Prof. Dr. Volker Linneweber: Saarland University – Break down barriers

Break down barriers is the signum of Saarland University – borders be­­tween cultures just as barriers be­­­­tween disciplines or traditional di­­viding lines between science, econ­­omy and culture. With 15,000 students, 280 professors as well as 1,200 scientific em­­ployees, the uni­­versity campus with its large re­­search establishments is a singularly creative centre in the association.

Combining top research with top teaching
Computer sciences, nano and biosciences as well as the European focus determine the Saarland university’s profile. Saarbrücken is one of the worldwide leading locations for computing sciences.
Besides researchers of the university, scientists from the Max Planck Institutes for Computer Science and Software Systems and the German Research Center for Artificial Intelligence (DFKI) belong here. A new research establishment on the campus can be named as the youngest example of successful technology transfer: The opening of the Intel Visual Computing Institute was held in May 2009. The company Intel will in­­vest around twelve million US dollars in the most ex­­tensive co-operation with a Euro­­pean university to date.

Science-Park_2

The university also performs top re­­search in the subject field of “NanoBioMed”, which joins together the specialized dis­ciplines of natural and engineering sciences, bioinformatics, medicine and pharmaceutics.

The university’s establishments at the interfaces of disciplines, such as the Human and Molecular Biology Center or the Center for Bioinformatics, open new perspectives.
Biomedicine is a particular focus in the re­­search and teaching of the Medical Fac­­ulty. Besides this, the Leibniz In­­sti­­tute for New Materials (INM) and the Fraunhofer Institute for Biomedical En­­gineering (IBMT) have already made a name for themselves in the future-oriented research. An effective economic use of know-how has been achieved with the help of the NanoBioNet competence network. Establishments at the interface be­­tween industry and science, such as the Steinbeis-For­­schungs­­zentrum Ma­­te­­rial Engineering Center Saarland (MECS), pro­­vide resilient structures for tech­­no­­lo­­gy transfer. Numerous externally finan­­ced re­­­­search projects proof the quality of scientific work across the entire spectrum of subjects.

Study and research practice
With their outstanding research, Saar­­land University and the on-campus re­­search institutes carry the columns of the scientific location of Saarland.

Research carried out here creates ideas for the economy and counts as a directing engine for the structural transformation of the state. In this way, the crossing-point for knowledge and technology transfer plays a special role. Also here, science and economy in Saar­­land are well-positioned through their long-term experience with cross-border co-operation.

Already during a study course, the university offers wide-spread support for the start of a career or for start-up businesses. Students can test corporate in­­de­­pen­­dence and register in an industry under the lead­­er­­ship of the contact section for science and technology transfer.

As jUNIts (young entrepreneurs in training), they independently work on project assignments of regional companies. Beside this, the Kontaktstelle für Wis­­sens- und Tech­­no­­­­­­logietransfer of the uni­­versity offers start-up companies an own study option and comprehensive course programme.
In, currently, three starter centres, close to 200 newly founded companies have created over a thousand work­­spaces in 13 years. The impressive buildings of the Science Park, in which successful spin-offs can further unfold, highlight promising relations between the university and the state’s economy.

_DSC6258

In the middle of Europe
A pronounced European profile and special relations with France are trademarks of Saarland University. Renowned Europe-related establishments have their home here: the Europa-Institut with world-wide sought after legal and economic sciences foundation study courses, the Centre of France and the Centre juridique franco-allemand.
Studying and researching across borders – Saarland University hopes to reach this target also through its newly-coordinated project “university of joint region”.

A joint further education area with singular study opportunities and re­­search co-operation is being established together with four partner universities in Belgium, Luxembourg and France as well as partners in Rhine­­land-Pa­­la­­ti­­nate.

The university lives from its students, professors and employees. They prove the variety and scientific excellence of the science culture on the Saar.

Linneweber06-bellProf. Dr. phil. habil. Volker Linneweber studied psychology, sociology and ed­­ucational sciences in Münster between 1972 and 1978. After his doctorate and a study placement at the University of California, Irvine, USA, he habilitated at Saarland University in 1991. He taught, among other places, at the Otto-von-Guericke University Magdeburg. Volker Linneweber has been the president of Saarland University since late 2006.

Prof. Dr. Volker Linneweber: Universität des Saarlandes – Grenzen überwinden

Grenzen zu überwinden ist das Signum der Universität des Saar­­lan­­des – Grenzen zwischen Kulturen eben­­­­so wie Barrieren zwischen den Dis­­­­ziplinen oder überkommene Trenn­­li­­nien zwischen Wissenschaft, Wirt­­schaft und Kultur. Mit 15.000 Studierenden, 280 Professorinnen und Professoren sowie 1.200 wissenschaftlichen Mitar­­bei­­te­r­­innen und Mitarbeitern ist der Campus der Universität im Verbund mit großen Forschungseinrichtungen ein einzigartiges kreatives Zentrum.

Spitzenforschung mit Spitzenlehre verbinden
Informatik, die Nano- und Bio­­wissen­­schaf­­ten sowie der Europa-Schwerpunkt bestimmen das Profil der Universität. Die Saarbrücker Informatik ist einer der weltweit führenden Standorte.
Zu ihr gehören neben Forschern der Uni­­versität auch Wissenschaftler der Max-Planck-Institute für Informatik und für Softwaresysteme und des Deutsch­en Forschungszentrums für Künstliche In­­telligenz (DFKI). Als jüngstes Beispiel für erfolgreichen Tech­­no­­lo­­gie­­transfer ist eine neue For­­schungs­­ein­­richtung auf dem Campus zu nennen: Im Mai 2009 wurde das Intel Visual Computing In­­sti­­tute eröffnet. Rund zwölf Millionen US-­Dollar wird die Firma Intel in die bis­­lang umfangreichste Ko­­op­­er­­a­­tion mit einer europäischen Universität investieren.

Science-Park_2

Auch im Themenbereich „NanoBioMed“, der die Fachdisziplinen der Natur- und Ingenieurwissenschaften, der Bio­­in­­for­­ma­­tik, der Medizin und der Pharmazie zu­­sam­­menführt, leistet die Universität Spit­­zenforschung.
Einrichtungen der Universität an den Schnitt­­stellen der Disziplinen, wie das Zen­­trum für Human- und Molekular­­bio­logie oder das Zentrum für Bioinformatik, eröffnen neue Perspektiven. Die Bio­­me­­­­di­­zin ist ein besonderer Schwerpunkt in For­­schung und Lehre der Me­­di­­zin­­i­­sch­­en Fa­­kul­­tät. Außerdem haben sich das Leib­­­­niz-Institut für Neue Materialien (INM) und das Fraunhofer-Institut für Bio­­me­­di­­zinische Technik (IBMT) in dieser zukunft­­s­­­­orientierten Forschung einen Namen ge­­macht. Mithilfe des Kom­­pe­­tenz­­­­netz­­werks NanoBioNet ist eine effektive wirtschaft­­liche Nutzung des Know-hows gelungen. Mit Einrichtungen an der Schnittelle von In­­dustrie und Wissenschaft wie dem Stein­­beis-Forschungszentrum Ma­­terial En­­g­­i­­neering Center Saarland (MECS) gibt es belastbare Strukturen für den Tech­­no­­lo­­gie­­­­transfer. Zahlreiche extern fi­­nan­­zierte Forschungsprojekte belegen im gesamten Fächerspektrum die Qualität der wissenschaftlichen Arbeit.

Praxis in Studium und Forschung
Mit ihrer exzellenten Forschung sind die Universität des Saarlandes und die For­­schungsinstitute auf dem Campus tragende Säulen des Wissen­­schafts­­stand­­orts Saarland.
Die hier geleistete For­­schung schafft Ideen für die Wirt­­schaft, und sie gilt als richtunggebender Motor für den Struk­­turwandel im Land. Dabei nimmt die Kon­­taktstelle für Wissens- und Tech­­no­­lo­­gietransfer eine zentrale Rolle ein. Auch hier sind Wissenschaft und Wirt­­schaft im Saarland durch ihre langjährigen Er­­fahrungen mit grenzüberschreitender Zu­­sammenarbeit gut aufgestellt.

Die Universität bietet schon während des Studiums umfassende Unter­­stüt­­zung für den Berufseinstieg oder die Exis­­tenz­­­gründung. Studierende können unternehmerische Selbst­­stän­­dig­­keit er­­pro­­ben und unter Anleitung der Kon­­takt­­stelle für Wissens- und Tech­­no­­lo­­gie­­­­trans­­fer ein Gewerbe anmelden.
Als jUNIts (junge Un­­ter­­neh­­mer im Training) be­­ar­­beiten sie selbstständig Pro­­­­­­jekt­­auf­­träge von regionalen Unter­­neh­­men.

Außerdem bietet die Kon­­tak­tstelle für Wissens- und Tech­­no­­lo­­gie­transfer der Uni den Existenzgründern ein eigenes Studienangebot und ein umfassendes Kurs­­pro­­gramm an. In mittlerweile drei Starterzentren haben annähernd 200 neu ge­­grün­­dete Firmen in 13 Jahren über tausend Arbeitsplätze geschaffen. Die imposanten Gebäude des Science Parks, in denen sich erfolgreiche Spin-offs weiter entfal­­ten können, unterstreich­­en die chan­­cen­­­­reich­­en Beziehungen zwisch­­en der Uni­­versität und der Wirt­­­­schaft des Lan­­des.

_DSC6258

Mitten in Europa
Das ausgeprägte europäische Profil und die besonderen Beziehungen zu Frank­­reich sind das Markenzeichen der Saar-Universität. Renommierte europabezo­­ge­­ne Einrichtungen haben hier ihren Platz: das Europa-Institut mit weltweit nachgefragten rechts- und wirt­­­schafts­­wissenschaftlichen Auf­­bau­­stu­­dien­­gän­­gen, das Frankreichzentrum und das Cen­­tre juridique franco-allemand.
Grenzüberschreitend Studieren und Forschen – dieses Ziel will die Saar-Uni­­versität auch mit dem von ihr koordinierten neuen Projekt „Universität der Großregion“ verwirklichen.

Ge­­mein­­sam mit vier Partner­­uni­­ver­­si­­tä­­ten in Belgien, Luxemburg und Frankreich so­­wie Partnern in Rheinland-Pfalz entsteht ein gemeinsamer Hochschulraum mit einzigartigen Studienmöglichkeiten und Forschungskooperationen.

Die Universität lebt von ihren Stu­­die­­renden, Professoren und Mitarbeitern. Sie belegen die Vielfalt und wissenschaft­­liche Exzellenz der Wis­­sen­­schafts­­kultur an der Saar.

Linneweber06-bellProf. Dr. phil. habil. Volker Linneweber hat von 1972–1978 in Münster Psy­­cho­­lo­­gie, Soziologie und Erziehungs­wis­­sen­­schaf­­ten studiert. Nach der Pro­mo­tion und einem Studienaufenthalt an der University of Ca­­lifornia at Irvine/USA wurde er 1991 an der Universität des Saarlandes habili­­tiert. Er lehrte unter anderem an der Otto-von-Guericke-Universität Mag­de­burg. Seit En­­de 2006 ist Volker Linneweber Präsident der Universität des Saarlandes.