Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Peter Scharff: The Technical University of Ilmenau – Knowledge base for modern technology

“There is no such thing as a national science, just as there is no such thing as a national multiplication table; if something is national, it is no longer a science”. This phrase was coined by the Russian narrator Anton Chekhov long before the encountering of internationalization and international competition. He appropriately de­­s­cribed the self-conception of universities; he set a concise perspective of science that does not want to degenerate into lifeless textbook knowl­­edge. This is also the way forward for the TU Ilme­nau.
Universities can influence and advance the scientific development of a region, state or country. A country like the Re­­­­public of Germany, which is poor in raw materials, can ultimately only through research and development bring products on the market which through their sales ensure new jobs and prosperity. Today it is debatable whether economic structural policies can in fact be successfully operated through the establishment of universities. This is surely not a matter of course; a university on a green pasture does not necessarily also lead to industrial settlement. However, universities can certainly support structural transformation as shown in other regions.

Besides other hard and soft location factors the university profile is, especially in innovative research, decisive for an industrial environment. This a­­­gain results in a qualitatively attractive education:
• Innovative research is the link to economics; it can lead to settlement
• Qualitatively outstanding teaching creates a highly qualified labour force; this can be another cause for industrial settlement.


ari-Studenten3

With the implementation of new educational programmes ten years ago, the TU Ilmenau carried out a notable profile extension. A profile determining factor are the engineering sciences pro­­grammes; the existing natural sciences technical and economic components are complemented by further interdisciplinary study courses with na­­­tural science focal points (for example technical physics, materials technology, mechatronics) or with econo­m­ic and social science focal points (me­­dia economics and applied media tech­nology).
One of the central responsibilities in the area of teaching is the implementation of the Bologna Process. In 2004 it was decided to, as quickly as possible, carry out the implementation of the Bachelor and Masters degrees as well as the simultaneous cancellation of the diploma study programmes.

The development of a sustainable quality management system was started for the following primary processes: strategy and management, teaching and study courses as well as research. Internal and external efficiency controls are fixed components for the as­­sessment of quality education and re­­search. The possibilities that were currently in use at the TU for the evaluation of teaching and research have now been combined together in one system.

Research is the foundation of lively university teaching and further education and is used for the training of the next generation of academics and the further education of the university staff. Basic and applied research right through to the practical application and transfer into the economy is groomed and promoted at the TU Ilmenau.
The TU Ilmenau occupies leading na­­tional and international positions in basic re­­search as well as applied re­­search for certain competence fields. A high de­gree of competence is achie­ved through stra­­tegic new appointments, a well-directed scientific infrastructure development and the technical-technological environment, ensuring academic latitude in teaching and research. This also contributes to­­wards the increase in international stan­­d­­ing as well as the visible rise in the num­ber of students. The interdisciplinary col­l­aboration, the overlapping of faculty cooperation and the grouping of competencies into competitive research fo­­cal points are the formative characteristics of the university.

 

BlickzumCampus

Focal point 1:
Micro- and nano-systems
Focal point 2:
Stationary and mobile intelligent systems
Focal point 3:
Innovative communication and media systems

The German Research Foundation (DFG) has given the university recognition for the above-mentioned developments through full membership admission in 2004.
The scientific core of the first research focal point is the scientific Institute for Micro- and Nanotech­no­logies (IMN), with the cooperation of about 30 per cent of all the university departments. A specific expression of scientific performance is shown by the special re­­search area 622 “nano measuring and positioning systems”, which was established in 2002 and has al­­ready been evaluated with a positive out­­come and granted a further work term.

A special development is experienced within the nano engineering division in the following fields of competence: nano sensor technology, nano electronics, functionalized peripherics and micro fluidics/ bio sensory engineering. Both last-mentioned focal points are attended to by junior research groups which belong to the “Macro-Nano” centre of innovative excellence.

The “precision technology and precision measuring technology” field of competence is undergoing a particular drive through the high industry interest and has ultimately found expression through an endowed professorship commencing in 2007.

The highly successful work of the DFG research group Magnetofluiddynamics, in the area of basic research has created the base for the setting of further focal points. All the researchers in the before-mentioned areas of micro and nanotechnology work in an excellently equipped centre for micro and nano­technology – it comprises the essential conditions necessary for successful scientific activity.

 


Ilmenauer-Studentenfernsehen-ISTUFF

In the second research focal point of the TU, the “stationary and mobile in­­telligent systems” has developed its main focus in consideration of the re­­search field “intelligent assistance systems for the domestic environment, medical care and therapy as well as individual mobility”. Noteworthy here is the scientific activity relating to systems theory, robotics, medical technology and human-machine interface.

Specific multidisciplinary fields of ap­­plication are very distinctive and scientifically successful in the biomedical technology and automotive engineering fields. A further research field with strategic significance is the “power en­­gineering, power systems technology and mechatronics” section. The epi­­­center of scientific interest here is placed on the security and availability of energy networks, energy systems with a focus on solar energy as well as energy saving and efficiently optimized machinery and transmission systems.
Classified under the third research focal point “innovative communication and media systems” is the interdisciplinary and internationally directed focus “mobile communications”. Ca­­pable partners from the industry strengthen the already existing expertise. Research is concentrated above all on mobile, wireless access technology for broadband, multimedia communication networks as well as on mul­timedia technology for the preparation and presentation of information. A Fraunhofer research group called “wire­­less distribution systems” is currently being built up at the TU Ilmenau and is intended to complement the activities of the researchers ideally.

In the area of digital media technology (with the focus on acoustic systems) research activity is successfully being carried out, in cooperation with the Fraunhofer Institute for Digital Media Technology, with equal emphasis on the basic as well as ap­­plication character of research. In this field, researchers’ interdisciplinary competencies are in­­creasingly used for the solving of environmental issues like vibration and noise problems.
In addition, the TU Ilmenau successfully researches fundamental areas of engineering science that find application in all the above-mentioned re­­search fields. It is worth mentioning, in connec­tion with the construction processes, the work done towards optimization of vir­tual reality methods as carried out in the “Virtual Reality” competence centre of the university. This occurs with special emphasis on the in­­terconnection of visual and acoustic information and higher data densities.

 

cavebild

It is also necessary to mention those that, as overlapping research activities, are involved in the creation, processing and special refinement of construction materials. Here the areas of glass, ce­­ramics, materials of electro technology and composite materials are represen­t­­ed with high expertise. Furthermore, numerous other basic and application-oriented research projects are being car­­ried out at the TU Ilmenau. They are characterized by innovative approaches and high standards. The following serves as examples: the DFG research group Magnetofluiddynamics, “InnoProfile” – initiative of the BMBF (Federal Ger­man Ministry of Education and Research): “Innovative energy measurement and weighing technology through the application of mechatronic concepts”, “Inno­­Profile” initiative of the BMBF: “MInt­­Eye – multimodal integration of ophthalmo­logic diagnostic technology” and the centre for innovative excellence “Macro-Nano” with offspring groups like “Mikro­­­­fluidik”, “BioSensorik” and “Funktiona­lisierte Pe­­ripherik”.

The third party funding of research at the TU Ilmenau for 2006 amounted to 17.91 million euros. In this regard current research contacts exist with more than 400 organizations worldwide.

Expression is given to these partnerships with organizations by the end­owed pro­­fessorships, for the lasting and sustain­able development of the centres of ex­­cellence as well as the con­tinual strengthening of the scientific profile of the uni­­versity. They confirm the excellence of the application-oriented research fields.

Close collaboration and cooperative re­­lationships supports the TU Ilmenau (within the framework of third party funding and the technology transfer) with various research and transfer ins­­titutions in the immediate vicinity of the university, thereunder the different Fraunhofer institutes and Steinbeis trans­­fer cent­­res.
The declared objective of research at the TU Ilmenau is the quick conversion of results into economic utilization. Be­­sides the stimulation of off-spins from the university as well as the acquisition of cooperation partners, this also en­­compasses the design of new models for public-private partnerships with direct corporate involvement of the university in business organizations.
For this reason the “TU Ilmenau Service GmbH” as well as the “Techno­logie­ge­sell­schaft Thüringen mbH & Co. KG” were founded in 2005. The business activities of the TU Ilmenau Service GmbH lie in:
• The organization and takeover of sections of the marketing function of the university as well as regional development planning
• The adoption of technology trans­­fer performances, for example the complete innovation chain from ba­­­sic re­­search up to prototype and ser­­vice mar­­keting
• The organization of education for study preparation as well as pro­fes­sional and academic development.

Thuringia has modern universities and polytechnics. They are modern in their multi-disciplinary and cross-disciplinary activities; they are modern in their educational quality. Although they offer a wide range in teaching and research, they have understood the need to build focal points in order to develop their own specific profiles.
These are talents that can be put to work. Naturally it is therefore the knowl­edge and technology transfer from the universities and polytechnics that plays an important role in regional economic development.

 

Scharff--BurkhardFritzThe author was born in 1957 and studied chemistry at the Claushal University of Technology where he received his doctor­­ate in 1987, and in 1991 was promoted to professor in anorganic chemistry. In the following year he was appointed to the academic council and was a visiting professor at the Thorn University (Po­­land). He has been at Technical Uni­versity of Ilmenau since 1998, and since 2004 he has been the rector of the TU.

Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Peter Scharff: Die TU Ilmenau – Wissensbasis für moderne Technologien

„Eine nationale Wissenschaft gibt es nicht, so wie es auch kein nationales Ein­maleins gibt; was national ist, das ist keine Wis­senschaft mehr“. Diesen Satz prägte der russische Erzähler Anton Tsche­chow, lange bevor von Internatio­na­li­sierung und interna­tionalem Wettbe­werb die Rede war. Zu­­tref­fend be­­schreibt er das Selbst­ver­ständ­nis der Universitäten; prägnant gibt er die Per­spektive von Wis­­senschaft vor, die nicht zu totem Lehrbuchwissen verkommen will. Dies ist auch für die TU Ilmenau wegweisend.

Hoch­schulen können die wirtschaftliche Entwicklung einer Region, eines Bundeslandes oder eines Staates be­­einflussen und fördern. Ein rohstoffarmes Land wie die Bundesrepublik kann letztlich nur durch Forschung und Entwicklung Pro­dukte auf den Markt bringen, deren Verkauf Arbeits­plätze und Wohlstand sichert. Bis heute ist zwar umstritten, ob über die An­­sied­lung von Hochschulen wirtschaftliche Strukturpolitik erfolgreich betrieben werden kann. Hier gibt es sicher keinen Automatismus; eine Hoch­schu­le auf der grünen Wiese muss nicht un­­be­dingt auch zu In­­dus­trie­­an­sied­lun­gen führen. Allerdings, dies zeigt der Blick in andere Regionen, können Hoch­­schulen den Struk­tur­wan­del un­­ter­stützen.
Neben anderen weichen und harten Standortfaktoren wird für ein industrielles Umfeld das Profil der Hochschule vor allem in der innovativen Forschung entscheidend sein, aus der wiederum eine qualitativ attraktive Lehre resultiert:
• Innovative Forschung ist das Bin­de­glied zur Wirtschaft, sie kann zu An­­siedlungen führen;
• Qualitativ herausragende Lehre schafft hochqualifizierte Arbeits­kräf­te; dies kann ein weiterer Grund für Industrie-ansiedlungen sein.


ari-Studenten3

Die TU Ilmenau hat vor zehn Jahren eine deutliche Profil­er­wei­terung mit der Einführung neuer Stu­dien­­gänge vorgenommen. Profilbe­­stim­mend sind die ingenieurwissenschaftlichen Stu­dien­gänge; ergänzt wurden die vorhandenen naturwissenschaftlich-tech­­nischen und wirtschaftswissenschaftlichen Kom­ponenten um weitere interdisziplinäre Studiengänge mit naturwis­sen­schaft­lichen (zum Beispiel Tech­ni­sche Physik, Werkstoffwissenschaft, Me­­cha­tronik) oder mit wirtschafts- und sozialwissen­schaftlichen Schwerpunkten (Medien­wirtschaft und Angewandte Medien­wis­­senschaft).
Die Umsetzung des Bologna-Prozesses ist eine der zentralen Aufgaben im Be­­reich der Lehre. 2004 wurde beschlossen, schnellstmöglich die Einführung von Bachelor- und Master-Studien­gän­gen sowie die zeitgleiche Aufhebung der Diplomstudiengänge vorzu­­nehmen.

Begonnen wurde die Entwicklung eines nachhaltigen Qualitäts­management­sys­tems für die Hauptprozesse Strategie und Führung, Lehre und Studium sowie Forschung. Interne und externe Leis­tungskontrollen sind fester Bestandteil für eine Beurteilung der Qualität der Ausbildung und Forschung. Die bisher an der TU genutzten Möglichkeiten für eine Evaluation in Lehre und Forschung werden nunmehr in einem System miteinander ver­bunden.

Forschung ist die Grundlage einer le­­bendigen universitären Lehre und We­i­ter­bildung, sie dient der Ausbildung des wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchses und der Fortbildung der Universi­tätsange­hö­rigen. Grundlagen- und ange­wandte Forschung bis hin zur Praxis­erprobung und zum Transfer in die Wirtschaft wer­­den an der TU Ilmenau gepflegt und gefördert.
Die TU Ilmenau be­setzt auf ausgewählten Kompe­tenz­feldern sowohl in der Grund­lagen­for­schung als auch in der angewandten Forschung national und international Spitzenplätze. Hohe Kom­petenzen durch strategische Neube­ru­fungen, eine ge­­zielte Entwicklung der wissenschaftlichen Infrastruktur und des technisch-technologischen Um­­fel­des sichern die universitäre Breite in Lehre und For­schung und tragen zur Erhöhung des internationalen Ansehens sowie zum deutlichen Anstieg der Stu­dieren­den­zahlen bei. Besonders prägend für die Universität ist die in­­ter­­disziplinäre und fakultätsübergreifende Zusammen­ar­beit und Bün­de­lung der Kompetenzen zu wettbewerbs­fä­hi­gen Forschungsschwerpunkten.

BlickzumCampus

Schwerpunkt 1:
Mikro- und Nanosysteme
Schwerpunkt 2:
Intelligente stationäre und mobile Systeme
Schwerpunkt 3:
Innovative Kommunikations- und Mediensysteme

Die Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG) hat der beschriebenen Ent­wick­lung 2004 durch die Aufnahme als Vollmitglied Anerkennung gezeigt.
Das wissenschaftliche Kernstück des ersten Forschungsschwerpunktes wird durch das Institut für Mikro- und Nano­technologien (IMN) gebildet, in dem etwa 30 Prozent aller Fachgebiete der Uni­versität mitarbeiten. Besonderer Aus­­­druck der wissenschaftlichen Leis­tung ist hier der Sonder­forschungs­bereich 622 „Nano­positionier- und Nano­mess­systeme“, der 2002 etabliert und be­­reits für eine weitere Arbeitsperiode mit überaus positivem Ergebnis evaluiert wurde.
Eine besondere Ausprägung unter dem Oberbegriff des Nanoengineering er­­fah­ren die Kompetenzfelder Nano­sen­so­rik, Nano­elektronik, Funktionali­sierte Peri­­phe­­rik und Mikrofluidik/Biosensorik. Beide letztgenannten Schwer­punkte wer­den von Nachwuchs­forschergruppen be­­ar­beitet, die dem Zentrum für Inno­va­tions­­kompetenz „MacroNano“ angehören.
Eine besondere Dynamik erfährt das Kompetenzfeld „Präzisionstechnik und Präzisionsmesstechnik“ durch das hohe Interesse der Industrie, welches letztlich auch in einer 2007 startenden Stiftungsprofessur seinen Ausdruck findet.
Die sehr erfolgreiche Arbeit der DFG-For­­schergruppe Magnetofluiddynamik auf dem Gebiet der Grund­lagen­for­schung schafft die Basis für weitere Schwerpunkt­setzungen. Alle auf den vor­ge­­nannten Gebieten der Mikro- und Nano­techno­logie arbeitenden Forscher finden im hervorragend ausgestatteten Zentrum für Mikro- und Nano­tech­nologien die er­forderlichen Bedingungen für er­­folg­reiche wissenschaftliche Tä­­tig­keit.


Ilmenauer-Studentenfernsehen-ISTUFF

Im zweiten Forschungsschwerpunkt der TU, „Intelligente stationäre und mobile Systeme“, haben sich besondere Schwer­­punkte hinsicht­lich des Forschungsfel­des „Intelligente Assistenz­systeme für die häusliche Umgebung, die medizinische Therapie und Pflege sowie für die individuelle Mobilität“ heraus­gebildet. Wissen­schaft­liche Ar­­bei­ten zur System­theorie, zur Robotik, Medizintechnik und Mensch-Maschine-Schnittstellen sind hier nennenswert.
Besondere fachübergreifende Applika­tions­felder sind in der biomedizinischen Technik und in der Automobiltechnik ausgeprägt und wissenschaftlich er­­folg­­reich. Ein weiteres Forschungsfeld mit stra­­­tegischer Bedeutung ist die „Ener­gie­technik, Energiesystemtechnik und Me­­chatronik“. Im Mittelpunkt des wissenschaftlichen Interesses stehen hier die Sicherheit und Verfügbarkeit der Ener­gienetze, alternative Energie­sys­te­me mit Schwerpunkt Solarenergie so­­wie energiesparende und wirkungsgrad­optimierte Maschinen und Antriebe.
Zum dritten Forschungsschwerpunkt, „In­­­novative Kom­mu­ni­kations- und Medien­systeme“, gehört ein interdisziplinärer, international ausgewiesener Schwer­punkt „Mobil­kom­mu­nikation“. Leistungs­fähige Partner aus der In­­dus­trie verstärken je­­weils vorhan­dene Kom­­pe­­tenzen. Die Forschung kon­zen­triert sich dabei vor allem auf mo­­bile, drahtlose Zugangs­techniken für breitbandige, multimediale Kommu­ni­ka­tions­netze sowie auf multimediale Tech­niken zur Verarbeitung und Präsentation von Informationen. Eine Fraunhofer-For­schergruppe „Drahtlose Verteilsys­te­me“ wird derzeit an der TU Ilmenau aufgebaut und wird die Ar­­bei­ten der Forscher in idealer Weise er­­gän­­zen.
Erfolgreich werden auf dem Gebiet der digitalen Medientechnologie (mit Schwer­punkt auf akustischen Systemen) in Ko­­operation mit dem Fraunhofer Institut für digitale Medientechnologie For­schungs­arbeiten mit gleichermaßen Grundlagen-, wie applikativem Charak-ter durchgeführt. Die interdisziplinären Kompetenzen der Forscher auf diesem Gebiet werden verstärkt zur Lösung von Umweltproblemen, wie Schwin­gungs- und Geräuschproblemen, eingesetzt.
Die TU Ilmenau forscht zudem auf Grund­­lagengebieten der Ingen­ieur­wissen­schaf­ten erfolgreich, die in allen zuvor ge­­nannten Forschungsfeldern Anwendung finden. Hier sind bezüglich des Kon­struk­tionsprozesses die Arbeiten zur Optimierung von Methoden der virtuellen Realität mit besonderer Betonung der Verbindung von visuellen und akustischen Informationen und hoher Da­­ten­dichte zu nennen, die im universitären Kompetenzzentrum „Virtuelle Realität“ bearbeitet werden.

cavebild

Als übergreifende Forschungsarbeiten sind auch solche nennenswert, die sich auf die Erzeugung, Verarbeitung und sp­e­zielle Veredelung von Kon­struk­tions­werkstoffen beziehen. Hier sind die Ge­­biete Glas, Keramik, Werkstoffe der Elek­­trotechnik, Verbundwerkstoffe mit hoher Kompetenz vertreten.
Daneben laufen an der TU Ilmenau zahlreiche weitere grundlagen- und an­­wendungsorientierte For­schungs­pro­jek­te, die sich durch innovative Heran­ge­hens­weisen und hohes Niveau auszeichnen. Beispielartig seien genannt: die DFG-Forschergruppe Mag­net­ofluid­dy­­namik, InnoProfile – Initiative des BMBF: „In­­novative Kraftmess- und Wägetechnik durch Anwendung mechatronischer Kon­­zepte“, InnoProfile – Initiative des BMBF: „MIntEye – Multimodale Inte­gra­tion op­­­h­­thalmologischer Diagnose­tech­­­­no­lo­gien“ und das Zentrum für Innovations­kom­petenz „MacroNano“ mit Nach­wuchs­gruppen „Mikrofluidik und Biosensorik“ und „Funktionalisierte Peripherik“.
Die drittmittelfinanzierte Forschung der TU Ilmenau umfasste 2006 ein Fi­­nanz­volumen von 17,91 Millionen Euro. Aktuelle Forschungskontakte bestehen in diesem Zusammenhang zu mehr als 400 Unternehmen weltweit.
Ausdruck dieser Partnerschaften zu Unternehmen und für eine dauerhafte und nachhaltige Erweiterung des Kom­petenzspektrums sowie der stetigen Ver­­stärkung des wissenschaftlichen Pro­fils der Universität sind etwa Stif­tungs­pro­fessuren. Sie bestätigen die Exzellenz auf anwendungs­orien­tierten For­schungs­feldern.
Enge Zusammenarbeit und gute Ko­­operationsbeziehungen unterhält die TU Ilmenau im Rahmen der Dritt­mit­tel­­forschung und des Technologietransfers mit zahlreichen Forschungs- und Trans­fereinrichtungen im unmittel­baren Um­­feld der Universität, darunter mit verschiedenen Fraunhofer-Instituten und Steinbeis-Transferzentren.
Erklärtes Ziel der Forschung an der TU Ilmenau ist die schnelle Umsetzung der Ergebnisse in die wirtschaftliche Nut­zung. Neben der Stimulierung von Aus­gründungen aus der Universität sowie der Gewinnung von Ko­­ope­ra­tions­part­nern umfasst dies auch den Entwurf neuer Modelle einer Public-Private-Part­nership mit direkter gesellschaftsrechtlicher Beteiligung der Universität an wirtschaftlichen Unternehmungen.
Aus diesem Grund wurden 2005 die „TU Ilmenau Service GmbH“ sowie die „Technologiegesellschaft Thü­­ringen mbH & Co. KG“ gegründet. Die Ge­­schäfts­felder der TU Ilmenau Ser­­vice GmbH liegen in:
• der Organisation und Übernahme von Teilen des Universitätsmarketings so­wie der regionalen Entwicklungsplanung
• der Übernahme von Tech­nologie­trans­ferleistungen, zum Beispiel kompletter Innovationsketten von der Grund­lagenforschung bis zum Prototyp und der Dienst­leis­tungs­ver­mark­tung
• der Organisation studienvorbereitender Ausbildung sowie beruflicher und akademischer Weiterbildung.

Thüringen hat moderne Universitäten und Fachhochschulen. Sie sind modern in ihrer Interdisziplinarität und Trans­dis­ziplinarität, sie sind modern in ihrem Bildungsanspruch. Sie bieten eine breite Palette in For­schung und Lehre und haben es doch verstanden, Schwerpunkte zu bilden und damit ein je spezifisches Profil auszuprä­gen.
Dies sind Pfunde, mit denen sich wu­­chern lässt. Selbstverständlich ist da­­her der Wissens- und Tech­no­lo­gie­transfer aus den Universitäten und Fach­hoch­schulen ein wichtiges Instr­ument der re­gionalen Wirtschaftsförderung.

Scharff--BurkhardFritzDer 1957 geborene Autor studierte Che­mie an der TU Clausthal, wurde dort 1987 promoviert und habilitierte 1991 über anorganische Chemie. Im Jahr da­­rauf folgte die Ernennung zum Akade­mischen Rat und eine Gast­pro­fessur an der Universität Thorn (PL). Seit 1998 an der Technischen Uni­ver­sität Ilmenau, amtiert Professor Dr. Scharff seit 2004 als Rektor der TU.