Ruth Wagner: Art and culture are the soul of a city – and a key economic factor

Culture determines the quality of life of the cities, the municipalities and the states. All the same, culture has long been regarded as an economic factor for locations. For the city of Darmstadt, art and culture are not only indispensable for the economic positioning in the state of Hessen and Germany – the citizens treasure the “city of the arts” to a great extend. At one time Darmstadt advertised with the postmark “the arts are alive in Darmstadt”, which was followed by “Darmstadt – the city in the forest”. Today the city positions itself as “science city”– all three self-images are correct and distinguish the “small” big city. With a growing population of 140,000 and 118,000 jobs, Darmstadt, the “City of Science”, exhibits a future-oriented development in comparison with Hessen and with Germany: based on a combination of business and science, a favourable traffic position, social and cultural facilities as well as natural and urban landscapes.

The economic base of the city is formed especially by the chemical-pharmaceu­­tical industry, telecommunication, the IT in­­dustry, software companies, space and satellite technology, mechatronics and the film, television and video industry. This broad range of Darmstadt’s economy corresponds with specific and unique institutions of the sciences, namely three universities, four Fraunhofer Institutes, the Society for Heavy Ion Research (GSI) and 30 further scientific institutions. The city’s international ranking as well as the competence of scientists and students stimulates the working process, employment and inventiveness within the companies, as do the technical demands of the eco­­nomy to­­wards the sciences. So much for the economic facts of the city.

MyPan_0192

But for me art and culture are the soul of our city. Art and culture are central to a person’s life of fulfilment and self-­discovery. Art serves as self- assurance for the artists and is a part of the self-­reflection of a society. Artistic creation secures not only individual but also social identity. Art imparts social values and promotes understanding and ex­­change between different cultures. There­­fore, culture is a significant location factor for the community and is also an important, a special and a “hard” economic factor.

Cultural and creative industries are ex­­panding. Prerequisites for scientific and economic success are creativity, knowl­edge and education, the joy of ex­­peri­­men­­tation, failure and restart. This is especially true for the “cultural industries” or the “creative economy” that has developed in the last decade in Europe, in Germany and in Hessen. The creative and artistic people are the basis of these economic sectors. Authors, film­­makers, musicians, architects, designers and artists produce artistic and creative goods and services. By comparison, Germany is at the top in Europe. The approximately one million employees in the cultural and creative industries achieve a sales volume of about 131.4 billion euros and an aggregate gross value of about 63 billion euros in more than 237,000 enterprises and indepen­dent sectors. Meanwhile, this industry sector is almost as econo­mically strong as the auto­­mo­­tive in­­dustry and stronger then the chemical industry. This comparison clearly shows that the evaluation of culture as a “soft location factor” is a gross miscalculation.

Davis_Miles_197_David-Redfern_01

In Hessen, more than 120,000 em­­ployees in a­­­­bout 22,000 companies with a turn­­over of 19 billion euros – primarily in the Rhine-Main region – demonstrate the high per­­centage of the cultural industries within the economy. They prove that culture is a “hard” location factor. According to the shares of turnover, the literature, book and press market, the art, galleries, mu­­seums and the film, television and video industry are the most important market segments of the cultural industries in Hessen. The area of “cultural heritage” shows parti­­cularly high ranking with more than 21,000 employees. Despite lower sales, the eco­­­­nomic effects of this sector are considerable.

Facts about Darmstadt’s culture. Although there has not yet been a scientific study on Darmstadt’s creative economy, the high number of designers, jobs in the TV, film and video branch, architects as well as jobs in the press market, advertise­ment and communication lead the city’s Cham­­ber of Commerce and Statistical Office to assume similarly positive results for the city of Darmstadt in those sub-markets.

The attendance at urban cultural centres and international cultural institutions docu­­ments clearly the high degree of apprecia­­tion of art and culture but also its indirect and direct influence on the eco­­nomy of the city. Each exhibition at Mathilden­höhe recorded about 30,000 to 50,000 visitors. In addition to the artist colony at Mathilden­­höhe and the many varied connecting art and business projects, many cultural insti­­tutions have been created and give rise to the high national and international standard of Darmstadt. The visual arts are not only defined by the many contemporary sculp­­tors, painters, media artists and designers living in Darmstadt and the Darmstadt Secession, but also through the presentation of contemporary art in the Kunst­­halle, which is supported by the Kunst­­verein art association founded in 1837. In addition to the private galleries, the offering of partnerships with businesses, public agen­­cies, architects, universities and designers is growing. The Arts-Prize of the city has been awarded since 1955 and distinguishes young con­­temporary visual artists.
With the Hessian State Museum (Hes­sisches Landesmuseum), the Residence-­­Palace Museum (Schloss­­museum in der Residenz), the Hunting Lodge in the re­­stored Hun­t­­ing Lodge Kranichstein (Jagd­­schloss Kranich­stein) and other local historical museums the museum landscape of the city of Darmstadt is extra­­ordinarily substantiated.

02_Schloss___Brunnen__AfWS__Alex_Deppert_

Literature is a vital source for the cultural reputation of our city. The German Aca­­demy of Language and Literature, the German Polish Institute, the German P.E.N. Center and the German Fund for Lite­­rature are visited by thousands of guests every year. More than 150 libraries demon­­strate that Darmstadt is a centre of books and literature. The uni­­versity library and city library alone attract about one million visitors a year. The inter­­nationally renowned institutes, which are sponsored together by the city, the state of Hessen and the Federal Republic of Germany, attest to the high rank of the literary scene. Important literary prizes, such as the Georg Büchner Prize, the Leonce and LenaPrize and the poetry competition “Lite­­rarischer März” (Literary March) show that Darmstadt is a centre for literature.

Theatre life in Darmstadt is colourful and alive. The State Theatre (Staatstheater) in­­vites to play, opera and dance theatre and records approximately 300,000 visitors each season. The free theatre scene is dedicated to children’s theatre, cabaret and also takes a look at con­­temporary issues and has together with other sectors, especially the music, become an important complement to the theatre life of the city. Even the city’s musical life is multi-­­facetted. Whether it is classical or contem­­porary, in Darmstadt music is made and listened to. Contemporary music is main­­tained on a high level of competence at the International Summer Course for New Music and the International Music Institute, to name a few. These are visited by thousands of guests from all over the world, as is the Jazzinstitute with its collection of the artist Joachim-Ernst Behrendt. The Darmstadt Academy for Musical Arts is one of the oldest and most modern music schools in Germany. The Centralstation entertains about 170,000 visitors a year with a diverse programme from music and literature to film and new media.

The more than 30 million euros in funding by the city of Darmstadt for cultural insti­­tutions not only justify the experience of art and culture, they also finance direct and indirect employment in these institutions and in the gastronomy, the hotel industry, the transport industry and in advertising. The share of seven per cent of the muni­c­ipal budget on cultural ex­­penditures is behind Frankfurt with ten per cent but in front of the cities of Wiesbaden and Kassel with 3.5 per cent each. This is a good financial “investment” in culture and economic prosperity.

Clearly, the citizens of Darmstadt accept this experience: surveys demonstrate that the city is seen and appreciated to a large extend as a city of art and culture, a city of science and as a “city in the forest”. This is why the interlinking of these three self-images also is a part of and belongs to the economic positioning of our city in the Rhine-Main region.

Bild-Wagner-lachsfarbenThe author was born in 1940 and studied German, history and political science. She was a longstanding member of the Hessian Parliament and vice-president of the State Parliament of Hessen from 2003 to 2008. From 1999 to 2003, Ruth Wagner was Hessian Minister for Science and the Arts and Deputy Prime Minister.

Ruth Wagner: Kunst und Kultur sind die Seele einer Stadt – und auch ein harter Wirtschaftsfaktor

Kultur bestimmt die Lebensqualität der Städte, Kommunen und Länder. Gleich­wohl gilt die Kultur längst als Wirt­schafts­­faktor für Standorte. Für Darmstadt sind Kunst und Kultur nicht nur unabdinglich zur wirtschaftlichen Positionierung in Hessen und Deutschland – die Bürger schätzen die „Stadt der Künste“ in hohem Maße. Einst warb Darmstadt mit dem Poststempel „In Darmstadt leben die Künste“, darauf folgte „Darmstadt – Die Stadt im Walde“. Heute positioniert sich die Stadt als „Wissenschaftsstadt“ – alle drei Selbstbilder treffen zu und zeichnen die „kleine“ Großstadt aus. Die Wissen­­schaftsstadt Darmstadt weist im innerdeutschen und hessischen Vergleich bei 140.000 Einwohnern und wachsender Bevölkerung mit 118.000 Arbeits­­plätzen eine zukunftsgerichtete Entwicklung auf: Diese beruht auf der Verknüpfung von Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft, guter Ver­­kehrslage, sozialen und kulturellen Ein­­richtungen sowie Natur- und Parkanlagen.

Die ökonomische Basis der Stadt wird von der chemisch-pharmazeutischen Industrie, von Nachrichtenübermittlung, IT-Branche, Softwareunternehmen, Welt­raum- und Satellitentechnik, Mecha­tronik, Film-, TV- und Videowirtschaft besonders geprägt. Diese Bandbreite der Darmstädter Wirtschaft korrespon­­diert mit spezifischen und einzigartigen Institutionen der Wissen­­schaft, nämlich drei Hochschulen, vier Fraunhofer-Instituten, der Gesellschaft für Schwer­ionenforschung und 30 weiteren wissen­­schaftlichen Instituten. Ihr inter­nationaler Rang, die Kompetenz von Wissen­schaftlern und Studierenden stimu­­lieren Arbeit, Beschäftigung und Erfinder­­geist in den Unternehmen, aber auch die technischen Anfor­de­rungen von der Wirt­­schaft an die Wissen­­schaft. So viel zu den wirtschaftlichen Fakten der Stadt.

MyPan_0192

Für mich aber sind Kunst und Kultur die Seele unserer Stadt. Kunst und Kultur sind von zentraler Bedeutung für die Lebens­­erfüllung und die Selbstfindung des Menschen. Kunst dient der Selbstver­ge­­wisserung der Künstler, sie ist Teil der Selbstreflexion einer Gesellschaft. Künst­lerisches Schaffen sichert also nicht nur individuelle, sondern auch soziale Iden­tität. Sie vermittelt gesellschaftliche Werte und fördert Verständnis und Austausch zwischen verschiedenen Kulturen. Deshalb ist die Kultur ein wesentlicher Standort­­faktor für ein Gemeinwesen, auch ein wichtiger, ein besonderer und ein „harter“ Wirtschaftsfaktor.

Kultur- und Kreativwirtschaft im Auf­schwung. Voraussetzungen wissen­schaft­­­­lichen und wirtschaftlichen Er­­folgs sind Kreativität, Wissen und Bil­­dung, Freude am Experimentieren, am Scheitern und Neubeginn.
Dies gilt vor allem für die sogenannte „Kulturwirtschaft“ oder „Kreativ­wirtschaft“, die sich im letzten Jahrzehnt in Europa, in Deutschland und in Hessen entwickelt hat. Die schöpferischen und gestalterischen Menschen sind die Basis dieses Wirtschaftsbereiches. Autoren, Filme­macher, Musiker, Architekten, Designer und Künstler schaffen künstlerische und kreative Güter sowie Dienstleistungen. Deutschland liegt im europäischen Ver­­­­gleich an der Spitze. Die rund eine Million Beschäftigten der Kultur- und Kreativ­­wirt­­schaft erzielen in über 237.000 Unter­­­­nehmen und selbstständigen Bereichen ein Umsatzvolumen von circa 131,4 Mil­liar­den Euro und eine gesamtwirtschaft­­­liche Brutto­­wertschöpfung von etwa 63 Mil­lia­r­den Euro. Damit ist dieser Wirt­schafts­­zweig inzwischen fast so wirt­schafts­­­­stark wie die Automobilindustrie und leis­­tungs­kräftiger als die Chemie­industrie. Aus diesem Ver­­gleich wird die Bewertung der Kultur als „weicher Stand­­ort­faktor“ als grobe Fehl­­einschätzung deutlich.

Davis_Miles_197_David-Redfern_01

In Hessen zeigen mehr als 120.000 Beschäftigte in ungefähr 22.000 Unter­­nehmen mit einem Umsatz von 19 Milliar­den Euro – schwerpunktmäßig im Rhein-Main-Gebiet – den hohen Anteil der Kultur­wirtschaft an der Wirtschaft. Sie belegen, dass Kultur ein „harter“ Standortfaktor ist. Nach den Umsatz­an­­teilen sind Literatur-, Buch- und Presse­­markt, die Kunst, Galerien, Museen sowie die Film-, TV- und Video­wirtschaft die wich­­tigsten Teilmärkte der Kultur­wirt­­schaft in Hessen. Einen besonders hohen Rang zeigt der Bereich „Kulturelles Erbe“ mit über 21.000 Beschäf­­tigten. Trotz der gerin­­geren Umsätze sind die wirtschaft­­lichen Wirkungen dieses Bereiches beachtlich.

Darmstadts Kultur in Fakten. Obgleich für Darmstadt noch keine wissenschaft­liche Untersuchung zur Kreativ­wirtschaft vorliegt, können aus der hohen Zahl von Designern, TV-, Film- und Video­beschäf­­tigten, Architekten, Verlags-, Zeitungs-, und Pressemarkt, Werbung und Kommu­­nikation nach Ansicht der Industrie- und Handelskammer und des städtischen Statistischen Amts in diesen Teil­märkten für Darmstadt ähnlich positive Ergeb­nisse angenommen werden.
Die Besucherzahlen städtischer Kultur­einrichtungen sowie internationaler Kultur­­institute dokumentieren eindeutig den hohen Grad der Wertschätzung von Kunst und Kultur, aber auch ihre indirekte und direkte Wirkung für die Ökonomie der Stadt. Jede Ausstellung auf der Mathilden­­höhe verzeichnet etwa 30.000 bis 50.000 Besucher. Neben der Künstlerkolonie auf der Mathildenhöhe sowie vielfältigen, Kunst und Wirtschaft verbindenden Projekten entstanden Kultureinrichtungen, die den hohen nationalen und internationalen Anspruch Darmstadts begründen. Die bildende Kunst wird nicht nur von den in Darmstadt lebenden Bildhauern, Malern, Medienkünstlern, Designern sowie durch die Darmstädter Sezession geprägt, sondern auch durch die Präsentation zeit­­genössischer Kunst in der Kunsthalle, die von dem 1837 gegründeten Kunst­verein getragen wird. Neben privaten Galerien wächst das Angebot von Ko­­operationen mit Unternehmen, öffentlichen Einrich­tungen, Architekten, Hoch­­­­schulen und Designern. Der Kunstpreis der Stadt wird seit 1955 vergeben und zeichnet zeitgenössische jüngere bildende Künstler aus.
Mit dem Hessischen Landes­­museum, dem Schlossmuseum in der Residenz, dem Jagdschloss im restaurierten Jagd­schloss Kranichstein und weiteren stadtgeschicht­­lichen Museen ist die Museums­land­schaft Darmstadts außerordentlich breit fundiert.

02_Schloss___Brunnen__AfWS__Alex_Deppert_

Literatur ist ein wichtiger Quell des kul­­tu­­rellen Rufes unserer Stadt: Die Deutsche Akademie für Sprache und Dichtung, das Deutsche Poleninstitut, das P.E.N.-Zentrum Deutschland und der Deutsche Literatur­­fonds werden jährlich von tausenden Gästen besucht. Über 150 Bibliotheken zeigen, dass Darmstadt ein Zentrum von Büchern und Literatur ist. Allein die Universitätsbibliothek und Stadt­biblio­thek suchen pro Jahr rund eine Million Besucher auf. Die international angesehenen Institute, die gemeinsam von der Stadt, dem Land Hessen und der Bundesrepublik Deutschland gefördert werden, belegen den hohen Rang des literarischen Geschehens. Bedeutende Literaturpreise, wie der Georg-Büchner-Preis, der Leonce-und-Lena-Preis und der Lyrikwettbewerb „Literarischer März“ ver­­deutlichen, dass Darmstadt ein Zentrum der Literatur ist.

Das Theaterleben in Darmstadt ist bunt und lebendig. Das Staatstheater lädt zu Schauspiel, Oper und Tanztheater ein und verzeichnet pro Saison etwa 300.000 Besucher. Die freie Theaterszene widmet sich dem Kindertheater, Kabarett, aber auch zeitkritischen Themen und ist ge­­mein­­­­sam mit anderen Sparten, vor allen Dingen der Musik, zu einer wichtigen Ergänzung des Theaterlebens geworden. Auch das Musikleben der Stadt hat viele Facetten. Ob klassisch oder zeitgenössisch, in Darmstadt wird Musik gemacht und gehört. Die zeitgenössische Musik wird unter anderem in den Inter­na­tionalen Ferienkursen für Neue Musik und im Inter­­nationalen Musikinstitut auf hohem Niveau gepflegt. Diese werden von tau­­senden Gästen aus aller Welt besucht, genauso wie das Jazzinstitut mit der Sammlung von Joachim-Ernst Behrendt. Die Akademie für Tonkunst gehört zu den ältesten und zu­­­­gleich modernsten Musik­ausbildungs­­stätten in Deutschland. Die Central­station unterhält rund 170.000 Besucher jährlich mit einem vielseitigen Programm von Musik über Lite­­­­­ratur bis hin zu Film und Neuen Medien.

Mehr als 30 Millionen Euro an städtischen Zuschüssen für kulturelle Einrichtungen rechtfertigen nicht nur das Erlebnis von Kunst und Kultur, sie finanzieren direkte und indirekte Beschäftigung in den Ein­­­­richtungen, der Gastronomie, Hotellerie, im Ver­­kehrs­­gewerbe und der Werbe­branche. Der Anteil von sieben Prozent Kultur­aus­­gaben am städtischen Etat liegt hinter Frankfurt mit zehn Prozent, aber vor Wies­baden und Kassel mit jeweils 3,5 Prozent. Dies ist eine gute finanzielle „Anlage“ in Kultur und wirtschaftliche Prosperität.

Die Bürgerschaft Darmstadts nimmt diese Erfahrung offensichtlich an: In Umfragen wird die Stadt in hohem Maß als Stadt von Kunst und Kultur, der Wissenschaft und als „Stadt im Walde“ gesehen und geschätzt. Deshalb gehört die Ver­knüpfung dieser Selbstbilder auch zur wirtschaft­lichen Positionierung unserer Stadt im Rhein-Main-Gebiet.

Bild-Wagner-lachsfarbenDie Autorin wurde 1940 geboren und studierte Germanistik, Geschichte und Politik­wissenschaft. Sie war langjährige hessische Landtagsabgeordnete und von 2003 bis 2008 Vizepräsidentin des Hes­sischen Landtages. Von 1999 bis 2003 war Ruth Wagner Hessische Ministerin für Wissenschaft und Kunst sowie stellvertretende Ministerpräsidentin.