Prof. Dr. Martin Eberle: The Baroque Universe of Gotha – The collections of the Schloss Friedenstein Gotha Foundation

The dukes of the house of Saxony-Gotha-Altenburg and Saxony Coburg Gotha were passionate collectors of works of art and patrons of the sciences. Schloss Friedenstein has preserved this cultural heritage to the present day, enabling its visitors to gain a moving insight into the thinking of the baroque period and the Enlightenment.

Considerable investment by the Federal Republic of Ger­many, the Free State of Thuringia and the City of Gotha in this architectural ensemble at Friedenstein Castle in Gotha has given rise to constant changes which are having a wide range of economic side-effects on the region. This support benefits not only the region’s commercial enterprises, it also increasingly stabilises Gotha as a key tourist destination in Thuringia. In the last few years alone, the Castle Friedenstein Gotha Foundation has doubled its visitor numbers. After extensive renovations, the Ducal Museum, which exhibits Gotha’s art collections to their best effect, was re-opened in 2013.

The Foundation has also been available to the Perthes Forum since 2015, a building complex which was once the home of the world famous Perthes publishing company. The company used to publish not only “Der Gotha” (the Genealogical Cal­endar of the Court of Gotha), the “Hand-Atlas” by Adolf Stieler meant that the company has concentrated especially on cartographical publications since the early 19th century. Today the complex is used equally by the Research Library of the University of Erfurt, the Thuringian State Archives in Gotha and the Castle Friedenstein Gotha Foundation as a depository, warehouse, for workshops and for various other re­­search projects by these organisations. In general, the Free State of Thuringia also increasingly supports Gotha as a research location, while the city, with its collections which have increased in size in the course of time, conceals enormous potential which has hardly been recognised for decades. The term “Baroque Universe” illustrates the complexity of this potential, which extends not only to the art collections and natural history exhibits but also to building complexes, the contents of the archive and one of the first English gardens on the continent. However, the focal point of all these organisations is Friedenstein Castle, which will also be renovated over the next few years, thanks to the joint efforts of the German government and the government of the Free State of Thuringia.

The house of Saxony-Gotha-Altenburg, a branch of the Wettiners, originated from the distribution of an estate in 1640. The first duke of this dynasty, Ernst I., known as “the Pious”, chose Gotha, the second-largest city in Thuringia as his new residence. There, starting in 1643, he built a mighty palace on the ruins of the castle Grimmenstein in only eleven years, which has essentially remained unchanged to the present day. During the Thirty Years’ War, he gave his residence the symbolic name “Friedenstein”. Among other things, the Duke, whose reforms throughout his duchy were considered models in Eu­­rope, also built an art chamber in the castle where not only works of art but also strange natural phenomena could be admired. Not only princely visitors and scholars had access to the art chamber but also – and this was new – pupils from the Grammar School in Gotha.

The successors of this particularly peace-loving dynasty added considerably to the collections over the course of the following generations, and so the Castle Friedenstein Gotha Foundation  still features today not only the world-famous “Gotha Lovers” from the 15th century but also works by Lucas Cranach, Peter Paul Rubens and Caspar David Friedrich. However, the most important works of art include not only portraits but also treasury art – including some made by the Saxon goldsmith Johann Melchior Dinglinger; Meissen and Chinese porcelain and Japanese lacquer work complete this collection of valuable exhibits. Today, the Foundation has the largest collection of Egyptian and antique art in Thuringia, a highly significant coin collection and a collection of print works by Albrecht Dürer and Martin Schongauer, which captivate enthusiastic visitors in special exhibitions again and again. And the collection of sculptures, with works by Jean­­Antoine Houdon, is also of international significance.

In the second half of the 18th century, Friedenstein Castle was the intellectual and cultural centre of central Germany. The reigning Duchess of the day, Luise Dorothea, corresponded with all the intellectual giants of Europe, and so even Voltaire stayed at the Court in Gotha for a while. His works were performed on the oldest Baroque stage in Europe with the original stage equipment, which is still used today during summer festivals year after year. Her son, Duke Ernst II, was more inclined to the sciences and organised events such as the world’s first astronomical congress in Gotha.

In 1825 the male line of the dynasty died out and according to the rules of the house of the Ernestines, the duchy was redivided. This gave rise to the double duchy of Saxe-Coburg-Gotha. The princely family, which among other things, distinguished itself through excellent marriage policies in the 19th century and of whose son – Prince Albert – married Queen Victoria of England, continued to foster the arts and the sciences. Between 1864 and 1879, the Ducal Museum was built at the foot of the Castle in order to make the collections known to an even wider public, and they promptly became world famous.

However, after 1945, the fame of these collections tragically led to their fate, when they were all transported to the former Soviet Union as compensation for the works of art that had been stolen and destroyed by the German Wehrmacht. Although most of them were returned to Gotha from 1956, this was a blow from which Gotha was not to recover for several decades.

Over the last few decades, Friedenstein Castle and its collections have achieved public attention again, which is demonstrated not only by extensive sponsorships but also by a large number of German and international exhibitions. There is still much to discover in Gotha … but this is best discovered for oneself.

autorenbild_eberleProf. Dr. Martin Eberle
The author studied art history, history and historical auxiliary science and obtained his doctorate in 1995. He worked as an intern at the Museum of Applied Arts, the Grassi Museum, Leipzig, and later headed the Museum’s public affairs/educational department there. From 1999 and 2003 he headed up the Gohlis Palace in Leipzig and the City Museum in Dresden until 2007. He was appointed Director of the Friedenstein Castle Gotha Foundation in 2007.

Prof. Dr. Martin Eberle: Das Barocke Universum Gotha – Die Sammlungen der Stiftung Schloss Friedenstein Gotha

Die Herzöge aus dem Hause Sachsen-Gotha-Altenburg und Sachsen Coburg und Gotha waren begeisterte Sammler von Kunstwerken und Förderer der Wissenschaften. Schloss Friedenstein hat dieses kulturelle Erbe bis heute bewahrt und ermöglicht seinen Besuchern auf eindrucksvolle Art Einblicke in das Denken des Barocks und der Aufklärung.

Durch bedeutende Investitionen der Bundesrepublik Deutsch­­land, des Freistaates Thüringen und der Stadt Gotha in das bauliche Ensemble rund um Schloss Friedenstein in Gotha kam und kommt es hier zu beständigen Veränderungen, die sich in vielfältiger Hinsicht auch wirtschaftlich auf die Region aus­­wirken. Denn die Förderung kam nicht nur unmittelbar den Wirt­­schaftsbetrieben der Region zugute, sondern stabilisierte zunehmend Gotha als touristischen Leuchtturm in Thüringen. Allein in den vergangenen Jahren konnte die Stiftung Schloss Friedenstein Gotha ihre Besucherzahlen beinahe verdoppeln. Nach umfangreicher Sanierung wurde 2013 das Herzogliche Museum wiedereröffnet, in dem die Gothaer Kunstsamm­­lungen optimal präsentiert werden.

Weiterhin steht der Stiftung seit 2015 das Perthesforum zur Ver­­fügung, ein Gebäudekomplex, in dem einst der weltberühmte Perthes-Verlag saß. Hier wurde nicht nur „Der Gotha“ (Gothai­­scher Genealogischer Hofkalender) herausgegeben. Mit dem „Hand-Atlas“ von Adolf Stieler verlagerte sich der Publikations­­schwerpunkt seit dem frühen 19. Jahrhundert vor allem auf karthographische Veröffentlichungen. Heute wird der Ge­­bäude­­komplex gleichermaßen von der Forschungs­­­bibliothek der Universität Erfurt, dem Thüringischen Staats­archiv Gotha und der Stiftung Schloss Frieden­stein Gotha als Depot, Magazin, für Werk­stätten und vielfäl­­tige For­sch­ungs­­aufgaben dieser Ein­rich­tungen genutzt. Überhaupt stärkt der Freistaat Thüringen zunehmend auch den For­schungs­­standort Gotha, birgt die Stadt doch mit ihren historisch gewachsenen Sammlungen ein enormes Potential, das über Jahrzehnte kaum erkannt wurde. Mit der Bezeichnung des „Barocken Universums“ wird die Komplexität dieses Poten­tials verdeutlicht, das sich nicht nur auf die Kunstsammlungen und naturhistorischen Bestände erstreckt, auf die Bibliothek und auf die Archivbestände, sondern auch auf die Gebäude­komplexe und eine der ersten Englischen Gartenanlagen des Kontinents. Im Zentrum aller Einrichtungen aber steht Schloss Friedenstein, das ebenfalls in den nächsten Jahren dank der gemeinsamen Anstrengung der Bundesrepublik Deutschland und des Freistaates Thüringen saniert werden wird.

Das Haus Sachsen-Gotha-Altenburg, einem Zweig der Wettiner, ging 1640 aus einer Erbteilung hervor. Der erste Herzog dieses Hauses, Ernst I., genannt der Fromme, wählte die damals zweitgrößte Stadt Thüringens, Gotha, zu seiner neuen Resi­denz. Dort errichtete er auf den Resten der Burganlage „Grim­menstein“ ab 1643 in nur elfjähriger Bauzeit eine gewaltige Schlossanlage, die sich im Wesentlichen bis heute unverändert erhalten hat. Noch während des Dreißigjährigen Krieges gab er seiner Residenz den symbolträchtigen Namen „Frieden­­stein“. Unter anderem richtete der Fürst, dessen landesweite Reformen in Europa als vor­bild­­lich galten, im Schloss auch eine Kunstkammer ein, wo nicht nur Kunst­werke zu bestaunen waren, sondern auch seltsame Natur­­­erschein­­ungen. Dabei hatten nicht nur fürstliche Besucher und Gelehrte Zugang zu der Kunst­kam­­mer, sondern auch – und dies war neu – Schüler des Gothaer Gymnasiums.

Die Nachfolger des ausgesprochen friedliebenden Herr­­scher­­hauses mehrten die Samm­­lungen in den nachfolgenden Gene­­ra­­tionen beträchtlich, und so weist die Stiftung Schloss Frie­den­­stein Gotha noch heute nicht nur das weltberühmte „Gothaer Lie­bes­­­paar“ aus dem 15. Jahrhundert in seinen Beständen auf, sondern auch Werke von Lucas Cranach, Peter Paul Rubens oder Caspar David Friedrich. Zu den bedeutendsten Kunstwerken zählen jedoch nicht nur Gemälde – auch Schatzkünste, unter anderem von dem sächsischen Goldschmied Johann Melchior Dinglinger gefertigt, Meissener und chinesische Porzellane sowie japanische Lackarbeiten ergänzen die kostbaren Exponate. Die Stiftung verfügt heute über die größte Sammlung ägyptischer und antiker Kunst in Thüringen, über ein hoch bedeutendes Münzkabinett und eine graphische Sammlung mit Arbeiten von Albrecht Dürer oder Martin Schongauer, die in Sonderschauen immer wieder den begeisterten Besucher in ihren Bann ziehen. Auch die Skulpturensammlung, mit Werken von Jean-Antoine Houdon, ist von internationaler Bedeutung.

In der zweiten Hälfte des 18. Jahrhunderts stellte Schloss Frie­­denstein das geistige und kulturelle Zentrum Mittel­deutsch­­­­­lands dar. Die damals regierende Herzogin, Luise Dorothea, pflegte den Briefkontakt zu allen Geistesgrößen Europas, und so weilte auch Voltaire am Gothaer Hof, dessen Werke auf der ältesten barocken Bühne Europas mit der originalen Bühnenmaschinerie, die noch heute während eines Sommer­festivals Jahr für Jahr zum Einsatz kommt, aufgeführt wurden. Ihr Sohn, Herzog Ernst II., wandte sich eher den Natur­­wissenschaften zu und organisierte unter anderem den ersten astronomischen Kongress der Welt in Gotha.

1825 starb das Haus im Mannesstamme aus, und den Haus­­ge­­setzen der Ernestiner folgend wurde das Land innerhalb der Familie neu aufgeteilt. So entstand das Doppelherzogtum Sachsen-Coburg und Gotha. Weiterhin pflegte die fürstliche Familie, die sich unter anderem durch eine herausragende Heiratspolitik im 19. Jahrhundert auszeichnete, ehelichte doch einer der Söhne die Königin von England, die Künste und Wissenschaften. Zwischen 1864 und 1879 wurde dann das Her­­zogliche Museum am Fuße des Schlosses errichtet, um die Samm­­lungen einem noch größeren Publikum bekannt zu machen. Schlagartig wurden diese damit international berühmt.

Nach 1945 aber wurde diese Berühmtheit den Beständen tra­­gischerweise zum Verhängnis, als die gesamten Kunst­­samm­­lungen zum Ausgleich für die von der deutschen Wehr­macht zerstörten und geraubten Kunstwerke, in die Sowjetunion abtrans­­portiert wurden. Auch wenn der größte Teil ab 1956 wieder nach Gotha überführt wurde, so sollte sich Gotha in den nächsten Jahrzehnten von diesem Schicksalsschlag nicht erholen.

In den letzten Jahren gelangten Schloss Friedenstein und seine Sammlungen wieder ins Bewusstsein, wovon nicht nur die umfangreichen Förderungen Zeugnis abgeben, sondern auch eine Vielzahl nationaler und internationaler Aus­stel­­lungen. Noch immer gibt es viel in Gotha zu entdecken … Wovon man sich am besten selbst überzeugen mag.

autorenbild_eberleProf. Dr. Martin Eberle
Der Autor studierte Kunstgeschichte, Geschichte und Historische Hilfswissenschaften und wurde 1995 promoviert. Er voluntierte im Museum für angewandte Kunst, Grassimuseum, Leipzig und leitete dort später die Abteilung Öffentlichkeitsarbeit/Museumspädagogik. Zwischen 1999 und 2003 leitete er das Gohliser Schlösschen in Leipzig und bis 2007 das Städtische Museum in Dresden. 2007 wurde er zum Direktor der Stiftung Schloss Friedenstein Gotha berufen.