Prof. Dr. Peter Gruss: Innovations require inquiring minds and entrepreneurship

A German investment company once ad­­vertised using the slogan “Money grows in your head.” They have a point there: smart heads generate new findings, which clever business people turn into new processes and products. The re­­sulting profits can, in turn, flow into the production of knowledge: either directly into industrial research or via taxes and government budgets into universities and research institutes, where more new knowledge emerges – a perfect cycle, provided science and business cooperate closely.

netzwerk2

Electron-microscopic image of a network of nerve cells .

According to a US study, approximately half of the references in US patent doc­­uments are made to publications result­­ing from government-funded re­­search. In that regard, the greatest significance is attached to research results produced domestically. In other words: new findings are often at the source of new pa­­­tents and, thus, are the foundation of innovation. Fundamentally new things arise from – as the name implies – funda­men­tal research. The transistor is a prime example: without transistors, none of to­­day’s computers or CD players would work, let alone any electronic control system, neither in industry nor in the ubiquitous washing machine. The findings leading to the development of the transistor ac­­­crued during the 19th and 20th centuries. Their originators read like a who’s who of physicists and chem­­ists of the time: Max Planck and Albert Einstein, Ernest Rutherford and Niels Bohr, Werner Heisen­­berg and Erwin Schrödinger, among others. In 1947, Bell Labs finally announced the first applicable patent for a transistor. Nowadays, the transistor is at the base of all digital electronics.

The many such examples demonstrate the caracteristic that innovations and fundamental re­­search are links in a chain and that investing in fundamental research is profitable. What the optimal ratio for investment in fundamental research is for a hightech location like Germany is difficult to determine. However, one thing is clear: the more technologically ad­­vanced a country is, the more expenditure on fundamental research should increase.
Research by Hans Gersbach at the Center of Economic Research of the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology (ETH) in Zurich corroborates that.

Aufmacher_MPI_Eisen_01-07-09_033b-2

Material scientists at the Max Planck Institute for Iron Research in Düsseldorf have developed lightweight steels which are both very strong and tensile. Their low specific weight and mechanical properties make them an ideal material for the motor vehicle industry.

The knowledge gained from fundamental research on the governing principles of nature or the human body as well as on the structures and correlations of quarks and electrons, on the one hand, and the vast dimensions of the universe, on the other hand, is at the base of revolutionary innovations and provides us with opportunities to meet the challenges of to­­mor­­row and beyond. They include issues related to energy supply, healthcare and nutrition as well as the controllability of the consequences of climate change or population growth. In search of answers to those urgent ques­­tions, chemists are trying to develop new storage technologies, biomedical scientists are researching inno­­vative thera­­peutic approaches, and plant scientists new types of grains.

Internationally, Germany is very well placed with its universities and research organi­­sations. After USA, China and Japan, Ger­­many is fourth among the nations of the world in terms of research and develop­ment spending. Companies, too, are ex­­tremely active in the research field: invest­­ments from German busi­nes­­s­­es account for two thirds of research and development spending. In 2011, these investments are expected to reach the 60 billion euros mark.

At the same time, the Commission of Experts for Research and Innovation set up by the German government states the following in its 2011 report: “In the field of cutting-edge technologies, Ger­many (…) suffers significant shortcomings” while, in Switzerland, France and Bri­tain, for example, cutting-edge tech­nolo­gies have gained in significance over the past few years. As a matter of fact, the gap between findings and app­li­ca­tions poin­ted out in the report is a weak spot in the German innovation system. In 2005 already, the business magazine “brand eins” was criticising that while “international researchers seek something useful, German researchers are seeking the Nobel Prize”. The accusation falls short, however. Actu­ally, fundamental research in Ger­many generates a multitude of high-quality ideas. Only, in general, those findings are just not ripe for application yet. Since further development of a good idea into a marketable product carries the risk of failure besides being pretty costly, many firms shy away from the costs and the risk – even though they may be greatly profitable in the end.

That is why new fundamen­tal research findings are frequently not even given an opportunity to develop their innovation potential.

ipp_3

High technology for the new fusion experiment Wendelstein 7-X is being set up at the Max Planck Institute for Plasma Physics. With nuclear fusion, science is aiming at replicating solar fire on Earth.

In order to close that gap between funda­mental research and application, the Max Planck Society and the Fraunhofer Society – which is also based in Germany and dedicated to applied research – have in recent years intensified their cooperation specifically in multi-disciplinary areas. The goal of that cooperation is to bring find­­ings gained in fundamental research to application and, thus, contribute directly to the development of new technologies. Max-Planck-Innovation GmbH, a subsid­iary of the Max Planck Society, supports young entrepreneurs in the science field. Since the early 1990s, approximately one hun­­dred successful new companies have sprung from institutes of the Max Planck Society – under substantial guidance by innovation advisors.

 

ds2_m_MG_1846

However, in spite of all those support meas­­ures, the entrepreneurial spirit in Germany remains too unpronounced. Referring to the entrepreneurship capital of a region, eco­­n­­­­omist David B. Audretsch means the abil­­ity to generate entrepreneurial behaviour. It involves aspects such as social accept­­ance of entrepreneurial behaviour, enter­­prising young business people as well as banks and venture capitalists willing to share not only future benefit, of course, but also the upfront risk. The scarcity of venture capital in Germany remains grave. In that regard, we require new incentives – including on the European level – so that firms as well as private and public inves­­t­­­ors invest more in cutting-edge techno­l­­­­ogies. Everybody would benefit from that. Statistical analyses demonstrate that the bigger the entrepreneurship capital, the bigger the economic productivity. Creating growth, thus, requires structural conditions promoting creative, independent entrepreneurs and innovative thinkers.

A glimpse at the USA reveals why the founder ratio is so much higher there than in Ger­­many – at barely five per cent in this country, it is only about half of what it is in USA: besides economically measurable variables such as low tax rates, small labour costs, little regulation and minimal restrictions, the American public pays a high degree of recognition to any­­one who shows the courage to assume risks and personal responsibility.

What is more, we must find new forms of public-private partnerships, which also enhance our competitiveness. Policy­makers have started new initiatives to that effect. In the wake of the High-Tech Strategy 2020, the “VIP” project was initiated to “validate the innovation po­­tential of scientific research”. The programme precisely aims at reducing the gap between findings and applications – and, since “VIP” includes relevant expert advice as well as financial means, it has the potential to help generate new proc­­esses and applications.

The transfer of new findings towards applications does not pursue the only goal of safeguarding prosperity at home. We must also see to it that our planet remains liveable in the next fifty or one hundred years.

metanomics_Gewächshaus-Kopie

What is more, we must find new forms of public-private partnerships, which also enhance our competitiveness. Policy­makers have started new initiatives to that effect. In the wake of the High-Tech Strategy 2020, the “VIP” project was initiated to “validate the innovation po­­tential of scientific research”. The programme precisely aims at reducing the gap between findings and applications – and, since “VIP” includes relevant expert advice as well as financial means, it has the potential to help generate new proc­­esses and applications.

The transfer of new findings towards applications does not pursue the only goal of safeguarding prosperity at home. We must also see to it that our planet remains liveable in the next fifty or one hundred years.

Gruss0039The author is president of the Max Planck Society. Prior to that, he was active as director of the Max Planck Institute for Biophysical Chemistry in Göttingen. His work earned several awards, including the Leibniz Prize. For his idea to implement developmental biology as a basis for innovative therapies in the treatment of illnesses, he and Herbert Jäckle were awarded the German Future Prize in 1999.

Prof. Dr. Peter Gruss: Innovationen brauchen Forschergeist und Unternehmermut

Eine deutsche Fondsgesellschaft hat einmal mit dem Slogan geworben: „Geld entsteht im Kopf.“ Da ist was dran: Kluge Köpfe generieren neue Erkenntnisse, die von pfiffigen Geschäftsleuten in neue Verfahren und Produkte umgesetzt werden. Die daraus resultierenden Gewinne können wiederum in die Produktion von Wissen fließen: entweder direkt in die indus­trielle Forschung oder über Steuern und die öffentlichen Haushalte in Uni­ver­­sitäten und Forschungsinstitutionen, wo dann wieder neues Wissen entsteht – ein perfekter Kreislauf, vorausgesetzt Wissen­­­schaft und Wirtschaft arbeiten eng zusammen.

netzwerk2

Elektronenmikroskopische Aufnahme eines Netzwerks von Nervenzellen.

Nach einer Untersuchung aus den USA bezieht sich etwa die Hälfte der Zitate in US-Patentschriften auf Publikationen, die in öffentlich geförderter Forschung entstanden sind. Dabei sind besonders jene Forschungsergebnisse von Bedeutung, die im Inland gewonnen wurden. Neue Er­­kennt­nisse sind also häufig Garanten für neue Patente und damit die Grundlage für Innovation. Dabei entsteht grundlegend Neues zunächst einmal – der Name sagt es schon – in der Grundlagenforschung. Ein Paradebeispiel dafür liefert der Tran­sistor: Ohne Transistoren würde heute kein Computer und kein CD-Player funktionieren, ja keinerlei elektronische Steuerung, weder in der Industrie noch in der heimischen Waschmaschine. Die Erkenntnisse für die Entwicklung des Transistors sind über das 19. und 20. Jahrhundert gewachsen. Ihre Autoren lesen sich wie das Who-is-who der damals bekanntesten Physiker und Chemiker: Max Planck und Albert Einstein, Ernest Rutherford und Niels Bohr, Werner Heisenberg und Erwin Schrödinger und andere. 1947 meldeten schließlich die Bell Labs das erste praktisch nutzbare Patent für einen Transistor an. Heute bildet der Tran­sistor die Grundlage der gesamten digi­talen Elektronik. Dieses Beispiel ist eines von vielen, die zeigen: Innovationen und Grundlagenfor­­schung sind Glieder einer Kette, Investi­tionen in die Grundla­gen­for­­­schung somit gut angelegtes Geld. Wie hoch die optimale Investitionsquote in Grund­­lagenforschung für einen Hoch­­­tech­­nologie­­Standort wie Deutschland ist, lässt sich allerdings nur schwer bestimmen. Sicher ist: Je technolo­gisch fortge­­­­schrit­tener ein Land ist, umso mehr sollten die Ausgaben für Grund­lagen­forschung steigen. Das bele­gen Forschungs­­arbeiten von Hans Gers­bach vom Center of Economic Research der ETH Zürich.

Aufmacher_MPI_Eisen_01-07-09_033b-2

Am Düsseldorfer Max-Planck-Institut für Eisenforschung haben Werkstoffwissenschaftler Leichtbaustähle entwickelt, die besonders fest und zugleich dehnbar sind. Ihr geringes spezifisches Gewicht und die mechanischen Eigenschaften machen sie zum idealen Werkstoff für die Fahrzeugindustrie.

Das Wissen, das in der Grundlagenfor­schung über die Gesetzmäßigkeiten in der Natur und im Menschen, über Strukturen und Zusammenhänge von Quarks und Elek­tronen bis hin zu den riesigen Dimensionen des Universums gewonnen wird, schafft die Basis für Neuerungen und eröffnet uns die Möglichkeit, den Heraus­forderungen von morgen und über­morgen zu begegnen. Dazu gehören Fragen der Energie­ver­sor­gung, der Gesundheits­vorsorge und Ernäh­rung ebenso wie solche nach der Beherrsch­barkeit der Folgen des Klimawandels oder des Bevölkerungs­wachs­­tums. An der Suche nach Antworten auf diese drängenden Fra­­gen versuchen Che­mi­ker, neue Speicher­technologien zu ent­wi­­ckeln, forschen Bio­­mediziner an inno­­vativen Therapiean­­sätzen und Pflanzen­forscher an neuen Getreidesorten.

Deutschland ist mit seinen Universitäten und Forschungsorganisationen interna­tional sehr gut aufgestellt. Nach den USA, China und Japan steht das Land weltweit an vierter Stelle der Nationen mit den größten Ausgaben für Forschung und Entwicklung. Auch die Unternehmen sind im Forschungs­bereich außerordentlich aktiv: Zwei Drittel der Forschungs- und Entwick­lungs-Aus­ga­­­ben sind Investitionen der deut­schen Wirt­schaft. Prognosen zu­­folge erreichen diese Aus­gaben 2011 die 60-Milliarden-Euro-Marke. Gleich­wohl hält die von der Bundes­regie­rung eingesetzte Expertenkommission „For­schung und Innovation“ in ihrem Be­­richt 2011 fest: „Im Bereich der Spitzen­technologien weist Deutschland (…) erhebliche Schwächen auf“, während etwa in der Schweiz, in Frankreich und Groß­britannien die Spitzentechnologien in den vergangenen Jahren an Bedeutung gewonnen haben. Tatsächlich ist die im Bericht aufgezeigte Lücke zwischen Erkenntnis und Anwendung eine Schwachstelle des deutschen Innovationssystems.

ipp_3

Für das neue Fusionsexperiment Wendelstein 7-X wird am Max-Planck-Institut für Plasmaphysik Hochtechnologie aufgebaut. Mit der Kernfusion setzt die Wissenschaft auf den Nachbau des Sonnenfeuers auf der Erde.

„Internationale Forscher wollen etwas Nütz­liches, deutsche Forscher den Nobelpreis“, kritisierte das Wirtschaftsmagazin brand eins bereits 2005. Doch der Vorwurf greift zu kurz. Tatsächlich bringt die Grund­lagen­forschung in Deutschland eine Vielzahl quali­tativ hochwertiger Ideen hervor. Nur, in der Regel sind diese Erkenntnisse ein­fach noch nicht reif für die Anwendung. Weil die Weiterentwicklung einer guten Idee zu einem marktfähigen Produkt das Risiko des Scheiterns birgt und darüber hinaus schlichtweg teuer ist, scheuen viele Firmen die Kosten und das Risiko – auch wenn am Ende große Gewinne stehen könnten. Daher können neue Erkenntnisse aus der Grundlagenforschung ihr Innovations­po­tenzial oft gar nicht entfalten.

Um diese Lücke zwischen Grundlagen­­­forschung und Anwendung zu schließen, haben die Max-Planck-Gesellschaft und die ebenfalls in Deutschland ansässige und der angewandten Forschung verschriebene Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft ihre Kooperationen gezielt in fach­­lich übergreifenden Berei­chen vertieft. Ziel dieser Kooperation ist es, die in der Grund­­lagenforschung gewonnenen Erkenntnisse zur Anwendung zu füh­ren und damit einen direkten Beitrag zur Entwicklung neuer Technologien zu leisten.
Die Max-Planck-­Innovation GmbH, eine Tochter der Max­­­Planck-Gesellschaft, un­­ter­­­­stützt junge Fir­men­­­­gründer aus der Wissenschaft. Seit Beginn der 1990er Jahre hat es an die hundert erfolgreiche Firmen­grün­­dun­gen aus den Instituten der Max-Planck-Gesell­­schaft gegeben – we­­sentlich be­­gleitet von den Innovationsberatern.

ds2_m_MG_1846
Doch trotz all dieser Unterstützungs­maß­­­­nahmen bleibt der Gründergeist in Deutsch­­­­land zu wenig ausgeprägt. Der Wirtschafts­­wissenschaftler David B. Audretsch spricht vom Entrepreneurship-Kapital einer Regi­on und meint damit die Fähigkeit, unter­neh­me­risches Ver­halten zu erzeugen. Dazu gehö­­ren Aspekte wie die soziale Akzeptanz unter­­nehme­ri­schen Verhaltens, risiko­freudige Jungunter­nehmer sowie Banken und Risi­­ko­­kapital­geber, die bereit sind, eben nicht nur einen späteren Nutzen, sondern vorneweg auch das Risiko zu teilen. Der Mangel an Venture Capital bleibt in Deutschland gravierend. Wir brauchen hier – auch auf europäischer Ebene – neue Anreize, damit Firmen, private und institutionelle Anle­­­­ger stärker in neue Spi­­tzen­­­­­tech­no­logien inves­tieren. Davon würden letztlich alle profitieren. Je größer das Entre­­pre­neur­ship-Ka­pi­­tal, das zeigen statistische Ana­lysen, desto größer ist die wirtschaft­­liche Produk­­tivität. Wer Wachs­­­­tum will, muss also förderliche Rahmen­bedin­gun­gen für kreative, selbst­­­­­­­ständige Exis­tenzen und inno­vative Köpfe schaffen.

Ein Blick auf die USA zeigt, warum die Gründerquote dort so viel höher ist als in Deutschland – sie ist hierzulande mit knapp fünf Prozent nur etwa halb so groß ist wie in den USA: Neben öko­no­misch messbaren Varia­­blen wie niedrigen Steu­er­­­­sätzen, geringen Arbeitskosten, we­­nig Regu­­lierung und einem Minimum an Auf­­lagen ist es auch das hohe Maß an An­­­er­­­­­­ken­nung, das die amerikanische Öffent­­­­­­­lichkeit demjenigen zollt, der Mut zum Risiko und Eigenver­ant­­wortlichkeit beweist.

metanomics_Gewächshaus-Kopie

Wir müssen darüber hinaus neue For­men von Public-private-Partnership finden – auch zugunsten unserer Wettbewerbs­­fähig­­keit. Die Politik hat dazu neue Initia­tiven gestartet. Im Zuge der Hightech-Strategie 2020 ist das Pro­jekt „VIP“ ange­laufen zur „Validierung des Inno­vations­potenzials wissenschaftlicher For­schung“. Das Pro­­gramm zielt genau darauf ab, die Lücke zwischen Erkenntnis und Anwen­dung kleiner zu machen – und weil „VIP“ neben der nötigen Beratung durch Exper­ten auch Finanzmittel umfasst, kann es zum Ge­­burtshelfer neuer Verfahren und Anwen­­dungen werden.

Der Transfer von neuen Erkenntnissen in die Anwendung ist nicht nur nötig, um den Wohl­stand in unserem Land zu sichern. Wir müssen darüber hinaus dafür sorgen, dass unser Planet auch in den kommenden fünfzig oder hundert Jahren lebenswert bleibt.

 

Gruss0039Der Autor ist Präsident der Max-Planck-Gesellschaft. Davor war er als Direktor am Max-Planck-Institut für biophysikalische Chemie in Göttingen tätig. Für seine Arbei­­ten wurde er mehr­­fach ausgezeichnet, unter anderem mit dem Leibniz-Preis. Für seine Idee, die Entwicklungsbiologie als Basis inno­­­vativer Therapien zur Behandlung von Krankheiten einzusetzen, erhielt er 1999 zusammen mit Herbert Jäckle den Deutschen Zukunftspreis.