Ruth Wagner: Culture as a hard factor for economic locations

The cultural environment not only defines the quality of life in cities, towns and states, it has also long been an economic factor for locations. The cultural and creative sector combines traditional economic sectors, new technologies and modern forms of communication with each other. Given its capability, it is comparable with key sectors of the econ­omy such as the automotive and chemical industries.

Art and culture are of central importance for human self-fulfilment and self-discovery. At all stages of human history, artists have provided examples of the ability to live out­­­side norms, dogma and fixed pat­­terns through their self-chosen activities.

While art serves as self-assurance for artists, it is also part of the self-reflection of a society. So artistic works not only pre­­serve individual identity, they also pre­­­­serve social identity. Art and culture are essential for human understanding; like religion and philosophy, art transmits social values which are constitutive for a community. Artistic works demand both understanding and exchange between various cultures.
It is my view that culture is the soul of a country, which can be neglected and wounded but which must also be fostered and looked after. For this reason, culture is an essential location factor for a polity and is also an important, special and “hard” economic factor.

In discussions, assessments and decisions, finance ministers, city treasurers and businesspeople often distinguish between so-called “hard” and “soft” location factors in a region. In contrast to man­­u­­facturing and service providers, cultural organizations are often referred to as “soft” location factors. Thus, they are considered to be an “add-on” to basic human needs which are re­­­quired to satisfy economic needs, and they are considered to be an “extra” that society can afford in economic good times while art and culture can also be done without in economically and financially hard times.

Thus, they are considered to be an “add-on” to basic human needs which are re­­­quired to satisfy economic needs, and they are considered to be an “extra” that society can afford in economic good times while art and culture can also be done without in economically and financially hard times.

The situation in Germany. The facts tell a different story. In the European Union some five million people are employed in the cultural and creative sector.

Creative and artistic people are the basis of the cultural and creative sector. Authors, film makers, musicians, architects, designers, artists or even the developers of computer games create artistic and creative goods and services. They thus represent a dynamic and diverse sector of the economy.

In this category Germany tops the list in Europe. In 2009 the million or so employees in 237,000 companies and self-em­ployed sectors in the creative and cultural sector earned turnover of 131.4 billion euros and gross macroeconomic added value of some 63 billion euros. This makes the cultural and creative sector almost as economically strong as the automotive industry and an even stronger performer than the chemicals industry. Seen from this perspective, the assessment of culture as a “soft location factor” is clearly a gross misinterpretation.

panthermedia_03615975

Hessen’s cultural sector. Last decade the state of Hessen conducted several investigations into the link between cul­­tural sponsoring, the cultural sector and general economic development. Ac­­cord­­­­ingly, Hessen’s first report on the cultural sector appeared early in 2000 as a joint effort of the Ministry of Science and the Arts and the Ministry of Commerce. The second report looked at “Cultural Spon­­­­­­soring and Patronage”. The third report was entitled “Supporting the Cultural Sector – Developing Towns and Cities” and looked at the effects of the cultural sector on regions and muni­c­ipal situations. In 2010, the Hessen Agentur (a state agency that combines all non-monetary activities of business promotion in Hessen) published an up­­date of the data entitled “The Cultural Sector in Hessen – an Update of Principal Economic Data” on behalf of the Ministry of Commerce.

The studies distinguished between six partial markets:
• literature, book and press companies
• the plastic arts (design and handicrafts)
• film production, TV and video­ companies
• Hessen’s cultural heritage (preservation of historic sites and buildings)
• the music sector
• the performing arts and entertainment.

120,000 employees in 22,000 companies with turnover of 19 billion euros – concentrated in the Rhine-­­Main region – show the high percentage contribution by the cultural sector to the entire economy of Hessen. Looked at by turnover, literature, the book and press market, the plastic arts and cinema, TV and the video sector are the most important partial markets of the cultural sector in Hessen. The “cultural heritage” section shows a particularly high ranking with 21,000 employees, even if turnover in this partial market is not as high. The economic effects of this sector of the economy and public funding, especially in the preservation of historic sites and buildings, are remarkable. In pres­­­er­­vation work on historic sites and buildings, one euro of public funding generates about four to five euros of economic power with a direct effect on employment in the skilled trades, construction and construction-related companies. Studies by the Ifo Institute for Economic Research em­­­pha­size the significance of culture as a hard location factor. This applies particularly to the Rhine-Main region and the city of Frankfurt.

Public promotion of the cultural sector.Cultural policies are the result of Germany’s federal history, in which the states and the cities in particular supported the arts and culture and, as such, perform this task in Germany. The public financing of culture compared to total budgets shows that Germany spends about 12 per cent, the states 43 per cent and the municipalities 45 per cent. In Germany the arts and culture receive state support worth about eight billion euros annually.

Public promotion of culture in Hessen, the municipalities, the big cities and the counties is extraordinarily varied.

Compared to the overall budget, Hessen’s expenditure on the cultural sector is less than two per cent while the city of Frankfurt still finances cultural institutions and projects with ten per cent of its budget. The city of Darmstadt still spends seven per cent of its budget on the cultural sector, while Kassel and Wiesbaden only spend 3.5 per cent of their budgets on cultural promotion.

100706-15

One significant, possibly doubtful, development in the cultural area is also the fact that the number of freelancers and sole-proprietor companies in all segments of the cultural sector is growing, while the number of permanent positions where the employees are required to contribute to the German social insurance system is decreasing. This applies especially to the socio-cultural centres which, in a conscious turning-away from traditional cultural facilities, offer opportunities of encounter in intergenerational, intercultural and social projects. The new 2010 report of the Hessen Agentur says: “There are still hardly any full-time positions and the pay is usually insufficient for the work done.”

Private funding of culture. In Hessen – as in Germany as a whole – the funding of cultural pursuits is not only a public duty but is carried out in accordance with the tradition of civil life in the cities by foundations, through patronage and sponsoring together with the business community and the public purse. Patron­­­­age and spon­sor­ing differ through the mutuality of the transaction. While in cultural sponsoring, companies support cultural activities in order to boost their public image, patrons support artistic, scientific and cultural pursuits without requiring any direct return. For example, companies or family firms act as found­­ers of private and company foundations. Citi­­zens and companies become involved in an honorary capacity in civic foundations or are members of sponsoring societies. Fi­­nan­cial institutions maintain foundations, operate sponsoring activities or give donations. In Germany there are 17,380 foundations with assets of about 100 billion euros. In Hessen 1,600 foundations support culture, art, science, sport, social activities, and the environment.

In the long term, the ethical, political and economic obligation to promote culture in Germany and in Hessen can only be guaranteed as a result of cooperation between the public, the cultural sector, municipal promotion from foundations and sponsoring. It has only been in the last few years that culture has been defined as an economic factor, whether as a “soft” or “hard” location factor. However, the legit­­i­­macy of public funding for culture is another factor again.

Art is the soul of a country and a city, which must be carefully fostered and not neglected.

Bild-Wagner-lachsfarbenRuth Wagner was born in 1940 and studied German philology, history and political science. She is the chair of the cultural commission of the city of Darmstadt. In 1978, the author became a member of the Hessian Landtag. From 2003 to 2008, she was presiding officer of the Hessian Land­tag. From 1999 to 2003, Ruth Wagner held the offices of state minister for science and art as well as deputy prime minister.

Ruth Wagner: Kultur als harter Faktor für Wirtschaftsstandorte

Das kulturelle Umfeld macht nicht nur die Lebensqualität von Städten, Kommu­­­nen und Ländern aus, sondern gilt längst auch als Wirtschaftsfaktor für Stand­­orte. Die Kultur- und Kreativ­wirt­­schaft verbindet traditionelle Wirt­schafts­­bereiche, neue Technologien und moderne Kom­mu­ni­­­ka­­­tionsformen miteinander. Sie ist hinsichtlich der Leistungsstärke vergleichbar mit Schlüsselbranchen wie Auto­­mo­­tive- und Chemieindustrie.

Kunst und Kultur sind von zentraler Be­­­­­deu­tung für die Lebenserfüllung und die Selbst­­findung des Menschen. Künstler haben zu allen Zeiten durch selbst ge­­wählte und selbst gestaltete Tätigkeit ein Beispiel für die Fähigkeit zum Leben fernab von Normen, Dogmen und Scha­blonen gegeben.

Kunst dient der Selbstvergewis­serung der Künstler, sie ist aber auch Teil der Selbstreflexion einer Ge­­sell­schaft. Künst­­lerisches Schaf­­fen sichert also nicht nur individuelle, sondern auch soziale Iden­­tität. Kunst und Kultur sind wesentlich für die mensch­­­liche Ver­stän­­­­di­­gung; wie die Religion und die Philo­so­phie vermittelt die Kunst gesellschaftliche Werte, die konstituierend für eine Ge­­mein­schaft sind. Künst­­­lerisches Sch­a­f­­fen fördert zu­­gleich auch Ver­­ständnis und Austausch zwischen ver­­­­schie­­de­nen Kulturen.
Ich bin der Auffassung, dass Kultur die Seele eines Landes ist, die man ver­­nach­lässigen, die man verletzen kann, die aber notwendigerweise gepflegt und gehütet werden sollte. Deshalb ist die Kultur ein wesentlicher Standort­faktor für ein Ge­­mein­­wesen, auch ein wichtiger, ein besonderer und ein „harter“ Wirtschafts­faktor.

In Diskussionen, Bewertungen und Ent­­scheidungen treffen Finanz­­minis­­ter, Käm­­merer und Unternehmer häufig die Unter­scheidung zwischen soge­nann­­­ten „harten“ und „weichen“ Stand­­ort­fak­toren einer Region. Im Gegensatz zum produzierenden Gewerbe und zu Dienst­leist­ungs­­unter­nehmen werden Kultur­ein­richt­­­ungen als „weicher“ Stand­­ort­faktor be­­­zeich­­net. Sie gelten somit als ein „Additum“ zu den grundsätzlichen Be­­­dürf­­­nissen des Men­schen, die die Wirt­schaft zu befriedigen hat, als Drein­­gabe, die man sich in wirt­­schaft­­lich günstigen Zeiten leisten kann, während in wirtschaftlich und finanziell schwierigen Zeiten auf Kunst und Kultur auch verzichtet werden kann.

 

Die Situation in Deutschland. Die Fakten sprechen eine andere Sprache: In der Europäischen Union arbeiten rund fünf Millionen Erwerbstätige im Kultur- und Kreativsektor.
Die schöpferischen und gestalterischen Menschen sind die Basis der Kultur- und Kreativwirtschaft. Autoren, Filme­macher, Musiker, Ar­­chi­tek­ten, Designer, Künstler oder auch die Ent­­wick­ler von Computer­spielen schaffen künst­ler­ische und kreative Güter und Dienst­l­eist­ungen. Sie stehen damit für einen dynamischen und vielfältigen Wirt­schafts­bereich.

panthermedia_03615975

Deutschland liegt im europäischen Ver­gleich an der Spitze. Die rund eine Million Be­­schäftigten der Kultur- und Kreativ­wirt­­schaft erzielten im Jahr 2009 in 237.000 Unternehmen und selbstständigen Be­­reich­­­en ein Umsatzvolumen von 131,4 Mil­­liarden Euro und eine gesamt­­wirt­schaft­liche Brutto­­wertschöpfung von etwa 63 Mil­li­arden Euro. Damit ist der Wirt­schafts­­zweig inzwischen fast so wirt­­schaftsstark wie die Auto­mobil­in­dustrie und leistungskräftiger als die Chemie­in­du­­strie. Aus diesem Vergleich wird die Be­­­­­wertung der Kultur als „weicher Stand­­ortfaktor“ als grobe Fehl­ein­schätz­­ung deutlich.

Die hessische Kulturwirtschaft. Das Land Hessen hat im letzten Jahr­zehnt den Zusam­­menhang zwischen Kultur­för­der­ung, Kultur­­wirtschaft und allgemeiner Wirtschafts­entwicklung mehrfach unter­­­sucht. So ist der erste Hessische Kultur­wirtschafts­bericht Anfang des Jahr­­tau­­s­ends gemein­­sam zwischen dem Minis­­terium für Wirt­­schaft und Kunst und dem Wirtschafts­ministerium entstanden. Der zweite Bericht beschäftigte sich mit dem Thema des „Kultur­sponsoring und Mäze­­natentums“. Der dritte vorgelegte Bericht untersuchte die Auswirkungen der Kultur­wirtschaft auf Regionen und kommunale Situationen unter dem Titel „Kultur­wirt­­schaft fördern – Stadt entwickeln“. Im Jahr 2010 hat die Hessen Agentur im Auftrag des Wirtschafts­minis­teriums eine Fort­schrei­bung der Daten mit dem Titel „Kultur­wirt­­schaft in Hessen – Fort­schrei­bung der wichtigsten wirtschaftlichen Kenn­­zahlen“ veröffentlicht.

Die Untersuchungen unterscheiden zwischen sechs Teilmärkten:
• Literatur-, Buch- und
Presse­unter­nehmen
• bildende Kunst (Design und
Kunst­­handwerk)
• Filmproduktion, TV- und
Video­unter­nehmen
• kulturelles Erbe (Denkmalschutz)
• Musikwirtschaft
• darstellende Kunst und Unterhaltung.

120.000 Beschäftigte in 22.000 Unter­nehmen mit einem Umsatz von 19 Mil­li­ar­­den Euro – schwerpunktmäßig im Rhein-­­Main-Gebiet – zeigen den hohen Anteil der Kulturwirtschaft an der gesamten Wirtschaft Hessens. Nach den Um­­satz­anteilen sind Literatur-, Buch- und Pressemarkt, die bildende Kunst sowie die Film-, TV- und Video­wirt­schaft die wichtigsten Teilmärkte der Kultur­wirt­schaft in Hessen. Einen besonders hohen Rang zeigt der Bereich „kulturelles Erbe“ mit 21.000 Beschäftigten, auch wenn die Umsätze in diesem Teil­markt geringer ausfallen. Die wirtschaftlichen Wirk­ungen dieses Wirtschafts­­bereiches und die öffentliche Förderung, gerade im Bereich der Denkmalpflege und der historischen Bauunterhaltung, sind beachtlich. Bei denkmalpflegerischen Maßnahmen er­zeugt ein Euro öffentlicher Förderung etwa vier bis fünf Euro Wirtschaftskraft mit einer unmittelbaren Wirkung auf die Beschäftigung beim Handwerk, Bau­ge­werbe und Bau­neben­­gewerbe. Er­­he­bu­n­g­e­n des Ifo-Instituts für Wirtschafts­for­schung unter­­streichen die Bedeutung der Kultur als harter Stand­­ortfaktor. In be­sonderem Maße gilt dies für das Rhein-Main-Gebiet und die Stadt Frankfurt.

Öffentliche Kulturförderung. Kultur­politik ist das Ergebnis unserer föderalen Geschichte, in der vor allem die Länder und die Städte Kunst- und Kulturförderer waren und als solche in Deutschland diese Aufgabe übernehmen.
Die öffentlichen Finanzierungs­ver­hält­nisse der Kultur zu den Gesamt­haus­halten zeigen, dass die Bundes­rep­u­­blik Deutschland etwa 12 Prozent leistet, die Länder 43 Prozent und die Gemein­­den 45 Prozent. Insgesamt leistet der Staat in Deutschland jährlich rund acht Mil­liarden Euro zur Förderung von Kunst und Kultur.

Die öffentliche Kulturförderung des Landes Hessen, der Kommunen, der großen Städte und Landkreise ist außerordentlich unterschiedlich.

100706-15

Gemessen am Gesamthaushalt liegt das Land mit seinen Kulturausgaben unter zwei Prozent, die Stadt Frankfurt finanziert mit nach wie vor zehn Prozent ihres Haus­­haltes kulturelle Institutionen und Projekte. Die Stadt Darmstadt hat immer noch einen Anteil von etwa sieben Prozent kultureller Förderung am Gesamt­haus­halt, während Kassel und Wiesbaden nur um 3,5 Prozent ihres Haus­­­haltes für Kultur­f­­örderung aufbringen.

Eine bedeutende, möglicherweise auch für den Kulturbereich insgesamt bedenkliche Entwicklung ist, dass die Zahl der Freiberufler sowie der Einzelunter­neh­men in allen Bereichen der Kultur­wirt­schaft wächst, während die Anzahl der sozialversicherungspflichtig Beschäftigten stetig abnimmt. Dies gilt vor allen Dingen für die soziokulturellen Zentren, die in bewusster Abkehr von traditionellen Kultur­­­­­­­ein­rich­tungen Begegnungs­mög­lich­keiten in genera­tion­en­­­über­schrei­t­en­den, interkulturellen und sozialen Pro­jekten bieten. So sagt der neue Bericht der Hessen Agentur von 2010: „Nach wie vor gibt es kaum Voll­zeitstellen und die Ent­lohn­ung ist in der Regel der Arbeit nicht angemessen.“

Private Kulturförderung. Die Förderung der Kultur ist in Hessen wie in der gesam­­ten Bundesrepublik nicht nur eine öffent­­liche Aufgabe, sondern wird in der Tradi­­tion des Bürgertums in den Städten in Stiftungen, mäzenatischem Tun und Sponsoring gemeinsam mit Unterneh­men und öffentlicher Hand geleistet. Mäzenatentum und Spon­sor­ing unterscheiden sich durch die Gegen­­seitigkeit des Geschäfts. Während sich im Kultur­­sponsoring Unternehmen für kulturelle Aktivitäten einsetzen, um auf einen Image­­gewinn abzuzielen, unterstützen die Mäzene künstlerische, wissen­schaftliche und soziale Vorhaben, ohne eine direkte Gegenleistung zu verlangen. Unterneh­men oder Unternehmer­familien treten beispielsweise auch als Gründer von privaten und Unternehmens­stift­ungen auf. Bürger und Unternehmen engagie­ren sich ehrenamtlich in Bürger­stift­un­gen oder sind Mitglieder in Förder­ver­einen. Kreditinstitute unterhalten Stiftungen, betreiben Sponsoring oder geben Spen­den. In Deutschland gibt es 17.380 Stif­­tungen, die über ein Vermögen von rund 100 Milliarden Euro verfügen. In Hessen beschäftigen sich 1.600 Stif­tun­gen mit der Förderung von Kultur, Kunst, Wisse­nschaft, Sport, Sozialem und Umwelt.

Die ethische, politische und wirtschaftliche Verpflichtung zur Förderung der Kultur in Deutschland und in Hessen ist auf Dauer nur in Kooperation zwischen öffentlicher Förderung, der Kultur­wirt­schaft, der bürgerschaftlichen Förderung durch Stiftungen und Sponsoring zu gewährleisten. Denn Kultur ist erst in den letzten Jahren als Wirtschaftsfaktor definiert worden, ob als „harter“ oder „weicher“ Standortfaktor. Die Legiti­ma­tion öffentlicher Kulturförderung ist aber eine andere.

Die Kunst ist die Seele eines Landes und einer Stadt, die man sorgfältig pflegen muss und nicht vernachlässigen darf.

Bild-Wagner-lachsfarbenRuth Wagner wurde 1940 geboren und studierte Germanistik, Geschichte und Politik­wissenschaft. Sie ist Vorsitzende des Kulturausschusses der Stadt Darmstadt. Die Autorin war hessische Landtags­ab­ge­ordnete ab 1978. Sie war von 2003 bis 2008 als Vizepräsidentin des hessischen Landtages tätig. Von 1999 bis 2003 amtierte Ruth Wagner als hessische Mi­­ni­s­terin für Wissenschaft und Kunst sowie als stellvertretende Ministerpräsidentin.