Prof. Dr. Till Opatz: Learning from Nature – New materials and active ingredients from natural sources

Scientists at Mainz University find inspiration in natural products and are investigating new substances and sustainable production processes.

The biosphere is an inexhaustible source of inspiration for organic chemists. Billions of years of evolution have produced complex molecules, which often play a well-defined role in the organism that generated them by protecting their producer from infections or predators. Natural products and compounds derived from or inspired by them have not only proven to be successful in the pharmaceuticals industry but are also used for crop protection and as food preservatives.

At the Rhineland-Palatinate Natural Products Research Centre at the Johannes Gutenberg University of Mainz, the detailed molecular structure of previously unknown natural products is being investigated using modern spectroscopic techniques. This information may prove to be the starting point for chemical synthesis, as such substances isolated from natural materials often cannot be obtained in sufficient quantities. With knowledge of the biological effect of these substances, provided by collaboration partners such as the Institute of Biotechnology and Drug Research (IBWF), so-called structure-activity relationships are being obtained, which sometimes even permit the identification of  the effectiveness of essential structural elements. In addition, the molecular structure often permits to draw conclusions on how the producing organism has synthesised the substance.

Besides the synthesis of the actual natural product, related compounds are also produced chemically. These are also evaluated for their biological effectiveness. At the same time, the synthetic chemists must develop new processes in order to re-create the often complex molecular architecture, which means that nature serves as a source of inspiration in several respects at the same time.

The topic of the search for active substances in and with nature combines chemistry with pharmaceuticals, medicine and biol­ogy and is of great interest to students. Numerous new pharmaceutical principles have already been developed, for example with regard to anti-inflammatory natural substances from fungi. Several patents in the field of pest control have already been submitted for registration in cooperation with industry.

 

Another similarly interesting aspect of natural products was introduced by the Chemical Biomedicine Initiative at the Institute for Organic Chemistry and the Faculty of Medicine of Johannes Gutenberg University (Prof. Roland Stauber). Both are supported by the Carl Zeiss Foundation. In this case, the search for new bioactive substances from nature produced innovative approaches to the alternative use of natural raw materials which can be used both to synthesise pharmaceutically active substances and for the resource-friendly production of materials and specialty chemicals substances. In cooperation with researchers from the USA and South Africa, these approaches are now being developed in Mainz.

While traditional synthetic chemistry uses fossil carbon sources such as petroleum, natural gas and coal almost exclusively, wood as a renewable raw material offers a largely unexploited potential. Today, an important group of chemicals – the so-called aromatic compounds – are usually produced from petro-chemicals such as petroleum; how­ever, they are also contained in a modified form in the wood of coniferous and decidous trees. While petroleum products can be converted to this form, this requires the very complex, re-introduction of structural elements which have disappeared over millions of years from the former biomass. However, it is precisely this particular form – that is similar to wood’s ingredients – which forms the structural basis of many natural products.

Thus, the team of researchers of Professor Till Opatz in Mainz, together with Professor A. J. Arduengo III and his team of researchers from the University of Tuscaloosa, Alabama (USA), succeeded in 2016 in first synthesising the natural substance Ilicifolin B, which is potentially active against cancer cells. In contrast to conventional practice, basic fossil materials were not used; instead, the molecular structure of this natural product from a South American shrub was constructed using solely wood-based, and hence renewable, raw materials. A similar successful approach was implemented for a morphine-related painkiller, which is normally obtained from opium poppies.

This new approach, which – similar to the term “petrochemistry” – may be referred to as xylochemistry (from the Greek “xylos” meaning “wood”), makes further processes possible. Recently – again in close cooperation between Mainz and Tus­ca­­­­loosa – light­­fast textile dyes and plastics were produced using xylochemical methods without utilising fossil resources. Xylochemical approaches thus form a bridge from natural products chemistry to the material sciences and open up numerous other areas of use. For example, the large-scale production of key components of automotive paints may prove to be a rewarding target, as may be the production of stabilisers, softeners and optical brighteners. This could open up new possibilities of environmentally friendly and CO2-neutral production of interest to domestic industry.

Prof. Dr. Till Opatz
Till Opatz was born in 1973. He studied chemistry in Frankfurt am Main before completing a doctorate at the Johannes Gutenberg University of Mainz. After a period in the Netherlands, he completed his professorial “Habilitation” thesis in Mainz and initially took up a professorship in Hamburg before returning to Mainz in 2010. Since then he has headed the Rhineland-Palatinate Natural Products Research Centre.

Prof. Dr. Till Opatz: Von der Natur lernen – Neue Werk- und Wirkstoffe aus natürlichen Quellen

Wissenschaftler der Universität Mainz lassen sich von Naturstoffen inspirieren und erforschen neue Substanzen und nachhaltige Produktionsverfahren.

Die be­­lebte Na­­tur stellt eine geradezu uner­­schöpfliche Quelle der Ins­­pi­­ration für organische Chemiker dar. Jahrmilliarden der Evolution haben komplexe Moleküle hervorgebracht, die oft eine wohl­­definierte Rolle in dem sie produzierenden Organis­­mus spielen, indem sie ihren Produzenten etwa vor Infektionen oder vor Fressfeinden schützen. Naturstoffe und von ihnen abgeleitete oder inspirierte Verbindungen haben sich nicht nur in der Pharmaindustrie als überdurchschnittlich erfolgreich erwiesen, sie finden auch Anwendung im Pflanzenschutz oder für die Haltbarmachung von Lebensmitteln.

Im Rahmen des Naturstoffzentrums Rheinland-Pfalz werden an der Johannes Gutenberg-Universität Mainz bislang unbekannte Naturstoffe in ihrer detaillierten molekularen Struktur mit modernen spektroskopischen Verfahren aufgeklärt. Diese Informationen können den Ausgangspunkt für die chemische Synthese darstellen, da die aus der Natur isolierten Subs­tanzen oftmals nicht in ausreichender Menge zu gewinnen sind. In Kombination mit Kenntnissen über die biologische Wirkung der Substanzen seitens der Kooperationspartner wie etwa dem Institut für Biotechnologie und Wirkstoff-Forschung (IBWF) können erste sogenannte Struktur-Wirkungs-Beziehungen auf­­gestellt werden, die manchmal schon die Identifizierung für die Wirksamkeit essenzieller Strukturelemente erlauben. Zudem lässt die Molekülstruktur oft Rückschlüsse darauf zu, wie der produzierende Organismus die Substanz erzeugt hat.

Neben der Synthese des eigentlichen Naturstoffes werden auch verwandte Verbindungen auf chemischem Wege erzeugt, die wiederum auf ihre biologische Wirksamkeit getestet werden. Gleichzeitig müssen die Synthesechemiker neue Ver­fahren entwickeln, um die oftmals komplizierten Molekülarchitek­turen der Naturstoffe nachbauen zu können, so dass die Natur gleich in mehrfacher Hinsicht als Quelle der Inspiration dient.

Das Themengebiet der Wirkstoffsuche in und mit der Natur verbindet den Bereich der Chemie mit der Pharmazie, der Medizin und der Biologie und ist von hoher Attraktivität für die Studenten. Es konnten schon zahlreiche neue Wirkprin­zipien er­­arbeitet werden, etwa im Hinblick auf entzündungshemmende Naturstoffe aus Pilzen. Im Bereich Pflanzenschutz wurden be­­reits mehrere Patente gemeinsam mit der Industrie angemeldet.

Einen anderen interessanten Aspekt der Naturstoffe brachte die von der Carl-Zeiss-Stiftung geförderte Initiative Chemische Bio­­medizin am Institut für Organische Chemie und der Uni­­ver­si­­täts­­medizin der Johannes Gutenberg-Universität (Prof. Roland Stauber) ein, die in einem ähnlichen Themenbereich angesiedelt ist. Hier­bei ergaben sich aus der Suche nach neuen Wirk­­stoffen aus der Natur innovative Ansätze zur alternativen Nut­­zung natür­licher Rohstoffe, die zur Synthese pharmazeutischer Wirk­stoffe, aber auch für die ressourcen­­schonende Herstellung von Werk- und Effekt­­stoffen dienen können. In Kooperation mit Forschern aus den USA und Südafrika werden diese Ansätze nun in Mainz bearbeitet.

Während die traditionelle Synthesechemie fast ausschließlich fossile Kohlenstoffquellen wie Erdöl, Erdgas oder Steinkohle nutzt, bietet Holz als nachwach­­sender Rohstoff ein bislang kaum genutztes Potenzial. Eine wichtige Gruppe von Verbin­dungen, die sogenannten Aromaten, werden heute in der Regel auf petrochemischem Wege aus Erdöl erzeugt, sind aber in einer abgewandelten Form auch im Holz von Nadel- und Laubbäumen enthalten. Erdölpro­dukte können zwar in diese Form umgewandelt werden, dies erfordert aber die recht aufwändige erneute Einführung von Strukturelementen, die im Laufe von Jahrmillionen aus der früheren Biomasse verschwunden sind. Genau diese be­­sondere, den Holzinhaltsstoffen ähnliche Form ist es jedoch, die die strukturelle Grundlage vieler Naturstoffe darstellt.

So gelang den Mainzer Forschern um Professor Till Opatz in Zusammenarbeit mit einem Forscherteam um Professor A. J. Arduengo III, von der Universität Tuscaloosa, Alabama (USA), im vergangenen Jahr, die erste Synthese des potenziell gegen Tumorzellen wirksamen Naturstoffes Ilicifolin B. Anders als sonst üblich, wurde bei der Synthese nicht mehr auf die fossilen Ausgangsmaterialien zurückgegriffen, sondern das Molekülgerüst dieses Naturstoffes aus einem südamerikanischen Strauch wurde ausschließlich unter Verwendung holzbasierter und damit nachwachsender Rohstoffe aufgebaut. Gleiches gelang für ein mit dem Morphin verwandtes Schmerzmittel, das sonst über Opium aus dem Schlafmohn gewonnen wird.

Dieser neue Ansatz, der in Anlehnung an den Begriff Petrochemie als „Xylochemie“ (greich. xylos = Holz) bezeichnet werden kann, ermöglicht aber noch weitere Verfahren. Jüngst konnten, abermals in enger Zusammenarbeit zwischen Mainz und Tuscaloosa, lichtechte Textilfarbstoffe sowie Kunststoffe erzeugt werden, die auf xylochemischem Wege und ohne Verwendung fossiler Ressourcen erhalten wurden. Xylochemische Ansätze schlagen somit eine Brücke aus der Naturstoffchemie in den Be­­reich der Materialwissenschaften und eröffnen zahlreiche weitere Anwendungsfelder. So könnte etwa die großtechnische Produktion zentraler Komponenten von Autolacken ein lohnendes nächstes Ziel sein, ebenso wie die Herstellung von Stabilisatoren, Weichmachern oder optischen Auf­hellern. Damit könnten neue Möglichkeiten zur umweltschonenden und CO2-neutralen Produktion erschlossen werden, die für die heimische Wirtschaft attraktiv sind.

Prof. Dr. Till Opatz
Till Opatz (Jahrgang 1973) hat in Frankfurt/M. Chemie studiert und 2001 an der Johannes Gutenberg-Universität promoviert. Nach einem Auslandsaufenthalt in den Niederlanden fertigte er seine Habilitation in Mainz an und wechselte 2007 zunächst auf eine Professur nach Hamburg, bevor er 2010 wieder nach Mainz zurückkehrte. Seitdem leitet er das Naturstoffzentrum Rheinland-Pfalz.