Prof. Dr. Urs Würgler: Precision with a future – University of Bern focusing on medical technology

Enormous know-how, instinct and a steady hand are among the most important qualities of a good surgeon. However, even the best physician may accidentally score a blood vessel or healthy tissue during an operation. In the future, this risk will be minimized – thanks to cutting-edge software developed by the University of Bern. What may appear as the screen­­play for a futuristic medical drama could soon become reality in hospitals: During an operation, the system measures the positions of the surgical instruments and connects them with a three-dimensional simulation of the organ and its vascular systems. Similar to a GPS, this system allows surgeons to carry out intended treatment steps accurately thanks to improved spatial orientation.
The software was developed by the Institute for Surgical Technology and Biomechanics (ISTB) of the University of Bern in cooperation with the university hospital for visceral and graft surgery of the Inselspital (university hospital) Bern, originally for liver surgery. However, extending it to other organs is conceivable. The “GPS for liver surgery” is exemplary for how future-oriented research achievements assert themselves on the market and lead to sustainable coope­ra­­tion with industrial partners.

1270748938-16

It is no coincidence that the University of Bern is holding a strong position precisely in the field of medical technology. The canton of Bern has been pursuing a cluster strategy for more than ten years. With 227 members and the university and technical college as partners, the medical technology sector represents one of those networks.
In this way, the canton and local alma mater remain faithful to their roots. For, medical technology has a long tradition in the canton of Bern: Already in the 17th century, the famous “medicus and chirurgus” of Bern, Wilhelm Fabry (Hildanus), shaped a sample of the curved knife for a special eye operation. And whenever the Nobel laureate-to-be Theodor Kocher (1841–1917) stepped to the operating table, he would resort to instruments designed by himself and made in Bern.

Co-Me_CMYK

Accurate as clockwork
The list of innovative physicians who have continuously thrived to improve medical devices continues into the pre­­s­­ent – and there were always industrial partners involved in the development process. What is more: Thanks to the legacy of the clock industry along the southern Jura, the canton of Bern has the indispensable know-how in the precision handwork required for medical technology. Certainly one of the most defining figures was the orthopaedist Maurice E. Müller, who was a professor and hospital chief between 1963 and 1980. Already starting in 1958, he and Robert Mathys designed and developed instruments for orthopaedic operations, from 1967 in his own firm, Protek, and in cooperation with Sulzer, the “artificial hip joint”. Maurice E. Müller’s legacy is being maintained at the University of Bern.

The actual medical technology showcase at the University of Bern is the “Artorg Center for Biomedical Engi­neer­­ing Research”. The university founded it in order to promote interdisciplinary co­­operation between the fields of education, research and de­­velopment, innovations and start-ups in the area of organ support technology. The “GPS for liver surgery” mentioned at the start was developed at one of the Artorg Center’s institutes.

The combination of modern imaging tech­­niques and latest findings of anatomical research is one of the centre’s areas of specialization.

1270748963-16-1

This is further demonstrated by a novel technology, which was also developed at the Artorg Center and which enables a hip joint replacement surgeon to po­­si­­tion the socket inexpensively according to a map.

The third dimension
This technology was also developed at the ISTB of the University of Bern, patent pending. For the first time, the developed algorithms allow an exact three-dimensional (3D) reconstruction of the geometry of the human hip based on a conventional, two-­dimen­sional radio­­graph, which is already required for the diagnosis of the hip condition. The additional three-dimen­sional data is generated mathematically from extensive empirical values – render­­­ing expensive computer-tomographic 3D imaging (CT/MRI) and complex navigation systems unnecessary during surgery. Natural gravity is used as the angle reference. Two simple circular levels assist the orthopaedist in controlling the socket insertion. This gives the technology the potential to be utilized in the developing world. In order to market the technology, the ISTB and the Swiss Ortho Clinics are founding the start-up company OrthoCompass.

Brilliant research
The University of Bern has long been very dedicated to and cooperating with the Inselkliniken (university hospitals) university hospitals to research medical technology. The Artorg initiative is ex­­pected to further enhance this aspect. The fact that this dedication is worthwhile is demonstrated not least by the positive echo from the medical techno­­l­ogy companies settled in the canton of Bern to the research accomplishments of the university: In 2009, the two afore­­mentioned examples were distinguished with an innovation prize (first and second place) from Ypsomed, the injection manufacturer of Burgdorf.

rektorProf. Dr. Urs Würgler is Rector of the Uni­­ver­sity of Bern. He studied mathematics, physics and philosophy and obtained a doctorate in 1969. In 1975, he habilitated in mathe­­matics after several years of research work in Heidelberg. From 1991 to 1993, he was dean of the philosophy and natural sciences faculty, from 1994 to 2000, managing director of the mathe­matical institute. From 1996, he was deputy rector of the University of Bern.

Prof. Dr. Urs Würgler: Präzision mit Zukunft – Die Universität Bern setzt auf Medizintechnik

Grosses Know-how, Fingerspitzengefühl und eine ruhige Hand gehören zu den wich­­tigsten Eigenschaften eines guten Chi­­rurgen. Doch auch dem besten Arzt kann es passieren, dass er bei einer Ope­­ration ungewollt Gefässe oder gesundes Gewebe verletzt. Künftig wird dieses Risi­ko minimiert – dank modernster Com­­­pu­ter­­software der Universität Bern. Was wie ein Drehbuch für eine futuristische Ärz­­te­­serie anmutet, könnte schon bald Re­­a­li­­tät in Spitälern werden: Während ei­­ner Operation misst das System die Po­­si­­tio­­nen der chirurgischen Instrumente und verbindet diese mit einer dreidimen­sio­­nalen Simulation des Organs und seiner Gefässsysteme. Dieses Prinzip – ähnlich einem GPS – erlaubt es Chir­ur­gen aufgrund der verbesserten räumlichen Ori­­entierung, geplante Behandlungs­schritte exakt durchzuführen.
Entwickelt wurde die Software am Ins­ti­tut für Chirurgische Technologien und Bio­­mechanik (ISTB) der Universität Bern in Zusammenarbeit mit der Uni­ver­si­täts­­kli­nik für Viszerale und Trans­­­plan­tations­chi­­rurgie des Insel­spi­tals Bern zunächst für die Leberchirurgie. Ei­­ne Erweiterung auf an­­dere Organe ist je­­doch denkbar. Das „GPS für die Le­­ber­­chi­­rurgie“ zeigt ex­­em­plarisch auf, wie sich zukunftsorien­­tierte For­schungs­­leis­tun­gen auf dem Markt be­­haupten und zu nachhaltigen Ko­­­­ope­ra­tio­­nen mit Indus­trie­part­­nern füh­­ren.

1270748938-16

Dass die Universität Bern ge­­rade in der Me­­di­­zintechnik eine starke Posi­tion hält, ist kein Zufall. Der Kanton Bern ver­­folgt seit mehr als zehn Jahren ei­­ne Clus­­ter-Stra­­tegie. Eines dieser Netz­­­wer­ke bil­­det die Medizin­­technik mit 227 Mit­­glie­­dern und der Uni­­ver­­sität und der Fach­­hoch­­schule als Partnern.
Damit blei­­ben der Kan­­­ton und die hiesige Alma ma­­ter ihren Wurzeln treu. Denn die Me­­dizintechnik hat im Kanton Bern eine lan­­ge Tradition: Bereits im 17. Jahr­hun­­dert formte der in Bern wirkende be­­rühm­­te „Me­­­dicus und Chirurgus“ Wilhelm Fa­­bry (Hildanus) für eine spezielle Au­­gen­­ope­ra­­tion ein Muster des gekrümmten Messers. Und immer wenn der spätere Nobel­preis­­träger Theo­­dor Kocher (1841–1917) an den Ope­­ra­­tionstisch trat, griff er zu selbst ent­­­wor­fen­­en Instrumenten aus Berner Pro­­­­­duk­­­­tion.

Co-Me_CMYK

Präzise wie ein Uhrlaufwerk
Die Reihe von innovativen Ärzten, wel­­che die Hilfsinstrumente stetig zu ver­­­­­bes­sern suchten, lässt sich bis in die Ge­­genwart fortsetzen – und stets waren industrielle Partner in den Entwicklungs­­prozess ein­­gebunden. Und: Dank dem Er­­be der Uhr­­en­­industrie am Jura-Süd­bo­gen ver­­fügt der Kanton Bern über Know-how im Prä­­zisions­­­handwerk, das für die Me­­di­­zin­­­tech­­nik unent­­behrlich ist. Eine der prägendsten Figuren war si­­cher­­­­­­lich der Orthopäde Maurice E. Müller, der von 1963 bis 1980 als Professor und Kli­­­­nik­­chef am Inselspital Bern wirkte. Ge­­meinsam mit Robert Mathys entwarf und verwirklichte er bereits ab 1958 Ins­­­­tru­­mente für orthopädische Opera­tio­nen, ab 1967 dann in seiner eigenen Firma Pro­­­­tek und in Zu­­sammenarbeit mit Sulzer das „künstliche Hüftgelenk“. An der Uni­­­­ver­si­­tät Bern wird Maurice E. Müllers Er­­be ge­­pflegt.
Das eigentliche Paradepferd für Me­­di­zin­­tech­­nik an der Universität Bern ist das „Ar­­torg Center for Biomedical Engi­nee­­ring Research“. Die Universität hat es ge­­grün­­det, um die interdisziplinäre Zu­­sam­men­arbeit in den Bereichen Aus­bil­­dung, For­­schung und Entwicklung, In­­no­­vationen und Start-ups im Bereich der Organ-Un­ter­­­­stützungs­­technologie zu för­­dern. Das eingangs er­­wähnte „GPS für die Leber­chi­­rurgie“ wurde an einem Ins­­titut des Ar­­torg Centers entwickelt.

Die Kombination von modernen bildge­ben­­­­den Verfahren mit neuesten Erkennt­nis­sen aus der anatomischen For­schung ist eines der Spezialgebiete des Zen­­t­­rums.
Das zeigt auch eine neuartige, ebenfalls am Artorg Center entwickelte Technik, bei der während Operationen zum Er­­satz des Hüftgelenkes die Pfanne kosten­­güns­­­­tig nach Plan platziert werden kann.

1270748963-16-1

Die dritte Dimension
Diese Technik wurde ebenfalls am ISTB der Universität Bern entwickelt, das Pa­­tent ist hinterlegt. Die entwickelten Al­­­­go­­­­­­­­rithmen erlauben erstmals die genaue drei­­dimen­sionale (3D) Rekonstruktion der Geo­metrie des menschlichen Be­­ckens un­­­­ter Ver­wendung einer normalen, zwei­­di­men­­sionalen Röntgenaufnahme, die be­­­­reits bei der diagnostischen Abklärung der Hüft­beschwerden benötigt wird. Die dreidimensionalen Zu­­satz­­informationen wurden mathe­­ma­tisch auf der Basis umfangreicher Er­­fah­­rungs­­werte kreiert – teure computer­to­mo­­gra­­phische 3D-Aufnahmen (CT/MRI) so­­wie komplexe Navigationssysteme wäh­­rend der Ope­­ration sind dadurch unnötig. Als Winkel­referenz wird die na­­türliche Gra­­­­vi­ta­tion verwendet. Dabei dienen zwei ein­­fache kreisförmige Wasser­­waagen dem Orthopäden als Kon­trolle beim Ein­schla­­­gen der Pfanne. Da­­mit hat diese Tech­­nik auch ein Ein­satz­po­tenzial in Ent­­wick­­lungs­­ländern. Zur Ver­­­mark­tung der Tech­no­lo­­gie gründen derzeitig das ISTB und die Swiss Ortho Cli­nics das Start-up-Unter­­neh­­men Ort­ho­Com­­pass.

Ausgezeichnete Forschung
Die Universität Bern betreibt in Zu­­sam­­men­­arbeit mit den Inselkliniken seit Lan­­­­gem mit grossem Engagement For­schun­­­­gen im Bereich der Medizin­tech­nik. Durch die Artorg-Initiative soll dieser Bereich weiter gestärkt werden. Dass sich dieses En­­gage­­ment lohnt, zeigt nicht zuletzt das gute Echo der im Kanton Bern an­­säs­­si­­gen Medizintech­nik­­unter­neh­men auf die For­­schungsleis­tun­gen der Uni­­versität: Die beiden er­­wähnten Beispiele wurden im Jahr 2009 mit einem Inno­va­­tions­­preis (erster und zweiter Platz) des Burg­dorfer Injek­tions­­un­ter­neh­mens Ypsomed ausgezeichnet.

rektorProf. Dr. Urs Würgler (Jahrgang 1945) ist Rektor der Universität Bern. Er hat Mathe­matik, Phy­­sik und Philosophie studiert, wurde 1969 promoviert und habilitier­te 1975 für das Fach Mathe­ma­­tik. Ab 1979 war er als voll­amt­­licher Extraordinarius, ab 1990 dann als Ordinarius in Bern tätig. 1991–1993 war er De­­kan der Phil.-nat. Fa­­kultät, 1994–2000 ge­­schäfts­füh­­render Direktor des Mathe­­ma­­ti­schen Ins­­tituts. Seit 1996 wirk­t er als Vize­rektor dann als Rektor der Universität Bern.