammenfasst. So betragen beispielsweise die Bilanzen der Banken in Luxemburg 2430 Prozent des Brutto­­sozialprodukts des Landes. In Groß­­britannien liegt der Wert bei 570 Pro­­zent, in Frankreich bei 423 Prozent und in Deutschland bei immerhin 331 Pro­­zent. Schaut man sich zudem die Be­­deutung des Finanzplatzes für einzelne Volkswirtschaften an, wird deutlich, wie wichtig und groß zwangsläufig das Inte­­resse an der Stabilität dieses Sektors sein muss. In Luxemburg haben nach Zahlen des Eidgenössischen Finanz­de­partments aus der Schweiz die Unter­­nehmen des Finanzplatzes einen Anteil am Bruttosozialprodukt von 28,3 Pro­­zent. In der Schweiz sind es 10, in Groß­­britannien 9,4 und in Deutschland 5,2 Prozent. Dabei bleibt allerdings unberücksichtigt, welche wichtige Dienst­­leis­­­­­tungs- und Kreditversorgungs­funk­tion die Finanzinstitute für die übrige Wirt­­schaft übernehmen. Vor dem Hinter­­grund dieser Abhängigkeiten wird derzeit national wie international umfangreich diskutiert, ob eine Beschränkung der Größe und Geschäftstätigkeit von Banken oder sogar ihre Aufspaltung sinn­­­­voll ist. Hierbei geht es darüber hi­­naus um die Frage des Vorgehens im Re­­struk­­turierungsfall. Zentrale Positionen wurden hierzu unter anderem von den Ab­­geord­­neten Dodd und Frank in den USA, der Vickers-Kommission in Groß­­britan­nien so­­wie auf europäischer Ebene im Rahmen des Liikanen-Reports entworfen.

Die Auswirkungen und Folgen dieser Pläne können aktuell noch nicht ab­­schlie­­ßend beurteilt werden. Auch die weitere Entwicklung im Euro-Raum und in Eu­­ropa insgesamt wird nicht ohne Ein­­fluss bleiben. Aber unabhängig hier­­von führt die laufende Umsetzung der stren­­geren Eigenkapitalanforderungen inter­­na­tio­nal bereits zu erheblichen An­­pas­­sungen innerhalb der Finanzindustrie. Sie werden zweifelsohne nicht ohne Aus­­wirkungen auf die internationale Aus­­richtung der Banken und damit auch auf den Fi­­nanz­­platz Deutschland bleiben. Dieser bietet aber auch weiterhin vor allem wegen der starken und export­­orientierten Volks­­wirt­­schaft gute Aus­gangsverhältnisse und wird daher bei den aufgezeigten strategischen Über­­le­­gungen weiter eine wichtige Rolle spielen. Ein optimistisch stimmendes Indiz ist in diesem Zusammen­­hang sicherlich auch, dass die Zahl der Auslandsbanken in Deutschland in den vergangen Jahren trotz der Finanz­­krise und ihrer Folgen stabil geblieben ist.

Sich aber deswegen in Sicherheit zu wiegen und die Hände in den Schoß zu legen, wäre der falsche Ansatz. In den vergangenen Jahren ist viel Vertrauen in die Finanzindustrie – sowohl bei den Kunden als auch der gesamten Öffent­­lichkeit – verloren gegangen. Schon aus diesem Grunde besteht Einigkeit, dass Reformen unumgänglich sind. Die Finanz­­­­branche muss diese selbst, aber auch Hand in Hand mit Politik und Aufsicht ge­­stalten. Denn nur mit einem gegenseitigen Verständnis kann gemeinsam eine neue, stabile Finanz­markt­archi­tek­tur geschaffen werden. Denn von einem Maximum an Stabilität werden sowohl Kunden, Aufsicht, Unter­neh­men als auch alle anderen Marktteilnehmer – ja letzt­­lich der Finanzplatz und die Volks­wirt­­schaft insgesamt – profitieren. Zahl­­­­reiche Re­­formen wurden bereits angestoßen, mit denen Bilanzen und Risiko­­aktiva reduziert werden. Unter den Ober­­­begriffen „Compliance“ und „Corporate Governance“ entstehen neue Struk­­turen, um weiter Risiken zu reduzieren und neue Ent­­loh­­nungsstrukturen einzuführen. Hier wurde bereits viel erreicht, auch wenn dies mit­­unter angesichts ver­­schiedener Einzel­­fälle immer wieder in Vergessen­heit zu geraten droht. All das wird aber nicht ausreichen, um das verlorene Ver­­trauen nachhaltig wieder aufzubauen. Hier­ sind die Branche insgesamt und jeder ein­­zelne in der Pflicht, Miss­­­­­stände zu benennen und zu beseitigen. Bei all dem gilt: Nicht Schuld­zu­wei­sun­­gen, sondern der offene und ehrliche Dialog müssen im Vordergrund stehen.

Zwingend notwendig ist zudem, an der Stärkung und dem Ausbau des europäischen Binnenmarkts festzuhalten. Denn es kann keine Frage bestehen, dass gerade die deutsche Volkswirtschaft hiervon in vielen Belangen profitiert hat. Nur mit weitgehend harmonisierten Rah­­menbedingungen wird ein Finanzplatz Deutschland im internationalen Wett­bewerb bestehen können, da grenzüber­­schreitende Aktivitäten noch mehr als in der Vergangenheit mit effizienten Unter­­nehmensstrukturen verbunden sind. Es darf daher kein Zweifel aufkommen, dass Deutschland weiterhin ein Vorreiter der europäischen Integration bleibt. Unab­­hängig von den positiven volkswirtschaft­­lichen Aussichten wird dies zentral für die künftige Attraktivität des Finanz­­platzes und damit für seine ausländischen Institute sein.

UBS_Stefan-Winter-KopieDer Autor ist Vorstandsmitglied der UBS Deutschland AG und CEO Investment Bank. Er startete bei der Citibank in Frankfurt und bei Bankers Trust in London. Seit seinem Wechsel zur UBS verantwortet Stefan Winter das gesamte Securitiesgeschäft in Deutschland und ist im Vorstand zuständig für die Investmentbank als Countryhead in Deutschland. Er ist Vorstandsvorsitzender des Verbands der Auslandsbanken in Deutschland.