Prof. Dr. Margret Wintermantel: German universities and knowledge transfer spur economic development

The quality of the higher education system deter­­mines, to a large extent, the eco­­nomic options of a location in the inter­­national competition. As a result of the globalisation of the knowledge-based soci­­ety, the traditional purpose of colleges plays an increasingly important role, name­­ly to educate a maximum of young per­­sons in such a way that they will be able to reverberate, update and complement their knowledge in their life­­times. Now­­a­­days, professionals in all branches must be capable of handling new information constructively for life; in addition, many people are expected to create new knowledge – or “science” literally. “Knowledge transfer beyond minds” is the key to progress in science and economy.

L1100751-Kopie

For several years, the SolarCar team of the Bochum University of Applied Sciences has participated in the World Solar Challenge races in Australia and USA.

To that effect, the unique characteristic of colleges is most advantageous, namely the combination of edu­­cation based on current knowledge with active re­­search at the frontier of new knowledge. It is only by working on open questions in research that students gain the experience and realisation that, in the future, they will have to go outside the envelope and continuously identi­­­­fy and overcome further challenges. The successful mastery of the latter requi­res the ability to work methodically, which is gained by carrying out research. Early exposure of students to research has been a particu­lar strength of German colleges since Hum­­­boldt’s reform. Tradi­­tionally, all German colleges present a high level of education quality thanks to the high research component. The Ger­­man higher education system is dense and varied, counting approximately 2.2 million students, 90 per cent of whom study at the 264 member colleges of the German Rectors’ Conference (HRK). All colleges in the 16 federal states boast top-level re­­­search and education, offering a large spectrum of subjects, which allow multiple new combinations if required.


uni-kiel-ssk0403x-Kopie

Universities represent the core of the higher education system, for they award doctorates, offer non-professorial academic positions and conduct fundamen­tal as well as applied research. Other German institutions of higher education are devoted to education and the arts – namely Universities of Applied Sciences.

Those universities of applied sciences arose from so-called schools of engineer­­ing 40 years ago and are primarily de­­voted to the practical application of theo­­retical knowledge. The Universities of Applied Sciences also combine education with research and development, frequently in close cooperation with companies that are established in their vicinity. Their pro­­fessors have several years of non-academic work experience, which ensures a strong connection with current practical issues. That is why Universities of Applied Sciences play an exceptional role in the transfer of knowledge. Germany’s economic success is in part based on spe­cific achievements by that type of insti­tution of higher education. “Collaborative research centres” are currently boosting the cooperation between universities, Uni­­versities of Applied Sciences and compa­­nies for the benefit of all participants by enabling young researchers in industry-related collaborative projects to obtain doctorates at the university, even if the bulk of the research is achieved at the Universities of Applied Sciences.

uni-kiel-nchp103x-Kopie

Another strength of the German higher education system comes from the overall open-mindedness of the scientific staff to­­wards the concerns of companies. While the traditional Humboldt principle of edu­­cation through science may still seem idealistic, the core of the German univer­­sity concept is very pragmatic: institutions of higher education promote the development of the community provided they have a high degree of autonomy and gen­­erate as well as convey new knowledge via application-oriented fundamental re­­search. Under those conditions, a university can cooperate with companies on an equal footing without loss of inner substance, allowing it to transfer its knowledge to the market effectively or to adopt new topics productively.

In that regard, engineering plays a model role, for even universities follow a century-old rule according to which professors must have switched to working in a com­­pany before being appointed. Similar re­­quire­­ments are placed on the directors of the institutes of the Fraunhofer Society, which are usually affiliated with a university and predominantly financed by market-oriented research. Fortunately, the majority of stu­­dents and graduates have a strong interest in cooperation between universities and companies. Wherever such coopera­tion is successful, their career opportuni­ties increase and, conversely, companies discover skilled personnel early on.


uni-kiel-jmc1001x-Kopie

Successful cooperation presupposes per­­sonal trust between the people involved as well as an institutional profile that clearly communicates a university’s spe­­cific strong points to its partner. In de­­fining and implementing the profile, the college administration in Germany is most often advised by a college council, which typically includes top business ex­­­­­ecutives. Nowadays, no institution can be at the top in all topics and disciplines. There­fore, each college is working on refining its profile. This involves education, on the one hand, whereby individ­ual subjects must be covered complete­ly and competently, and even more so re­­search, on the other hand, whose focal points must increasingly be organised across disciplines in order to meet con­tent-related and social requirements. Open-topic ex­­­ternal funding such as through the so-called Initiative for Excellence supports that intrinsic process.

Research focal points make the best start­­ing points for setting up strategic alliances between colleges and the private sector. Currently, many sustainably established, excellent focal points continue to concen­­trate large and small clusters or networks around them. Pro­ject-oriented development plans are being advanced more vigorously and increasingly embedded into target-oriented pro­­grammes, which, in the long term, are backed by a “public-private partnership” (PPP). To assure quality, re­­search-re­lated PPP measures are typi­­cally organ­­­ised competitively and submitted to a “peer review” process, which consists of an evaluation through an inde­­pendent reviewer. The Initiative for Excel­­lence com­­petition, which the Federal Min­­is­try of Edu­­cation and Research (BMBF) finances as part of its high-tech strategy, is an ex­­cel­­lent example. German colleges are also well equipped and traditionally success­ful when it comes to EU research promotion.

3-Kopie

Over two million students are registered at German universities.

Financial and legal issues can quickly compromise cooperation. Therefore, the Federal Ministry of Economics and Tech­­nology proposes legally flawless model agreements between business and science, which are useful to smaller establishments on either side with regard to intellectual property, for, since the revision of the employee invention law in 2002, colleges, like companies, are the owners of the inventions made by their staffs.

HRK supports the cooperation between science and business by means of expert opinions, recommendations and events, which are also and particularly aimed at college administrations, for, good manage­­ment is indispensable if economic devel­­op­­ment is to be further stimulated by science.

 

uqjupdct-KopieThe author was born in 1947, studied psychology and journalism at the uni­ver­sity of Mainz and obtained a doctorate in 1972. She habilitated in psychology at Heidelberg. Margret Wintermantel has been lecturing at the university of Saar­­brücken since 1992, and in 2000, she was appointed president. Since 2006, she has further been president of the German Rectors’ Conference.

Prof. Dr. Margret Wintermantel: Deutsche Hochschulen und der Wissenstransfer beflügeln die wirtschaftliche Entwicklung

Die Qualität des Hochschulsystems be­­stimmt in hohem Maße die wirtschaftlichen Optionen eines Standorts im inter­­nationalen Wettbewerb. Mit der Globali­sierung der Wissensgesellschaft spielt der traditionelle Auftrag der Hoch­­schulen eine ständig wichtigere Rolle, nämlich möglichst viele junge Men­schen so auszubilden, dass sie zeitlebens in der Lage sind, ihr Wissen zu reflektieren, zu erneuern und zu ergänzen. Berufs­tätige in allen Bereichen müssen heutzutage ein Leben lang mit neuen Informationen konstruktiv umgehen können, und über­dies müssen viele Menschen dazu fähig sein, neues Wissen zu schaffen, also – im Wortsinn – „Wissenschaft“ zu be­­trei­­ben. „Wissenstransfer über Köpfe“ ist der Schlüssel für den Fortschritt in der Wissen­­schaft wie auch in der Wirtschaft.

L1100751-Kopie

Seit mehreren Jahren ist das SolarCar-Team der Hochschule Bochum erfolgreicher Teilnehmer der World Solar Challenge in Australien und den USA.

Zu diesem Zweck ist das Allein­stel­lungs­­merkmal der Hochschulen von größtem Vorteil, nämlich die Verbindung von Lehre auf dem aktuellen Stand des Wissens mit der aktiven Forschung an der Grenze zu neuem Wissen. Erst die Arbeit an den noch offenen Fragen der Forschung gibt den Studierenden die Erfahrung und die Erkenntnis auf den Weg, dass sie auch künftig über Grenzen werden hinausgehen und beständig weitere Heraus­forderungen identifizieren und bewältigen müssen. Diese erfolgreich zu meistern, erfordert die Fähigkeit zum methodischen Arbeiten, die eben im Vollzug von Forschung erworben wird.

Die frühe Heranführung der Studie­ren­den an die Forschung bildet eine be­­son­­dere Stärke der deutschen Hoch­schu­len schon seit der Humboldt’schen Reform. Traditio­nell ist wegen der hohen For­schungskomponente bei der Aus­bil­­dung an allen Hochschulstandorten ein hohes Qualitätsniveau vorhanden. Deutsch­land verfügt über ein dichtes und differenziertes Hochschulsystem, dem etwa 2,2 Millionen Studierende angehören; die 264 Mitgliedshochschulen der Hoch­­schul­­rektoren­konferenz (HRK) umfassen über 90 Prozent aller Studierenden. In allen 16 Ländern der Bundesrepublik gibt es erstklassige Forschung und Lehre inner­­halb der Hoch­schulen, die jeweils über ein breites Fächerspektrum verfügen, das bei Bedarf zügig neue Fach­kom­bi­nationen erlaubt.


uni-kiel-ssk0403x-Kopie

Das Zentrum des Hochschulsystems bilden die Universitäten, denn sie ver­fü­gen über das Promotionsrecht wie auch über einen akademischen Mittel­bau und sie betreiben grundlagen- wie auch an­wendungsbezogene Forschung. In Deutschland gibt es weitere Hoch­schularten, die sich etwa den Künsten oder der Erziehung widmen. Besonders die deutschen Fachhochschulen sind hier zu erwähnen.
Als Universitäten der angewandten Wis­­sen­­schaften haben sie sich vor etwa 40 Jahren aus sogenannten Ingenieur­schulen entwickelt und widmen sich vor allem der Anwendung theore­ti­schen Wis­­sens in der Praxis. Auch die Fach­hoch­schulen betreiben Lehre in Ver­bin­dung mit Forschung und Entwicklung, und zwar regelmäßig in enger Koope­ration mit Unternehmen, die zumeist im Um­­feld der Hochschule liegen. Die Pro­fes­soren besitzen mehrjährige Berufs­er­fah­­rung außerhalb akademischer Einrichtungen, so dass ein starker Bezug zu aktuellen Fragestellungen der Praxis gewährleistet ist. Deshalb spielen die Fach­hoch­schu­len eine herausragende Rolle beim Wis­sens­­transfer. Der wirtschaftliche Erfolg Deutschlands basiert auch auf den spe­­zi­­fischen Leistungen dieser Hoch­schul­art. Mit „kooperativen Forschungskollegs“ wird derzeit die Zusammenarbeit zwischen Uni­­versitäten, Fachhochschulen und Unter­­nehmen zum Nutzen aller Beteiligten gestärkt, indem für junge Forscherinnen und Forscher in industrienahen Gemein­­schaftsprojekten die Promotion an der Universität ermöglicht wird, auch wenn die Forschungsleistung weitgehend an der Fachhochschule erbracht wurde.

uni-kiel-nchp103x-Kopie

Eine weitere Stärke des deutschen Hoch­­schulsystems besteht darin, dass allge­mein das wissenschaftliche Personal den Anliegen der Unternehmen gegenüber aufgeschlossen ist. Mag die tradierte Humboldt’sche Diktion von Bildung durch Wissenschaft auch immer noch idealis­tisch anmuten, so ist doch der Kern der deutschen Universitätsidee ganz pragmatisch: Die Hochschule befördert die Entwicklung des Gemeinwesens genau dann, wenn sie einen hohen Grad an Auto­­nomie hat und wenn sie über an­­wen­­dungs­bezogene Grund­lagen­for­schung neues Wissen generiert und vermittelt. Unter diesen Vorzeichen nämlich kann die Hoch­­schule ohne Verlust an innerer Substanz auf Augenhöhe mit Unter­neh­­men kooperieren und dadurch ihr Wissen effektiv in den Markt transferieren oder von dort her neue Themen für sich frucht­­bar machen.

Eine Vorbildfunktion haben dabei die Ingenieurwissenschaften; denn auch in den Universitäten gilt hier seit hundert Jahren die Regel, dass Professoren den Seitenwechsel zu einer Firma absolviert haben müssen, bevor sie berufen werden. Analoges gilt für die Direktoren der Ins­­titute der Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft, die regelmäßig einer Universität angegliedert sind und sich überwiegend aus marktbezogenen Forschungsarbeiten finanzie­ren. Erfreulicherweise ist die Mehr­zahl der Studierenden und Promovierenden an der Kooperation zwischen Hoch­schule und Wirtschaft stark interessiert. Wo diese gelingt, steigen ihre Aussichten im Beruf, wie anders herum die Unter­nehmen frühzeitig qualifiziertes Personal kennen lernen.


uni-kiel-jmc1001x-Kopie

Erfolgreiche Kooperation setzt persönliches Vertrauen zwischen den Akteuren vor­­aus, zum anderen aber auch ein ins­­titu­­­­tionelles Profil, das die spezifischen Stärken der Hochschule für die Partner sichtbar macht. Bei der Definition und Umsetzung des Pro­­­fils wird die Hoch­­­­schulleitung in Deutsch­­land zumeist von einem Hoch­schul­­­­­rat beraten, dem regel­­­­mäßig auch Spitzen­­­­­kräfte von Unter­­neh­men angehören. Keine Institution kann heute mehr in allen The­­men und Diszi­pli­nen erstklassig sein. Deshalb arbeitet derzeit jede einzelne Hoch­­­­­schule daran, ihr Profil zu schärfen. Dies gilt zum einen für die Lehre, wobei aber das einzelne Studienfach komplett und kompetent ab­­zu­­decken ist, zum anderen und noch viel stärker für die Forschung, deren Schwer­­­­­punkte zunehmend interdis­­­­ziplinär orga­­ni­­­siert werden müssen, um in­­­­­­haltlichen und gesellschaftlichen Anfor­­­­­­­­­derungen gerecht zu werden. Die För­­­de­­r­­­ung durch themenoffene Drittmittel, etwa über die sogenannte Exzellenzinitiative, un­­­­­­­­­­­ter­­­­­­­­­stützt diesen intrinsisch begründeten Prozess.
Forschungsschwerpunkte bilden den bes­­ten Ansatzpunkt für die Bildung strategischer Allianzen zwischen Hochschulen und Privatwirtschaft. Um nachhaltig eta­­­­blierte, exzellente Schwerpunkte herum entstehen derzeit vielerorts immer wei­­tere größere und kleinere Cluster oder Netzwerke. Projektorientierte Ent­wick­lungs­vorhaben werden verstärkt voran­getrieben und zunehmend eingebettet in zielorientierte Programme, die auf lange Sicht eine „public-private partner­ship“ unterlegen. Zur Sicherung der Qua­­lität werden forschungs­bezogene PPP-Maß­­nahmen in der Regel wettbewerblich und mit „peer review“-Verfahren, also der Beurteilung durch unabhängige Gut­achter, organisiert. Ein herausragen­des Beispiel ist der Wettbewerb „Spitzencluster“, den das Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung im Rahmen seiner Hightech-Strategie finanziert. Auch in Bezug auf die EU-Forschungsförderung sind die deutschen Hochschulen gut gerüstet und traditionell erfolgreich.

3-Kopie

Mehr als zwei Millionen Studenten sind an den deutschen Hochschulen eingeschrieben.

Finanz- und Rechtsfragen können Koope­­ra­­tionen schnell beeinträchtigen. Das Bun­­­des­­­­ministerium für Wirtschaft und Tech­­no­­­logie moderiert deshalb rechtlich ein­­­wand­­freie Muster­verein­barungen zwi­­schen Wirt­­­schaft und Wissen­­schaft, die kleineren Ein­­­­­richtungen beider Seiten beim Umgang mit geistigem Eigentum helfen, denn wie Unternehmen sind auch die Hoch­­schulen seit der Novellierung des Arbeit­nehmer­er­finderrechts im Jahr 2002 Inhaber der Erfindungen ihres Per­­­­sonals.

Die HRK unterstützt die Kooperation zwi­­schen Wissenschaft und Wirtschaft durch Expertise, Empfehlungen und Ver­­­­­an­stal­tun­­gen, die sich nicht zuletzt auch an die Hoch­­schulverwaltungen richten, denn gutes Manage­­ment ist unverzicht­bar, will man auf der Basis von Wissen­schaft die wirt­­schaftliche Entwicklung weiter beflügeln.

 

uqjupdct-KopieDie 1947 geborene Autorin studierte an der Universität Mainz Psychologie und Publizistik und wurde 1972 promo­viert. Sie habilitierte im Fach Psycho­­logie in Heidelberg. Seit 1992 lehrt Margret Wintermantel an der Universität Saarbrücken und wurde im Jahr 2000 zur Präsidentin berufen. Seit 2006 ist sie die zudem Präsidentin der deutschen Hochschulrektorenkonferenz.