Reinhard Meyer: Tourism in Germany – a success story

With a yearly turnover of approximately 233 billion euros, tourism in Germany is among the “engines” of the German economy. The money spent by day trippers and overnight visitors profits not only the providers of classic tourist services such as hotels and restaurants. The cross-sectoral area of tourism benefits many: the retail industry, in particular, but also regional transport providers, handi­­­­craft businesses, taxi operators and adver­­tising agencies – tourism “is almost every­­where”. It ensures 2.8 million non-exportable jobs at the location of Germany and, as a business characterised by small and medium-sized enter­­prises, even creates jobs in rural areas, away from the urban and industrial centres. However, the eco­­nomic and structural effect of the tourism service continues to be underestimated. Precisely as a business that is not dependent on exports, it represents a strong and significant vari­­­able for the German economy – more and more successfully so. In 2011, over 390 million stays were registered in German hotels, boarding houses and camping grounds. In the race for the title of “Euro­pean accommodation champion of 2011”, Germany is head to head against Spain.

Suite_2_

The destination Germany is becoming increasingly popular with both domestic and foreign visitors. Domestic tourism, though, remains Germany’s strong point. Germans prefer to travel at home. Approx­­i­­­mately 85 per cent of yearly accommo­­dations are attributed to nationals. This is the undeniably highest value in a Euro­­pean comparison and a clear advantage in economically challenging years. A strong domestic tourism has a stabilising effect and provides relative in­­­dependence from foreign source markets. However, the desti­­nation Germany is also increasingly popular with foreign visitors. Their proportion of overnight stays has risen over the past few years. With the football world champ­­­ionship in 2006, the German hosts have certainly raised their overseas popularity.

Moreover, Ger­many is in great de­­mand as a conference and event location and holds second place worldwide as an international meeting and conference location, immediately behind USA.

Cities profit the most from the strong business travel market. The trend to­­wards spontaneous short holidays or day trips also has a positive effect on urban destinations, which are within quick and easy reach by rail, car or plane for domestic and foreign visitors. Privately motivated trips to the city are booming; city breaks are the most common type of short trip.

RS4433_rpt-ichzeit_2010-047

Large cities with over 100,000 inhabitants, in particular, are experiencing a rise in overnight stays that far sur­­passes the national average. With approximately 22 million overnight stays, Berlin remains undisputedly at the top, followed by Munich and Hamburg with twelve and ten million respectively.

Today’s new holiday formula is: more often but shorter – for the number of second and third trips within a year is rising. That is advantageous to the destination Germany, considering 75 per cent of all short trips are domestic. The still under­­estimated mega­­-­­segment of day trips also plays into the hands of domestic tourism: the yearly turnover is nearly 94 billion euros.

1517

Germany’s success as a travel destination is based on an excellent infrastructure, a balanced price/performance ratio, and speci­­fically targeted offerings within every price range. However, competition is tough in the market for delivering on the promise of relaxation and an escape from everyday life, which continues to be the main travel motivation for Germans. Ger­­­many is well positioned in that field and, in order to make sure that it remains that way, the German Tourism Association (DTV) is com­­­mitted towards the quality label of holidays “Made in Germany” being dependable. The re­­quire­­­­­ments are numerous and related to “hard” factors such as the furnishings of holiday flats as well as “soft” factors such as service. In both areas, DTV is offer­­­­­­­­ing nationwide classification and certification systems. For nearly two decades, the association has been awarding DTV stars to holiday homes and flats. The distinctive symbol for inde­­­­pendent quality assurance now designates over 63,000 holiday accom­­­­­­­­mo­da­tions. More than 50 years ago, DTV esta­­­­blished the certification of tourist informa­­tion, which the introduction of the i-mark in 2006 transformed into a modern marking system. In 2011, the white “i” on a red back­­­­­­ground was conferred to a tourist infor­­­­­mation centre for the 500th time.

The tourism service sector is adapting to the needs of its customers. The goal is to satisfy a “multi-optional” holidaymaker, for whom destinations and types of holiday are becoming increasingly convertible. In that regard, excellent service be­comes a competitive advantage and decision-making criterion. The nationwide “Service Quality Germany” initiative has implemented a training and certification pro­­gramme that allows service providers to systematically close individual service gaps. DTV coordinates the quality initiative, which all 16 federal states are parti­­­­cipating in.

TAR-HAM-Handmotiv

More than ever before, today’s and tomor­­­row’s trends must be identified and adjust­­­ments made. The most urgent challenges are the demographic change, skilled-labour shortage and growing indi­­­vidualisation. Our society is growing older: as early as 2013, half of the German popu­­­lation will be 50 years or older and one in three people over 60. Today’s elderly have a high eco­­­nomic potential. They spend dispro­por­tionately high amounts of money on health and travel. Now is the time to set the course on and to prepare for the re­­­quire­­ments of elderly visitors, who demand high standards for products and services. This development represents a great op­­­por­­tunity for preven­­­­tive and well­­ness offers with a medical com­­­ponent. More and more people realise that they are responsible for their health. This is also true for younger generations. In terms of health resorts, we are experiencing a development from an offer-driven market to a demand-driven market of direct payers, who are willing to invest in their health out of pocket. The trend ranges from beauty to wellness to medically indicated, so-called medical wellness offers.

4474-Kopie

The demographic change alters not only the visitor structure but also the tourism labour market. In the future, the competition for vis­i­­­­­­tors will be primed by the com­­petition for trainees and staff. A skilled workforce re­­­pres­­­­ents a strong foundation for competitiveness.

Increasingly, today’s visitors are experienced travellers, who are well informed and have high expectations of comfort and quality. The holidaymakers of the future are indi­­­vi­dualist to the core. They expect custom-made offers and, above all, flexible service. The increasing trend towards lifestyle groups and “hybrid” clients with indi­­­­vidual and shifting de­­mands require foresight, innovation, and trained personnel.

In order to make sure, in the long term, that Germany remains the holiday destination with the best price/performance ratio in Europe, DTV is focusing on the two central pillars of innovation and quality. For, that is the only way in which the destination Ger­­many will be able to stand its ground in the international com­­­­­petition.

Reinhard-Meyer_DTV-Praesident-KopieThe author is president of the Ger­­man Tourism Association. In 2006, he was head of the State Chancellery of Mecklenburg-Western Pomerania; from 2001 to 2005, he was permanent secretary in the Minis­try of Economics of Mecklenburg-Western Pomerania, subsequent to being department head in the Senate Chancellery of Hamburg, and the representation of Meck­lenburg-Western Pomer­ania to the federal government.

Reinhard Meyer: Tourismus in Deutschland – eine Erfolgsgeschichte

Mit einem jährlichen Umsatz von rund 233 Milliarden Euro gehört der Deutsch­­­­­land­tourismus zu den „Lokomotiven“ der deut­­schen Wirtschaft. An den Ausgaben der Tages- und Übernachtungsgäste ver­­­dienen nicht nur die Anbieter klassischer touristischer Leistungen wie Hotels und Gastronomie. Von der Querschnitts­bran­­che Tourismus profitieren viele. Insbe­son­­dere der Einzelhandel, aber auch regionale Verkehrsträger, Handwerks­­be­­triebe, Taxi­­unternehmen oder Werbeagen­­­­­turen: Tou­­rismus „steckt fast überall drin“. Er sichert 2,8 Millionen nicht exportierbare Arbeits­­plätze am Standort Deutsch­­land und sorgt als klein- und mittelständisch geprägte Branche für Beschäftigung, auch abseits der urbanen und industriellen Zentren, im ländlichen Raum. Doch die Dienst­leis­­tung Tourismus wird in ihrer wirtschaft­lichen und struktur­­politischen Wirkung nach wie vor unterschätzt. Gerade als nicht-exportabhängige Branche stellt sie für die deutsche Wirt­­­schaft eine robuste und enorm wichtige Größe dar – mit wachsendem Erfolg. Über 390 Millionen Mal wurde 2011 in deutschen Hotelbetten, in Pensionen und auf Campingplätzen genächtigt. Im Kampf um den Titel „Über­­nachtungs-Europa­­meister 2011“ liefert sich Deutschland ein Kopf-an-Kopf-Rennen mit Spanien.

Suite_2_

Sowohl bei in- als auch bei ausländischen Gästen erfreut sich das Reiseland Deutsch­­­­­land zunehmender Beliebtheit. Deutsch­­lands Stärke liegt jedoch nach wie vor im Binnentourismus. Die Deut­schen ver­­reisen am liebsten in der Heimat. Rund 85 Prozent der Übernachtungen gehen jährlich auf die eigene Bevöl­ke­rung zurück. Im europäischen Vergleich ist das ein ab­­soluter Spitzenwert und ins­­be­son­dere in wirtschaftlich schwieri­gen Jahren ein klarer Vorteil. Ein starker Binnen­­touris­­mus wirkt stabilisierend und macht ver­­­­­gleichsweise unabhängig von den aus­­ländischen Quellmärkten. Doch auch bei ausländischen Gästen steht die Desti­nation Deutschland immer höher im Kurs. Ihr Anteil bei den Übernachtungen ist in den letzten Jahren gestiegen. Mit der Fuß­­ball-Weltmeisterschaft im Jahr 2006 haben die Deutschen als Gast­geber sicher­­lich auch im Ausland verstärkt Sym­­pathie­­punkte gesammelt. Da­­rüber hinaus ist Deutschland als Tagungs- und Veran­­stal­­tungsort gefragt und liegt als internationaler Meeting- und Tagungs­standort weltweit auf Platz Zwei, gleich hinter den USA.

Vor allem Städte profitieren vom Ge­­­schäfts­reisemarkt. Auch der Trend zum spontanen Kurztrip oder Tages­aus­flug wirkt sich posi­tiv für die urbanen Des­ti­nationen aus, die mit Bahn, Auto oder Flugzeug problemlos für Gäste aus dem In- und Ausland erreichbar sind. Der privat motivierte Stadtbesuch boomt, die Städte­reise ist die häufigste Form der Kurzurlaubsreise.

RS4433_rpt-ichzeit_2010-047

Insbesondere Groß­­städte mit über 100.000 Einwohnern erreichen einen Übernach­­tungs­zu­wachs, der weit über dem Bun­­des­­durch­schnitt liegt.­ Mit rund 22 Milli­­o­­nen Über­­nach­tungen liegt Berlin an der Spitze, gefolgt von München und Hamburg mit rund zwölf beziehungs­weise zehn Milli­onen Übernachtungen. Die neue Ur­­laubs­­formel lautet heute: häu­­figer, aber kürzer, denn es finden immer mehr Zweit- und Drittreisen pro Jahr statt. Das ist von Vorteil für das Reise­land Deutsch­­land, denn drei Viertel aller Kurzreisen bleiben im Inland. Auch das nach wie vor unter­­­­schätzte Mega-Seg­ment der Tages­­­­aus­flüge und Tages­rei­sen spielt dem Binnen­­­­­­­t­­­ourismus in die Kar­­ten: Fast 94 Milli­arden Euro werden hier jähr­­lich umgesetzt.

1517

Deutschlands Erfolg als Reise­des­ti­na­tion basiert auf seiner hervorragenden Infra­­­­struktur, dem ausgewogenen Preis-Leis­­­­­tungs-Verhältnis und zielgruppenspezifischen Angeboten für jeden Geldbeutel. Doch das Versprechen auf Erholung und Abschalten vom Alltag, nach wie vor das Hauptreisemotiv der Deutschen, die Sehn­­­­sucht nach Natur oder das Bedürfnis, ein­­fach mal entspannt Zeit mit der Familie zu verbringen, wird von einem hart kon­­­­­kurrierenden Markt der Wettbewerber bedient. Deutschland steht gut da und damit das auch in Zukunft so bleibt, setzt sich der Deutsche Tourismus­verband e.V. (DTV) dafür ein, dass Urlaub „Made in Germany“ als verlässliches Qualitäts­merk­­­mal gilt. Die Anforderungen sind viel­­fäl­tig und betreffen „harte“ Faktoren wie beispielsweise die Ausstattung von Ferien­­wohnungen genauso wie „weiche“ Fak­to­ren im Service. Für beide Bereiche stellt der DTV bundesweit einheitliche Klassi­­­fizierungs- und Zertifizierungs­sys­­­­­teme zur Verfügung. Seit fast zwei Jahr­­­­­zehnten zeichnet der Verband Ferien­häuser und -wohnungen sowie Privat­zimmer mit den DTV-Sternen aus. Als markantes Symbol für unabhängig ge­­prüfte Quali­tät weisen sie dem Gast mit­­­tlerweile über 63.000 Urlaubs­domizile aus. Vor gut 50 Jahren rief der DTV die Zer­tifizierung von Touristinformationen ins Leben, die 2006 mit der Einführung der i-Marke in ein modernes Marken­sys­tem überführt wurde. Das weiße i auf rotem Grund wurde 2011 zum 500sten Male an eine Touris­tinformation verliehen.

Die Dienstleistungsbranche Tourismus orien­­­tiert sich an den Bedürfnissen ihrer Kunden. Es gilt einen zunehmend „multi­­­­­optionalen“ Urlauber, für den Desti­­na­tio­nen und Urlaubs­formen immer aus­tausch­barer werden, zu­­­frieden zu stellen. Exzellenter Service wird da zum Wett­bewerbsvorteil und Entschei­dungs­kri­ter­­ium. Mit der Initia­tive Service­Qua­lität Deutsch­land wurde ein Schu­lungs- und Zertifizierungs­­pro­gramm umge­­setzt, das es Dienst­leistungs­­betrieben ermöglicht, systematisch indi­vi­­duelle Service­­­­lücken zu schließen. Der DTV koordiniert diese Quali­täts­initiative, welcher sich mit­­­tlerweile alle 16 deutschen Bundes­länder ange­­­schlossen haben.

TAR-HAM-Handmotiv

Mehr denn je gilt, die Trends von heute und morgen zu identifizieren und sich auf Veränderungen einzustellen. Die drän­­­­gends­­ten Herausforderungen sind der Demo­graphische Wandel, der Fachkräfte­­­­­mangel und die zunehmende Indivi­dua­lisierung. Unsere Gesellschaft wird immer älter, schon im Jahr 2013 wird knapp die Hälfte der Menschen in Deutschland 50 Jahre und älter sein, jeder dritte Mensch älter als 60. Ältere Menschen verfügen heute über ein hohes wirtschaftliches Poten­zial. Sie geben überproportional viel Geld für Gesundheit und Reisen aus. Jetzt gilt es die Weichen zu stellen und sich auf die Bedürfnisse der älteren Gäste einzustellen, die hohe Ansprüche an das Produkt und den Service stellen. Die Ent­­­­wicklung bietet insbesondere eine große Chance für Präventiv- und Wellness-Ange­­­bote mit medizinischer Kompo­nente. Die Menschen erkennen vermehrt, dass sie selbst für ihre Gesundheit verantwort­lich sind. Das gilt auch für die jüngere Gen­­­er­­­­a­­­tion. Wir erleben eine Ent­wick­lung vom Kur geprägten Angebots- zum Nach­frage­­­­­markt der Selbstzahler, mit der Bereit­­schaft aus eigener Tasche in die Gesund­­­­­heit zu investieren. Der Trend reicht von Beauty über Wellness bis hin zu medizi­nisch indizierten, so genannten Medical­­Wellness-Angeboten.

4474-Kopie

Der demographische Wandel verändert nicht nur die Gästestruktur sondern auch den Arbeitsmarkt im Tourismus. Vor dem Wettbewerb um den Gast steht künftig der Wettbewerb um den Auszubildenden, um die Mitarbeiter. Hoch qualifizierte Fach­­kräfte bilden ein sicheres Funda­ment für die Wettbewerbsfähigkeit.

Gäste sind heute zunehmend reiseerfah­ren und gut informiert, mit hohen Erwar­­­­tungen an Komfort und Qualität. Der Urlauber der Zukunft ist durch und durch Individualist. Er will ein maßgeschneidertes Angebot und vor allem flexi­­blen Service. Die verstärkte Entwicklung hin zu Lebensstilgruppen und zum „hybri­­den“ Kunden, mit individuellen und wechseln­den Ansprüchen erfordert Weitblick, Inno­­­­vationskraft und geschultes Personal.

Damit Deutschland auf Dauer das Ur­­­laubs­­­­­ziel mit dem besten Preis-Leis­­tungs­verhältnis in Europa wird, setzt der Deutsche Tourismusverband e.V. auf die zwei zentralen Säulen Innovation und Qualität. Denn nur so kann sich das Reise­­land Deutschland im internationalen Wett­­bewerb behaupten.

 

Reinhard-Meyer_DTV-Praesident-KopieDer Autor ist seit 2007 Präsident des Deutschen Tourismusverbandes. 2006 war Reinhard Meyer Chef der Staats­kanzlei Mecklenburg-Vorpommern; von 2001 bis 2005 Staatssekretär im Wirt­schafts­minis­­terium Mecklenburg-Vorpommern und zu­­vor Abteilungsleiter in der Senats­kanz­lei Hamburg, der Staatskanzlei Mecklenburg-­Vorpommern und der Landesvertretung Mecklenburg-Vorpommern beim Bund.