Rabobank Deutschland: Customer benefits as core business: Rabobank

The Dutch Rabobank Group is one of the world’s largest and financially strongest banks. It maintains branches in 48 coun­­tries around the globe and its 59,000 staff all over the world support over ten million customers. Rabobank is not just big, but also rock solid. “Global Finance” magazine has listed Rabobank among its top ten of the most secure banks in the world for years. It also regularly enjoys excellent ratings from the key agencies. As well as its outstanding credit rating, Rabobank’s cooperative tradition is what makes it stand out from other banks. Rabobank originated in an agricultural credit union founded in the late 19th century. This legacy lives on today in various ways: both in the name (Rabobank stands for “Raiffeisen- und Boerenleenbank”, or “Raiffeisen and farmer’s lending bank”) and in the way it is organised. While most other large banks are obligated to the shareholder value, Rabobank is still not listed on the stock exchange to this day, and remains committed to its cooperative principles.

Rabobank has been present in Ger­­many since 1984. “Thanks to our tradition as an agricultural cooperative bank, Rabo­­bank has a clear business model. We are specialists in financing for agriculture and food production – you could say this is in the bank’s DNA. We see our cooperative legacy as an obligation to achieve the greatest pos­­­­sible benefits for our customers in an efficient and pragmatic way,” explains Mark van Driel, managing director of the German branch of Rabobank. Alongside corpor­­ate banking, RaboDirect was launched for private customers in 2012.

Leading bank for the food and agriculture industry in Germany. With a high equity ratio and an outstanding rating, Rabobank Frankfurt is a partner for both small and medium-sized companies and for multinational corporations. What makes the bank stand out is its ability to support companies not only in the traditional credit business, but also on the capital market. This competence on the capital market is supplemented by worldwide expertise in the food and agriculture industry. “All banks have financial expertise. We are also well-versed in the food sector and know how agriculture works in Ger­­many and in our customers’ international locations,” Mark van Driel sums up.

 

iStock_000002605567Large

Furthermore, Rabobank supports its cus­­tomers in M&A processes and provides financing. Access to Rabo Trading Ger­­many, which specialises in buying and selling agricultural raw materials, is of particular interest to companies. As well as liquidity procurement, well-founded risk management is also a key part of financing company activities. The experts at Rabobank use their extensive knowledge of the sector to evaluate the risks involved in interest, currencies or raw materials prices.

An international bank for international business. Germany is the Netherlands’ most important foreign trade partner. In turn, the Netherlands are the second largest market for German exports. The International Desk assists German corporate clients who do business in the Netherlands, or would like to. A person­­­al contact partner at Rabobank Ger­­many gives them access to all financial services provided by the local Rabobank branches in the Netherlands. However, German customers do not only benefit from connections to the Netherlands. Rabobank is active all over the world. “Rabobank is especially strong in areas in which growth in the agricultural sector will play out in the coming years and decades, such as Africa,” explains Mark van Driel. He advises German com­­panies to become more involved in these growth markets. “German companies still do not have as strong a presence there as companies from other countries. But that’s where the future is.” Rabobank is present on the ground, not only with financing experts, but also with agricultural experts.
Active in private banking in Germany. Since summer 2012, Rabobank has offered instant-access savings accounts and saving services for private customers in Ger­­many under the name RaboDirect. This step is part of a tried-and-tested risk dis­­tribution strategy. The bank’s excellent credit rating is due in part to the fact that it gains deposits in markets in which it holds assets. This provides protection against fluctuations in refinancing and local differences in interest rates. Getting into deposit banking in Germany further strengthens this form of risk prevention.

“In its home market of the Netherlands, Rabobank holds a market share of 40 per cent in private deposit banking. Rabo­­bank was also a pioneer in online banking. Of course, we benefited from the expe­­riences of Rabobank when launching RaboDirect,” reports Klaus Vehns, who is responsible for the business as general manager of RaboDirect Germany. “Although the German savings market is highly competitive, we achieved outstanding success immediately.” Around 100,000 customers chose an instant-access savings or fixed-term deposit account with RaboDirect in the first six months. And because RaboBank is com­­mitted to a business model which uses efficient structures to generate the great­­­est possible customer benefits, even more are sure to join them.

Rabobank_Logo_pms

  1. Adress

    Solmsstraße 83
    D-60486 Frankfurt am Main
    Telefon +49 (0) 69 79206-0
    Telefax+49 (0) 69 7714-61
    info.frankfurt@rabobank.com
    www.rabobank.de
    www.rabodirect.de
  2. Executive board

    Mark van Driel
  3. Year of establishment

    The Rabobank Group was established
    in 1972 as a result of the merger of Coöperatieve Centrale Raiffeisen-Bank
    and Coöperatieve Centrale Boerenleenbank. Present in Germany since 1984, RaboDirect Germany since 2012.
  4. Employees

    59.000 (Rabobank Group)
  5. Business activity

    Corporate banking focusing on the
    agricultural and food industry (Rabobank)
    Private banking, instant-access
    savings accounts and fixed-term
    deposits (RaboDirect)

Rabobank Deutschland: Kundennutzen als Kerngeschäft: Die Rabobank

Die holländische Rabobank-Gruppe zählt zu den größten und fi­­nanz­­stärksten Ban­­ken der Welt. Sie betreibt Nieder­­las­­sun­­gen in 48 Ländern rund um den Globus und be­­treut mit 59.000 Mit­­arbeitern in der gan­­zen Welt mehr als 10 Millionen Kunden. Die Rabobank ist aber nicht nur groß, sondern vor allem auch grundso­­lide: Seit Jahren führt das Ma­­­­gazin „Global Finance“ die Rabobank im Ranking der sichersten Banken der Welt unter den Top 10. Zu­­dem erfährt sie regelmäßig beste Ratings durch die maßgeblichen Agenturen. Was die Rabo­­bank über ihre hervorragende Boni­­tät gegenüber anderen Banken aus­­zeich­­net, ist ihre genossenschaftliche Tra­­­­di­­tion. Ihren Ursprung hat die Rabobank in einer Ende des 19. Jahr­­hunderts ge­­gründeten Agrar­­kredit­ge­nos­sen­­schaft. Die­­­­ses Erbe ist bis heute in verschiedener Hinsicht lebendig. Nicht nur im Namen („Rabobank“ steht für „Raiffeisen- und Boerenleenbank“, also „Raiffeisen- und Bauernleihbank“), sondern auch in der Organisationsform. Wäh­­­­rend die meisten anderen großen Banken dem Shareholder- Value verpflich­­tet sind, ist die Rabobank bis heute nicht börsennotiert und bekennt sich nach wie vor zum Genossenschaftsprinzip.

In Deutschland ist die Rabobank seit 1984 präsent. „Durch ihre Tradition als landwirt­­schaftliche Genossen­schafts­bank hat die Rabobank ein klares Ge­­schäftsmodell: Wir sind Spezialisten für die Finanzierung von Landwirtschaft und Nahrungs­­mittel­­pro­­duk­­tion, das liegt sozusagen in der DNA unse­­rer Bank. Und das genossenschaftliche Erbe ist für uns Verpflichtung, pragmatisch und effizient größtmöglichen Nutzen für die Kun­­den zu erzielen“, er­­klärt Mark van Driel, Ge­­schäftsführer der deut­­schen Nieder­­las­­sung der Rabobank. Zum Firmen­kun­den­ge­­schäft kam 2012 Rabo­­Direct für Privatkunden.

Führende Bank der Lebensmittel- und Agrarindustrie in Deutschland. Mit ho­­her Eigenkapitalquote und herausragen­­dem Rating ist die Rabobank Frankfurt für Mit­­telständler, aber auch multinatio­­nale Kon­­­­zerne Partner. Es zeichnet die Bank aus, dass sie nicht nur im traditionellen Kre­­­­dit­­­­­­­geschäft, sondern auch auf dem Ka­­pi­­tal­­markt Unternehmen begleiten kann. Zur Kompetenz am Ka­­­pi­­tal­­markt kommt noch die weltweite Expertise in der Lebens­­mittel- und Agrarindustrie hin­­zu. „Finanz­­exper­­tise haben alle Banken. Wir kennen uns auch mit Nah­­rungs­­mit­­teln aus und wissen, wie Land­­wirt­­schaft in Deutschland und an den internatio­­nalen Standorten unserer Kunden funktioniert“, resümiert Mark van Driel.

 

iStock_000002605567Large

Darüber hinaus begleitet die Rabobank ihre Kunden bei M&A-Prozessen und stellt die Finanzierung bereit. Besonders inte­­ressant für Unter­­nehmen ist der Zu­­gang zu Rabo Trading Germany, die sich auf den Kauf und Ver­­kauf von Agrar­­roh­­stoffen spezialisiert hat. Zur Fi­­nan­­­­zierung von Unterneh­­mens­­akti­­vi­­tä­­ten ge­­hört neben der Liquiditäts­­beschaffung ein fundiertes Risiko­mana­­gement. Basie­­rend auf ihrer vertieften Branchenkenntnis be­­werten die Rabobank-Experten Risiken, die von Zins, Währung oder Roh­stoff­­preisen ausgehen.

Eine internationale Bank für interna­­­­­­­­tionale Geschäfte. Deutschland ist der wich­­­­­­­­tigste Außenhandelspartner für die Nie­­der­­­­lande. Umgekehrt ist Holland der zweit­­größte Absatzmarkt für deutsche Ex­­­­porte. International Desk betreut deutsche Firmen­­­­­­kunden, die in den Nieder­­landen aktiv sind oder es werden möchten. Der persönliche Ansprechpartner der Rabo­­bank Deutschland ermöglicht ihnen Zu­­gang zu allen Finanzdienstleistungen der örtlichen Rabobanken in den Nieder­­lan­­den. Deut­­sche Kunden profitieren aber nicht nur von den Verbindungen nach Hol­­land. Viel­­mehr ist die Rabobank in der ganzen Welt aktiv. „Die Rabobank ist vor allem auch dort stark, wo sich auf dem Agrar­­sektor in den nächsten Jahren und Jahr­­zehnten das Wachstum abspielen wird, zum Beispiel in Afrika“, erklärt Mark van Driel. Und rät deutschen Unter­­nehmen, sich in diesen Wachs­­tums­­märk­­ten stärker zu engagieren: „Deutsche Unter­nehmen sind dort noch weniger stark vertreten als Firmen aus anderen Län­­dern. Aber dort liegt die Zu­­kunft.“ Die Rabobank ist nicht nur mit Finan­­zie­rungs­­experten, son­­­­dern auch mit Fachleuten für Land­­wirt­­schaft vor Ort.

Aktiv im deutschen Privat­­­kunden­ge­schäft. Seit dem Sommer 2012 bietet die Rabo­­­bank unter dem Namen Rabo­­Direct auch Tagesgeld- und Spar­­pro­­dukte für Privat­­kunden in Deutsch­­land an. Die­­ser Schritt ist Teil einer be­­währ­­ten Stra­­tegie der Ri­­si­­­­­­koverteilung. Dass die Bank über exzellente Bonität verfügt, hat auch damit zu tun, dass sie in den Märkten, wo sie Ver­­mö­­gens­­werte hat, Einlagen gewinnt. Dadurch ist sie gut gegen Re­­finan­zie­rungs­­­schwan­­­­­­kun­­gen und lokale Zinsdifferenzen ge­­schützt. Der Ein­­stieg ins deutsche Einlagen­­ge­­schäft stärkt diese Form der Risiko­­vorsorge weiter.

„In ihrem Heimatmarkt Holland hat die Rabo­­bank im privaten Einlagengeschäft einen Marktanteil von 40 Prozent. Außer­­­­­­dem war die Rabobank ein Pionier im Online-Banking. Von dieser Erfahrung der Rabobank haben wir natürlich beim Markt­­­­­­­­­­start von RaboDirect profitiert“, berichtet Klaus Vehns, der als General Manager für die Geschäfte von RaboDirect Deutsch­­land verantwortlich ist. „Obwohl der deut­­­­­­sche Sparmarkt hart umkämpft ist, waren wir auf Anhieb extrem erfolgreich.“ Rund 100.000 Kunden haben sich in den ersten sechs Monaten für ein Tagesgeld- oder Fest­­geld­­konto bei RaboDirect entschieden. Und weil sich RaboDirect einem Ge­­schäfts­­modell ver­schrie­­ben hat, das dank effizienter Struk­­turen größtmöglichen Kunden­­nutzen bringt, dürften es noch einige mehr werden.

Rabobank_Logo_pms