Rüdiger König: Afghanistan – country of contrasts

Geographically, culturally and historically, Afghanistan is one of the most interesting countries in the world. Deserts in the south and southwest, the Hindu Kush in the north­­­­east and the fertile, predomi­nantly agricultural land to the southeast and north of the Hindu Kush dominate Afghanistan’s landscape. The 33 million inhabitants live in small, remote villages, but also in large cities such as Kabul, Dschalalabad or in the UNESCO World Heritage city of Herat.

Contrasts also characterise Afghanistan’s history. The location of the country on the Silk Road made the region one of the most important transit routes between Europe and Asia, along which magnificent cloths, exotic spices, fine glassware or high-quality furs were traded. Cultural elements, ideas, religions or new technical achievements were exchanged be­­­tween the nations located along the Silk Road. How is this rich history compatible with the war-torn and crisis-ridden nation, the images of which we see today in the news programmes broadcast in Germany?

Civil reconstruction: Investments in Afghan­­istan’s future. Despite a wealth of natural resources – along with iron, copper and gold, there is also tin, gemstone and chromium – Afghanistan is one of the poorest countries in the world. The unstable security situation in some parts of the country, a lack of infrastructure and a shortage of skilled workers have for a long time hampered the economic development and continue to do so in some areas.

Das Deutsche Polizeiprojektteam (GPPT) unterstützt die Aus- und Weiterbildung afghanischer Polizisten.

Das Deutsche Polizeiprojektteam (GPPT) unterstützt die Aus- und Weiterbildung afghanischer Polizisten.

The German assistance in reconstruction efforts has in the past years created the opportunities for an economic pro­­gress in Afghanistan. Investments in the amount of 430 million euros in 2011 for infrastructure, education or healthcare have significantly improved the situation for the people of Afghanistan. In the German area of responsibility alone, more than 30,000 persons in various commercial professions have re­ceived continuing education since 2009 in order to create im­­proved income opportunities. Since 2002, a road system of more than 600 kilometres has been constructed in northern Afghanistan. Germany has contri­­buted to the construction of nearly 2,000 schools through the national edu­­cation programme EQUIP. Nearly eight million children across the country now attend school, five times as many as did during the Taliban era. In Afghanistan there is today a trained police force totalling 143,000. The pro­­gress in Afghanistan is thus measurable and is leading the country to a modern and secure future one step at a time.

A variety of eco­­nomic oppor­­tunities along the new Silk Road. It is absolutely vital for the con­­tinuing development of Afghanistan with regard to a “responsible handover” that the Afghan economy be provided with a sustainable develop­­ment. This means that investments by the German, European and international corporate community are necessary to create structures, jobs and thus opportunities to earn an income. Only the exploi­­­tation of economic opport­­­­unities in harmony with administrative, legal and security struc­­­tures, can provide Afghan­istan with the possibility of achieving greater prosperity and thus greater inde­­pendence.

Ein Händler in seinem Schreibwarenladen.

Ein Händler in seinem Schreibwarenladen.

As rich in contrasts as the country itself are the economic opportunities in Afghan­­­istan. Agriculture, mining, construction sector or information and communications technology are just a few of the business sectors offering excellent oppor­­tunities. The “New Silk Road” has become the catch phrase for the economic potential over the past few months. The Afghan economy will, as part of this strategy, become closely linked to the other coun­­tries in the region through investments, more intense trading, transport and energy supply. All this is designed to again make the country a junction between Central and Southern Asia as well as the Middle East. Regional and bilateral trade agreements, ease of travel and a simpler availability of loans are just a few of the options avail­­able. There are also many opportunities that have not yet been exploited regarding easing trade be­­­tween Afghanistan and the European Union. These are currently being discussed and could in future ensure market access for goods from Afghanistan to Europe. The regional con­­ference in Istan­bul in Novem­­­­ber, and the International Afghanistan Con­fer­ence in Bonn on 5 December 2011, will provide sustained impetus to this process.

Afghanistan – a changing country. Afghan­­istan is a changing country. While the share of agriculture in the gross domestic product is declining, in particular the added value of the industrial sector is increasing. Construction and communications are two areas which have recorded a consider­­able dynamic development during the past years. Nearly all of Afghanistan is connected by the so-called Ring Road, a railway line is to begin operation shortly, and leading to Hairatan and from there on to Uzbekistan. There are many opportunities particularly for German companies in trading with agricultural goods, but also for the renewal of technical processes. All those who invest in modern processing techno­logies or the packaging industry will have a tremendous advantage in the market. There is considerable need for refrigerated trans­­port or storage facilities. 

The energy sector also offers opportunities, particularly with respect to hydropower and solar energy. Mining could potentially develop into a significant economic sector. Here, a large number of individual invitations to tender are expected in the coming years. There is already considerable interest shown by Asian countries, particularly in the People’s Republic of China.

German government and business: togeth­­er for a modern Afghanistan. Of course, it also takes courage when it comes to investing in Afghanistan. Cultural differ­ences, administrative challenges as well as the unstable security situation in some regions of the country may very well cause some entrepreneurs to think twice about investing in Afghanistan. However, I find the economic opportunities available in Afghanistan to be very convincing. The German government and the German busi­­ness community together have the opportunity of contributing to a sustainable de­­velop­­ment of Afghanistan. Just as the government has dedicated itself for many years and decades to the development of Afghanistan, so will the German busi­­ness community continue to be a reliable partner. It will help to open doors, exploit potentials and will always stand by the parties involved.

Afghanistan took another important step towards independence at the conference in Bonn, which was held on December 5, 2011. Many such steps will follow in the coming years. The establishment of economic structures is a vital element in these steps and one that we can only master together.

AFG_2010_12-4825-Kopie

After studying political science, constitutional and international law as well as sociology, the author joined the Federal Foreign Office in 1986 and began his attaché training. From 2008 to 2010, he headed the Afghanistan-Pakistan task force in the Federal Foreign Office in Berlin. Rüdiger König has been ambassador to Afghanistan since August 2010.

Rüdiger König: Afghanistan – Land der Kontraste

Geografisch, kulturell und historisch ist Afghanistan eines der interessantesten Länder der Welt. Wüste im Süden und Südwesten, der Hindukusch im Nordosten und das fruchtbare, landwirtschaftlich stark genutzte Land südöstlich und nördlich des Hindukusch dominieren die Land­­schaft Afghanistans. Die 33 Millionen Einwohner leben in kleinen, abgelegenen Dörfern, aber auch in großen Städten wie Kabul, Dschalalabad oder der UNESCO-Welt­­kulturerbe-Stadt Herat.

Kontraste prägen auch die Geschichte Afghanistans. Die Lage des Landes an der Seidenstraße machte das Gebiet zu einer wichtigen Transitstrecke zwischen Europa und Asien, an der prachtvolle Stoffe, exotische Gewürze, feines Glas oder hochwertige Pelze gehandelt wurden. Kulturelle Elemente, Ideen, Religionen oder neue technische Errungenschaften wurden zwischen den an der Seidenstraße gelegenen Nationen ausgetauscht. Wie ist diese reiche Historie mit dem kriegs- und krisengeschüttelten Staat vereinbar, dessen Bilder wir heute in Deutschland in den Nachrichten sehen?

Ziviler Wiederaufbau: Investitionen in die Zukunft Afghanistans. Trotz vorhandener Bodenschätze – neben Eisen, Kupfer und Gold finden sich auch Zinn, Edelsteine und Chrom – gehört Afghanistan zu den ärmsten Ländern der Welt. Die instabile Sicherheitslage in einigen Teilen des Landes, fehlende Infrastruktur und der Mangel an Fachkräften haben lange Zeit eine wirtschaftliche Entwicklung verhindert und tun es in Teilen immer noch.

Das Deutsche Polizeiprojektteam (GPPT) unterstützt die Aus- und Weiterbildung afghanischer Polizisten.

Das Deutsche Polizeiprojektteam (GPPT) unterstützt die Aus- und Weiterbildung afghanischer Polizisten.

Die deutsche Hilfe zum Wiederaufbau hat jedoch in den vergangenen Jahren Mög­­­lichkeiten für das wirtschaftliche Voran­­kommen Afghanistans geschaffen. Investi­­tionen in Höhe von 430 Millionen Euro im Jahre 2011 in Infrastruktur, Bildung oder Gesundheitswesen haben die Situ­­a­­tion der Menschen stark verbessert. Allein im deutschen Verantwortungsbereich wurden seit 2009 mehr als 30.000 Per­­sonen in verschiedenen wirtschaftlichen Berufen fortgebildet, um bessere Ein­kom­­mensmöglichkeiten zu schaffen. Seit 2002 wurden in Nordafghanistan über 600 Kilometer Straßennetz errichtet. Über das nationale Bildungsprogramm EQUIP hat Deutschland zum Bau von rund 2.000 Schulen beigetragen. Fast acht Millionen Kinder besuchen landesweit nun die Schule, fünfmal so viele wie zu Zeiten der Taliban. In Afghanistan gibt es mittlerweile rund 143.000 ausgebildete Polizisten. Die Fort­­schritte in Afghanistan sind also messbar und führen das Land nach und nach in eine modernere und sichere Zukunft.

Vielfältige Wirtschaftsmöglichkeiten an der neuen Seidenstraße. Es ist für die Weiterentwicklung Afghanistans im Sinne der „Übergabe in Verantwortung“ unab­­dingbar, die afghanische Wirtschaft nach­­haltig zu entwickeln. Dies bedeutet, dass Investitionen der deutschen, europäischen und internationalen Unternehmens­land­schaft notwendig sind, um Strukturen, Arbeitsplätze und somit Verdienst­möglich­keiten zu schaffen. Nur die Erschließung wirtschaftlicher Möglichkeiten im Gleich­­klang mit administrativen, rechtlichen und Sicherheitsstrukturen kann Afgha­nistan die Chance bieten, aus sich selbst heraus zu mehr Wohlstand und somit Eigenständigkeit zu gelangen.

Ein Händler in seinem Schreibwarenladen.

Ein Händler in seinem Schreibwarenladen.

So kontrastreich wie das Land, so vielfältig stellen sich auch die Wirtschafts­möglichkeiten in Afghanistan dar. Land­­wirtschaft, Bergbau, Bauwirtschaft oder Informations- und Kommunikations­techno­­logie sind nur einige der Betätigungs­felder, die sich bieten. Schlüsselbegriff für die wirtschaftlichen Potenziale ist in den vergangenen Monaten die „New Silk Road“ geworden. Die afghanische Wirtschaft wird sich im Rahmen dieser Strategie durch Investitionen, intensiveren Handel, Transport und energetische Versorgung mit den Ländern der Region noch enger vernetzen. Somit soll das Land wieder zum Knotenpunkt zwischen Zentral- und Südasien sowie dem Mittleren Osten werden. Regionale und bilaterale Handels­­abkommen, Reiseerleichterungen und eine einfachere Versorgung mit Krediten sind dabei nur einige der Handlungs­­optionen, die die Politik unterstützen kann. Auch bestehen noch längst nicht ausge­­schöpfte Chancen, den Handel zwischen Afghanistan und der Europäischen Union zu erleichtern. Diese werden bereits disku­­tiert und könnten zukünftig den Marktzu­gang für Güter aus Afghanistan nach Europa sicherstellen. Die regionale Kon­­ferenz in Istanbul im November 2011 und die internationale Afghanistan­kon­fer­­­enz in Bonn am 5. Dezember 2011 haben diesem Prozess nachhaltige Impulse gegeben.

Afghanistan – Land im Wandel. Afgha­­­nistan ist ein Land im Wandel. Während der Anteil der Landwirtschaft am Brutto­­­inlandsprodukt sinkt, steigt insbesondere die Wertschöpfung durch den industriellen Sektor. Bauwesen und Kommunikation sind dabei zwei Bereiche, die sich in den vergangenen Jahren besonders dynamisch entwickelt haben. Nahezu ganz Afgha­nistan ist durch die sogenannte Ringstraße verbunden; eine bald in Betrieb zu nehmende Eisenbahnlinie führt nach Hairatan und von dort weiter nach Usbekistan. Gerade für deutsche Unternehmen bieten sich daher Chancen für den Handel mit landwirtschaftlichen Gütern, aber auch für die Erneuerung technischer Prozesse. Wer in moderne Weiterver­arbeitungs­tech­nologien oder die Verpackungsindustrie investiert, wird einen großen Marktvorteil haben. Für Kühltransporte oder Aufbe­wahr­­ungsanlagen besteht hoher Bedarf.

Auch im Energiesektor ergeben sich Chancen, insbesondere was Wasser- und Solarenergie anbelangt. Wesentliches Wirt­­­­­schaftssegment kann schließlich der Berg­­bau werden. Hier werden in den kommenden Jahren zahlreiche Einzel­aus­­schrei­bungen erwartet. Es besteht bereits großes Interesse von asiatischen Staaten, insbe­sondere der Volksrepublik China.

Bundesregierung und Wirtschaft: ge­­­mein­­sam für ein modernes Afghanistan. Es erfordert selbstverständlich auch Mut, in Afghanistan zu investieren. Kulturelle Unterschiede, administrative Heraus­for­­­­der­­ungen sowie die instabile Sicher­heits­lage in einigen Regionen des Landes mögen manchen Unternehmer auf den ersten Blick nachdenklich stimmen. Ich bin jedoch überzeugt von den wirt­schaft­­lichen Chancen, die Afghanistan zu bieten hat. Die Bundesregierung und die deutsche Wirtschaft haben gemeinsam die Möglichkeit, zu einer nachhaltigen Weiter­­­­entwicklung Afghanistans beizutragen. Wie die Bundesregierung sich seit vielen Jahren und Jahrzehnten bereits für den Aufbau Afghanistans einsetzt, so wird sie auch für die deutsche Wirtschaft weiterhin ein verlässlicher Partner sein. Sie wird helfen, Türen zu öffnen, Potenziale zu er­­­schließen und stets unterstützend zur Seite stehen.

Mit der Bonn-Konferenz am 5. Dezember 2011 ist Afghanistan einen weiteren, wesent­­lichen Schritt gegangen, um Selbst­­­­ständigkeit zu erreichen. In den kommenden Jahren werden viele weitere Schritte folgen. Der Aufbau wirtschaftlicher Struk­­­­turen ist dabei ein wesentliches Ele­­ment, das wir nur gemeinsam angehen können.

AFG_2010_12-4825-Kopie

Der Autor hat Politikwissenschaften, Staats- und Völkerrecht sowie Soziologie studiert. 1986 trat er in das Auswärtige Amt ein. Nachdem er von 2008 bis 2010 den Sonder­­stab Afghanistan-Pakistan leitete, ist er seit August 2010 Botschafter der Bundes­­republik Deutschland in Afghanistan.