Stadtwerke Gotha GmbH: From the region for the region

Since its founding in 1991, Stadtwerke Gotha GmbH has reliably supplied the city and surrounding municipalities with heat, electricity and gas. Today, approximately 40,000 households, public facilities, administrations and companies benefit from their services. The company is deeply rooted in the area as an important energy supplier and notable employer, and as such pays particular attention to its social responsibility. This includes being proactive in implementing the goals of the transition to alternative energies and advocating an environmentally-friendly energy supply.

In a coming model project, the Stadt­werke Gotha and the city plan to connect the Bahnhofsquartier (railway station district) to the district heating grid. Reducing the use of primary energies by at least 26 per cent and reducing CO2 emissions in the service area are the main aims – providing a sustainable contribution to the development of the city that will benefit everyone involved. After all, lower energy costs in heating supply are beneficial for proprietors, investors and owners of residents of the Gründerzeit district.

This project can be successfully completed by modernising the technical systems, using state-of-the-art digital measurement and control technology, and optimising grid operation and energy generation. The use of renewable energies is also an important core topic: ways to use energy sources such as geothermal energy, solar thermal energy and photovoltaics need to be examined. As part of the European Regional Development Fund’s GREEN invest project, a feasibility study was commissioned to implement these ambitious goals.

By using a combination of renewable energies, efficient heat reservoirs and the latest control technology in heating supply a nationwide showcase project in which recent scientific findings can be integrated should be implemented in the future. The aim is also to act as a role model for other municipal housing co-operatives and energy suppliers. Construction is currently planned to start as early as 2017 and a supply connection is to be established by 2018.

Die Geschäftsführer Elmar Burgard und Norbert Kaschek

Die Geschäftsführer Elmar Burgard und Norbert Kaschek

Thanks to regular investments in the development, modernisation and expansion of the grids and connections, Stadtwerke Gotha will be able to provide even more people with local, environmentally-friendly energy in future.

stadtwerkegotha_logo

 

  1. Address

    Pfullendorfer Straße 83
    99867 Gotha
    Tel +49 3621 433-222
    Fax +49 3621 433-110
    mail@stadtwerke-gotha.de
    www.stadtwerke-gotha.de

  2. Management

    Elmar Burgard
    Norbert Kaschek

  3. Year of establishment

    1991

  4. Business activity

    Energy generation
    Energy supply (electricity, gas, district heating)
    Technical services
    Grid expansion

Stadtwerke Gotha GmbH: Aus der Region für die Region

Seit ihrer Gründung 1991 versorgt die Stadt­­werke Gotha GmbH sowohl die Stadt als auch die umliegenden Gemeinden ver­­lässlich mit Wärme, Strom und Gas. Rund 40.000 Haushalte, öffentliche Einrichtungen, Verwaltungen und Betriebe profitieren heute von ihrem Angebot. Das Unter­­nehmen ist als wichtiger Energieversorger sowie namhafter Arbeitgeber in der Region verwurzelt und legt deshalb besonderes Augenmerk auf seine gesellschaftliche Ver­­antwortung. Dazu gehören die aktive Umsetzung von Zielen der Energiewende und der Einsatz für eine umweltfreundliche Energieversorgung.

In einem geplanten Vorzeigeprojekt wollen die Stadtwerke Gotha in Zusammenarbeit mit der Stadt den Anschluss des Bahnhofs­­quartiers an das Fernwärmenetz leisten. Als übergeordnete Anliegen stehen hierbei die Senkung des Einsatzes von Primärenergie um mindestens 26 Prozent sowie die Reduzierung des CO2-Ausstoßes im Versorgungsgebiet auf der Agenda. Damit soll ein nachhaltiger Beitrag zur Stadtentwicklung geleistet werden, von dem alle Beteiligten profitieren: Günstigere Energiekosten in der Wärmeversorgung lohnen sich für Eigentümer und Investoren genauso wie auch für die Anwohner in dem von Gründer­­zeitbebauung geprägten Viertel.

Erreicht werden kann dieses Projekt durch eine Modernisierung der technischen Anlagen, dem Einsatz neuester digitaler Mess- und Regeltechnik sowie einer optimierten Fahrweise der Netze und Energieerzeugung. Auch der Einsatz erneuer­­barer Energien ist ein wichtiges Kernthema: Es muss geprüft werden, auf welche Weise Energiequellen wie Geothermie, Solarthermie und Photovoltaik zum Einsatz kom­­men können. Zur Umsetzung dieser ambitionierten Ziele wurde im Rahmen des EFRE-Förderprogramms GREEN invest eine Machbarkeitsstudie in Auftrag gegeben, die diese Fragen überprüft.

Durch die spätere Kombination des Ein­­satzes erneuerbarer Energien, effizienter Wärmespeicher und der neuesten Regeltechnik im Bereich der Wärmever­­sor­gung soll ein deutschlandweites An­schau­­ungsprojekt entstehen, bei dem neue wissenschaftliche Erkenntnisse ein­­fließen könnten. Dabei wird ein Vorbildcharakter für andere kommunale Wohnungsbaugenossenschaften und Energie­­versorger angestrebt. Nach dem der­­zei­­tigen Stand ist bereits 2017 mit dem Baubeginn und ab 2018 mit dem Versorgungsanschluss zu rechnen.

Die Geschäftsführer Elmar Burgard und Norbert Kaschek

Die Geschäftsführer Elmar Burgard und Norbert Kaschek

Dank regelmäßiger Investitionen in den Ausbau, die Modernisierung und die Er­­­­weiterung der Netze und Anschlüsse er­­­­möglichen die Stadtwerke Gotha in Zukunft noch mehr Menschen den Zugang zu um­­weltfreundlicher Energie aus der Region.

stadtwerkegotha_logo

 

  1. Anschrift

    Pfullendorfer Straße 83
    99867 Gotha
    Tel +49 3621 433-222
    Fax +49 3621 433-110
    mail@stadtwerke-gotha.de
    www.stadtwerke-gotha.de

  2. Geschäftsführung

    Elmar Burgard
    Norbert Kaschek

  3. Gründungsjahr

    1991

  4. Geschäftstätigkeit

    Energieerzeugung
    Energieversorgung (Strom, Gas, Fernwärme)
    Technische Dienstleistungen
    Netzausbau