Reimund Gotzel: The challenge of energy transition for the industrial location of Bavaria

Bayernwerk AG, headquartered in the Upper Palatinate region of Regensburg, plays a key role when it comes to energy transition in Bavaria. The company operates power supply systems at medium and low voltage levels across vast areas of Bavaria, particularly in rural regions. Bayern­­werk’s subsidiary, Bayernwerk Natur, has also been active in the field of decentralised, energy-­efficient and renewable energy for many years. The company is a successor to E.ON Bayern AG, and was established as Bayernwerk in July 2013.

Bayernwerk is the largest regional distribution grid oper­­ator in Bavaria. The grid area extends across Lower and Upper Franconia, Lower and Upper Bavaria as well as Upper Palatinate. The company’s medium and low voltage grid is 180,000 kilo­­metres long. The company, em­­ploying approximately 2,500 employ­ees, secures the energy sup­­ply for vast areas across Bavaria thanks to its grid infrastructure. The decentralised corporate structure comprising 19 grid centres in all regions of the grid re­­gion provides a key foundation when it comes to achiev­­ing a high-quality supply. It is a far more costly endeavour to supply a expansive mountain region than providing a secure supply to closely intertwined, urban networks. That is why a secure supply, like the one Bayernwerk is providing, is a key eco­­nomic and social factor particularly for rural regions.

In addition to providing a secure supply, Bayernwerk’s core areas of business also include the expansion and technological development of a grid infrastructure, de­­centralised production and provision of a diverse range of energy services.

Energy transition is a reality within Bayernwerk’s regional distribution grid. Already more than 50 per cent renewable energy is currently flowing through our grid. Today, the company operates more than 240,000 photovoltaic systems with an output of approximately 5,300 megawatts within the power supply grid. The total output of renewable energy which is fed into Bayernwerk’s grid amounts to almost 7,000 megawatts. As a result, the proportion of renewable energy within Bayernwerk’s grid is higher than that of conventionally generated power. We are proud to be able to maintain a secure supply at the highest level despite an increasingly challenging mains operation.

 

Erzeugung1

However, developing the energy of the future is more than just a technological project. Innovation and technol­ogy need to be accepted by society. Therefore, citizens who create new momentum for future energy in their own region are important forerunners of energy transition. That is why Bayernwerk is supporting these initiators of future energy with the “Bürgerenergiepreis” (citizen energy prize) as part of its social commitment activities, which include other cultural and educational projects.

The energy transition for the electricity grid involves a paradigm shift. In the past, the consumers used to consume electricity whenever they needed it. The producers had to adapt to this behaviour: conventional large power stations were controlled so that production and consumption were compatible with one another, and grids were designed to ensure their capacity met the levels of consumption. Fundamental changes are underway now: today, the high photovoltaic output with its strong feed-in fluctuations already dominates the operations of Bayernwerk‘s distribution grid. As power generation tends to exceed the local and regional demand in electricity generated during times of intense sunlight, the surplus of electricity of medium and low voltage must be transferred to the next highest grid level: high voltage. This process is carried out using so-called substations. The current substation structure is not designed to handle this. Since 2012, Bayernwerk has been working intensely on a completely new dimensioning of the substation capacities in its grid to avoid that the combination between low and medium voltage level on the one hand and high voltage level on the other hand result in a bottleneck, which could ultimately jeopardize the secure supply of energy.

The company spent approximately 365 million euros in 2013 so that it could establish a secure supply of energy and promote business development in line with the German Renewable Energy Act (EEG).

There is still a long way to go before the energy system of tomorrow is established. Intensive developments need to be made in storage technology and in innovative grid elements as well as the establishment of a comprehensive grid extension, before any changes can occur in the energy sector. While today we combat this excessive electricity feed-in by means of grid extension and regulatory mechanisms for feed-in systems, in the future, intelligent control systems (“smart grids”) will ensure that any surplus electricity is dissipated into storage devices, or alternatively, that consumption is shifted spe­­cifically to these times. This could be made possible by activating household appliances or the charging of an electric car by means of remote control.


IMG_1981

Bayernwerk has been carrying out research on grids of the future for several years together with universities and partners from business. As a result, innovative and variable local grid transformers contribute to keeping the grid stable, despite a fluctuating feed-in. In other projects, energy storage devices are put to the test, re­­search is conducted into charging technologies for electric vehicles or intelligent inverters are tested.

Thanks to these projects, the continuous grid extension and the constant maintenance and servicing of grids, Bayernwerk is making a significant contribution to se­­curing the future of energy – and retains a secure supply within the grid area at the highest level, despite an increasingly challenging mains operation.

Bayernwerk has been a partner of the Bavarian munici­palities for many years. The company offers expertise in the energy industry and provides advice on matters concerning energy transition in the region. The company also assists in devising energy utilisation plans, while its subsidiary Bayernwerk Natur deals with all issues concerning the construction and operation of the decen­­tralised generation systems and provides an energy consulting service for buildings. Public street lighting is also an important aspect of the partnership between Bayernwerk and the municipalities.

 

Reimund_Gotzel_hThe author, born in Lübeck in 1966, is a qualified bank clerk and studied business administration at the TU Berlin. Reimund Gotzel joined PreussenElektra in 1992 and held a diverse range of managerial positions within the E.ON Group. He has been the CEO of Bayernwerk AG since July 2013.

Reimund Gotzel: Herausforderung Energiewende am Industriestandort Bayern

Die Bayernwerk AG mit Sitz im oberpfälzischen Regensburg spielt bei der Energiewende in Bayern eine maßgebliche Rolle. Das Unternehmen betreibt in weiten Teilen Bayerns – insbesondere auch im ländlichen Raum – die Stromnetze auf der Mittel- und Nieder­­span­­nungs­­ebene. Zudem ist das Bayernwerk seit vielen Jahren mit dem Tochterunternehmen Bayernwerk Na­­tur im Bereich der dezentralen, energieeffizienten und rege­­nerativen Energien aktiv. Seit Juli 2013 trägt das Bayernwerk diesen Namen als Nachfolgeunternehmen der E.ON Bayern AG.

Das Bayernwerk ist der größte regionale Verteil­­netz­­betreiber in Bayern. Das Netzgebiet erstreckt sich über Unter- und Oberfranken, Nieder- und Oberbayern sowie die Oberpfalz. Das Mittel- und Niederspan­nungs­netz des Un­­­­ter­­­­­­nehmens hat eine Länge von 180.000 Kilometern. Mit rund 2.500 Mitarbeitern sichert das Unternehmen mit seiner Netz­­infra­­struktur die Energie­versor­gung in weiten Teilen des Frei­­staats. Die dezentrale Unternehmensstruktur mit 19 Netzcentern in allen Regionen des Netzgebiets stellt eine wichtige Basis für die hohe Qualität der Ver­sor­gung dar. Denn eine Flächenregion mit weitläu­­figen Berg­­gebieten zu versorgen ist ungleich aufwän­diger als Versorgungssicherheit in engmaschigen, städ­­tischen Netzen zu gewährleisten. Vor allem für die ländlichen Regionen ist eine derart hohe Versor­gungs­sicherheit, wie sie das Bayernwerk gewährleistet, ein wichtiger wirtschaftlicher und gesellschaftlicher Faktor.

Zu den Kernaufgaben des Bayernwerks zählen neben der sicheren Versorgung der Ausbau und die techno­logische Entwicklung der Netzinfrastruktur, die de­zen­trale Erzeugung und das Angebot unterschiedlicher Energiedienstleistungen.
Im regionalen Verteilnetz des Bayernwerks ist die Energiewende Realität. In unserem Netz fließt bereits jetzt über 50 Prozent regenerative Energie. Mittlerweile hat das Unternehmen über 240.000 Photo­­voltaik-Anlagen mit einer Leistung von rund 5.300 Mega­­watt im Strom­­versorgungsnetz. Die Gesamt­leis­tung der regenerativen Energien, die in das Netz des Bayern­­werks eingespeist werden, liegt bei rund 7.000 Megawatt. Der An­­teil der regenerativen Energien im Bayernwerk-Netz ist da­­mit höher als der Anteil des konventionell erzeugten Stroms. Wir sind stolz, dass wir trotz eines deshalb immer an­­spruchs­volleren Netz­­betriebs die Versorgungs­sicherheit auf höchstem Niveau halten können.

Erzeugung1

Die weitere Gestaltung der Energiezukunft ist aber viel mehr als nur ein technologisches Projekt. Innovation und Technologie brauchen die Akzeptanz der Gesell­­schaft. Deshalb sind Bürgerinnen und Bürger, die in ihrem Umfeld eigene Impulse für die Energiezukunft setzen, wichtige Wegbereiter der Energiewende. Das Bayernwerk fördert daher im Rahmen seines gesellschaftlichen Engagements neben kulturellen und schulischen Projekten auch Impulsgeber für die Energie­zukunft vor Ort mit dem „Bürgerenergiepreis“.

Für das Stromnetz hat die Energiewende einen Para­dig­menwechsel zur Folge. Bisher agierten die Ver­­braucher so, dass sie Strom dann verbrauchten, wenn sie ihn benötigten. Diesem Verhalten mussten sich die Er­­zeu­­ger anpassen: Konventionelle Großkraftwerke wur­­den so gesteuert, dass Erzeugung und Verbrauch in Ein­­klang waren, die Netze waren so ausgelegt, dass ihre Kapazität dem Verbrauch entsprach. Das ändert sich nun grundlegend: Die hohe installierte Photovoltaik-Leistung mit ihrer stark schwankenden Einspeisung dominiert heute schon den Betrieb des Bayernwerk-Verteilnetzes. Da bei starker Sonnen­ein­strahlung die Stromerzeugung oft den zeitgleich anfallenden lokalen und regionalen Strombedarf übersteigt, muss der in der Nieder- und Mittelspannung überschüssige Strom auf die nächsthöhere Netzebene, die Hochspannung, abtransportiert werden. Das geschieht mit sogenannten Umspannwerken. Die heutige Um­­spannwerks­struk­tur ist dafür nicht ausgelegt. Um zu vermeiden, dass die Verbindung zwischen Nieder- und Mittel­span­nungs­ebene auf der einen und Hoch­­span­­nungsebene auf der anderen Seite zu einem Nadelöhr wird, das eine sichere Versorgung gefährden könnte, arbeitet das Bayernwerk seit 2012 mit Nachdruck an einer völlig neuen Dimen­­sionierung der Umspann­werks­­kapazitäten seines Netzes.

Um die Versorgungssicherheit und den EEG-bedingten Ausbau zu gewährleisten, hat das Unternehmen im Jahr 2013 rund 365 Millionen Euro aufgewendet.
Bis zum Energiesystem von morgen ist es noch ein weiter Weg. Die Veränderungen in der Energielandschaft erfordern neben einem umfangreichen Netzausbau inten­­sive Entwicklungen in der Speichertechnologie und bei innovativen Netzkomponenten. Wirkt man einer überhöhten Netzeinspeisung heute noch mit Netzausbau und Regelungsmechanismen für Einspeiseanlagen entgegen, werden in weiterer Zukunft clevere Steuerungssysteme („Smart Grid“) dafür sorgen, dass der nicht benötigte Strom in Speicher abgeleitet wird beziehungsweise dass der Verbrauch gezielt in diese Zeiten verlagert wird, in­­dem energieintensive Haushaltsgeräte oder die Auf­­la­­dung der Elektrofahrzeuge ferngesteuert gestartet werden.


IMG_1981

Das Bayernwerk forscht schon seit Jahren gemeinsam mit Hochschulen und Partnern aus der Wirtschaft am Netz der Zukunft. So tragen neuartige regelbare Orts­­netztransformatoren dazu bei, das Netz trotz schwankender Einspeisung stabil zu halten. In weiteren Pro­­jekten werden Energiespeicher erprobt, Ladetech­­no­­logien für Elektrofahrzeuge erforscht oder intelligente Wechselrichter getestet.

Mit diesen Projekten, dem kontinuierlichen Netzausbau und der ständigen Wartung und Instandhaltung der Netze leistet das Bayernwerk einen wichtigen Beitrag auf dem Weg zu einer sicheren Energiezukunft – und hält die Ver­­sorgungssicherheit im Netzgebiet trotz eines immer anspruchsvolleren Netzbetriebs auf höchstem Niveau.

Das Bayernwerk ist seit vielen Jahren Partner der Kom­­munen in Bayern. Es steht mit energiewirtschaftlichem Know-how beratend zur Seite, wenn es um die Energie­­wende vor Ort geht. Das Unternehmen hilft bei der Erstellung von Energienutzungsplänen, die Unternehmens­tochter Bayernwerk Natur kümmert sich um alle Be­­lange beim Bau und Betrieb dezentraler Erzeugungs­­anlagen oder bietet eine professionelle Gebäude­energie­beratung als Dienstleistung an. Auch die kommunale Straßenbeleuchtung ist ein wichtiger Bestandteil der Partnerschaft des Bayernwerks mit den Kommunen.

Reimund_Gotzel_hDer 1966 in Lübeck geborene Autor ist ausgebildeter Bankkaufmann und hat an der TU Berlin Betriebswirtschaft studiert. 1992 stieg Reimund Gotzel bei PreussenElektra ein und hatte diverse leitende Funktionen innerhalb des E.ON-­Konzerns inne. Seit Juli 2013 ist er Vorstandsvorsitzender der Bayernwerk AG.