Prof. Dr. Kristina Sinemus: With global players on the road to success

Kill Bill, The Aviator and the Pirates of the Caribbean would not have ever been seen in their high quality on the screens by any audiences if the film reels hadn’t been scanned by the film scanners of the Weiterstadt-based company. The company’s close proximity to the Frankfurt airport guarantees the direct connection to its customer base in Hollywood for the DFT Digital Film Technology Holding GmbH, the location in the engineering region Darmstadt-Rhine-Main-Neckar guarantees the availability of skilled workers. And those are important for the medium-sized enterprises: one third of the 175 employees develop the technology, another third build the cabinet-size machines. Software developers, mathematicians, physicists, electrical engineers and mechanical engineers work hand in hand.

bones_dailies_07

The Digital Film Technology Holding GmbH offers hardware and software solutions for the professional Film and TV industry at home and abroad.

This is a typical example of the innovative strength in the engineering region all around the city of Darmstadt. Here, products have been invented which have long been part of everyday life. Even lesser known medium-sized businesses, so-called ‘hidden champions’, are producing in this region and export their products and services throughout the world. Through Plexi­­glas, which was developed by Otto Röhm in Darmstadt (formerly Röhm GmbH, today Evonik Röhm GmbH), pilots see from their cockpits to the sky. In more than 50 countries around the world dream globes (snow domes), household and office products made of coloured plastic by the Erbacher Koziol GmbH decorate kitchens, living rooms and offices. The cars produced by the Rüsselsheim-based manufacturer Opel are driven by people from around the world. Medical drugs produced by Merck heal not only the sick in Germany. Companies in China, Honduras and Canada have long since worked with the databases developed and created by Software AG. Even patients in Japan and Saudi-Arabia are treated on dentist chairs build by Sirona from Bensheim. EUMETSAT in Darmstadt, as intergovernmental organisation, observes the weather for 25 European states with its satellites. The tyres by Pirelli from Breuberg in the Odenwald wheel on motorcycles and SUVs across streets from New Zealand to the United States. Cargo ships from the Gernsheim container harbour commute to Rotterdam. Packages and goods depart from the Kelsterbach airport to the whole world. The networks of T-Systems span from Darmstadt across the globe. Experts from the European Space Operations Centre ESOC in Darmstadt look after missions by the European Space Agency and other organisations.

bones_dailies_02

The tranches of the industries. The region of Darmstadt-Rhine-Main-Neckar is a part of the metropolitan region Rhine-Main in the north and the metropolitan region Rhine-Neckar in the south. This includes the city of Darmstadt, the Darmstadt-Dieburg district as well as the districts Groß-Gerau, Bergstraße and Odenwald. The trademark of the vibrant economic region is a mix of small businesses, medi­­um-­sized and large-sized companies.
The export quota of the 70,000 member companies of the Chamber of Industry and Commerce Darmstadt is estimated at 60 per cent, about ten per cent have busi­ness partners or clients outside of Europe.

One example is the pharmaceutical and specialty chemistry. Darmstadt’s largest employer, Merck KGaA, looks back onto a long-standing tradition. The Evonik Röhm GmbH, which was established in 1907 and is now a subsidiary of Evonik Indus­­­tries AG in the city of Essen, re­­searches and manufactures specialty chemical products. The Döhler Group, which manu­­factures nat­­ural ingredients for the food industry, also has its headquarters in Darmstadt.

NewsAttachment_7534-Kopie

The information technology and telecommunications originating in Darmstadt also find their home in the world. Several of Germany’s software giants have their headquarters or a location in Southern Hessen: CA Computer Associates, Devo­team Danet GmbH, Software AG, SAP Deutschland AG & Co. KG as well as Deutsche Telekom AG. With the Fraunhofer Institute for Computer Graphics and the computer science department Interactive Graphics Systems Group (GRIS) at the TU Darmstadt, the region became known at home and abroad as an IT location. The region is the birthplace of the business software, which since the 1970s has conquered the global market with its software innovations. 5,500 software companies are based in and around Darmstadt, Frankfurt and Wiesbaden. They employ 30,000 people.

One trademark of the region is the strong logistics industry. The major commercial areas in Kelsterbach are the hub for goods of all kinds. In the Cargo City South, air cargo is processed, on the Mönchhof site, a central warehouse is currently constructed for the food industry company Rewe. From there, the online retailer ‘Dress for less’ sends its merchandise to the customers; and you can reach the airport in merely seven minutes from this location. But also other companies have their logistics centres near Darmstadt. The chain saws and cutters of Stihl AG & Co. KG are delivered to the specialty retailers from Dieburg. Goods depart weekly from the Gernsheimer harbour to the seaport Rotterdam. Large forwarders such as the company Bender in Gernsheim and the Lohr forwarding company in Darmstadt ship by truck.

266433

Working in the network. When companies decide to work within the structure of a network they form clusters. There are approximately 15 clusters in the Darmstadt-Rhine-Main-Neckar region. From automation and logistics to e-mobility, companies develop joint projects for the future. One of the networks is the Automotive-Cluster RheinMainNeckar. All around the automotive company Opel, a sector has developed and come together.
In Southern Hessen, 23,000 people are directly employed in the automobile and parts manufacturing industry. Almost every forth employee in Southern Hessen is working in this industry. The cluster region is home to about 2,700 mostly medium-sized automotive companies representing about twelve per cent of the employed in the region. A much larger number of suppliers can be found in the sectors of rubber and plastic products, metal, mechanical and electrical engineering. Many other companies also provide business services for the automotive industry. With the high density of engineers in the cluster region, innovations are generated through­out the whole value chain.

From the laboratory to the portfolio. The high presence of international institutions and the companies with worldwide contacts have expanded the horizon of the economy of Southern Hessen. And not only that: in the science city of Darmstadt, scientist and entrepreneurs work closely together. The mutual ex­­­change helps to implement findings from re­search, so that they become a commercial success.

6212446-Kopie

The idea of the snow globe was conceived when Bernhard Koziol was stuck in the snow in his VW Beetle in the Odenwald in the winter of 1950 and through the oval rear window he saw the first image: deer in the snow.

Intelligent juniors for the region. Not only products and services, research and its innovative results come from the universities and the Fraunhofer Institute or other research institutions of the region, but also the intelligent and creative professionals of the future.

The education of young people has a long-­standing tradition in Darmstadt: in 1877 the Institute of Technology became the TU Darmstadt – at that time it was still considered a University of Applied Sciences. Today, also the Prot­estant University of Applied Sciences and the Faculty of Engineering Sciences of the Rhine-Main University are in Southern Hessen. Alto­get­her these universities train about 36,000 students. Highly qualified professionals come from the educational institutions in the region. Nation-wide university rankings attest to the fact that Darmstadt’s educational institutions are top level. Degrees from Southern Hessen are inter­na­tionally competitive.
Work is only one half of life. In a region where so many innovations emerge, the living environment is also attractive. For the purpose of spending leisure time, the nearby Odenwald is particularly interesting. The Bergstraße and Rheinauen provide many recreational and sports facilities and thus a good balance to working life. The wide range of cultural offerings that can be found in the Rhine-Main-Neckar area, the gastronomic variety and attractive living environment contribute to the fact that the region is a good place to live. Even the recreational fun in Darmstadt and the surrounding area is international: since 2011, a solar-­powered trolley travels across the Oden­wald forest, which is also intended to be used in the future as a robust and universal transport system in developing and emerging countries.

 

Sinemus,_Kristina0525-data-KopieThe author is honorary vice-president of the IHK (Chamber of Commerce and Industry) in Darmstadt and chairman of the Marketing Committee of the Chamber of Commerce site. The panel controls the regional location marketing campaign “addict­ed to innovation” and deals with location-initiatives of the metropolitan regions Rhine-Main and Rhine-Neckar. Prof. Dr. Sinemus is managing partner (CEO) of the Genius GmbH.

Prof. Dr. Kristina Sinemus: Mit Global Playern auf Erfolgskurs

Kill Bill, The Aviator und Fluch der Karibik hätte kein Zuschauer je in hoher Qualität auf der Kinoleinwand gesehen, wenn nicht die Filmscanner aus einem Weiterstädter Unternehmen die Film­rollen abgetastet hätten. Die Nähe zum Frank­furter Flughafen garantiert der DFT Digital Film Technology Holding GmbH die Direkt­verbindung zum Kundenstamm in Holly­wood, der Standort in der Engineering Region Darmstadt Rhein Main Neckar die Verfügbarkeit von Fachkräften. Und die sind wichtig für das mittelständische Unter­nehmen: Ein Drittel der 175 Mitar­­beiter ent­wickelt die Technik, ein weiteres Drittel fertigt die schrankgroßen Maschi­­nen. Softwareentwickler, Mathematiker, Physiker, Elektrotechniker und Maschinen­­bauer arbeiten hierbei Hand in Hand.

bones_dailies_07

Die Digital Film Technology Holding GmbH bietet Hard- und Softwarelösungen für die professionelle Film- und TV-Branche im In- und Ausland.

Das ist ein typisches Beispiel für die Inno­vationskraft in der Engineering Region rund um Darmstadt. Hier wurden Pro­dukte erfunden, die längst zum Alltag ge­­hören. Auch unbekanntere Mittel­ständ­­ler, sogenannte „hidden champions“, pro­du­zieren in der Region und exportieren ihre Produkte und Dienstleistungen in die ganze Welt. Durch Plexiglas, ent­wickelt von Otto Röhm in Darmstadt (damals Röhm GmbH, heute Evonik Röhm GmbH), schauen Piloten aus dem Cockpit in den Himmel. In mehr als 50 Ländern weltweit schmücken die Traumkugeln (Schnee­kugeln), Haushalts- und Büroartikel aus buntem Kunststoff der Erbacher Koziol GmbH Küchen, Wohn­zimmer und Büros. Mit den Autos des Rüsselsheimer Her­stellers Opel bewegen sich Menschen auf allen Kontinenten fort. Medikamente von Merck heilen nicht nur Kranke in Deutschland. Mit den Daten­banken der Software AG arbeiten längst Unternehmen in China, Honduras und Kanada. Auch Patienten in Japan und Saudi-Arabien werden auf Zahnarzt­stühlen von Sirona aus Bensheim behandelt. Die Darmstädter EUMETSAT beobachtet als zwischenstaatliche Organisation für 25 europäische Staaten mit ihren Satelliten das Wetter. Reifen von Pirelli aus Breuberg im Oden­wald rollen an Motorrädern und SUVs über Straßen von Neuseeland bis in die Vereinigten Staaten. Güterschiffe aus dem Gernsheimer Containerhafen pendeln bis nach Rotterdam. Pakete und Güter heben von dem Flughafen Kelster­bach ab in die ganze Welt. Die Netze von T-Systems spannen sich über Darmstadt um den Globus. Vom Europäischen Raum­­flug­kontroll­zentrum ESOC in Darmstadt aus betreuen Experten Missionen der Euro­päischen Weltraumorganisation ESA sowie anderer Orga­nisationen.

bones_dailies_02

Die Tranchen der Branchen. Die Region Darmstadt Rhein Main Neckar ist ein Teil der Metropolregion Rhein-Main im Norden und der Metropolregion Rhein-Neckar im Süden.
Zu ihr gehören die Stadt Darmstadt, der Kreis Darmstadt-Dieburg sowie die Kreise Groß-Gerau, Bergstraße und Odenwald. Das Markenzeichen der lebendigen Wirt­­schafts­­region ist der Mix aus Klein­be­trie­ben, Mittel­stand und Großunter­nehmen. Die Export­quote der 70.000 Mitglieds­unter­­­nehmen der Industrie- und Handels­­kammer Darm­stadt liegt bei 60 Prozent, rund zehn Prozent haben Geschäfts­part­­ner oder Kunden außerhalb von Europa.

Ein Beispiel ist die Pharma- und Spezial­chemie. Darmstadts größter Arbeitgeber, die Merck KGaA, blickt auf eine lange Tra­dition zurück. Die seit 1907 ansässige Evonik Röhm GmbH – heute eine Tochter der Evonik Industries AG in Essen – forscht und produziert Produkte der Spezial­che­mie. Auch die Döhler-Gruppe, die natürliche Zutaten für die Lebens­mittel­industrie herstellt, hat ihren Firmensitz in Darmstadt.

cad_cerecac_people_0002-Kopie

Informationstechnologie und Telekommu­nikation sind ebenfalls von Darmstadt aus in der Welt zu Hause. Einige von Deutsch­­lands Softwareriesen haben ihren Haupt­­sitz oder einen Standort in Südhessen: die CA Computer Associates, die Devoteam Danet GmbH, die Software AG, die SAP Deutschland AG & Co. KG sowie die Deut­sche Telekom AG. Mit dem Fraunhofer- Institut für Graphische Datenver­ar­beit­ung, dem Fachbereich Informatik Graphisch-Interaktive Systeme (GRIS) der Technischen Universität Darmstadt ist die Region im In- und Ausland als IT-Standort bekannt geworden. Die Region ist die Geburts­stätte der Unternehmenssoftware, die seit den 70er Jahren mit Softwareinnovationen den Weltmarkt erobert hat. 5.500 Software-unternehmen sind in und um Darmstadt, Frankfurt und Wiesbaden ansässig. Sie beschäftigen 30.000 Mitarbeiter.

Ein Markenzeichen der Region ist die starke Logistikbranche. Die großen Gewerbe­gebiete bei Kelsterbach sind der Um­­schlag­platz für Waren aller Art. In der Cargo City Süd wird Luftfracht abgefertigt, im Mönchhof-Gelände ersteht derzeit ein Zentrallager des Lebensmittel­unter­neh­m­­ens Rewe. Von dort aus versendet der Onlinehändler „Dress for less“ die Waren an die Kunden. In sieben Minuten ist man von dort aus am Frankfurter Flughafen. Aber auch andere Unternehmen haben ihre Logistikzentren in der Nähe von Darm­stadt. Die Kettensägen und Trennschleifer der Stihl AG & Co. KG werden von Dieburg aus an die Fachhändler geliefert. Vom Gerns­heimer Hafen aus zum Seehafen nach Rotterdam starten wöchentlich Güter aus Südhessen. Große Speditionen wie Bender in Gernsheim und die Lohr-Spedition in Darmstadt liefern per Lkw.

266433

Werken im Netz. Wenn Unternehmen sich dazu entscheiden, in Netzwerk­struk­turen zusammenzuarbeiten, bilden sie Cluster. Davon gibt es etwa 15 in der Region Darm­stadt Rhein Main Neckar. Von Auto­matisierung über Logistik bis E-Mobilität entwickeln Unternehmen gemeinsame Zukunftsprojekte.
Eins der Netzwerke ist der Automotive-Cluster RheinMainNeckar. Rund um Opel hat sich hier eine Branche entwickelt und zusammengefunden. In Südhessen sind 23.000 Menschen direkt in der Auto­­mobil- und Teileherstellung beschäftigt. Fast jeder vierte Arbeitnehmer in Süd­hessen ist in der Branche tätig. Die Cluster­­­­region beheimatet rund 2.700 meist mittelständische Automotive-Unter­­­­neh­men, die etwa zwölf Prozent der Be­­schäf­tigten in der Region stellen. Eine weitaus größere Anzahl von Zuliefe­r­unter­­nehmen ist in den Branchen Gummi- und Kunststoffwaren, Metall, Maschinenbau sowie Elektrotechnik zu finden. Viele weitere Unternehmen erbringen zudem unternehmensnahe Dienstleistungen für den Fahrzeugbau. Mit der hohen Ingeni­eurdichte werden in der Cluster­region Innovationen entlang der gesamten Wert­­schöpfungskette generiert.

Vom Labor ins Portfolio. Die hohe Präsenz internationaler Einrichtungen und Unter­­nehmen mit ihren weltweiten Kontakten erweitert den Horizont der südhessischen Wirtschaft. Und nicht nur den: In der Wissenschaftsstadt Darmstadt arbeiten Wissenschaftler und Unternehmer eng zusammen. Der gegenseitige Austausch hilft dabei, Erkenntnisse aus der Forschung so einzusetzen, dass sie zum wirtschaft­lichen Erfolg werden. Das braucht die Region, um im internationalen Wettbewerb der Standorte bestehen zu können.

Kluger Nachwuchs für die Region. Aber nicht nur Produkte und Dienstleistungen, Forschung und ihre innovativen Ergebnisse stammen aus den Hochschulen und Fraun­­­hofer- und anderen Forschungsinstituten der Region, sondern auch die klugen und kreativen Fachkräfte der Zukunft.

6212446-Kopie

Die Idee für die Traumkugel entstand, als Bernhard Koziol im Winter 1950 im verschneiten Odenwald mit seinem VW-Käfer stecken blieb. Durch das ovale Rückfenster sah er das erste Motiv: Rehe im Schnee.

Die Ausbildung junger Menschen hat in Darmstadt eine lange Tradition: 1877 wurde die Technische Hochschule zur Tech­nischen Universität. Knapp ein Jahr­hundert später, im Jahr 1971, wurde die Hochschule Darmstadt – damals noch als Fach­hoch­schule – gegründet. Heute liegen auch die Evangelische Fachhoch­schule und der Fachbereich Ingenieur­wissen­­schaften der Fachhochschule Rhein-Main in Südhessen. Insgesamt bilden diese Hochschulen rund 36.000 Stu­die­rende aus. Aus den Bildungsein­rich­tungen in der Region gehen hochqualifizierte Fachkräfte hervor. Bun­­des­weite Hochschulrankings attestieren Darm­stadts Bildungseinrichtungen Top-Niveau. Abschlüsse aus Südhessen sind international konkurrenzfähig.
Arbeit ist nur das halbe Leben. Eine Region, in der so viel Neues entsteht, ist auch als Lebensraum attraktiv. Für die Frei­zeitgestaltung ist vor allem der an­­grenzende Odenwald interessant. Die Berg­straße und die Rheinauen bieten viele Erholungs- und Sport­möglichkeiten und somit einen guten Ausgleich zum Arbeits­leben. Das kulturelle Angebot des Rhein-Main-Neckar-Raumes, die gastronomische Vielfalt und attraktiver Wohnraum tragen dazu bei, dass es sich in der Region gut leben lässt. Und selbst der Freizeitspaß ist international in Darmstadt und Um­­gebung: Ab 2011 fährt auf der Über­wald­bahn im Odenwald eine solarbetriebene Draisine. Diese soll später auch als robustes und uni­versell einsetzbares Nahver­kehrs­­system in Entwicklungs- und Schwel­len­ländern eingesetzt werden.

Sinemus,_Kristina0525-data-KopieDie Autorin ist ehrenamtliche Vize­präsi­dentin der IHK Darmstadt und Vorsitzende des Standortmarketingausschusses der IHK. Das Gremium steuert die regionale Stand­ort­mar­keting­kampagne „addicted to inno­vation“ und beschäftigt sich mit Stand­ort­initia­tiven der Metro­pol­­­­­­­regionen Rhein-Main und Rhein-Neckar. Prof. Dr. Sinemus ist ge­­schäfts­führende Gesell­schafterin der Genius GmbH.