Prof. Dr. Milton T. Stubbs: HALOmem – A major award for the molecular bio-sciences in Halle

In spring of 2008, the bioscience project “HALOmem – mem­­­­brane protein structure & dynamics” was chosen as the “Centre for Inno­­vation C­om­­petence” (ZIK) under the direction of its three initiators, Prof. Dr. Milton T. Stubbs (In­­stitute for Bio­­technology at the Martin Luther ­­­­University of Halle-Wittenberg, MLU), Prof. Dr. Jochen Bal­­bach (In­­stitute for Physics, MLU) and Prof. Dr. Daniel Huster (In­­stitute for Me­­dical Physics and Biophysics at the Uni­­versity of Leipzig).
The “Centres for Inno­­vation C­om­­pe­­ten­­ce: Create Excellence, Secure Talent” programme of the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research are designed to build up excellent research approaches at universities and research centres in Eastern Germany to become internationally known centres. 26 schemes had applied for the subsidies, eight were chosen, of which two were from Halle – a major success for the MLU and the Halle science location. Over the next five years, some 6.25 million euros will be made available to each initiative.
Halle’s HALOmem ZIK is currently involved in investigating the structural biology of membrane proteins. Mem­­brane proteins control and regulate essential functions in the human body and will therefore be of major significance in producing new kinds of customized medicines. The development of new medicines is a long, slow pro­cess, which can take up to ten years and more.

Röntgenmessung_Kristall_3

If the target molecule of a potential active ingredient is known, this period can be considerably shortened when the structure can be illuminated with atomic resolution. For example, this was how three powerful active ingredients were successfully developed comparatively rapidly for use in AIDS therapy. For mem­­brane ­­proteins in particular, which constitute one of the most im­­portant categories of pharmaceutical applications, structural information is only available in sufficient resolution for a few agents.
Before routine application becomes possible for industry, there is considerable need for basic research in the field of the structural biology of membrane proteins. For this reason HALOmem was attached to the MLU as an interdisciplinary scientific facility (IWE). In the university environment at the weinberg campus, HALOmem is located in direct proximity to many companies and re­­search centres active in the fields of biotechnology, biomedicine and physics.


Protein_Einspritzung_FPLC_2

This university environment, which traditionally includes the focal point of protein research in the biological sciences, offers the space and the crucial expertise in structural biology to successfully carry out the necessary re­­search steps up to the atomic structure of membrane proteins. With newly de­­veloped methods it is intended to characterize the proteins not only in their structure but also in their dynamics. The re­­sults of this re­­search work are of great interest both for basic research and for partners in the industry.
The establishment of two groups of young researchers linked with the decision in favour of the ZIK under the auspices of HALOmem allows a broad range of innovative projects to be initiated, which will bear fruit both for basic and applied research. The first group of young researchers, which will investigate mem­­brane ­­­­pro­­te­­in ­­bio­­chemistry, will be headed by Dr Mikio Tanabe. The Japanese biochemist, currently working at the De­­partment of Pharmacology of the Vanderbilt Uni­­versity Medical Center (USA), investigates the membrane protein structures of the Neis­­seria meningitidis bacteria, which is a virus causing meningitis in humans. Knowledge of host pathogent recognition, which Dr Tanabe will pursue in HALOmem, could lead to new types of therapy for this deadly disease.
The second group of young researchers, which will investigate mem­­brane ­­­­pro­­te­­in ­­bio­­physics, will be headed by German biophysicist Dr Kirsten Bacia. She is currently analyzing the function of proteins in­­vol­­ved in the intra-cellular transport of proteins at the Department of Mo­­lecular and Cell Biology of the Uni­­versity of California, Berkeley (USA). In HALO­­mem, her working group will focus on the reconstitution of membrane proteins, and their biophysical-chemical characterization. Both groups will work hand-in-hand by closely coordinating their work.

Röntgenmessung_Kristall_1

An important part in the added value chain of HALOmem will be determining the actual structure of the membrane proteins in which the young re­­searcher groups will be able to benefit from the interdisciplinary expertise and the considerable laboratory equipment of the initiators from biotechnology, phys­­ical chemistry and physics on the weinberg campus of the MLU. As the routine analysis of the structure of membrane proteins is still a dream at the moment, HALOmem will supply a methodical and technological basis for the use of the development of ef­­fective, structurally-ba­­sed ac­­tive agents for pharmaceutically relevant mem­­brane proteins.
As a biotechnology location, Halle will benefit from this in the long term with its university and non-university facilities, as well as the companies based in the area. The initiators of the ZIK HALOmem are already working closely with the local biotech firms Scil Pro­­teins GmbH and Pro­­bio­­drug AG. After the basic re­­search stage, these ex­­isting in­­dus­­try contacts will be further expanded by HALOmem in order to de­­velop step-by-step towards application re­­search. This will enable HALO­­mem to continue its existence as an independent centre of innovative competence and create jobs in the region.

As a focused centre at a lo­­­­cation with a state-of-the-art in­­frastruc­­ture, short transport routes and ideal coordination opportunities, HALO­­­­mem has been able to get established very well. We assume that the research activities in this field will continue to reinforce the international re­­pu­­ta­­tion of this location in the field of biological sciences focusing on protein re­­search.

Mikroskop_Kristall_2The author was born in New York in 1962. He studied doctorate at the universities of Dur­­ham, Oxford und Edinburgh. In 1987 he joined the work­­ing group of Prof. Dr. Robert Huber (winner of the Nobel Prize for Chemistry) at the Max Planck In­­sti­­tu­­te for Biochemistry in Martinsried. After work­­­­ing in Stockholm and at the Uni­­ver­­sity of Marburg, he has been Professor of Physical Biochemistry at the University of Halle since 2002.

Prof. Dr. Milton T. Stubbs: HALOmem – Hohe Auszeichnung der molekularen Biowissenschaften in Halle

Im Frühjahr 2008 wurde das biowissen­­schaftlichen Projekt „HALOmem – mem­­­­brane protein structure & dynamics“ zum „Zentrum für Inno­­vations­­kom­­petenz“ (ZIK)­­ unter der Leitung der drei Initiatoren Prof. Dr. Milton T. Stubbs (In­­stitut für Bio­­­­­technologie, Martin-Luther-­­­­Universität Halle-Wittenberg, MLU), Prof. Dr. Jochen Balbach (Institut für Physik, MLU) und Prof. Dr. Daniel Huster (In­­stitut für Me­­dizinische Physik und Biophysik, Uni­­versität Leipzig) gekürt.
Mit dem Pro­­gramm „Zentren für Inno­­vations­­kom­­pe­­tenz: Exzellenz schaffen, Talente sichern“ des Bundes­­minis­­ter­­i­­ums für Bildung und Forschung sollen herausragende Forschungsansätze an Hoch­­schulen und Forschungs­­ein­­rich­­tun­­­­gen in den ostdeutschen Bundes­­län­­dern zu international renommierten Zentren ausgebaut werden. Um die Förderung hatten sich 26 Initiativen be­­­worben, acht bekamen den Zuschlag, zwei da­­von aus Halle – ein großer Er­­folg für die MLU und den Wissen­­schafts­­­standort Hal­­le. Dafür stehen in den kommenden fünf Jahren für jede Ini­­ti­­a­­tive rund 6,25 Mil­­lionen Euro zur Ver­­fügung.

Röntgenmessung_Kristall_3

Das hallesche ZIK HALOmem beschäftigt sich mit der Strukturbiologie von Membranproteinen. Im menschlichen Körper steuern und regulieren Mem­­bran­­­­proteine essenzielle physiologische Funktionen. Sie werden deshalb bei der Herstellung neuartiger, maßgeschneiderter Medikamente in Zukunft eine her­­ausragende Bedeutung haben. Die Ent­­wicklung neuer Medikamente ist ein langwieriger Prozess, der zehn Jahre und mehr in Anspruch nehmen kann. Ist das Zielmolekül eines potenziellen Wirkstoffs bekannt, kann diese Zeit ganz entscheidend verkürzt werden, sobald die Struktur mit atomarer Auflösung aufgeklärt ist. Auf diesem Wege gelang zum Beispiel die vergleichsweise schnelle Entwicklung von drei potenten Wirk­­stof­­f­­en für die AIDS-Therapie. Gerade bei Mem­­bran­­proteinen, die eine der wichtigsten Klassen für pharmakologische Anwendungen darstellen, sind strukturelle Informationen in hinreich­­en­­der Auflösung nur für wenige Ver­tre­­ter vorhanden.

Bevor eine routinemäßige Anwendung auf Seiten der Industrie möglich wird, be­­steht ein erheblicher Bedarf an Grund­­lagenforschung auf dem Gebiet der Strukturbiologie von Membran­­pro­­te­­inen. Aus diesem Grund wurde HALOmem als interdisziplinäre wissenschaftliche Einrichtung (IWE) der MLU angegliedert. HALOmem ist in der universitären Um­­ge­­bung am weinberg campus in direkter Nähe zu zahlreichen Unternehmen und Forschungseinrichtungen aus den Bereichen Biotechnologie, Biomedizin und Physik angesiedelt.


Protein_Einspritzung_FPLC_2

Dieses universitäre Umfeld, das tra­­diti­­o­­nell den Schwerpunkt Pro­­te­­in­­for­­sch­­ung in den Biowissenschaften be­­inhaltet, bietet den Raum und die ent­­scheidende strukturbiologische Ex­­­­­­­­­­­­­per­­tise, um die notwendigen For­­schungs­­­­schritte hin zu atomaren Struk­­turen von Mem­­bran­­­proteinen erfolgreich durchführen zu können. Mit neu zu entwickelnden Me­­tho­­­­den soll es möglich werden, die Pro­­te­­ine nicht nur in ihrer Struktur, sondern auch in ihrer Dynamik zu charakterisie­­ren. Die Er­­gebnisse dieser For­­schun­­gen sind so­­wohl für die weitere Grund­­la­­gen­­for­­schung als auch auch für In­­dustrie­­partner von großem In­­ter­­es­­se.
Die mit dem Zuschlag für das ZIK verbundene Etablierung zweier Nach­­wuchs­­­­­­gruppen unter dem Dach des HALOmem er­­möglicht es, eine breite Palette innovativer Projekte anzugehen, die sowohl die Grundlagen- als auch die angewandte Forschung be­­fruchten werden. Die erste Nach­wuchs­gruppe „Mem­­bran­­­­­­pro­­te­­in­­bio­­­­chemie“ wird von Dr. Mikio Tanabe ge­­­­lei­­tet. Der japanische Bio­­chemiker, der­­­­zeit am De­­partment of Pharma­­co­­logy des Medical Center der Vanderbilt Uni­­versi­­­ty (USA), untersucht Mem­­bran­­pro­­tein-Struk­­turen des Bak­­teriums Neis­­seria men­­­­ingitidis, Er­­reger der men­­sch­­li­­­­­ch­­en Hirn­­­­haut­­ent­­­­zün­­dung. Er­­kennt­­­­nis­­se zur Wirts-­­Pa­­tho­­gen-Er­­kenn­­­­ung, die er in HALOmem verfolgen wird, könnten zu neuen The­­ra­­pieansätzen für diese tödliche Krank­­heit führen.
Die zweite Nachwuchsgruppe „Mem­­bran­­proteinbiophysik“ wird von der deutsch­­en Biophysikerin Dr. Kirsten Bacia geleitet. Zurzeit analysiert sie am Department of Molecular and Cell Biology der University of California, Berkeley (USA), die Funktionsweise von Proteinen, die am intrazellulä­­ren Proteintransport beteiligt sind. In HALO­­mem wird ihre Arbeitsgruppe die Rekonstitution von Membran­­pro­­te­­inen und deren biophysikalisch-chemische Charakterisierung im Focus haben. Durch eine starke inhaltliche Ab­­stim­­mung werden beide For­­scher­­gruppen Hand in Hand arbeiten.

Röntgenmessung_Kristall_1

Ein wichtiger Teil in der Wert­­schöp­­fungskette von HALOmem ist die ei­­gent­­­­liche Strukturbestimmung der Mem­­­­­­­­­­bran­­­proteine, bei der sich die Nach­­­­wuchs­­gruppen auf die interdisziplinäre Expertise und die Großgeräte der Ini­­tiatoren aus der Biotechnologie, der phy­­sikalischen Chemie sowie der Physik auf dem weinberg campus der MLU stützen können. Da die routinemäßige Auf­­klä­­rung der Struktur von Membran­­pro­­te­­inen derzeit noch eine Wunsch­­vor­­stel­­lung ist, wird HALOmem eine me­­tho­­dische und technologische Basis für die Anwendung der leistungsfähigen strukturbasierten Wirk­­stoff­­ent­­wick­­lung für pharmazeutisch relevante Mem­bran­­pro­­teine liefern.
Hiervon wird der Bio­­tech­­no­­lo­­gie­­stand­­ort Halle mit seinen universitären und außeruniversitären Einrichtungen sowie den angesiedelten Firmen nachhaltig profitieren. Die Initiatoren des ZIK HALOmem arbeiten bereits eng mit den ortsansässigen Biotech-Firmen Scil Proteins GmbH sowie Probiodrug AG zusammen. Diese existierenden Indus­­trie­­kontakte werden von HALOmem weiter ausgebaut, um sich nach der Phase der Grundlagenforschung schritt­­­­­­­­weise in Richtung Anwendung zu entwickeln. Damit wird HALOmem als ei­­gen­­stän­­di­­ges Zentrum für Inno­­va­­tions­­kom­­petenz fortbestehen und Be­­­­schäf­­tigung in der Region schaffen.

Als fokussiertes Zentrum an einem Standort mit einer state-of-the-art In­­frastruktur, kurzen Transportwegen und optimalen Ab­­stimm­­ungs­­mög­­lich­­kei­­ten, konnte sich HALO­­mem erfolgreich eta­­blieren. Wir gehen davon aus, dass die For­­schungs­­tätigkeit auf diesem Ge­­biet die internationale Re­­pu­­ta­­tion des Stand­­orts im Bereich der Bio­­wis­­sen­­schaf­­ten mit Schwerpunkt Pro­­te­­in­­for­­schung wei­­ter stärken wird.

Mikroskop_Kristall_2Der Autor wurde 1962 in New York ge­­bo­­ren. Er studierte und promovierte in Dur­­ham, Oxford und Edinburgh. 1987 trat er der Arbeitsgruppe von Prof. Dr. Robert Huber (Nobelpreisträger für Che­­mie) am Max-Planck-Institut für Bio­­che­mie in Mar­­tins­­ried bei. Nach Auf­­enthalten in Stock­­holm sowie an der Universität Marburg ist er seit 2002 Professor für Physi­­ka­­li­­sche Bio­tech­­no­­lo­­gie an der Universität Halle.