Prof. Dr. Udo Steffens: Designing a dynamic science landscape for the financial centre

“Europe needs a dynamic Germany! Who, if not Germany, along with France, should play the leading role?” This appeal was not part of the remarkable inaugural address in Berlin by Anshu Jain, the new Co-Chair­­man of Deutsche Bank – rather it was con­­tained in the manuscript of the first key­­­note economic policy address by Josef Ackermann, Jain’s predecessor, held in Frankfurt in early 2003. Then as now, Ger­­­­many was criticised, however, under com­­­pletely different signs. At the beginning of Ackermann’s tenure, the “German disease” was spreading: Germany’s weak eco­­nomic growth was regarded as dan­­­­gerous for Europe and the world economy. “We are no longer consid­ered to be the political and economic power­­­­­­house, but are regarded quasi as the third-generation Budden­­brooks, as ‘the next Japan’”, said Acker­­­mann nearly ten years ago. Back then, how­­­­ever, the financial centre Frankfurt was still a heavyweight.

Today, Germany is once again Europe’s driving force. However, the federal govern­­ment is under fire for its austerity meas­ures during the euro crisis. In the on­­-go­ing competition for companies and in­­stitutions, junior professionals and ex­­­pe­­rienced experts, managers and scholars, the financial centre Frankfurt is not only competing against London, Paris or New York, but also against Asia’s ambitious metro­­politan regions. The city and region needs, now more than ever before, a per­­formance-oriented, dynamic education and research landscape. After all, the intel­­­lectual potential is perhaps the most fun­­da­­mental characteristic of a successful financial centre.

FS-1109_09983-Kopie

Frankfurt has benefited for many years from its knowledge infrastructure. The metropolis on the Main river is a know­­ledge hub thanks to the Goethe Univer­­sity and the House of Finance, the Uni­­ver­­sity of Applied Sciences Frankfurt and the Frankfurt School of Finance & Man­a­­ge­ment. The University of Mannheim, the WHU-Otto Beisheim School of Manage­­ment in Koblenz-Vallendar, the Euro­­pean Business School (EBS) and the Wies­­ba­­den University of Applied Sciences all contribute to strengthening the city and region. However, the responsibility of a busi­­ness school for the location goes bey­­ond merely training highly qualified junior professionals. We see ourselves as a think tank, as a link between theory and prac­­tice, as a magnet for high potentials, for experienced managers and renowned scho­­lars. We unite people from different realms, think through issues and problems in an international context and deal with principle questions related to the future.

That is why the Frankfurt School of Finance & Management and its teaching, research, consulting and services always have a reference to business: we open new edu­­cation and career opportunities for skilled and management professionals with speci­­f­­ic university study programmes. Man­a­gers from around the world take advantage of our Executive Education Programme in Frankfurt and, increasingly, at com­­pany locations in India, China and the aspiring countries in Africa.

We see ourselves as the constructive spar­­ring partner for business in our develop­­ment of new education programmes and formats in addition to new research pro­­jects. We adapt to market developments and demands at an early stage: that is why we have introduced certification cour­­­ses for financing renewable energy resou­­r­­ces and for compliance. We have de­vi­­sed a Master of Risk & Regulation Mana­­ge­­ment together with the Frankfurter Insti­­tute of Risk Management and Regulation (FIRM). We also reacted early on to the les­­sons learned during the financial crisis by establishing the Bachelor of Mana­­ge­ment, Philosophy & Economics. We are now organising the Finance Futures Lab at the Frankfurt School of Finance & Management – a new think tank in which our professors will work together with scholars from other universities and with representatives from the practice to ana­­lyse recent financial and economic crises and derive scenarios for the future from them. One thing appears perfectly clear – something must happen and we must think ahead because future players also want change.

FS-1109_10243-Vorschau-Kopie

In many discussions, including with young peo­­ple and students, I sense the desire for clear regulations and, above all, clarity; but also a desire for an ideal banking world in which major and state banks no longer have to admit to billions in shortfalls and questionable transactions, such as hap­­pened with the Spanish Bankia, which overstretched itself with unsecured mort­­gage loans, or the British Barclays, who manipulated the world’s most important commercial interest rate, the Libor, or the US subsidiary of Standard Chartered whose illegal transactions with Iran became public. The financial crisis has long become a crisis of nations, as the world community has been unable to establish confidence in the financial sector since the Lehman collapse. However, confidence in people and institutions is decisive for a function­ing financial market. Confidence is also the basis of our numerous projects and initiatives we have been carrying out in developing and threshold countries since 1992. Many people there are denied ac­­cess to the formal banking and finance sectors. They are too poor. Doing business with them is not profitable for banks. How­­ever, these people are receiving access to financial products as part of the develop­­ment financing, which makes development and education possible for them and their families. We are active in the development and climate financing on all continents as part of the Development Finance Cluster, which Frankfurt represents along with KfW, GIZ, ProCredit and Gopa: nearly 100 ex­­perts have the responsibility for consulting and training mandates to establish local banking and financial systems. The port­­folio is completed by cooperation with the Université Protestante au Congo (UPC) in the Congolese capital of Kinshasa, where we organise a Master in Microfinance, as well as through the intensifying of Devel­­opment Finance in the Master of Finance at the Frankfurt campus. This project gives young people the opportunity to combine an interesting job with the goal of sustain­­ably improving the standard of living of the people in the developing countries.

We also use our vast experience for con­­­sul­­ting mandates for issues related to ener­­gy efficiency and renewable energies, pri­ma­­rily when mobilising investments in develo­­ping and threshold countries or developing cost-efficient tools for reducing CO2 emissions. Executive education pro­­gram­­mes and certification courses complete our offer. Together with the United Nations En­­vironment Programme (UNEP), we laun­ched the UNEP Collaborating Cen­­tre for Climate & Sustainable Energy Fi­­nance in July 2011. Scholars and consultants dedic­­ate themselves to the financing of rene­­wable energies in research, teaching and consulting. To this end, the Centre works together with financial in­­stitutions to de­­­velop technical expertise and innovative financing approaches for companies and consumers. It is closely tied to faculty as well as ongoing research and is establish­­ing itself as a think tank.

FS-1109_09978-KopieIn light of global competition, it is im­­port­ant to secure and expand Frankfurt’s posi­­tion as continental Europe’s most im­­portant financial centre. The European benchmark for the Frankfurt School of Finance & Man­a­­gement is London, which is renowned for its numerous competing, internationally ack­­­nowledged academic organisations, uni­­­versities and business schools. The London School of Eco­nomics, the London Business School, Ashridge and Cass, and their success in respective ran­­­kings document the strength of the British capital.

German universities and business schools are only a minor factor in this international education industry. The Hessen state go­­v­ernment has launched a trend-setting ini­­tiative with its support of the Goethe Uni­­versity and the House of Finance, which pro­­­­­motes and supports companies and patrons in the financial centre. However, greater efforts are required.

I am convinced that a strong economic na­­­tion such as Germany and sectors, such as banking and financial, which emphasise innovation and creativity, re­­­quire a dyna­mic academic landscape which plays an outstanding role in in­­ternational compe­­tition. The Frank­­furt School of Finance & Management is well prepared for such com­­petition. All players in the financial centre of Frank­­furt – government, business, asso­­cia­­tions, foundations, research and edu­­cation, NGOs – should work together in promoting it and filling it with life.

1T9K1978-KopieThe author is president of the Frankfurt School of Finance & Mana­­­gement. He stu­­d­ied economics, business edu­­ca­tion and political sciences. Steffens was a lecturer at the University of Applied Sci­­ences Wil­­helmshaven and ma­­na­­ged development projects in Togo and Ca­­­meroon. Along with other positions, he is president of the Frankfurt Institut für Risiko­manage­ment und Re­­gu­­lierung (FIRM).

Prof. Dr. Udo Steffens: Eine dynamische Wissenschaftslandschaft für den Finanzplatz gestalten

„Europa braucht ein dynamisches Deu­tsch­­­­­land! Wer, wenn nicht Deutschland, sollte – im Konzert mit Frankreich – die Führungsrolle einnehmen?“ Dieser Aufruf stand nicht etwa in der bemerkenswerten Berliner Antrittsrede von Anshu Jain, dem neuen Co-Chef der Deutschen Bank ­– son­­dern im Manuskript der ersten großen wirtschaftspolitischen Grundsatzrede von Josef Ackermann, Jains Vorgänger, die dieser Anfang des Jahres 2003 in Frank­­furt hielt. Damals wie heute stand Deu­tsch­­­­land in der Kritik – unter völlig an­­deren Vorzeichen. Zu Beginn von Acker­­manns Amtszeit grassierte die „German Disease“: Das schwache Wachstum der Bundes­­republik galt als gefährlich für Europa und die Weltwirtschaft. „Wir werden nicht mehr als politische und wirtschaftliche Lokomotive wahrgenommen, sondern gleich­­­­sam als Buddenbrooks der dritten Generation, als ‘the next Japan.’“, sagte Ackermann vor fast zehn Jahren. Der Finanzplatz Frankfurt war damals aller­­dings noch ein Schwergewicht.

Heute ist Deutschland wieder Europas Lokomotive. Doch die Bundesregierung steht ob ihres Spardiktats in der Euro-Krise unter Beschuss. Und im Wettbewerb um Unternehmen und Institutionen, um Nachwuchskräfte und erfahrene Experten, um Manager und Wissenschaftler konkur­­riert der Finanzplatz Frankfurt nicht mehr nur mit London, Paris oder New York sondern zusätzlich mit den aufstrebenden Metropolregionen Asiens. Mehr denn je brauchen Stadt und Region deshalb eine leistungsorientierte, dynamische Bildungs- und Forschungslandschaft. Schließlich ist das intellektuelle Potenzial das vielleicht konstitutive Merkmal eines erfolgreichen Finanzplatzes.

FS-1109_09983-KopieFrankfurt profitiert seit Jahren von seiner Wissensinfrastruktur. Die Main­metro­pole ist ein Knowledge Hub, dank der Goethe-­Universität und des House of Finance, der Fachhochschule Frankfurt und der Frank­­furt School of Finance & Management. Auch die Universität Mannheim, die WHU in Koblenz-Vallendar, die ebs und die Fach­­hochschule Wiesbaden stärken Stadt und Region. Die Verantwortung einer Business School für den Standort erschöpft sich allerdings nicht darin, hochqualifizierten Nachwuchs auszubilden. Wir verstehen uns als Think Tank, als Bindeglied zwischen Theorie und Praxis, als Magnet für High Potentials, für erfahrene Führungs­­kräfte und renommierte Wissenschaftler. Wir brin­­g­en Menschen aus verschiedenen Sphären zusammen, durchdenken Pro­blem­­stellungen im internationalen Kontext und setzen uns mit zentralen Zukunfts­fragen auseinander.

An der Frankfurt School haben Lehre, For­­schung, Beratung und Services deshalb immer auch einen Business-Bezug: Fach- und Führungskräften ebnen wir mit spe­­zifischen Hochschulstudiengängen neue Bildungs- und Karrierewege. Manager aus der ganzen Welt nutzen unsere Exe­­cutive Education-Programme in Frankfurt und immer öfter auch an Unternehmens­­standorten in Indien, China oder den auf­­strebenden Ländern Afrikas.

Bei der Entwicklung neuer Bildungs­pro­gramme und -formate sowie neuer For­­schungsprojekte verstehen wir uns als kon­­struktiver Sparringspartner der Wirt­­schaft. Wir stellen uns frühzeitig auf die Entwicklungen und Anforderungen der Märkte ein: So haben wir Zertifikats­stu­diengänge zur Finanzierung Erneuerbarer Energien und zu Compliance eingeführt. Mit dem Frankfurter Institute of Risk Ma­n­­­age­­ment (FIRM) haben wir einen Master of Risk & Regulation Management konzipiert. Auch mit dem Bachelor of Man­­agement, Philosophy & Economics haben wir frühzeitig auf die Lehren aus der Fi­­nanzkrise reagiert. Jetzt organisieren wir das Finance Futures Lab an der Frank­­furt School – ein neuer Think Tank, in dem unsere Professoren gemeinsam mit Wis­­senschaftlern anderer Hochschulen und Praxisvertretern jüngste Finanz- und Wirt­­schaftskrisen analysieren und Zukunfts­­szenarien ableiten werden. Es muss sich etwas bewegen und weiter gedacht werden – soviel scheint klar. Denn auch die zukünftigen Akteure wollen die Ver­­änderung.

FS-1109_10243-Vorschau-KopieIn vielen Gesprächen, auch mit jungen Menschen und Studenten, spüre ich eine Sehnsucht nach klaren Regeln und vor allem nach Übersichtlichkeit; auch eine Sehnsucht nach einer heilen Banken­welt, in der Groß- und Landesbanken nicht mehr Milliardenlöcher oder unsaubere Geschäfte einräumen müssen, wie die spanische Bankia, die sich an faulen Im­­mobilienkrediten verhob, die britische Bar­­clays, die den wichtigsten kommerziellen Zinssatz weltweit, den Libor, mani­­pulierte, oder die US-Tochter der Standard Chartered, deren illegale Geschäfte mit Iran aufflogen. Die Finanzkrise ist längst zu einer Staatenkrise ausgewachsen, weil es der Staatengemeinschaft seit dem Lehman-Kollaps bis heute nicht gelungen ist, das Vertrauen in den Finanzsektor wieder herzustellen. Doch Vertrauen in Menschen und Institutionen ist entschei­­dend für einen funktionierenden Finanz­markt; Vertrauen ist auch die Basis unserer zahlreichen Projekte und Initiativen, die wir seit 1992 in Entwicklungs- und Schwellenländern durchführen. Vielen Menschen dort ist der Zugang zum for­­malen Bank- und Finanzwesen verwehrt. Sie sind zu arm. Das Geschäft mit ihnen rechnet sich für Banken nicht. Im Rahmen der Entwicklungsfinanzierung erhalten diese Menschen jedoch Zugang zu Finanz­­produkten, die ihnen und ihren Familien Entwicklung und Bildung ermöglichen. Als Teil des Development Finance-Cluster, das Frankfurt etwa mit der KfW, GIZ, ProCredit und Gopa bildet, wirken wir in der Entwicklungs- und auch Klima­finan­zierung auf allen Kontinenten: Rund 100 Experten übernehmen Beratungs- und Trainingsmandate, um Bank- und Finanz­systeme vor Ort aufzubauen. Eine Koope­­ration mit der Université Protestante au Congo (UPC) in der kongolesischen Haupt­­stadt Kinshasa, wo wir einen Master in Microfinance organisieren, sowie die Ver­­tiefung Development Finance im Finance-­­Master auf dem Frankfurter Campus runden das Portfolio ab. Das Projekt eröffnet jungen Talenten die Möglichkeit, einen in­­teressanten Job mit dem Anspruch zu verbinden, die Lebensumstände der Men­­schen in Entwicklungsländern nachhaltig zu verbessern.

Unsere breite Erfahrung nutzen wir auch für Beratungsmandate zu Fragen der Ener­­­gieeffizienz und Erneuerbaren Energien, vor allem, wenn es darum geht, Investi­tio­nen in Entwicklungs- und Schwellen­län­dern zu mobilisieren oder kosteneffiziente Instrumente zur CO2-Reduktion zu entwickeln. Executive Education-Pro­gram­me sowie ein Zertifikatsstudiengang kom­­plettieren unser Angebot. Gemeinsam mit dem Umweltprogramm der Verein­ten Nationen (United Nations Environ­ment Programm – UNEP) haben wir im Juli 2011 das UNEP Collaborating Cen­­tre Climate & Sustainable Energy Finance eröffnet. Wissenschaftler und Berater widmen sich der Finanzierung Erneuer­barer Energien in Forschung, Lehre und Beratung. Das Centre arbeitet dafür mit Finanzinstitutionen zusammen, um tech­­nisches Know-how sowie innovative Finan­­­zierungsansätze für Unternehmen und Endverbraucher zu entwickeln. Es ist eng mit der Fakultät und laufender For­sch­ung verzahnt und etabliert sich als Think Tank.

FS-1109_09978-KopieIm globalen Wettbewerb gilt es, Frank­furts Position als Kontinentaleuropas wich­­tigster Finanzplatz zu sichern und auszubauen. Eine europäische Benchmark für die Frankfurt School ist London, das sich durch eine Vielzahl miteinander im Wett­­bewerb stehender international sicht­­ba­­rer Wissen­schaftsorgani­sationen, Hoch­schulen und Business Schools aus­­zeichnet. So do­­kumentieren allein die Lon­­don School of Economics, die London Busi­­ness School, Ashridge und Cass mit ihren Platzie­rungen in entsprechenden Rankings die Stärke der britischen Haupt­­stadt.

In dieser internationalen Education Indus­­try kommen deutsche Unis und Busi­ness Schools so gut wie nicht vor. Die hessische Landesregierung hat mit der Förderung der Goethe-Universität und mit dem House of Finance eine richtungs­­weisende Initiative angestoßen, die Un­­ter­­­nehmen und Mäzene am Finanzplatz fördern und unterstützen. Doch die Be­­mühungen reichen nicht aus.

Ich bin überzeugt, dass eine starke Wirt­­schafts­­nation wie Deutschland und eine auf Inno­­vationen und Kreativität setzende Bran­­che wie die Bank- und Finanz­­wirtschaft eine dynamische Wissen­schafts­­land­schaft benötigt, die im internationalen Wett­be­werb eine herausragende Rolle spielt. Die Frankfurt School ist ge­­rüstet für einen solchen Wettbewerb. Alle Akteure am Fi­­nanz­­platz Frankfurt – Politik, Wirtschaft, Verbände, Stiftungen, Wissenschaft und Bildung, Nicht-Re­­gie­­rungs­organisa­tio­nen – sollten gemeinsam daran arbeiten, sollten ihn befördern und mit Leben füllen.

1T9K1978-KopieDer Autor ist Präsident der Frankfurt School of Finance & Manage­­ment und lehrt All­­ge­­meine BWL. Er hat Wirt­schafts­­wissen­schaften, Wirtschaftspädagogik und Poli­­­tik­­wissenschaften studiert. Steffens war Lehrbeauftragter der FH Wilhelms­haven und hat Entwicklungsprojekte in Togo und Kamerun gemanagt. Neben weiteren Fun­­k­­tionen ist er Präsident des Frankfurter Ins­­tituts für Risiko­manage­ment und Re­­gu­­lierung FIRM.