Slim Kchouk: Siemens – Active in Tunisia for more than 80 years

The history of Siemens in Tunisia be­­gan more than 80 years ago. It all be­­gan in 1932, when Siemens was represented by the company of Hans Römer & Co, and as of 1953, through the Elec­­­­tricity Works Import SITELEC limited com­­­pany.

Siemens’s presence in Tunisia was res­­tructured in 1990 through the found­ing of ETTAS (Tunisian Telecommu­ni­ca­tion Company Atea-Siemens). The ob­­­jective the company set for itself was to build upon the services and technical support provided by the digitalisa­tion pro­­jects initiated by the national telecommunication network. However, this did not stop Siemens from estab­lishing new milestones in Tunisia be­tween 1983 and 1995. This included commissioning Africa’s first tramway.
In 1999, ETTAS was renamed Siemens Information and Communications S.A., which set up a sales network for cell towers and IT products from Fujitsu Siemens Computers. Through the integration of activities involved in the construction, analysis and conception of communica­­­tions networks, the company expanded its scope of activities in 2001 and thus be­­came a partner of Tunisiana, the second-­largest telecommunication provider in Tunisia, in 2002.

In 2005, this Siemens business sector was further diversified in the areas of transport, energy and industrial auto­­ma­­­tion and since 2006, the company has operated under its current name Siemens­­ S.A. Today, Siemens S.A., like its parent company Siemens, is active in the four business sectors industry, energy, infra­­­structure and cities as well as healthcare.

Tunisia is one of the most diversified eco­­nomies in the region and possesses a wide variety of natural resources. The tech­­nologies and solutions provided by the four business sectors serve the needs of the economy. As a company providing integrated technologies, Siemens deliv­ers the solutions for many infrastructure challenges that Tunisia faces.

It is quite remarkable, for example, that 99 per cent of the Tunisian population has access to electricity. However, demand is growing at an annual rate of 5.4 per cent and will reach approx. 32 billion kWh by the year 2030. In light of the growing energy market, Siemens offers a comprehensive solution, which ranges from sustainable wind power technology all the way to HTCC technol­ogies. Given this fact, Siemens commissioned the ther­­mal power plant in Sousse in 1982 and to this day is re­­sponsible for maintenance and expan­sion. Since 1998, Siemens has installed 27 air-insulated, high-voltage substa­tions (225 kV) for the interconnection of Tunisia’s and Libya’s power grids. This is in addition to the twelve gas-­insulated substations (90 kV) for the Tunisian power and gas company STEG (Société Tunisienne de l’Electricité et du Gaz). Today, Siemens is still a privileged technological partner in this high potential market and has recently strengthened its position within the STEG, which is the leading company in the energy sector in Tunisia, by the realisation of the energy transpor­­tation part of the eleventh national five-year plan and it is currently installing eight gas-insulated substations.

 

KfW_5438-Kopie

KfW_5380-Kopie

This not only underscores Siemens’ proud tradition in the energy supply sector in the region, it also provides an opportunity to highlight the challenges posed by requirements on infrastructure dictated by a growing population, this applies in particular to the big cities of Tunis or Sfax. It is remarkable in this context that the total population of Tunis was less than 147,000 in 1900. However, in the past century, the population has seen a disproportionate growth and currently totals more than one million inhabitants.

This corres­pon­ds to a seven­­­fold increase within one century, which brings with it all the related challenges and opportun­ities.

Transport poses one of the greatest challen­­ges and Siemens is using this opportunity to establish itself as a lead­er in the area. The company was the main supplier in the construction of Africa’s first tram­­­way and consequently commissioned 140 trams as well as an almost 50-kilometre-­­wide network in Tunis. As part of a con­­s­­ortium with Colas Rail and Somatra Get, Siemens signed an agreement this year with RFR (Réseau Ferroviaire Rapid) which covers the implementation of a modernisation project for railway lines within the rapid transit network in Tunis.

Siemens’ industrial sector is also very active in Tunisia. With hundreds of industrial zones and its ten pillars of competi­­­tive­­ness, Tunisian industry contributes about 30 per cent of the GDP. The cement and mining sectors as well as the chemical industry with nine cement plants, an annual phosphate production of about eight million tonnes and a long tradition in phosphate extraction and processing, represent emerging markets with considerable potential.

Siemens is a major supplier of technol­ogy for these sectors and industry in general, starting with solutions for industrial automation, which serve to increase the productivity of Tunisian industrial corporations, all the way to training pro­­­grammes. Siemens regularly receives im­­portant orders from the cement industry and supplies solutions for the major com­­panies from Tunisian industry, such as the Tunisian Chemical Group GCT or SEREPT (oil and gas enterprise).

Siemens also can look back at a long his­­tory in public and private health­care. For example, the company delivered Africa’s first CT scanner with 128 layers, which is in operation at a private hospital. With an offer that en­­com­­­­passed technology for medical imaging procedures and systems for laboratory diagnostics, Siemens pur­­sued its efforts in the years that followed to install MRT systems and scanners in nu­­merous public and private hospitals in Tunisia.

The success of Siemens Tunisia will always depend on the joint will. Tunisia as a country may only have ten million inhabitants, but it has a considerable workforce. The quality of the education system and the reservoir of engineers and scientists are among the best in the world. These features have always made it possible for Siemens to rely on highly qualified local employees when fulfilling its project commitments.

Tunisia benefits from its geographic lo­­ca­tion in the heart of the Medi­ter­ra­nean, thus making the country an ideal business platform. Its proxi­mity to Eu­rope, partic­­u­­­­­larly to Ger­many, North Africa and the sub-­­­­Saharan Africa has proven extremely be­­ne­­ficial for the development of the com­­­pany in the country.

The Tunisian economy suffered a notice­­able setback as a result of the revolution. However, the revolution has brought about new challenges for Tunisia and Siemens. These many challenges include the willingness to fight unemployment, the commitment to promote public and private investments as well as improving the infrastructure in the inner and disadvan­­taged regions. Of course, there will also be projects that are subject to the risk of being delayed. The fundamental trend to urbanisation, infrastructure development and the related investments must be considered as long-term undertak­ings. I would like to close with a quote by Winston Churchill, which in my opin­ion best captures our mood: “A pessimist sees the difficulty in every opportunity; an optimist sees the opportunity in every difficulty.”

 

Slim-Kchouk-KopieThe author was born in Tunisia in 1970 and has been managing director for Siemens in Tunisia since 2009. In 1996, he completed his studies in Engineering at the University of Dortmund. After wor­­k­­­ing at various companies, he joined Siemens in 2003.

Slim Kchouk: Siemens – Seit über 80 Jahren in Tunesien

Die Geschichte von Siemens in Tune­­sien nahm ihren Anfang vor mehr als 80 Jahren. Alles begann im Jahr 1932 mit einer Vertretung von Siemens durch die Hans Römer & Co. und ab 1953 durch die Elektrizitätswerke Import SITELEC ltd.

Diese Präsenz nahm 1990 durch die Grün­­dung des Unternehmens ETTAS (Tunisian Telecommunication Company Atea-Siemens) neue Gestalt an. Das Unternehmen hatte es sich zum Ziel gesetzt, auf die Leis­­tungen und den technischen Support der Digitalisierungsprojekte des nationalen Tele­­kommunikationsnetzes aufzubauen. Das hinderte Siemens jedoch nicht daran, zwischen 1983 und 1995 neue Meilen­­steine in Tunesien zu setzen. Dazu ge­­hörte die Inbetriebnahme der ersten Stra­­ßen­­­­bahnlinie Afrikas.
Im Jahr 1999 wurde die ETTAS in Sie­­mens Information and Communications S.A. umbenannt, die ein Vertriebsnetz für Mobilfunkmasten und IT-Produkte von Fujitsu Siemens Computers aufbaute. Durch Integration von Aktivitäten rund um die Konstruktion, Analyse und Kon­­zeption von Kommunikationsnetzen er­­­wei­­­­­terte das Unternehmen 2001 sein Tätig­­keitsfeld und wurde dadurch 2002 zum Partner der Tunisiana, dem zweitgrößten Mobilfunkanbieter Tunesiens.

KfW_5438-Kopie

2005 wurden das Geschäftsfeld von Sie­­mens in den Bereichen Transport, Ener­­gie und Industrieautomatisierung noch viel­­­­­fältiger und seit 2006 firmiert das Un­­ter­­nehmen unter dem heutigen Namen Sie­­mens S.A. Heute ist Siemens wie der Mutterkonzern in den vier Geschäfts­­fel­­­­dern Industrie, Energie, Infrastruktur und Städte sowie Gesundheitswesen aktiv.

Tunesien ist eine der diversifiziertesten Volkswirtschaften der Region und verfügt über verschiedene natürliche Res­sour­cen. Die Technologien und Lösungen in den vier Geschäftsfeldern bedienen den Be­­­­­darf der Wirtschaft. Als Unternehmen für integrierte Technologie liefert Siemens Antworten auf viele infrastrukturelle He­­­­­r­­­­­­aus­­forderungen Tunesiens.

Im Energiesektor ist beispielsweise be­­merkenswert, dass mehr als 99 Prozent der tunesischen Bevölkerung Zugang zu Strom hat. Aber die Nachfrage wächst jährlich um weitere 5,4 Prozent und wird bis 2030 etwa 32 Milliarden kWh erreichen. Angesichts des wachsenden Ener­­­gie­­marktes bietet Siemens eine umfassende Lösung an, die von nachhaltiger Wind­­­­kraft­­technologie bis hin zu HTCC-Tech­­nologien reicht. Vor diesem Hinter­grund nahm das Unternehmen 1982 das Wärme­­kraftwerk in Sousse in Betrieb und sorgt bis heute für Instandhaltung und Aus­­bau. Seit 1998 richtete Siemens zu­­­dem 27 luftisolierte Hochspannungs-Um­­spann­werke (225 kV) für die Zusammen­schal­tung der Stromnetze Tunesiens und Libyens ein. Hinzu kamen 12 gasisolierte Um­­spannwerke (90 kV) für den tunesischen Energieversorger STEG (Société Tunisienne de l’Electricité et du Gaz). Bis heute ist Siemens ein bevorzugter Par­­t­­ner in diesem Zukunftsmarkt und konnte vor kurzem seine Position innerhalb der STEG weiter­ ausbauen. Die STEG wurde durch die Umsetzung von Stromüber­tra­gungs­­­sys­­temen im Rahmen des elften nationalen Entwicklungsplans zum führenden Unter­­nehmen im Energiebereich in Tunesien und errichtet derzeit acht gasiso­­lierte Umspannwerke.

KfW_5380-Kopie

Dies hebt nicht nur die stolze Tradition von Siemens im Bereich der Energie­­ver­­sorgung in der Region hervor, sondern bietet außerdem die Gelegenheit, die Herausforderung des Bedarfs an Infra­­struktur einer wachsenden Bevölkerung aufzuzeigen, insbesondere im Hinblick auf die großen Städte Tunis oder Sfax. Bemerkenswert in diesem Zusammen­­hang ist die Tatsache, dass im Jahr 1900 die Gesamtbevölkerung von Tunis nicht mehr als 147.000 Einwohner zählte. Im Laufe des letzten Jahrhunderts wuchs die Bevölkerungszahl jedoch unverhältnis­­mäßig stark an und beträgt mittlerweile mehr als eine Million Einwohner. Das ent­­spricht einem Anstieg um das Sieben­­fache innerhalb eines Jahrhunderts mit all den damit verbundenen Heraus­for­de­rungen und Chancen.

Das Verkehrswesen stellt eine der größ­­ten Herausforderungen dar und Siemens nutzte die Gelegenheit, um sich auf die­­sem Gebiet in der Region durchzusetzen. Das Unternehmen war Hauptlieferant für den Bau der ersten Straßenbahnlinie in Afrika und nahm infolgedessen sowohl 140 Straßenbahnen als auch ein etwa 50 km umfassendes Netzwerk in Tunis in Betrieb. In einem Konsortium mit Colas Rail und Somatra Get unterzeichnete Siemens in diesem Jahr einen Vertrag mit dem Unter­­nehmen RFR (Réseau Ferroviaire Rapid), der die Umsetzung des Projekts der Mo­­der­nisierung von Bahnlinien des Schnell­­bahnnetzes in Tunis beinhaltet.

Auch der Industriesektor von Siemens in Tunesien ist sehr aktiv. Mit hunderten In­­­dustrieparks und zehn Stärken der Wett­­­­bewerbsfähigkeit macht die tunesische Industrie etwa 30 Prozent des BIP aus. Sowohl die Bereiche Zement und Berg­­bau als auch die Chemieindustrie mit neun Zementwerken, einer jährlichen Phos­­phat­­produktion von etwa acht Mil­­lionen Ton­­nen und einer langen Tradi­­tion in der Phosphat-Förderung und -verarbei­­tung stellen sich als aufstrebende Märkte mit großen Potenzialen dar.

Siemens ist einer der Hauptlieferanten für die Technologie dieser Branchen und der Industrie im Allgemeinen, angefangen mit Lösungen für die industrielle Auto­­ma­­tion, die zur Steigerung der Produk­ti­vität der tunesischen Industriekonzerne dienen, bis zu Ausbildungsprogrammen. Siemens erhält regelmäßig wichtige Auf­­­träge von der Zementindustrie und liefert Lösun­gen für die großen Unter­­neh­­men der tune­sischen Industrie, wie etwa die Tunisian Chemical Group GCT oder SEREPT (Öl- und Gasunternehmen).

Siemens hat in Tunesien zudem eine lange Tradition im öffentlichen und privaten Gesundheitswesen. So stellte das Unter­­nehmen in Tunesien beispielsweise afrika­­­­weit den ersten CT-Scanner mit 128 Schich­­­­ten, der in einem privaten Kranken­­haus genutzt wird. Mit einem Angebot, das Tech­­nologien für medizinische Bild­gebungs­­verfahren und Systeme der Labor­­diag­­nos­­tik umfasste, arbeitete Siemens in den folgenden Jahren weiter daran, MRT-Sys­­­teme und Scanner in zahlreichen öffen­­t­lichen und privaten Kranken­­häu­sern in Tunesien einzurichten.

Der Erfolg von Siemens Tunesien ist und wird immer von einem gemeinsamen Wil­­­len abhängen. Tunesien hat als Land zwar nur zehn Millionen Einwohner, aber dafür zahl­­reiche Arbeitskräfte. Die Qualität des Bil­­dungssystems und die Verfügbarkeit von Ingenieuren und Wissenschaftlern zählen zu den Besten weltweit. Diese Merk­­male haben es Siemens stets ermöglicht, sich auf hochqualifizierte ortsansässige Mit­­arbeiter für die Erfüllung ihrer Pro­­­jek­­­te verlassen zu können.

Tunesien profitiert von der geografischen Lage im Herzen des Mittelmeers, die das Land zu einer ausgezeichneten Ge­­schäftsplattform macht. Für die Ent­­wick­­lung des Unternehmens hat sich die Nähe zu Eu­­ropa und insbesondere zu Deutsch­­­­land, Nordafrika und Subsahara-Afrika als äu­­ßerst vorteilhaft erwiesen.

Die tunesische Wirtschaft musste infolge der Revolution einen spürbaren Rück­­schritt hinnehmen. Aber die Revolution hat auch neue Herausforderungen für Tunesien und für Siemens hervorgebracht. Der Wille zur Bekämpfung der Arbeits­losig­­keit, die Verpflichtung, die Wirtschaft durch öffent­­liche und private Investitionen anzu­­kurbeln, sowie die Verbesserung der Infra­­­­struk­­tur in den inneren und benachteiligten Re­­gionen zählen zu diesen vielen Her­­aus­­forderungen. Natürlich wird es im­­­mer wie­­der Projekte geben, die dem Risiko aus­­gesetzt sind, verschoben zu werden. Die grundsätzliche Tendenz zur Urba­ni­­­sie­rung und zur Entwicklung der Infra­­struk­­tur so­­wie den damit verbundenen Investi­­tionen wird aber langfristig andauern. Ab­­schließen möchte ich mit einem Zitat Winston Chur­­chills, der meiner Meinung nach unsere Gemütslage gut zusammen­­fasst: „Der Pessi­­mist sieht Schwierig­­kei­­­­ten in jeder Gelegenheit. Der Optimist sieht Gelegen­­heit in jeder Schwierigkeit.“

 

Slim-Kchouk-KopieDer Autor wurde 1970 in Tunesien ge­­­boren und ist seit 2009 Geschäftsführer der Siemens Tunisia. Im Jahr 1996 schloss
er sein Studium als Diplom-Ingenieur an der Universität Dortmund ab. Nachdem er bei mehreren Unternehmen beschäftigt war, begann er 2003 seine Tätigkeit bei Siemens.