Prüf- und Forschungsinstitut Pirmasens e.V. – Quality ensures safety

The PFI (Test and Research Institute) is an international service and research centre which is particularly efficient due to its combination of laboratories, inter­­disciplinary engineering and over 60 years of accumulated know-how.

Our experts used to carry out research and development for the shoe-manufacturing industry for many decades. Today, our re­­search extends far beyond the shoe industry. Orthopaedic technology, biogas, thermal pressure hydrolysis and renewable energies are only a few of our many areas of research.

In our modern laboratories a wide variety of shoes, leather goods and textiles, plastics, adhesives up to medical products is tested on physical, chemical and microbio­logical properties. The biogas-fermenter and biogas plant enable us to carry out laboratory and  industrial-scale experiments. Our great success in this area is the unique power-to-gas plant, which feeds bio-methane from wind and solar-generated electricity into the natural gas network.

Worldwide product inspections, production controls and accredited product and system certification are part of PFI’s services as well. Our comprehensive range of services is supplemented by engineering, which focuses on constructing testing equipment, control technology and developing software solutions.

  1. Address

    Marie-Curie-Straße 19
    66953 Pirmasens
    Tel +49 6331 2490-0
    Fax +49 6331 2490-60
    info@pfi-germany.de
    www.pfi-germany.de

  2. Institute director

    Dr. Kerstin Schulte

  3. Year of establishment

    1956

  4. Business activity

    Research into shoe technology and biotechnology

    Planning of biogas and power-to-gas plants

    Engineering for a wide range
    of industrial branches

    Testing and quality controls of goods

    Certification of personal protection equipment, management systems and social standards

Prüf- und Forschungsinstitut Pirmasens e.V. – Qualität gibt Sicherheit

Das PFI ist ein internationales Dienstleistungs- und Forschungszentrum, das durch die Kombination aus Laboren, interdisziplinärem Ingenieurwesen und über 60 Jahre gewachsenem Know-how besonders leistungsfähig ist.

Über Jahrzehnte haben unsere Experten für die Schuhbranche geforscht und ent­­wickelt. Heute gehen unsere Forschungen weit über die Schuhindustrie hinaus. Orthopädietech­­nik, Biogas, Thermodruck­hydrolyse, erneu­­erbare Energien sind nur einige von unseren zahlreichen Forschungsbereichen.

Zur Verfügung stehen uns moderne Labore, in denen unterschiedlichste Arten von Schuhen, Lederwaren und Textilien, Kunst- und Klebstoffe, bis hin zu Medizinprodukten – physikalisch, chemisch und mikrobiologisch geprüft werden. Die Biogasfermenter und die Biogasanlage ermöglichen Versuche im Labor- und In­­dustriemaßstab. Unser großer Erfolg ist hier die einmalige Power-­to-Gas-Anlage, die Biomethan aus Wind- und Solarstrom in das Erdgasnetz einspeist.

Weltweite Wareninspektionen, Produktionskontrollen und akkreditierte Produkt- und Systemzertifizierung gehören zu weiteren Dienstleistungen des PFI. Unser umfangreiches Arbeitsgebiet wird durch das Engineering abgerundet, bei dem Prüfmaschinenbau, Steuerungstechnik und Software-Lösungen im Fokus stehen.

  1. Anschrift

    Marie-Curie-Straße 19
    66953 Pirmasens
    Tel +49 6331 2490-0
    Fax +49 6331 2490-60
    info@pfi-germany.de
    www.pfi-germany.de

  2. Institutsleiterin

    Dr. Kerstin Schulte

  3. Gründungsjahr

    1956

  4. Geschäftstätigkeit

    Forschung in den Bereichen
    Schuhtechnik, Biotechnologie

    Planung von Biogas- und Power-to-Gas-Anlagen

    Engineering für unterschiedlichste
    Industriezweige

    Prüfungen und Qualitätskontrollen von Waren

    Zertifizierung von persönlicher Schutzausrüstung, Managementsystemen und Sozialstandards