Prof. Dr. Markus Rapp: Safe and environmentally friendly flying

Extreme environmental phenomena such as the eruption of the Icelandic volcano Eyjafjallajökull, but also less dramatic effects such as turbulence and the formation of ice, have a
long-term effect on air traffic. At the Institute of Atmospheric Physics of the German Aerospace Center, researchers are developing methods and products which will provide reliable information on climate-related phenomena in air travel.

Developments in the economy and society directly affect local and global transport. In particular, new challenges continually develop out of the air transport system, with safety, efficiency and environmental compatibility being three core areas of research. Not only is air transport already disrupted by various weather situations, which in future will probably be influenced by climate change even more, it also contributes to this climate change itself.

Due to the very long development cycles peculiar to air transport, new and alternative transport concepts that take more account of these factors require a cor­­respond­ingly longer lead time and must be analysed and as­sessed early on. On the other hand, we have tools and products today – for example in meteorology – that can be used in present air transport systems now. At the In­­stitute of Atmospheric Physics of the German Aerospace Center, in Oberpfaffenhofen near Munich, methods, prod­­ucts and instruments are being developed which will provide both customised and standardised information on safety and climate-related phenomena in the air such as volcanic ash, weather conditions, areas in which icing-up occurs and climate-sensitive regions.

Eyafjajjajökull_bearbeitet

The Eyjafjallajökull eruption in 2010 caused thousands of flights to be cancelled.

The eruption of the volcano Eyjafjallajökull in Iceland in 2010 clearly demonstrated the vulnerability of air trans­­port systems. More than 100,000 flights had to be can­­celled, which resulted in economic damage of about two billion euros in the air transport sector alone. Volcanic ash in the sky was a major hazard for aircraft. Flying into a cloud of ash can damage the engines and other aircraft components to the point where the engines fail completely. Closing airspace during the Eyjafjallajökull eruption was based on model forecasts of the spread of ash from the Volcanic Ash Advisory Centre (VAAC) in London, which nevertheless entailed major uncertainties. Operational measuring systems for detecting clouds of ash were not available. To support the VAAC forecasts in future vol­­canic eruptions and to better contain contam­inated airspace, the Institute of Atmospheric Physics is de­­veloping a satellite data algorithm for detecting volcanic ash. This will make it possible to predict both the height and the concentration of the detected layer of ash and its dispersal to within several hours. The basis of this algorithm is formed by the radiation measurements in the infrared area of operational weather satellites with a temporal resolution of 15 minutes.

Even in times with no catastrophic events such as volcanic eruptions, weather phenomena such as turbulence, wind shear, lightening, heavy rain, hail, and super-cooled cloud droplets also influence air traffic by reducing passenger comfort or endangering the safety of a flight. For the pilot, information on disruptive weather phenomena is based mainly on the so-­called Significant Meteorological Phenomena Weather Charts (SIGMET). It is given to the pilot before the flight dur­­ing take-off preparations; however, these data do not reproduce the customised and reliable information required for a dedicated flight and are often outdated when the aircraft takes off. To satisfy today’s air-­­travel requirements from a meteorological point of view, the In­­sti­tute of Atmospheric Physics is designing and de­­vel­oping an integrated system for observing and pre­­dict­ing disruptive weather phenomena called WxFUSION. WxFUSION is an expert system and combines data from observation, short-term (nowcast) tools and fore­casting models in order to detect and pursue potentially dangerous or disruptive weather situations and to forecast them for the near and more distant future. The aim is to supply both ground operations and the crews in the air with consistent, real-time and client-­oriented analyses of the relevant weather phenom­ena and their trends. In order to support an efficient and rapid process of the joint decision-making process on the part of the user, the weather information is transmitted and presented in such a way that it requires no interpretation by its user, but indicates clearly and unmistakeably the current and coming meteorological hazard.

A particularly dangerous weather phenomenon is clouds with icing conditions. At heights of less than eight kilometres, various parts of an aircraft can ice-up when under-­cooled water drops freeze. These areas in deep clouds contain a large number of small (less than 100 micrometres in diameter) ice particles. This is why aircraft radar, which is sensitive to larger particles, registers only minor reflections in these dangerous areas when climbing. This was one of the causes of the tragic crash of the Air France airliner over the Atlantic in 2009. Together with many partners in the aeronautics sector, the Institute of Atmos­pheric Physics is taking part in a comprehensive Euro­pean project investigating which meteorological con­ditions promote the formation of such dangerous icing in high-reaching clouds. Satellite and aeroplane-borne warning systems are also being developed and tested so that accidents like the Air France crash caused by icing-up at great heights can be avoided in future.

Karte1_bearbeitet

Detecting the concentration of pillars of volcanic ash with the DLR satellite algorithm during the Eyjafjallajökull eruption at 12:00 on 17 May 2010 UTC in 10-r3 kg/m-2.

The IPA is also carrying out research into aspects of the climatic effects caused by air traffic due to so-­called non-­CO2 emissions. Besides carbon dioxide, vapour trails and ozone, which is formed from nitrogen oxide emissions, contribute considerably to the influence of the air traffic on climate. Vapour trails, for example, form under special conditions in an aircraft’s wake where the hot exhaust gases mix with the ambient air. When the atmosphere is sufficiently cool and moist, steam condenses on the par­­ticles. At the level of air travel, the resulting droplets freeze very quickly. When the ambient air is saturated with respect to ice, i.e. when it contains very large quantities of water vapour, the frozen ice particles continue to grow, the contrail can then exist over an extended period and even extensive ice-clouds can form – the so-called contrail cirrus clouds. These cirrus clouds contribute to the effect of climate on air traffic as, similar to natural cirrus clouds, they affect the radiation transfer in the atmosphere. They both reflect incident solar radiation (a cooling effect) and reduce thermal radiation from the earth (a warming effect). The net average effect is a warming effect. In the current re­­­port of the Intergouvernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC), the radiative forcing through vapour trails and vapour-trail cirrus clouds is given as 50 mW/m2, a value in the magni­tude of radiative forcing from CO2 emissions from air traffic. An extensive flight experiment to investigate these effects in greater detail was conducted spring 2014. The aim of the measuring flights was to determine exactly the chronological development of microphysics and radiation properties of vapour-trail cirrus clouds.

From the point of view of traffic planning, many of the phenomena described can be treated in a similar manner: on various spatial and time scales they cause a change in the usable airspace itself and in the possible frequency of use through individual traffic par­ticipants – either for reasons of efficiency given at least the same level of safety, of passenger comfort, or to the benefit of climate-friendly flying. The idea consists of introducing a fifth dimension to de­­scribe the trajectory besides the usual parameters of geographical length, width, height and time. This concept, currently developed at the IPA, bears the name 5D MET Advisory, a five-­dimensional meteorological consulting/advisory sys­tem for air traffic. The fifth dimension, disruption, is intended to mean mete­orological situations and conditions which either disrupt air traffic directly, lead to par­­ticularly climate-­sensitive zones along flight-routes or control other events. The first category includes storms, tur­­bulence, wind-shear, icing and snowfalls. The second category includes such phenomena as cold regions with high levels of ice saturation in which long-lasting and hence climate-relevant vapour trails are formed. Finally, the third category includes the spread or distribution of volcanic ash or dust particles and the transport and disintegration of wake vorteces.

In this context, the very often different spatial and time scales of the disruptions, which may range from a few minutes within a wing-span (wake vortex, turbulence) to several days in large regions (volcanic ash), often constitute a challenge for standardisation and adaption to specific requirements. We regard it as one of our re­­search tasks to confront these complex challenges and to con­­tribute to safe and sus­­tainable development in air traffic.

Prof. Dr. Markus Rapp passed the qualifying examination for appointment to a professorship at the University of Rostock in the field of atmospheric physics. He was a research assistant at the Leibniz Institute of Atmospheric Physics (IAP) from 2000 to 2007 and guest professor at the University of Stockholm in 2005. From 2008 to 2012, he took over the professorship of Experimental Atmospheric Physics at the University of Rostock and the headship of a research department at the IAP, before he became director of the DLR Institute of Atmospheric Physics at the German Aerospace Center and professor of Atmospheric Physics at the University of Munich.

Prof. Dr. Markus Rapp: Sicheres und umweltschonendes Fliegen

Extreme Umweltphänomene wie die Eruption des isländischen Vulkans Eyjafjallajökull, aber auch weniger dramatische Effekte wie Turbulenzen und Eisbildung, beeinflussen nachhaltig den Luftverkehr. Am DLR-Institut für Physik der Atmosphäre entwickeln Forscher Methoden und Produkte, die sichere Informationen über klimarelevante Phänomene in der Luftfahrt liefern.

Entwicklungen in Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft wirken sich unmittelbar auf den lokalen und globalen Verkehr aus. Insbesondere dem Lufttransportsystem erwachsen daraus immer neue Herausforderungen, wobei die As­­pekte Sicherheit, Effizienz und Umweltschonung drei Kernthemen der aktuellen Forschung sind. Zum einen wird der Luftverkehr durch verschiedene Wettersituati­onen heute schon gestört und künftig, bedingt durch den Klimawandel, vermutlich noch stärker beeinflusst, zum anderen trägt er selbst mit zu diesem Klimawandel bei.

Aufgrund der dem Luftverkehr eigenen sehr langen Ent­­wicklungszyklen erfordern neue und alternative Verkehrs­konzepte, die diese Zusammenhänge stärker beachten, einen entsprechenden Vorlauf und müssen frühzeitig analysiert und bewertet werden. Andererseits verfügen wir heute über Werkzeuge und Produkte, beispielsweise in der Meteorologie, die schon im jetzigen Lufttransport­system genutzt werden können. Am Institut für Physik der Atmosphäre (IPA) des Deutschen Zentrums für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) in Oberpfaffenhofen bei München werden Methoden, Produkte und Instrumente entwickelt, die maßgeschneiderte und standardisierte Informationen über sicherheits- und klimarelevante Phänomene im Luft­­­raum liefern, wie Vulkanasche, Gewitter, Vereisungsge­biete und klimasensitive Regionen.

Der Ausbruch des Vulkans Eyjafjallajökull auf Island im Jahr 2010 hat die Verwundbarkeit des Lufttransport­systems deutlich vor Augen geführt. Mehr als 100.000 Flüge mussten abgesagt werden, was einen wirtschaftlichen Schaden von ungefähr zwei Milliarden Euro allein im Luftfahrtsektor zur Folge hatte. Vulkanasche im Luft­raum stellt eine erhebliche Gefahr für Flugzeuge dar. Ein Einflug in eine Aschewolke kann die Triebwerke und andere Flugzeugkomponenten schädigen, bis hin zum Triebwerksausfall. Die Sperrung der Lufträume beim Eyjafjallajökull-Ausbruch beruhte auf Modellvorhersagen der Ascheausbreitung vom Volcanic Ash Advisory Centre, kurz VAAC, in London, die jedoch große Unsicherheiten beinhalteten. Operationelle Messsysteme zur Detektion der Aschewolke standen nicht zur Verfügung. Zur Unter­­stützung der VAAC-Vorhersagen bei künftigen Vulkanaus­brüchen und zur besseren Eingrenzung kontaminierter Lufträume entwickelt das Institut für Physik der Atmos­phäre einen Satellitendatenalgorithmus zur Detektion von Vulkanasche. Damit lässt sich sowohl die Höhe als auch die Konzentration der detektierten Ascheschicht bestimmen und deren weitere Ausbreitung im Zeitraum einiger Stunden vorhersagen. Als Basis dieses Algorithmus dienen die Strahlungsmessungen im infraroten Bereich von operationellen Wettersatelliten mit einer zeitlichen Auflösung von 15 Minuten.

Auch in Zeiten ohne ein solch gravierendes Ereignis wie ein Vulkanausbruch beeinflussen Wetterphänomene wie Turbulenz, Windscherung, Blitze, starker Regen, Hagel und unterkühlte Wolkentröpfchen den Flugverkehr. Sie reduzieren den Passagierkomfort oder gefährden die Sicherheit eines Fluges. Für den Piloten basiert derzeit die Information über störende Wetterphänomene haupt­sächlich auf den sogenannten signifikanten Wetterkarten (SIGMET). Sie werden dem Piloten vor dem Flug bei den Startvorbereitungen überreicht. Diese Daten geben aller­­dings nicht die maßgeschneiderte und verlässliche Infor­­mation wieder, die für einen dezidierten Flug benötigt wird, und sind beim Start schon oft veraltet. Um aus meteorologischer Sicht den heutigen Bedürfnissen der Luftfahrtwirtschaft Genüge zu leisten, konzipiert und entwickelt das Institut für Physik der Atmosphäre ein integriertes System zur Beobachtung und Vorhersage von störenden Wetterphänomenen, genannt WxFUSION. WxFUSION ist ein Expertensystem und kombiniert Daten aus Beobachtung, Kurzfrist(Nowcast)-Werkzeugen und Vorhersagemodellen, um potenziell gefährliche oder störende Wettersituationen zu erkennen, zu verfolgen und für die nahe und fernere Zukunft vorauszusagen. Ziel ist es, sowohl den Betrieb am Boden als auch die Crews in der Luft mit hochaktuellen, konsistenten und kundenorientierten Analysen der interessierenden Wetter­­phänomene und deren Entwicklung zu versorgen. Um einen effizienten und schnellen Prozess der gemeinsamen Entscheidungsfindung auf der Nutzerseite zu unterstützen, wird die Wetterinformation so übermittelt und dar­­gestellt, dass sie keiner Interpretation seitens des Nutzers bedarf, sondern eindeutig und präzise auf die aktuelle und kommende meteorologische Gefahr hinweist.

Ein besonders gefährliches Wetterereignis sind Wolken mit Vereisungsbedingungen. In Höhen unterhalb von etwa acht Kilometern kann Vereisung von Flugzeugen durch Gefrieren von unterkühlten Wassertropfen auf kalten Flugzeugteilen stattfinden. Diese Regionen in hochreichenden Wolken beinhalten eine große Anzahl von kleinen (Durchmesser kleiner als 100 Mikrometer) Eispartikeln. Deshalb registriert das Flugzeugradar, das auf größere Partikel sensitiv ist, beim Anflug auf diese gefährlichen Gebiete nur eine geringe Reflektion. Dies war auch eine der Ursachen für den tragischen Absturz des Air-France-Linienflugzeuges über dem Atlantik in 2009. Das Institut für Physik der Atmosphäre untersucht mit vielen Partnern aus dem Aeronautik-Sektor in einem umfangreichen europäischen Projekt, unter welchen meteorologischen Bedingungen es in hochreichen Wolken zu solchen gefährlichen Vereisungssituationen kommen kann. Zudem werden satelliten- und flugzeuggetragene Warnsysteme entwickelt und erprobt, damit künftig Un­­fälle wie der Air-France-Absturz durch Vereisung in großen Höhen vermieden werden können.

Darüber hinaus beschäftigen sich Forschungsarbeiten am IPA mit Aspekten der Klimawirkung des Flugverkehrs, die von sogenannten Nicht-CO2-Emissionen herrühren. Neben Kohlendioxid tragen auch Kondensstreifen und Ozon, welches durch emittierte Stickoxide gebildet wird, wesentlich zum Klimaeinfluss des Luftverkehrs bei. Kon­­densstreifen etwa bilden sich unter speziellen Bedingun­gen im Nachlauf eines Flugzeugs. Die heißen Flugzeug­abgase vermischen sich dort mit der Umgebungsluft. Wenn die Atmosphäre kalt und feucht genug ist, kommt es zur Kondensation von Wasserdampf an den Partikeln. Die entstandenen Tröpfchen gefrieren auf Flugverkehrs­niveau sehr schnell. Wenn die Umgebungsluft eisübersättigt ist, also sehr viel Wasserdampf enthält, können die gefrorenen Eispartikel weiter anwachsen, der Kon­­densstreifen kann dann über längere Zeit existieren und es können sich daraus unter Umständen sogar großräumige Eiswolken bilden, die sogenannten Kondensstreifen-Zirren. Diese Zirren tragen zur Klimawirkung des Flugverkehrs bei, da sie ähnlich wie natürliche Zirren in den Strahlungs­­haushalt der Atmosphäre eingreifen. Einerseits reflektieren sie einfallende Solarstrahlung (kühlender Effekt), zum anderen behindern sie die thermische Abstrahlung der Erde (wärmender Effekt). Netto ergibt sich im Mittel ein wärmender Effekt. Der Strahlungsantrieb durch Kon­­densstreifen und Kondensstreifen-Zirren wird derzeit im aktuellen Bericht des Weltklimarates (IPCC) mit 50 mW/m2 angegeben, ein Wert in der Größenordnung des Strahlungsantriebes durch CO2 aus dem Flugverkehr. Ein umfangreiches Flugexperiment, um diese Effekte genauer zu untersuchen, wurde im Frühjahr 2014 durchgeführt. Ziel der Messflüge war eine genaue Be­­stimmung der zeitlichen Entwicklung der Mikrophysik und Strah­lungseigenschaften von Kondensstreifen-Zirren.

Aus verkehrsplanerischer Sicht lassen sich viele der ge­­schilderten Phänomene auf ähnliche Weise behandeln: Sie bewirken auf verschiedenen räumlichen und zeitlichen Skalen eine Veränderung des nutzbaren Luftraums an sich und der möglichen Frequenz seiner Nutzung durch einzelne Verkehrsteilnehmer – entweder aus Grün­den der Effizienz bei zumindest gleicher Sicherheit, des Passagierkomforts oder zu Gunsten eines klimaschonenden Fliegens. Die Idee besteht darin, für die Beschrei­bung der Trajektorie neben den vier heute üblichen Para­­metern geografische Länge, Breite, Höhe und Zeit eine fünfte Dimension einzuführen. Dieses zurzeit im IPA ent­­wickelte Konzept trägt den Namen 5D-MET-Advisory, also ein fünfdimensionales meteorologisches Beratungs­­system für den Luftverkehr. Unter der fünften Dimension, der Störung, sollen meteorologische Situationen und Bedingungen verstanden werden, die den Luftverkehr ent­­weder direkt stören, zu besonders klimasensiblen Zonen entlang der Flugstraßen führen oder andere Ereignisse kon­­trollieren. Zur ersten Kategorie gehören Gewitter, Turbu­lenz, Windscherung, Vereisung und Schneefall. Zur zweiten Ka­­­tegorie gehören beispielsweise kalte Regionen mit hoher Eisübersättigung, in denen sich langlebige und damit klimare­­levante Kondensstreifen bilden. Die dritte Kategorie schließ­­­lich beinhaltet die Ausbreitung von Vulkanasche oder Staub­­partikeln sowie den Transport und Zerfall von Wirbelschleppen.

Eine Herausforderung bei der Standardisierung und An­­passung an spezifische Anforderungen stellen dabei die oft sehr unterschiedlichen Raum- und Zeitskalen der Stö­­rungen dar, die von wenigen Minuten innerhalb einiger Flügelspannweiten (Wirbelschleppe, Turbulenz) bis zu Tagen in großen Regionen (Vulkanasche) reichen können. Wir sehen es als unsere Forschungsaufgabe an, uns diesen komplexen Herausforderungen zu stellen und einen Bei­­trag für eine sichere und nachhaltige Entwicklung des Flugverkehrs zu leisten.

Der promovierte Physiker wurde an der Universität Rostock im Bereich Atmosphärenphysik habilitiert. Von 2000 bis 2007 war er wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter am Leibniz-Institut für Atmosphärenphysik (IAP) sowie 2005 Gastprofessor an der Universität Stockholm. Von 2008 bis 2012 übernahm er die Professur für Experimentelle Atmosphärenphysik an der Universität Rostock sowie die Leitung einer Forschungsabteilung am IAP, bevor er Di­­rektor des DLR-Instituts für Physik der Atmosphäre am Deutschen Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt sowie Lehrstuhlinhaber für Atmosphärenphysik an der LMU München wurde.