Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Cornetz: Education and research as responsibility for the future

Saarland’s university of applied sciences was founded in 1971 and renamed the University for Applied Sci­­en­­ces of Saar­­land (HTW) in 1991. Considering its forerunner in­­tu­­itions, the HTW can look back on 200 years of tradition. 200 years, through­out which it shows how educational institutions can actively shape the transformation of society. In 2009, 115 professors tought at the HTW in 24 courses. Since 2001, in­­ter­­national courses have been introduced and completely new areas of study were opened up without neglecting the traditional disciplines such as engineering on the side of the engineering sciences, or business ad­­mi­­ni­­stration on the economics sciences side. In 2005, the HTW course offer was completely changed to bachelor and master degrees.
Since 2000, the number of applications for a place at the HTW has nearly tripled and the number of enrollments and total number of students doubled.



A similar expansion at the HTW can be seen in its research activities. Both the research areas and the number of re­­­­search projects have increased signi­­f­­icantly. Research and development is for universities of ap­­plied sciences an activity that can’t be taken as a matter of course, because they do not re­­ceive the same basic government funding as the universities. The philosophy of the HTW, how­­ever, is that good teaching is inextricably linked to innovative re­­search. Current methods and in-depth know­­ledge can best be taught if the in­­­structors themselves keep at practise as re­­searchers.
This is confirmed by our partners in business and institutions, who strong­­­­ly emphasize the need of the industry and society for distinct application-oriented research and development work. In addition to the un­­doubt­­edly im­­portant basic research, a sig­­nificant need for solutions for speci­fic problems is documented. This could be specific questions about automation or technical quality monitoring in a company of engineering, or also the question of in­­tegration of young foreign citizens into sport clubs – to mention an example from the social sciences.

4l

Universities of applied sciences are ideally suited for such questions be­­cause of the professional background of the professors.
After all, it is a central requirement for the selection of the academic staff that after their doctorate they must have worked for several years outside of academia and outside of the public service as well.

The vast majority of professors from HTW have worked in companies, often in de­­velopment-related areas and there­­­­fore know from personal experience the entre­­preneurial way of tackling problems prag­­matically. From modest beginnings, an extensive research and development (R&D) landscape has grown in recent de­­c­­ades. In 2008, more than seven million euros in R&D-related external funding was earned at the HTW and its associated institutes. Measured by the public budget of the uni­­versity, of (then) just under 15 million euros, the success of R&D at the HTW is obvious. Thereby one of the most important success factors is the intense cooperation with the companies.
HTW interns and graduates shorten the time lag between gaining knowledge at university and im­­plementation of innovation at the companies.


campus-goettelborn

The much quoted “technology transfer by the heads” brings HTW students in contact with business practices early on. The Cooperative Study program of the HTW, a parallel to the stu­­dies or­­ga­­ni­­zed regular job of the students in companies whose work fields are in direct relation to the chosen field of studies has pro­­v­en to be an ideal solution. In­­de­­pen­­dent of federal financial aid (BAFöG) or side jobs, students can concentrate and carry out their studies quickly and find intensive contentual and personal contact with working life. For companies, broad op­­por­­tunities not only through transfer of knowledge but also efficient staff re­­cruitment are opened.
Short distan­­ces from university re­­search into the business world are also secured by the membership of Saarland entre­­pre­­­neurs in the Research Advisory Board of the HTW, which evaluates the re­­search pro­­jects. Technology transfer for pro­­jects is pro­­­­vided by the research institutes and groups of the HTW – currently there are nearly 20, amongst others such dis­­tin­­c­­tive institutes as the INFO In­­sti­­tute, IZES or FORGIS. Even the found­­ing of most of the HTW in­­stitutes was promoted by companies and in­­sti­­tu­­tions which are involved in the HTW re­­search. In 2006, in the frame­­work of the second pact for technology transfer, ten new HTW institutes could be founded with the support of the state government. From the perspec­­tive of the HTW, the innovation stra­­tegy of Saarland con­­tributes substantially to the optimization of know­­ledge transfer, most recently through the foundation of the joint Centers for Me­­ch­­a­­tro­­n­­ics and Auto­­ma­­­­tion tech­­no­­logy (ZeMA) of the HTW and the Saarland Uni­versity.

cornetz04Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Wolfgang Cornetz is rec­­tor of the University for Technology and Economy of Saarland and vice pre­­s­­i­­dent of the German-French University In­­sti­­tu­­te for Technology and Economy (DFHI/­­ISFATES). Cornetz studied economics at the RWTH Aachen and at Bremen University and among others did re­­search work at Harvard University. From 1997 to 2000 he was rector at the Harz Uni­­ver­­sity.

Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Cornetz: Bildung und Forschung als Verantwortung für die Zukunft

Die Saarländische Fachhochschule wurde 1971 gegründet und 1991 in Hochschule für Technik und Wirt­­schaft des Saarlandes (HTW) umbenannt. Be­­rück­­­­sich­­tigt man ihre Vorgänger­­ein­­rich­­­­tun­­­­­­gen, so kann die HTW auf eine 200 jäh­­ri­­ge Tra­dition zurückblicken: 200 Jah­­re, in denen sich gezeigt hat, wie Bil­­dungs­­­­ein­­­­­­rich­tun­gen den Wandel der Gesell­­schaft aktiv mit­­gestalten können. 2009 lehrte an der HTW 115 Pro­­fes­­so­­ren und Profes­­sor­­­­in­­nen in 24 Studien­­gän­­gen. Seit 2001 wur­­den internationale Studien­­gän­­ge eingeführt und völlig neue Studien­­be­­reiche er­­schlossen, ohne die klassischen Diszi­­pli­­nen wie Maschi­­nen­­bau auf der in­­genieur­­­wis­­sen­­­­­schaftlichen Seite oder Be­­­­triebs­­wirt­­schaft auf der wirt­­schafts­­wis­­sen­­schaft­­lich­­en Seite zu ver­­­­nach­­lässigen. 2005 wurde das HTW-Stu­­dienangebot vollständig auf Bachelor- und Master-Ab­­schlüs­­se umgestellt.
Seit 2000 hat sich die Zahl der Be­­wer­­bun­­gen um einen Studienplatz an der HTW fast ver­­dreifacht, die Zahl der Neu­­ein­schrei­­bun­­gen und die Ge­­samt­­studie­­ren­­­­denzahl haben sich verdoppelt.


campus-goettelborn

Eine ähnliche Expansion kann die HTW auch bei ihren Forschungsaktivitäten ver­­­­­­zeichnen. Sowohl die Forschungsge­bie­­te als auch die Zahl der Forschungsprojekte sind deutlich gestiegen. Forschung und Ent­­wicklung ist für Fachhochschulen kei­­ne selbstverständliche Betätigung, wird sie doch nicht, wie an den Universitäten, staat­­­­­­­­lich grundfinanziert. Die Philoso­phie der HTW ist es jedoch, dass gute Lehre un­­­­­­trenn­­­­bar mit innovativer Forschung ver­­­­knüpft ist. Aktuelle Methoden und fun­­dier­­tes Wissen können am besten vermit­­telt werden, wenn die Lehrenden als For­­­­sch­­er selbst „am Ball“ bleiben.
Dies bestätigen uns unsere Ko­­oper­­a­­ti­­ons­­­partner in der Wirtschaft und in In­­stitutionen, die den Bedarf der In­­dus­­trie und der Gesellschaft nach aus­­geprägt anwendungsorientierter For­­schungs- und Entwicklungsarbeit un­­terstreichen. Ne­­ben der zweifellos wich­­tigen Grund­­lagen­­for­­schung wird ein erheblicher Lö­­sungs­­­­be­darf für sehr spezifische Pro­­blem­­stell­­un­­gen dokumentiert. Das können sowohl spezielle Fragen der Auto­­ma­­ti­­sier­­ung oder der technischen Quali­­täts­­über­­wach­­ung in einem Un­­ter­­neh­­men des Ma­­­schi­­nen­­­baus sein als auch die Frage nach der In­­te­­gra­­­­tion junger ausländisch­er Mitbürger in Sport­­­­ver­­einen – um ein Beispiel aus den Sozial­­wissen­­schaf­­ten zu nennen.

4l

Hochschulen für angewandte Wis­­sen­­­­schaf­­ten sind für solche Fragestel­lun­­gen prädestiniert aufgrund der beruflichen Vorgeschichte der Profes­sor­in­­nen und Professoren.
Lautet doch eine zentrale Anforderung bei der Wahl des wissenschaftlichen Per­­sonals, dass nach der Promotion einige Jahre außerhalb von Hochschulen und auch außerhalb des öffentlichen Dienstes gearbeitet werden musste.

Die allermeisten Pro­­fes­­sor­­innen und Pro­­fessoren der HTW haben also in Un­­ter­­neh­­­­men gearbeitet, oft in entwick­­lungs­­nah­­en Be­­reichen, und kennen aus eigener Er­­fahr­­ung die unternehmerisch geprägte Art, Pro­­­­ble­­me pragmatisch an­­­­zugehen. Aus bescheidenen Anfängen heraus hat sich in den letzten Jahrzehnten eine aus­­gedehnte FuE-Landschaft entwick­­elt. 2008 wurden an der HTW und ihren An-­­­­In­­sti­­tu­­ten mehr als sieben Millionen Euro­­ an FuE-be­­zogenen Dritt­­mitteln ein­­­­gewor­­ben. Ge­­mes­­­­sen am staatlichen Budget der Hoch­­schule von (damals) knapp 15 Mil­­li­­onen Euro ist der Erfolg der FuE an der HTW of­­fen­­kundig. Dabei ist einer der wichtigsten Erfol­­gs­­fak­­toren die intensive Zu­­sam­­men­­arbeit mit den Unternehmen.
HTW-Prakti­­kan­­ten und -Absolventen ver­­kürzen den „time lag“ zwischen Wissen­­s­­­­ge­­winn­­ung an der Hoch­­schule und Um­­­­set­­zung der In­­no­­vation in den Un­­ter­­neh­­men.


campus-goettelborn

Dieser viel zitierte „Tech­­nologietransfer über die Köpfe“ bringt HTW-Studierende frühzeitig mit der Unternehmenspraxis in Kontakt. Das Kooperative Studium der HTW, die parallel zum Studium or­­ga­­nisierte, vertraglich geregelte Mit­­ar­­beit der Stu­­dierenden in Unternehmen, de­­ren Ar­­­­­­beits­­felder direkten Bezug zum gewählten Studienfach haben, hat sich als Ideal­­­­lö­­s­­ung erwiesen. Die Studie­­ren­­­­den können un­­abhängig von BAföG oder Ne­­ben­­­­jobs ihre Studien konzentriert und zügig durch­­­­führen und finden in­­ten­­siven in­­haltlich­­en und persönlich­­en Kon­­takt zur Arbeits­­welt. Für die Unter­­neh­­men stehen umfassen­­de Mög­lich­­keiten nicht nur des Wissen­­strans­­fers, sondern auch der effizienten Mit­­ar­­bei­­­­ter­­re­­kru­­tier­­ung offen.
Kurze Wege von der Hochschulforschung in die Wirtschaft sind wichtig. Dies sichert auch die Mit­­gliedschaft saar­ländischer Unternehmer im For­schungs­beirat der HTW, der die Forschungs­pro­jekte evaluiert. Technologietransfer über Projek­te leisten die Forschungsinstitute und -grup­­pen der HTW – zurzeit sind es knapp 20, darunter so profilierte wie das INFO-Institut, das IZES oder die FORGIS. Schon die Grün­­dung der meisten HTW-Insti­­tute wurde von Unternehmen und In­­sti­­tu­­tio­nen be­­för­­dert, die an der HTW-For­­schung beteiligt sind. 2006 konnten im Rahmen des II. Pak­­tes für Technolo­gie­trans­fer mit Un­­ter­­stüt­­zung der Landes­re­­gierung zehn neue HTW­­-Institute gegrün­det wer­­den. Die In­­no­­va­­ti­­onsstrategie des Saar­­lan­­des trägt aus Sicht der HTW maß­geblich zur Op­­ti­­mie­­r­­ung des Wis­sens­­trans­­fers bei, zuletzt durch die Grün­­dung des gemeinsamen Zen­­trums für Mecha­tro­­nik und Auto­­ma­­ti­­sier­­ungs­­tech­­nik (ZeMA) der HTW und der Uni­­versität.

cornetz04Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Wolfgang Cornetz ist seit 2001 Rektor der Hochschule für Tech­­nik und Wirtschaft des Saarlandes und Vize­­­­präsident des Deutsch-Fran­­zö­­sischen Hoch­­­­­­­schulinstituts für Technik und Wirt­­­­schaft (DFHI/ISFATES). Cornetz hat an der RWTH Aachen und der Uni­­versität Bremen Wirt­­schafts­wissen­­schaf­­ten studiert und unter anderem an der Harvard University geforscht. Von 1997 bis 2000 war er Rektor der Hochschule Harz.