Ridha Saidi: Tunisia – An emerging industrial nation with international relations

Tunisia entered a crucial phase of its contemporary history with the Jasmine Revolution of 2010/2011, which amazed the world with its calm and peacefulness.

The country is now living in the rhythm of a real transition to democracy. The key foundations of this are the principles of the rule of law, respect for public and individual freedoms and the protection of universal values such as human rights. Tunisia is making great strides in this direction. This can be seen most no­­­tice­­ably in the organisation of elections to the national assembly to draw up the new constitution. These were held under trans­­­parent and democratic conditions and pursued the goal of writing a new constitution to protect the rights and freedoms of all Tunisian men and women. At the same time, Tunisia is making ef­­­forts to reach a consensus, so that a clear road map for the forthcoming large political events – most notably the next presidential and parliamentary elections – can be drawn up.

Although the democratic transition is moving forward smoothly, complete suc­­cess is only possible if efforts are also made at sustainable economic develop­­ment which can meet the expectations of young Tunisian men and women: rising income, job creation and improved living conditions for all social groups. One im­­­portant issue for Tunisians is a focus on the development of the country’s interior, which suffered from marginalisation for many years, even though it offers both workers and natural resources.

KfW_5429-Kopie

On this basis, the government is paying a great deal of attention to reforming the national economy and organising it in a more efficient and diverse way, so that it can become more competitive. Alongside measures taken by the state itself, investment from home and abroad also plays a vital role in the country’s development.

In cooperation and consultation with all the parties involved, the government has therefore begun to prepare the outline of a comprehensive programme of reform. This is intended to create the foundation for investment, stable governance and the transparency of the measures, while the institutional system will be modernised in line with internationally proven methods. These measures will improve the perform­­­­ance of public administration and the quality of the services they provide.

The reform of the legal system which has been initiated is part of a strategic vision which incorporates the interests and ex­­pectations of all the parties involved and takes into consideration dialogue with all parties, institutions, businesspeople, national organisations, charities and funding sources, civil societies and other inter­­ested parties.

Alongside these initiatives, fast progress is being made towards reforming the banking sector, which will help both to strengthen its capacity and to develop and change the financial system for invest­­ments and initiatives. The strategy defined for the sector is in keeping with the require­­ments and emphasises the necessity of involving the areas in the country’s interior and the potential and quality of life there.

National consensus and dialogue between all political, economic and social powers in the most important issues is our top priority. This is the only way to guarantee constructive rapprochement while taking into account the priorities for Tunisia and its citizens.

The sustained positive trend is characteristic of our country. The production cycle in the various fields of the economy will therefore return to its normal speed in next to no time. But the Tunisian eco­­nomy is set to become even more dynamic, open, competitive and investment-friendly. The in­­crea­­se in foreign investment in Tunisia in 2012 was a direct result of these circumstances.

KfW_5436-Kopie

The country was ranked top among African countries in the league table for fair competition in the annual classification made at the World Economic Forum in Davos. This assessment was also recently corroborated by the Doing Business Report 2013, in which Tunisia came 50th among 185 locations, ahead of all other North African countries. The increase in the number of companies being founded by foreign investors is further proof of the faith being put in the country. The number of visits to Tunisia by foreign business delegations has reached a record high – further proof that the country is an outstanding location for businesspeople and investors.

Even in the early 1970s, thousands of international companies were flooding into Tunisia to improve their competitive­­ness. Thanks to its advantageous infrastructural substance, Tunisia follows world­­wide industrial development in real time. Today, the textile industry and mechanical engineering, energy, automotive and aircraft construction sectors have made the country the most important exporter to
the EU south of the Mediterranean. Re­­­gardless of whether they are making pre­­­mium-quality clothing or extremely com­­plex high-tech products, Tunisian workers react to orders quickly and appropriately for the requirements.

With their outstanding talents and their passion for technological innovations, Tu­­nisia’s people have always been the country’s greatest asset, shaping a business culture over generations which has been famous for over 3000 years.

Tunisia is therefore investing in education, schooling and further training in order to provide the labour market with the skills it needs and strengthen the spirit of initiative, creativity and innovation. At the same time, research institutions and technology centres such as the eminent Tunis Telecommunications Techno­­­logy Park are being promoted and orga­­nised in a more varied way, in order to allow them to develop new potential for business and creativity.

However, access to new markets is also key for competitiveness. Tunisia has made an important step forward in the integration process, especially within the PAN-EURO-­MED zone, as a first step towards the glo­­bal markets. The country is a member of the WTO and FTA agreements and is in ongoing negotiations with the EU, Turkey, Morocco and Jordan. An FTA with the USA is also under discussion.

KfW_5435-Kopie

KfW_5431-Kopie

Tunisia stands out thanks to relatively low production costs: well-trained specialist staff at competitive labour costs, fully-equip­­ped property, reasonable rents, low ener­­­gy prices for industry, com­­mercial zones with easy access to export markets. Attrac­­tive regulatory systems further consolidate Tunisia’s strengths.

Furthermore, Tunisia is currently completing the foundation of a national investment agency whose main remit will be to coor­­dinate the activities of the various econo­­mic stakeholders and to develop a clear investment strategy which takes the re­­gional investment benefits into account.

One key item of progress is the legal framework for the various options for cooperation between the public and private sectors, which gives investors a clear overview of diversified investment options and partnerships.

The Tunisians see the development of the regions in the country’s interior, which have suffered from marginalisation and youth unemployment for many years, as their greatest challenge. The government has made reform and revision of investment incentives a top priority, in order to structure these in a more efficient and diversified way and thus to become more competitive. The new investment code will also contain additional activities which have not been taken into account before.

Tunisia’s recent acceptance into the OECD and the treaties signed on good governance and the prevention of corruption and bribery are far-reaching signals and send an especially positive message about the trustworthiness of Tunisia as a location.

We are confident that the principles of good governance and transparency, taking the infrastructure particularly into account, will strengthen Tunisia’s ability to generate new investment, especially in the country’s interior and in the technology sector.

Tunisia is open for visitors and investments. It is looking to the future full of hope and inviting you to join it!

 

Saidi-KopieRidha Saidi was born in 1962 in Menzel Bourguiba, Tunisia. The former Minister delegated to the Prime Minister in charge of economic and social affairs holds an engineering degree from the École nationale d’ingénieurs de Tunis (ENIT) and a Master degree in Quality Manage­­ment and Productivity. He served as chair­­man of the northwest district of the Tunisian Electricity and Gas Com­­pany (STEG).

Ridha Saidi: Tunesien – Aufstrebende Industrienation mit internationalen Beziehungen

Tunesien trat mit der Jasmin-Revo­­lu­­tion 2010/2011, deren Friedlichkeit und Ruhe die Welt verblüffte, in eine ent­­­scheidende Phase seiner Gegenwarts­ge­­­schichte.

Tunesien lebt jetzt im Rhythmus eines echten Übergangs zur Demokratie. Die wichtigsten Grundlagen bilden die Prin­­zipien der Rechtsstaatlichkeit, Achtung öffentlicher und individueller Freiheiten und der Schutz universeller Werte wie der Menschenrechte. Tunesien machte große Schritte in diese Richtung. Das auffälligste Merkmal lässt sich in der Organisation von Wahlen zur nationalen verfassungsgebenden Versammlung er­­­ken­­nen. Diese fanden unter transparen­­ten und demokratischen Bedingungen statt und verfolgten das Ziel, eine neue Verfassung zum Schutz der Freiheiten und Rechte aller tunesischen Männer und Frauen zu schreiben. Gleichzeitig strebt Tunesien einen Konsens an, mit dem ein klarer Fahrplan für die großen kommen­­den politischen Ereignisse festlegt werden kann, vor allem für die nächsten Präsi­dent­­schafts- und Parlamentswahlen.

Während der demokratische Übergang reibungslos voranschreitet, kann ein voller Erfolgnur dann erreicht werden, wenn auch eine nachhaltige wirtschaftliche Entwicklung angestrebt wird, mit der die Erwartungen der jungen tunesischen Männer und Frauen angesprochen werden kann: steigendes Einkommen, Schaffung von Arbeitsplätzen und bessere Lebensbedingungen aller sozialer Gruppen. Ein wichtiges Anliegen der Tunesier ist die Beschäftigung mit der Entwicklung des Landesinneren, das unter einer jahrzehntelangen Marginalisierung gelitten hat, obwohl Arbeitskräfte und natürliche Ressourcen zur Verfügung stehen.

KfW_5429-Kopie

Auf dieser Grundlage richtet die Regierung ihre größte Aufmerksamkeit darauf, die nationale Wirtschaft zu reformieren sowie effizienter und diversifizierter zu gestalten, damit sie wettbewerbsfähiger werden kann. Investitionen aus dem In- und Aus­­land haben neben den staatlichen Maß­­nahmen eine zentrale Rolle für die Ent­­­wicklung des Landes.

In diesem Sinne hat die Regierung in Zusammenarbeit und Abstimmung mit allen beteiligten Parteien begonnen, die Grundzüge eines umfassenden Reform-Programms vorzubereiten. Damit sollen die Grundlagen für Investitionen, eine solide Regierungsführung und Trans­pa­renz der Maßnahmen geschaffen werden, während das institutionelle System in Übereinstimmung mit international be­­­währten Methoden modernisiert wird. Die Maßnahmen werden die Leistungs­­fähigkeit der öffentlichen Verwaltung vor­­­antreiben und die Dienstleistungsqualität verbessern.

Die eingeleitete Reform des Rechts­sys­tems ist Teil einer strategischen Vision, die die Interessen und Erwartungen aller beteiligten Parteien einbezieht und den Dialog mit allen Parteien, Institutionen, Geschäftsleuten, nationalen Organisa­tio­­­nen, Hilfs- und Förderstellen, Zivil­­ge­sell­schaften und anderen berücksichtigt.Neben diesen Initiativen werden schnelle Schritte zur Reform des Bankensektors vorgenommen, mit deren Hilfe einerseits dessen Kapazität gestärkt und anderer­­seits das Finanzsystem für Investitionen und Initiativen weiterentwickelt und ver­­ändert werden. Die definierte sektorale Strategie steht im Einklang mit den An­­forderungen und betont die notwendige Einbeziehung der Gebiete im Landes­­in­­nern, der dortigen Lebensqualität und Potenziale.

Der nationale Konsens und Dialog zwischen allen politischen, sozialen und wirt­­schaftlichen Kräften in den wichtigsten Belangen ist unser zentrales Anliegen. Dies ist der einzige Garant für eine kon­­­struktive Annäherung unter Berücksich­tigung der Prioritäten Tunesiens und seiner Bürger.

Der anhaltend positive Trend ist charak­­teristisch für unser Land. Deshalb wird der Produktionszyklus in den verschiedenen Wirtschaftsbereichen sein normales Tempo schon in kurzer Zeit wieder er­­­reicht haben. Die tunesische Wirt­schaft wird aber noch dynamischer, noch offener, wettbewerbsfähiger und investitionsfreund­­licher. Die Steigerung ausländischer In­­­vest­­ments in Tunesien im Jahr 2012 war ein direktes Resultat dieses Umstands.

KfW_5436-Kopie

In der jährlichen Klassifizierung des World Economic Forums in Davos behielt Tune­sien im afrikanischen Vergleich den ersten Rang in der Bewertung des fairen Wett­­bewerbs. Eine Bewertung, die jüngst durch den Doing Business-Report 2013 bestätigt worden ist. Auch hier führte Tunesien mit Rang 50 von 185 Stand­or­­ten vor allen nordafrikanischen Ländern. Auch die Zunahme von Geschäfts­grün­dun­gen ausländischer Investoren bestätigt das Vertrauen. Die Zahl ausländischer Wirt­­schaftsdelegationsreisen nach Tunesien hat eine Rekordhöhe erreicht – ein weiterer Beleg für den ausgezeichneten Stan­­d­­ort für Geschäftsleute und Investoren.

Schon Anfang der 70er Jahre strömten tausende internationale Firmen nach Tu­­ne­­­sien, um ihre Wettbewerbsfähigkeit zu verbessern. Dank seiner vorteilhaften in­­­frastrukturellen Substanz folgt Tu­­­ne­­sien der weltweiten industriellen Entwick­­lung in Echtzeit. Heute machen die Bran­­chen Textilindustrie, Maschinenbau, Ener­­gie sowie Automotive und Flugzeugbau das Land zum bedeutendsten Exporteur südlich des Mittelmeers in die EU. Und ganz gleich, ob hochwertige Kleidungs­­stücke oder extrem anspruchsvolles High­­tech, tunesische Anbieter reagieren zeit­­­schnell und anforderungsgerecht auf Be­­stellungen.

Die Menschen mit ihren herausragenden Talenten und ihrer Leidenschaft für technologische Innovationen waren und sind noch immer der große Reichtum Tunesiens, der über Generationen hinweg eine Geschäftskultur prägt, deren Erfolg seit mehr als 3000 Jahren be­­­kannt ist.

Deshalb investiert Tunesien in Erziehung, Aus- und Weiterbildung, um die auf dem Arbeitsmarkt geforderten Fähigkeiten be­­reitzustellen und den Geist von Initiative, Kreativität und Innovation zu stärken. Gleichzeitig werden Forschungs­einrich­tungen und Technologiezentren, wie etwa der bedeutende „Tunis Telecommunica­tions Technology Park“, gefördert und vielfältiger gestaltet, um neue Potenziale für Wirtschaft und Kreativität entwickeln zu können.

Für die Wettbewerbsfähigkeit ist aber auch der Zugang zu neuen Märkten von Bedeutung. Tunesien hat im Integrations­­­prozess einen wichtigen Schritt vollzogen, insbesondere innerhalb der PAN-EUR-MED-Zone, als einen ersten Schritt zu den globalen Märkten. Tunesien ist Mit­­­glied der WTO- sowie FTA-Überein­kom­­men und steht in weiteren Verhand­lun­gen mit der EU, der Türkei, Marokko und Jordanien. Zudem ist ein FTA-Über­­ein­­kommen mit den USA im Gespräch.

KfW_5435-Kopie

KfW_5431-Kopie

Tunesien zeichnet sich durch relativ nied­­-rige Produktionskosten aus: gut ausgebil­­dete Fachkräfte zu konkurrenzfähigen Arbeitskosten, voll ausgestattete Immo­­bilien, angemessene Mieten, niedrige Ener­­­­giepreise für die Industrie, Gewerbe­­ge­­biete mit einfachem Zugang zu Export­märkten. Tunesiens Stärken werden durch attraktive Regelsysteme zu­­­sätzlich ge­­stärkt.

Tunesien ist zudem gerade dabei, die Gründung einer nationalen Investment­­agentur abzuschließen, deren Hauptauf­­gabe es sein wird, die Aktivitäten der ver­­schiedenen Wirtschaftsakteure zu koor­­­­dinieren und eine klare Investitions­­­stra­tegie unter Berücksichtigung der regionalen Investitionsvorteile zu entwickeln.

Ein großer Fortschritt ist der rechtliche Rahmen für die verschiedenen Ko­­opera­­tions­­­­möglichkeiten zwischen dem öffent­­­lichen und privaten Sektor, der Inves­to­­ren einen klaren Blick auf diversifizierte Investitionsmöglichkeiten und Partner­schaften eröffnet.

Die größte Herausforderung sehen die Tunesier in der Entwicklung der Regionen im Landesinnern, die seit Jahrzehnten unter Marginalisierung und Jugendar­­beits­­losigkeit leiden. Die Regierung legt höchste Priorität auf die Reform und Revision der Investitionsanreize, um diese effizienter und diversifizierter zu gestalten und dadurch wettbewerbsfähiger zu werden. Der neue Investitionscode wird dabei auch zusätzliche Aktivitäten beinhalten, die bislang nicht berücksichtigt wurden. Die kürzlich erfolgte Aufnahme Tune­­siens in die Organisation für wirtschaftliche Zu­­­sammenarbeit und Entwicklung (OECD) und die unterzeichneten Abkommen über gute Regierungsführung und zur Präven­­­tion vor Korruption und Bestechlichkeit sind weitreichende Signale und senden eine besonders positive Botschaft über die Vertrauenswürdigkeit des Stand­ortes Tunesien.

Wir sind zuversichtlich, dass die Prin­­zipien guter Regierungsführung und Trans­­parenz mit besonderer Berücksichtigung der Infrastruktur die Fähigkeit Tunesiens bestärken wird, neue Investitionen insbe­­­sondere im Landesinnern und im Techno­­­logiebereich zu generieren.

Tunesien ist offen für Besuche und In­­­vestitionen. Es blickt voller Vertrauen in die Zukunft und lädt Sie ein!

 

Saidi-KopieRidha Saidi wurde 1962 in Menzel Bour­­­guiba, Tunesien geboren. Der Wirt­schafts­­­­­minister im Premier­minis­ter­amt hat einen Technik-Abschluss der École nationale d’ingénieurs de Tunis (ENIT) und absol­­­vier­te seinen Master im Qualitäts­ma­na­­­gement und produktion. Er war Vor­sit­­zen­der des Nordwestbezirks der „Tunisian Electricity and Gas Company“ (STEG).