Prof. Dr. Kurt Mehlhorn: Computer science as determining social factor

Computer systems increasingly in­­flu­­ence our lives. They not only form the basis for practically all business processes, but for a long time have also played a significant role in science and technology and over the last decade, impressively so in daily life and entertainment. Today, digital information processing is in­­dis­­pen­­s­­able for practically every area of life. In this way, computer science is a determining social factor.

In addition, computers as well as the related software and networks – prima­­r­­­­ily the global internet – are the most complex structures ever created by the hand of man. Indeed, hardware, and to a far greater extent software, are so complex that they can no longer be understood in all their detail.
This makes computer sys­­tems a powerful and mysterious tool. Both the capabilities and the secrets of computer systems demand their scientific research.

mpii_gebaeude_aussenansicht_komplett

The Max Planck Society has adopted this conviction and founded the Max Planck Institute for Computer Science in 1990. The in­­stitute is subdivided into five de­­part­­ments and currently accommodates approxi­­ma­­tely 200 scientists. The central research object of the ins­­titute is algorithms. An algorithm is a calculation specification – a precise command string for a computer on how it should calculate some­thing. In the department “Algorithms and Com­­plexity” (Prof. Dr. Kurt Mehlhorn) and the research group “Automation of Logic” (Prof. Dr. Christoph Weidenbach), re­­­­sour­­ces such as, for example, the com­­puting time and disk space that an al­­gorithm needs for its calculation, are examined.
Here, not only new algorithms are developed that minimize the demand for computing time and disk space and thus have direct and highly-practical relevance, but also ba­­sic limits of this procedure are highlighted: How much computing time/disk space is generally necessary for a calculation? How can the correct func­­tioning of a programme already be automatically verified in its run-up?

The department “Computer Graphics” (Prof. Dr. Hans-Peter Seidel) dedicates itself to computers as instruments for the representation of pictures and films. It thus takes into ac­­count that increasingly a computer does not ma­­nifest itself as an intermediary of num­­bers and text, but above all of pictures and multimedia data.

Also here, the fundamental questions are raised: What is basically doable? And: What resources are required? In this way, a computer is not only used as a producer of pictures, but it should (with the help of suitable algorithms) also “understand” pictures – a duty, which equally presents a great scientific challenge.

mpii_gebaeude_innen_02

The department “Computational Bio­l­o­­gy and Applied Algorithmics” (Prof. Dr. Thomas Lengauer) takes into ac­­count that computers have attained fundamental significance over the past few years in the area of life sciences, particularly for the in­­ter­­pretation of biological data. Com­­pu­­ters are an essential instrument of mo­­dern biology and medicine. The un­­­­derstanding of biological processes on a molecular level is not possible without computers, as, on the one hand, im­­mense amounts of data must be pro­­cessed in modern biology and, on the other, because the complexity of biochemical interactions in living or­­ganisms makes the study of these cycles pointless without the help of a compu­­ter.

Bioinformatic methods are thus a basic element of modern re­­search for the diagnosis and therapy of di­­sease.

Finally, the department “Databases and Information Systems” (Prof. Dr. Gerhard Weikum) particularly dedicates itself to the themes of division, organization and search of data in large computer networks such as the internet.
In this way, aspects of the ef­­fective search for information in networks (search engines like Google are ap­­propriate instruments), the reliabi­­l­­ity of methods in case parts of the network are not accessible, as well as the effective dispensation of computing du­­ties to computing per­­for­­man­­ces as available in the network (for example in peer-to-peer systems) have priority. The practical uses of this research is quite clear: Who has not at some stage wanted to search for pictures with graphic rather than text information or even with difficult que­­ries from the submachine indeed had relevant entries pre­­sented first.

The aim of the Max Planck Institute for Computer Science is to achieve an effect equally through scientific results, soft­­ware and development of the aca­­de­­mic next generation.
The institute manages an active promotion programme for doctorate stu­­dents and post-doctorate students. This be­­gins with taking up the doctorate at the “International Max Planck Re­­search School for Com­­puter Science” and allows for ex­­change with cutting-edge institutions around the world after graduation from the doctorate, via in­­ter­­national co-operation agreements such as the “Max Planck Cen­­ter for Visual Com­­puting and Com­­mu­­nication” (post-doc programme with Stanford Uni­­ver­­sity) and the participation in international re­­search pro­­jects. In result, the young scientists of the institute re­­ceived more than 20 offers of a professorship in- and outside of the country.

 

autor_kurt-mehlhornProf. Dr. Dr. h.c. mult. Kurt Mehlhorn studied computer science and mathe­ma­­tics at TU Munich and at Cor­nell University in Ithaca (USA). He has been teaching informatics at Saarland Uni­­ver­­sity since 1990 and has acted as director at the Max Planck Institute for Computer Science in Saarbrücken since 1990. Among other things, he belongs to the Senate of the Max Planck Society and is a member of the Leopoldina Aca­­de­­my.

Prof. Dr. Kurt Mehlhorn: Informatik als bestimmender gesellschaftlicher Faktor

Computersysteme beeinflussen in stei­­gendem Maße unser Leben. Sie bil­­­­den die Grundlage nicht nur für praktisch alle geschäftlichen Prozesse, son­­dern haben schon seit längerem auch in Wissenschaft und Technik und im letzten Jahrzehnt auch in beeindru­­ck­­en­­dem Maße in unseren Alltag und in un­­sere Unterhaltung dominant Einzug ge­­halten. Heute ist die digitale Infor­­ma­­ti­­ons­­ver­­ar­­beitung aus praktisch keinem Bereich des Lebens mehr wegzudenken. Damit ist die Informatik ein bestimmen­­der gesellschaftlicher Faktor.

Zusätzlich sind Computer sowie die auf ihnen laufende Software und die aus ihnen gebildeten Netzwerke – allen voran das weltumspannende Internet – wohl die komplexesten Strukturen, die je von Menschenhand geschaffen wurden.
In der Tat sind Hardware und in noch weit größerem Maße Software so komplex, dass sie nicht mehr in allen ihren Einzelheiten verstanden werden können. Das macht Computersysteme zu einem gleichermaßen machtvollen wie mysteriösen Werkzeug. Sowohl das Leistungs­­ver­­mö­­gen als auch die Geheimnisse von Com­­putersystemen verlangen nach ihrer wis­­senschaftlichen Erforschung.

mpii_gebaeude_aussenansicht_komplett

Diese Überzeugung hat sich die Max-Planck-Gesellschaft zu eigen gemacht und 1990 das Max-Planck-Institut für Informatik gegründet. Das Institut gliedert sich in fünf Abteilungen und beherbergt aktuell ungefähr 200 Wis­­sen­­schaft­­ler. Der zentrale For­­schungs­­ge­­gen­­stand des Institutes sind Algorithmen. Ein Al­­gorithmus ist eine Rechenvorschrift – eine genaue Anweisungsfolge an den Com­­pu­­ter, wie er etwas zu berechnen hat.
In der Abteilung „Algorithmen und Kom­­plexität“ (Prof. Dr. Kurt Mehlhorn) und der Forschungsgruppe „Logik der Pro­­gram­­mierung“ (Prof. Dr. Christoph Wei­­den­­bach) werden die Ressourcen wie zum Beispiel Rechenzeit und Spei­­ch­­erplatz untersucht, die ein Algo­­rith­­mus für seine Berechnung braucht. Da­­bei werden nicht nur neue Al­­gorithmen ent­­wick­­elt, die den Bedarf an Rechenzeit und Speicherplatz mi­­nimieren und so­­mit eine direkte hohe praktische Rele­­vanz ha­­ben, sondern es werden auch die grundsätzlichen Gren­­zen dieser Vor­­ge­­h­­ens­­wei­­­­­­se be­­leuchtet: Wieviel Rech­­en­­zeit/Spei­­ch­­er­­­­platz ist grund­­sätzlich für eine Be­­­­rech­­­­nung notwendig? Wie lässt sich be­reits im Vorfeld das korrekte Funk­­ti­­o­­nie­­ren eines Pro­­gramms automatisch nach­­wei­­sen?

Die Abteilung „Computergraphik“ (Prof. Dr. Hans-Peter Seidel) widmet sich dem Rechner als Instrument zur Dar­­stellung von Bildern und Filmen. Sie trägt damit der Tatsache Rechnung, dass der Com­­puter zunehmend nicht als Vermittler von Zahlen und Texten sondern vor allem von Bildern und multimedialen Daten in Er­­scheinung tritt.

Auch hier geht es um die Grundfragen: Was ist grundsätzlich machbar? Und: Wie viele Ressourcen werden dafür be­­­­nötigt? Dabei wird der Rechner nicht nur als Bild­­produzent ein­­gesetzt, sondern er soll (mit Hilfe ge­­eig­­neter Al­­go­­rith­­men) auch Bilder „verstehen“, eine Aufgabe, die ebenfalls eine große wissenschaftliche Her­­aus­­for­­derung darstellt.

Die Abteilung „Bioinformatik und Ange­­wandte Algorithmik“ (Prof. Dr. Thomas Lengauer) trägt der Tatsache Rechnung, dass der Computer in den letzten Jah­­ren besonders im Bereich der Lebens­­wis­sen­­schaften eine zentrale Bedeu­­tung erlangt hat, und hier insbesondere bei der Inter­­pretation von biologischen Da­­­ten. Der Rechner ist ein wesentlich­­es In­­strument der modernen Biologie und Medizin. Das Verständnis biologischer Vorgänge auf mole­­kularer Ebene ist ohne den Rechner nicht möglich, zum einen, weil es in der modernen Bio­­logie immense Datenmengen zu verarbeiten gilt, und zum anderen, weil die Kom­­plexität der biochemischen Inter­­ak­­tionen in einem lebenden Organismus das Studium dieser Kreisläufe ohne Zu­­hilfe­­nahme des Rech­­ners aussichtslos macht.

mpii_gebaeude_innen_02

Bioinformatische Methoden sind somit ein Grundbestandteil für die mo­­derne Forschung zur Diagnose und The­­­­­­ra­­pie von Krank­­hei­­ten.
Die Abteilung „Datenbanken und Infor­­ma­tionssysteme“ (Prof. Dr. Gerhard Wei­­­­kum) schließlich widmet sich besonders der Thematik der Verteilung, Or­­ga­­nisation und Suche von Daten in großen Computernetzen wie dem Internet. Da­­bei stehen Aspekte der effektiven Su­­che nach Information in Netzen (Such­­ma­­schinen wie Google sind entsprechende Instrumente), der Ausfallsicherheit von Methoden im Falle, dass Teile des Netzes nicht zugänglich sind, sowie der effektiven Verteilung von Rechen­­auf­­ga­­ben auf im Netz zur Verfügung stehende Rechen­­leistungen (zum Beispiel in Peer-­­to-Peer-Systemen) im Vordergrund. Der praktische Nutzen dieser Forschung drängt sich auf: Wer hat sich nicht schon einmal gewünscht, mit grafischer statt textueller Information nach Bildern su­­chen zu können oder selbst bei schwierigen Anfragen von der Suchmaschine auch tatsächlich die relevanten Einträge als erste präsentiert zu bekommen.
Ziel des Max-Planck-Instituts für Infor­­ma­­tik ist es, gleichermaßen durch wis­­­­­­senschaftliche Ergebnisse, Soft­­ware und Herausbildung des aka­­de­­misch­­­­en Nach­­wuchses Wirkung zu erzielen. Das In­­sti­­tut betreibt ein aktives För­­der­­­­­­pro­­gramm für Doktoranden und Post­­­­dok­­to­­randen. Dieses beginnt mit der Auf­­nah­­me der Promotion an der „In­­ter­­na­­ti­­o­­nal Max Planck Research School for Com­­puter Science“ und er­­laubt nach der Promotion über in­­ternationale Ko­­operations­­ab­­­­kommen wie das „Max Planck Center for Visual Com­­­­­­puting and Commu­­nication“ (Post­­­­doc-Pro­­gramm mit Stanford Univer­­sity) und die Be­­tei­­li­­gung an internationalen For­­schungs­­projekten den Aus­­tausch mit Spit­­zen­­instituti­­o­­nen in der ganzen Welt. So er­­hielten die Nach­­­­­­wuchs­­­­wis­­sen­­schaftler des Instituts allein während der letzten beiden Jahre mehr als 20 Rufe auf Pro­­fessuren im In- und Aus­­land.

 

autor_kurt-mehlhornProf. Dr. Dr. h.c. mult. Kurt Mehlhorn hat an der TU Mün­­chen und an der Cornell University in Ithaca (USA) In­­formatik und Mathematik studiert. Seit 1990 lehrt er an der Uni­­ver­­sität des Saarlandes Informatik. Seit 1990 wirkt er als Direktor am Max-Planck-Institut für Informatik in Saar­­brü­­cken. Er ge­­hört unter anderem dem Senat der Max-Planck-Gesellschaft an und ist Mit­­glied der Akademie Leopoldina.