Stefan Weber: For a bright future – innovative automotive paints from Würzburg

A location known for its automotive technology cannot do without ­chemistry. Automotive paint, even if it appears trivial, is of essential importance – colour is emotion and generates customer loyalty for the product. Premium paints are being developed in Lower Franconia.

 

The automotive industry in Bavaria cannot do without chemistry. Car paint, even if it appears trivial, is of es­­sential importance – colour is emotion and sparks a pas­­­sion amongst the customers for the product. Premium paints are being developed in Lower Franconia.

Hardly any other factor is as decisive as the colour for the impression a car makes. Colours turn vehicles into emotion-laden products. Colouring paints not only turn cars into true eye-catchers, but they also fulfil a variety of other important functions: they refine surfaces and protect them at the same time.
Many cars that draw attention on the road today owe their brilliance and look to products made by BASF’s Coatings business unit. Würzburg is a development and production location for basecoats. On approximately 20,000 square metres, eco­­logically efficient water­­­­bourne base­­coats are developed and produced for the automotive industry.

IMG_4012

Würzburg can look back at a 25-year tradition of developing water­­bourne basecoats for series production. To­­­­day, nearly all renowned automotive manufacturers use waterbourne basecoats. Over the past 25 years, the use of waterbourne basecoats from BASF has resulted in savings of over 150,000 tonnes of solvents in Germany alone. A trend that continues: experts expect that the worldwide market share for waterbourne technology will increase in the future.

Nearly one third of the 320 employees at the site in Würzburg work on the further development of these pre­­­­mium paint products in accordance with the latest envi­­­­ronmental standards. The production facility in Würzburg, with its many pilot and trial productions, is an import­ant part of the basecoats competence centre. The core work areas focus on producing and developing basecoats for series coatings. Innovative solutions generated in Würzburg make life much more colourful.

Employees working on the development and production of the high-quality coating products are in intense contact with other BASF sites to best satisfy global demands. The ob­jective is to meet the highest demands on technology and quality in an aesthetic and yet environmentally compatible manner. Exceptional design is paired with functionality.

IMG_0133

Automotive coatings consist of four layers; each layer has its own function. Although the coating layers are together no thicker than a human hair, they must nonetheless withstand the influences they are subjected to by daily use. In this, neither colour nor brilliance shall suffer. Pre­­cip­i­tation, UV radiation, road metal, bird droppings or the brushes used in car washes require that automotive coatings are particularly resilient.

The foundation for the four layers is the cathodic dip coating: a resource-saving process during which the car body receives its prime coat. This primer coating protects the car against corrosion. The process of cathodic dip coating is distinguished by the fact that it in particular also reaches the cavities of the body, which would not work as well if a spraying process was implemented.

The primer, the second layer, protects the body against mechanical influences such as stone-chipping as well as against harmful UV light.

The colour and in turn the emotions come into play in the third step when applying the basecoat: this layer with its colour pigments and special-effect substances significantly influences the vehicle’s visual impression.

Lastly, a clearcoat is applied which withstands the wide range of environmental influences.

Final-check_red

This coating protects the car and ultimately ensures colour intensity and brilliance. There is one exception: a matte clearcoat is characterised by the fact that it is not brilliant, but instead provides a non-glossy appearance.

The combination of these four coating layers thus pro­vides colour and protection – a true high-tech product no thicker than a hair!

The author is a master chemist and heads the core pro­duction for conventional basecoats and waterbourne coating segments in the Coatings business unit at the BASF site in Würzburg.

 

DSC_0449The author is a master chemist at the BASF Coatings GmbH and heads the core production segment for the production of conventional basecoats and waterbourne coatings.

Stefan Weber: Für eine glänzende Zukunft – Innovative Autolacke aus Würzburg

Ein Automotive-Standort wie Bayern kommt ohne Chemie nicht aus. Der Autolack, mag es auch banal erscheinen, ist dabei von essenzieller Bedeutung, denn Farbe ist Emotion und erzeugt Kundenbindung zum Produkt. In Unterfranken werden edle Lacke entwickelt.

 

Die Automobilindustrie in Bayern kommt ohne Che­mie nicht aus. Der Autolack, mag es auch banal erscheinen, ist dabei von es­senzieller Bedeu­tung, denn Farbe ist Emotion und er­­­­­­­­­zeugt Leiden­schaft ­­des Kun­den für das Produkt. In Un­­ter­­franken werden edle La­­cke entwickelt.

Kaum etwas entscheidet so sehr über die Wirkung eines Autos wie seine Farbe. Far­­ben machen aus Fahr­zeugen emotionale Produkte. Die farbgebenden Lacke machen Au­­­­tos aber nicht nur zu echten Hin­guckern, sondern er­­füllen darü­­ber hinaus noch weitere wichtige Funkti­onen: Sie veredeln Ober­flä­chen und schützen sie gleichzeitig.

Viele der Autos, die auf der Straße die Blicke auf sich ziehen, verdanken ihren Glanz und ihre Optik den Produkten des Unterneh­mens­­be­reichs Coatings der BASF. Der Stan­d­­­ort Würzburg ist ein Ent­wick­­lungs- und Produktionsstand­ort für Basis­lacke. Hier werden für die Auto­mobilindustrie auf der etwa 20.000 Quadratmeter großen Flä­­che vor al­­lem öko­ef­­­fiziente Wasserbasislacke entwickelt und hergestellt.

IMG_4012

Die Entwicklung von Wasserbasislacken für den Se­­ri­eneinsatz begann bereits vor 25 Jahren in Würz­burg. Heute werden sie von fast allen namenhaften Auto­mobilherstellern ver­wendet. Im letzten Vierteljahrhun­dert sparten die Wasserbasislacke der BASF allein in Deutschland die Verwendung von über 150.000 Ton­nen Lösemitteln ein. Ein Trend, der sich fortsetzt: Für die Zukunft erwarten Experten, dass der weltweite Markt­anteil der Wasserbasistechnologie weiter steigen wird.

Knapp ein Drittel der insgesamt rund 320 Mitarbeiter am Standort Würzburg arbeitet an der Weiterentwicklung dieser hochwertigen Lackprodukte nach den neuesten Umweltstandards. Die Produktionsstätte Würzburg ist mit ihren vielen Erst – oder Versuchsproduktionen ein wichtiger Bestandteil des Kompetenzcenters Basis­­­la­cke­. Kernarbeitsgebiete sind die Produktion und Ent­wicklung von Basislacken für die Serienlackierung. Die in­­novativen Lösungen aus Würzburg machen das Le­­ben farbiger.

Die Mitarbeiter stehen bei der Entwicklung und Pro­duktion der hochwertigen Lackprodukte intensiv mit den anderen Standorten der BASF im Austausch, um den weltweiten Anforderungen gerecht zu werden. Ziel ist es, höchste Ansprüche an Technik und Qualität äs­­thetisch und zugleich umweltbewusst zu erfüllen. Au­­­ßer­gewöhn­liches Design wird mit Funktionalität verknüpft.

IMG_0133

Autolacke bestehen aus vier Schichten mit einer je­­weils eigenen Funktion. Obwohl die einzelnen Lack­schichten insgesamt nicht dicker als ein menschliches Haar sind, müssen sie dennoch den Einflüssen des täglichen Ge­­brauchs standhalten. Dabei dürfen weder Farbe noch Glanz verloren gehen. Niederschläge, UV-Strahlung, Stra­­ßenschotter, Vogelkot oder die Bürsten der Wasch­stra­ßen erfordern, dass Fahrzeuglacke besonders strapazierbar sind.

Die Grundlage der vier Schichten bildet die kathodische Tauchlackierung: ein ressourcensparender Prozess, bei dem die Karosse ihre Grundierung erhält. Die Grun­die­rung schützt das Auto vor Korrosion. Das Ver­fahren der kathodischen Tauchlackierung ze­­ich­­­net sich dadurch aus, dass es insbeson­dere auch die Hohlräume der Karosse erreicht, was beim Sprüh–Ver­fahren weni­­ger gut gelingt.

Als zweite Lackschicht schützt der Füller die Karosserie vor mechanischen Einflüssen wie Steinschlag, aber auch vor schädlichem UV-Licht.

Final-check_red

Die Farbe und damit auch die Emotionen kommen an dritter Stelle durch den Basislack ins Spiel: Diese Schicht bestimmt mit ihren Farbpigmenten und Effekt­stoffen maßgeblich das Aussehen des Fahrzeuges.

Um den unterschiedlichsten Umwelteinflüssen gewachsen zu sein, wird als Letztes der Klarlack aufgetragen. Die­­ser schützt das Auto und sorgt abschließend für Farb­tiefe und Glanz. Mit einer Ausnahme: Matter Klarlack zeichnet sich dadurch aus, dass er keinen Glanz, sondern eine matte Optik verleiht.

In dieser Kombination sorgen die vier Lackschichten also für Farbe und Schutz – ein echtes Hightech-Produkt auf Haaresbreite!

Der Autor ist Chemiemeister und leitet die Kernfertigung für die Segmente Konventionelle Basislacke und Wasse­r­­­­basislacke des Unternehmensbereichs Coatings der BASF am Standort Würzburg.

DSC_0449Der Autor ist Chemiemeister der BASF Coatings GmbH und leitet am Standort Würzburg das Segment Kernfertigung für die Produktion konventioneller Basislacke und Wasserbasislacke.