Prof. Dr. Volker ter Meulen: The Leopoldina – The National Academy of Sciences

The German Academy of Sciences Leopoldina was founded in 1652 as the Academia Naturae Curiosorum in the Free and Imperial City of Schweinfurt by the far-sighted involvement of four doctors who were concerned to increase the body of scientific knowledge for use in medicine. The Leopoldina is the world’s longest-existing academy de­­voted to scientific research and is comparable in its age, size and scientific relevance with the Royal Society, which was founded in London in 1660, the Académie des sciences in Paris (founded in 1666) and the Acca­­demia Na­­zionale dei Lincei in Rome (founded in 1603). The Academy was officially recognized by Emperor Leopold I in 1677 and awarded the privileges of an Im­­perial Academy in 1687, which it did not give up itself until the end of the 19th century. It bore the title of Sacri Romani Imperii Academia Caesareo-Leopoldina Naturae Curiosorum since 1687, from which its modern-day title “Leopoldina” is derived.


18AGAlternKöhler

For the first 225 years of its existence the headquarters of the Leopoldina changed depending on the seats of its presidents. Halle (Saale) has been the headquarters of the Leopoldina since 1878. It was even able to retain its po­­litical and scientific independence in the decades of the National Socialist and GDR socialist regimes as far as was possible.
The Academy consists of 1,300 elected members, who are subdivided into categories and groups including all disciplines of the sciences and medicine as well as related areas such as behavioural and social sciences and the humanities. Elections of new members to the Aca­­d­­emy are carried out by the Presidium on application by existing members. About three quarters of the members live in Germany, Austria and Switzerland and a quarter in other countries around the world.

The Leopoldina is governed by a twelve-member Presidium and advised by a Senate, which is elected by the members. Its offices, archives and library are housed at its headquarters in Halle, where it carries out its own scientific historical research programmes with the help of subsidies obtained through external funding.
In 2008 the Leopoldina was nominated as Na­­tio­­na­l Academy of Sciences and since then has been responsible for giving scientifically-based political ad­­vice in Germany.

In this field it works together with the German Academy of Science and Engineering (acatech) and the academies of the various German states, using their expertise.

Auszeichnung-023

Under the leadership of the Leopoldina, a coordination committee was established for this purpose consisting of three representatives each of the Leopoldina, acatech and the German state academies. One representative of the state academies is nominated by the Berlin-Brandenburg Aca­­de­­my of Sciences. The coordination committee agrees on the subjects to be investigated and establishes working groups which develop positions on politically and socially relevant topics.

The Leopoldina recently initiated projects of particular socio-political relevance. These include the the Aca­­d­­e­­my Group “Growing Old in Ger­­many”, a joint project of the Leo­­pol­­dina and acatech with the support of the Jacobs Foundation. The origin of the topic was the well-known phe­­nomenon of demographic change in Germany with all its consequences and problems. The aim of the three-year project (2006–­2008) was to develop and pre­­sent the best scientific bases and alternatives for comprehensive social reform. The working group publicly submitted its final report and recommendations in spring 2009 after it had initially been presented to Germany’s President Horst Köhler in Berlin in March 2009.

The Academy Group “Fertility and Social Development” a joint project of the Berlin-Bran­­den­­burg Academy of Sciences and the Leopoldina, started its work in spring 2009 for two years and will prepare a high-level in­­terdis­­ci­­plinary position paper with scientific and family-related recommendations on this socially significant issue. It, too, is subsidized by the Jacobs Foun­­dation.


G8+5_Merkel

The starting point of the planned “state-­of-the-art” report will be the challenge that will result for Germany and several other industrial economies as a re­­sult of demographic change.

While the risks and opportunities of ageing and longevity have already been discussed at length, most recently by the Aca­­de­­my Group “Growing Old in Germany”, a study on fertili­­ty trends is still lacking.
The Aca­­de­­my Group “Fer­­tility” will not carry out its own empirical studies, however; instead it will prepare available information for a broadly-based group of recipients in government and social groups while also making clear recommendations on future research and data collection requirements.
Examples of subjects for position papers and recommendations by the Leopol­­dina for political and public circles in Germany from previous years are vaccination, the amendment to the German Stem Cell Act, combating in­­fectious di­­s­­eases, pharmacotherapy for children, fu­­ture energy supplies in Germany, and Ger­­man gen­e­tic engineering law re­­form.

 

Festakt_14Juli2008-005

Besides political advice, the Leopoldina sees its essential tasks in promoting science and disseminating scientific knowledge. For this purpose, it holds re­­gular events in Germany and abroad. All results are printed and published in the Academy’s series of publications.

The Leopoldina also supports the training of young up-and-coming scientists in its Leopoldina promotional programme and supports young scientists in its Young Academy. In its capacity as a National Aca­­demy, it still represents German scientists in in­­ter­­national academic committees.
Over the past few years, the Leopoldina has increased its links with scientific communities in and outside Europe, es­­pecially through its presence on committees such as the European Aca­­de­­mies Science Ad­­visory Council (EASAC), the Federation of the Euro­­pean Aca­­demies of Medicine (FEAM), the InterAcademy Medical Panel (IAMP) and the All Euro­­pean Academies (ALLEA). The Leo­­pol­­dina has been accepted into the InterAca­­d­­emy Panel (IAP) as a Na­­tional Aca­­d­emy. These many memberships are the prerequisite for advising public authorities, parliaments, governments and the interested public on scientific matters at international level by publishing po­­­­sition papers and giving advice.Through the cooperation, begun some years ago, with the national academies of the G8 states in the lead-up to the annual G8 summit talks, the Leopoldina has also become involved in preparing recommendations on problems affecting the entire world and has made statements on subjects such as “Adapt­­ing to Climate Change and the Transition to a Carbon-Low Society”, “Global Health”, “Sus­­tain­­ability, Se­­curing Energy and Climate Pro­­tec­­tion”, “Promoting and Protecting Inno­­vation”, “Avian Flu and In­­fectious Diseases” or “Science and Technology for the De­­velopment of Africa”. These recommen­­dations are used by heads of state and government in preparing their negotiations during the summit talks.

In its endeavours to combine tradition with modern-day scientific development, the Leopoldina supports in­­ter­­disc­iplinary debate and the dissemination of scientific knowledge after the motto of its founding fathers: Exploring Nature for the Benefit of Mankind.

Auszeichnung-001The author has been the President of the Leopoldina since 2003. He studied medicine in Münster, Innsbruck and Kiel and obtained his doctorate in Göttingen in 1960. After a research fellowship in the USA he became professor of Clinical Virology and Immunology at the Uni­­versity of Würzburg in 1975. Volker ter Meulen has been awarded several prizes and is member of many organizations and committees.

Prof. Dr. Volker ter Meulen: Leopoldina – Nationale Akademie der Wissenschaften

Die Deutsche Akademie der Natur­­for­­scher Leopoldina wurde im Jahr 1652 als Academia Naturae Curiosorum in der Freien Reichsstadt Schweinfurt durch das zukunftsweisende Enga­­ge­­ment von vier Ärzten gegründet, denen es ein An­­liegen war, naturwissenschaftliche Er­­kenntnisse zum Nutzen in der Me­­dizin zu vertiefen. Sie ist die weltälteste dauerhaft existierende naturforschende Akademie, in Alter, Größe und wissenschaftlicher Relevanz vergleichbar mit der Royal Society in London (gegründet 1660), der Académie des sciences in Paris (gegründet 1666) und der Acca­­demia Nazionale dei Lincei in Rom (ge­­gründet 1603). Im Jahr 1677 wurde die Akademie von Kaiser Leopold I. offiziell anerkannt und 1687 mit den Privilegien einer Reichsakademie ausgestattet, die sie erst Ende des 19. Jahr­­hunderts selbst wieder aufgab. Seit 1687 trug sie die Bezeichnung Sacri Romani Imperii Academia Caesareo-Leopoldina Naturae Curiosorum, von der sich die heutige Kurzform Leopoldina ableitet.


18AGAlternKöhler

Während der ersten 225 Jahre wechselte der Sitz der Leopoldina an den jeweiligen Wirkungsort ihrer Prä­­si­­den­­ten. Seit 1878 ist Halle (Saale) Sitz der Leopoldina, die ihre politische und wis­­senschaftliche Unabhängigkeit auch in den Jahrzehnten der nationalsozialistischen Diktatur in Deutschland und des sozialistischen Regimes in der DDR – im Rahmen der Möglichkeiten – weitgehend bewahren konnte.
­Die Akademie besteht aus 1.300 ge­­wähl­­ten Mitgliedern, die in Klassen und Fach­­­­sek­­tionen, die alle Disziplinen der Na­­tur­­wissenschaften und der Medizin so­­wie Grenzbereiche zu Verhaltens-, So­­zial- und Geisteswissenschaften einschlie­­ßen, gegliedert sind. Zuwahlen zur Aka­­demie werden nach Anträgen aus der Mit­­glie­­der­­schaft in freier Wahl vom Präsidium vollzogen. Etwa drei Viertel der Mit­­glie­­der leben in Deutschland, Österreich und der Schweiz, ein Viertel in anderen Ländern der Welt.
Die Leopoldina wird durch ein zwölfköpfiges Präsidium geleitet und durch einen von den Mitgliedern ge­­wählten Senat beraten. Am Sitz in Halle befindet sich die Ge­­schäftsstelle mit Archiv und Bibliothek; hier werden zudem – ge­­fördert durch Drittmittel – eigene wissenschaftshistorische For­­schungs­­pro­­gramme durchgeführt.
2008 wurde die Leopoldina zur Na­­tio­­na­len Akademie der Wissenschaften ernannt und ist seitdem für die wissenschaftsbasierte Politikberatung in Deutsch­­land verantwortlich.
Auf diesem Gebiet arbeitet sie mit der Deutschen Akademie der Technik­­wis­­sen­­schaften (acatech) und den Aka­­de­­mien der Län­­der zusammen und be­­zieht deren Ex­­pertise ein.
Unter Federführung der Leopoldina wur­­de dazu ein Koordinierungsgremium ein­­­­gesetzt, das aus je drei Vertretern der Leopoldina, von acatech und der Län­­der­akademien besteht. Ein Ver­­treter der Länderakademien wird von der Ber­­lin-Brandenburgischen Aka­­de­­mie der Wis­­senschaften benannt. Das Ko­­or­­dinier­­ungs­­­­gremium verständigt sich über die zu bearbeitenden The­­men und setzt Ar­­beits­­gruppen ein, die Stell­­un­­g­­­­nah­men zu po­­litisch und gesellschaftlich relevanten Fra­­ge­­stel­­lungen erarbeiten.

Auszeichnung-023

Bereits in jüngerer Vergangenheit hat die Leopoldina Projekte von besonderer gesellschaftspolitischer Rele­­vanz ini­­tiiert. Dazu gehört die Akade­­mien­­gruppe „Altern in Deutschland“, ein gemeinsames Projekt der Leo­­pol­­dina und acatech mit Un­­terstützung der Jacobs Foundation. Ausgangs­­punkt ­­für das Thema der Arbeits­­gruppe war der bekannte de­­mografische Wan­­del in Deutsch­­land mit all seinen Fol­­gen und Pro­­ble­­men. Ziel der auf drei Jah­­re an­­gelegten Arbeitsgruppe (2006–­2008) war es, die besten wissenschaft­­lichen Grundlagen und Alter­­na­­tiven für um­­fassende gesellschaftliche Re­­for­­mo­­p­­­­tionen zu erarbeiten und zu präsentieren. Die Arbeitsgruppe hat ihren Ab­­schlussbericht mit entsprechenden Empfehlungen im Frühjahr 2009 öf­­fent­­lich präsentiert, nachdem er zu­­nächst im März 2009 an Bun­­des­­prä­­sident Horst Köhler in Berlin übergeben wurde.
Die Akademiengruppe „Fertilität und ge­­sellschaftliche Entwicklung“, ein ge­­mein­­sames Vorhaben der Berlin-Bran­­den­­bur­­gischen Akademie der Wissen­­schaf­ten und der Leopoldina, hat im Frühjahr 2009 ihre Arbeit für zwei Jahre aufgenommen und wird zu diesem gesellschaftlich wich­­tigen Thema eine wissenschaftlich hoch­­rangige in­­terdisziplinäre Stellung­­nah­­me mit wissenschafts- und familien­­­po­­li­­ti­­sch­­­­en Em­­pfehlungen erarbeiten. Auch sie wird von der Jacobs Foundation fi­­nanziell ge­­fördert.


G8+5_Merkel

Ausgangspunkt des geplanten „state-of-­the-art“-Reports ist die Heraus­­for­­de­­r­­ung, die sich für Deutsch­­land wie auch für einige andere Indus­­trieländer durch die demografische Ent­­wick­­lung ergibt.
Während die Ri­­siken und Chan­­cen des Alterns und der Lang­­lebigkeit schon um­­fassend diskutiert worden sind, zu­­letzt insbesondere durch die Aka­­de­­mien­­grup­­pe „Altern in Deutsch­­land“, fehlt für die Fertili­­tätsent­­wick­­lung bislang eine entsprechende Studie. Die Aka­­de­­mie­n­­gruppe „Fertilität“ wird keine ei­­ge­­nen empirischen Studien durch­­führen, aber das verfügbare Wissen für einen breiten Adressatenkreis in Politik und Ge­­sell­­schaft aufbereiten und dabei auch klare Aussagen zum künftigen For­­­­­­schungs- und Daten­­er­­hebungs­­be­­darf mach­­en.

Beispiele für Themen von Stellung­­nah­­men und Em­­pfeh­­lun­­gen der Leopoldina für die deutsche Poli­­tik und Öffentlichkeit aus den zu­­rück­­lie­­gen­­den Jahren sind Schutz­­im­­pfun­gen, die No­­vellierung des Stamm­­zell­ge­­setzes, die Be­­käm­­pfung von In­­fektions­­krank­­hei­­ten, Arznei­­mittel­­­­the­­ra­­­­pie im Kindes­­alter, die künftige Energie­­versorgung in Deutsch­­land und die Neu­­ordnung des Gen­­tech­­nikrechts.
Neben der Politikberatung sieht die Leo­­poldina ihre wesentlichen Aufgaben in der Förderung von Wissenschaft und in der Verbreitung wissenschaftlicher Er­­kenntnisse. Zu diesem Zweck führt sie regelmäßig Veranstaltungen im In- und Ausland durch. Alle Er­­geb­­nisse werden in den Schriftenreihen der Aka­­de­­mie ge­­druckt und verbreitet.
Die Leopoldina unterstützt außerdem die Ausbildung des wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchses durch das Leopoldina-För­­derprogramm und fördert junge Wis­senschaftlerinnen und Wissen­­schaft­­ler im Rahmen der Jungen Akademie.

Festakt_14Juli2008-005

In ihrer Funktion als Nationale Aka­­demie repräsentiert sie weiterhin die deutsch­­en Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissen­­schaft­­ler in internationalen Akade­­mie­­gre­­mien.
Bereits in den vergangenen Jahren hat die Leopoldina ihre Verbindungen zur Wissenschaft im europäischen und außereuropäischen Ausland vor allem durch die Mitwirkung in Gremien wie dem European Academies Science Ad­­visory Council (EASAC), der Federation of the European Academies of Medicine (FEAM), dem InterAcademy Medical Panel (IAMP) und den All European Academies (ALLEA) intensiviert. Als Na­­tionale Aka­­demie wurde die Leo­­pol­­dina beim Inter­­Academy Panel (IAP) aufgenommen. Diese zahlreichen Mit­­gliedschaften sind die Voraussetzung, um Behörden, Par­la­­mente, Regierungen und die interessierte Öffentlichkeit in wissenschaftlichen Fragen auf internationaler Ebene durch Stellungnahmen und Em­­pfeh­­lun­­gen zu beraten. Durch die vor einigen Jahren begonnene Zu­­­sammenarbeit mit den nationalen Aka­­demien der G8-­Staaten im Vorfeld der jährlich stattfindenden G8-Gipfel ist die Leopoldina darüber hinaus in die Er­arbeitung von Empfehlungen zu welt­­weit anstehenden Problemen eingebun­­den und hat sich zu Themen wie „An­­passung an den Kli­­ma­­wandel und der Übergang zu einer kohlenstoffarmen Gesellschaft“, „Glo­­ba­­le Gesundheit“, „Nachhaltigkeit, Ener­­gie­­sich­­erung und Klimaschutz“, „För­­der­­ung und Schutz von Innovation“, „Vo­­gelgrippe und In­­fektionskrankheiten“ oder „Wissen­­schaft und Technologie für die Ent­­wick­­lung Afri­­kas“ geäußert. Diese Em­­pfeh­­lun­­gen die­­nen den Staats- und Regier­­ungs­­chefs zur Vorbereitung ihrer Ver­­han­­d­­lun­­gen während der Gipfel­­treffen.
Im Bestreben, Tradition mit gegenwärtiger Wissenschaftsentwicklung zu verbin­­den, fördert die Leopoldina den in­­ter­­dis­­ziplinären Diskurs und die Ver­­brei­tung wissenschaftlicher Erkennt­­nis­­­­se nach dem Motto ihrer Gründ­­ungs­­väter: Die Natur zu erforschen zum Wohle der Men­­schen.

Auszeichnung-001Der Autor ist seit 2003 Präsident der Leopoldina. Er studierte Humanmedizin in Münster, Innsbruck und Kiel und wurde 1960 in Göttingen promoviert. Nach For­schungsaufenthalten in den USA wurde er 1975 Professor für Klinische Viro­lo­gie und Immunologie an der Uni­ver­sität Würz­­burg. Volker ter Meulen ist Träger zahlreicher Ehrungen und Mitglied in einer Viel­­zahl von Organisationen und Gremien.