Prof. Dr. Klaus Dicke: Primed for the future – Friedrich Schiller University of Jena

When the Friedrich Schiller University of Jena celebrates its 450th anniversary in 2008, it can for three reasons confidently look to the future: firstly, the university begins with a rich tradition that has ensured repeated Euro­pean, or rather worldwide flair; second­ly, it is situated in the centre of a technology and innovation region that counts to the most dynamic in Europe and thirdly, it has, since its reconstruction after the German reunification in 1989/1990, con­­sistently followed a quality-oriented ap­­pointment policy. This policy has, in the past years, made a concentrated focal-point-education possible without abandoning the wide classic academic subjects in research and teaching. In this way the massive challenges of the past years – the Bologna Process with serious interferences in the fully-grown Ger­­man educational system, the tightening of the competitive situation through the excellence initiatives as well as the re-alignment of university leadership and management structures through the university legislation – could be success­­fully counteracted.


93R20_uni_haupt_print

Traditionally innovative
At Candlemas in 1558 the academy in Jena, which originated directly from the reformation, was given imperial recognition as university, thus becoming the leading stronghold of the German spiritual locations. The names Herder, Wieland, Goethe, Schiller, Fichte, Hegel and Schelling speak for themselves.

In the 19th century it was the na­­tural scientists that generated “those second blossoms” that stood until the end of the Weimar Republic: Ernst Haeckel unlocked the relationship between or­­ganisms and their environment with the term “Eco­­logy” in biological research. The univer­­sity mechanic Carl Zeiss, the physicist, entrepreneur and social politician Ernst Abbe and the glass chemist Otto Schott laid the foundations for the symbiosis of university basic research, industrial­ly utilizable innovation and quality-oriented production that has since then distinguished the Jena location. The in­­dustrial assembly of microscopes, the Carl Zeiss Foundation, constructed in 1902, the planetarium built in 1925, the future-oriented social po­­licies of Abbe were successful milestones, of which more followed: the dis­covery of the EEG (Hans Berger) and the very-high-frequency radio (UKW-Funk) of Essau, the establishment of a medical technology laboratory by Schott, the industrial Peni­cillin production made possible by Hans Knöll after the Second World War, and others.

 

foyer2_print-Kopie-Kopie

A technology and innovation region
With all its recognition beyond the Thu­­ringian borders, the university has – al­­ways understood as a state university in its history – ac­­cepted a specific responsibility, in re­­search and teaching in all its faculties, for the development interests of the re­­­gion. So the university is a crystallization core and the motor for the techno­logy and innovation region Jena, whose vitality found international attention in the recent past. The economist spoke of “reincarnation valley” (2006), the “Der Spie­gel” of “The Munich of the East” (2007).
The university primarily makes a contri­bution to regional development through a wide, qualitative selection of study courses, by which qualified graduates for the whole spectrum of academic pro­­fessions are educated. In particular, the university thereby attaches high value to teacher training, as becomes clear through the establishment of a centre for teacher training and didactic research. The significance of further education is also increasing. Student internships at companies, authorities and institutions in the region are, like degree dissertations, often the first step towards an occupational appointment. Cooperation takes place in numerous ways: from exa­mination papers about questions ad­­dres­sed to the university by the business world to cooperation projects of individual professorships with commercial enterprises up to cooperation in economically and scientifically connec­t­ed clusters. Their significance in the modern scientific-based society is rapidly increasing so that the university makes a consistent effort towards re­­g­ular and intensive contact with the regional economy.

 


93R20_uhg_frei_print

A not to be underestimated contribution towards the interlinking of the university and the region as well as the en­­hancement of the innovation potential at the location is made by the numerous spin-offs, whether from the university or other research institutions. These are significantly supported by the educational and coaching activities of the Economics Faculty as well as through the agency for research promotion and research transfer that was developed as a “one-stop-agency” for start-up ad­­vice for the entire university. Spin-offs are of strategic importance to the Friedrich Schiller University: they strengthen the technology region, in­­crease the demand for qualified graduates, intensify the research association of industry/academy and make the university attractive for new students, postgraduates and professors. Herewith the synthesis of basic research, application-oriented research with leading positions in patent registration and in­­dustrial conversion is consistently continued in the tradition of Abbe and Zeiss.

After reunification,
focal point education
After the German reunification the university combined its reorganization with the ambitious objective of again as­­cending into the premier league of European universities. The restructuring into ten faculties, building sanitation measures, the reconstruction of a lean albeit efficient administration, one of decision-inhibiting rituals of the group university to a free structure of academic self-management, – all these helped to create favourable and stable conditions for a constant upwards development in re­­­search and teaching. A further important factor was the settlement of research institutions of the Max Planck Society, the Leibniz Association and the Fraunhofer Society on the currently booming Beu­ten­­berg campus. The most important future-positioning factor is however seen in a quality-oriented appointment policy combined with the targeted promotion of young talent. The best minds for Jena – that is and remains the location strategy of the university.

The university, in cooperation with re­­search institutions in Jena and the re­­gion, strives for top positions in Europe in five specific research areas: photonics, new materials, biotechnology, as well as in the research focal points “sci­­ence and cultural patterns” (humanities and social sciences) as well as “indivi­duals and social change” (social scien­ces and economics).
These focal points do not constitute a “rigid corset”, but rather a framework for dynamic interaction between the different research fields.

Present-day challenges
On this basis the university is well-e­quipp­ed to master the most important pre­sent-day challenges:
The realignment of educational struc­tur­­es as intended by the Bologna re­­form was addressed through the conversion of 80 per cent of the study cour­ses into the Bachelor-Master format. Now the new structures should be moulded so as to be compatible with the academic educational function of the university, the advancement of international agility as well as the relaying of extracurricular key qualifications. For this the university started a teaching initiative in 2007/2008. In the fostering of scientific young talent the university has taken a step in the direction of the Eu­­ropean benchmark for excellence by es­­tablishing a postgraduate academy (2006) for a structured doctoral education. The concentration of focal points in research enables, in its cross structure, quick building of networks, which strengthen the competitiveness of the university and the triad of inter-faculty, inter-institutional and international co­­operation that accentuates the identity-building innovation force of the Fried­­rich Schiller University.

 

93R20_campus_3_print-2

The realignment of the leadership and management structures strengthens the autonomy of the university through a balanced united stronger body and a strong administration through a leaner structure and flat hierarchy.

The university is on the right track to continue the leadership position be­­ginning in the 20th century.

 

Bild-des-RektorsThe author was born in 1953 and studied politics, history, catholic theo­logy and philosophy in Marburg and Tü­­bingen. After his graduation and post doc­­toral lecture qualification he taught at the Freie Universität Berlin and in Mainz. The professor for “political philosophy” is the rector of the Jena University. Since 2006 he has also been the Vice Pre­­si­dent of the “German Rectors’ Confe­rence”.

Prof. Dr. Klaus Dicke: Für die Zukunft gut gerüstet ­– Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena

Wenn die Friedrich-Schiller-Universität 2008 ihr 450. Jubiläum begeht, kann sie aus drei Gründen zuversichtlich in die Zukunft blicken: Erstens kann die Univer­sität an eine reiche Tradition anknüpfen, die ihr wiederholt europäische, ja weltweite Ausstrahlung gesichert hat; zweitens steht sie im Zentrum einer Techno­logie- und In­novationsregion, die zu den dynamischsten in Europa gehört, und drittens hat sie seit dem Umbau nach der Wende der Jahre 1989/90 konsequent eine qualitätsorientierte Berufungs­politik verfolgt, die in den vergangenen Jahren eine konzentrierte Schwer­punkt­bildung ermöglichte, ohne die Breite klassischer akademischer Fächer in Forschung und Lehre aufzugeben. So konnte sie den mas­siven Herausforderungen der vergangenen Jahre – Bologna-Prozess mit gravierenden Eingriffen in die gewachsene deutsche Ausbildungsstruktur, Verschär­fung der Konkurrenzsituation durch die Exzellenzinitiative sowie Neuausrichtung universitärer Leitungs- und Entschei­dungs­­­strukturen durch die Hochschul­gesetz­gebung – erfolgreich begegnen.


93R20_uni_haupt_print

Aus Tradition innovativ
An Lichtmess 1558 wurde der unmittelbar aus der Reformation hervorgegangenen Hohen Schule zu Jena die kaiserliche Anerkennung als Universität übergeben, die zur führenden Hochburg deutscher Geistesstätten wurde. Die Namen Herder, Wieland, Goethe, Schiller, Fichte, Hegel und Schelling sprechen für sich.

Im 19. Jahrhundert waren es dann Naturwissenschaftler, die jene zweite Blüte hervorbrachten, in der Jena bis zum Ende der Weimarer Republik stand: Ernst Haeckel erschloss mit dem Begriff „Ökologie“ das Verhältnis von Orga­nismen zu ihrer Umwelt der biologischen Forschung. Der Universitäts­me­cha­nikus Carl Zeiss, der Physiker, Unter­nehmer und Sozial­politiker Ernst Abbe und der Glas­chemiker Otto Schott legten den Grundstein für die Symbiose von universitärer Grundlagenforschung, industriell verwertbarer Innovation und qualitätsorientierter Produktion, die den Standort Jena seither auszeichnet. Die industrielle Fertigung von Mikroskopen, die 1902 errichtete Carl-Zeiss-Stiftung, das 1925 erbaute Planetarium, die voraus­schauende Sozialpolitik Abbes waren erfolgreiche Meilensteine, denen weitere folgten: die Entdeckung des EEG (Hans Berger) und des UKW-Funks (Es­au), die Gründung eines medizintech­nologischen Labors durch Schott, die nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg Hans Knöll die industrielle Penicillin-Herstellung ermöglichte, und andere.

foyer2_print-Kopie-Kopie

Technologie- und Innovationsregion
Bei aller Ausstrahlung über die Grenzen Thüringens hinweg hat sich die Univer­sität in ihrer Geschichte jedoch immer als eine „Landesuniversität“ in dem Sinne verstanden, dass in Forschung und Lehre alle Fachbereiche eine besondere Verantwortung für die Entwicklungs­belange der Region wahrgenommen haben. So ist die Universität der Kristal­lisationskern und Motor für die Techno­logie- und Innovationsregion Jena, deren Dynamik in jüngster Vergangenheit inter­nationale Aufmerk­samkeit fand. Der Economist sprach vom „reincarnation valley“ (2006), Der Spiegel vom „Mün­chen des Ostens“ (2007).

Zur regionalen Entwicklung trägt die Universität in erster Linie durch ein breites, qualitätsvolles Studienangebot bei, durch das qualifizierte Absolventen für das ganze Spektrum akademischer Berufe herangebildet werden. Beson­ders der Lehrerbildung misst die Uni­versität dabei hohe Bedeutung zu, wie ­in der Gründung eines Zentrums für Lehrerbildung und Didaktikforschung deutlich wird. Auch die Weiterbildung nimmt einen zunehmenden Stellenwert ein. Studentische Praktika in den Unternehmen, Behörden und Ein­rich­tungen der Region sind wie auch Diplomarbeiten oft der erste Schritt zu einer beruflichen Stellung. Koopera­tionen finden in vielfältigen Formen statt: von Prüfungsarbeiten zu von der Wirtschaft an die Universität herangetragenen Fragen über Koope­rations­projekte einzelner Lehrstühle mit Wirt­schafts­unternehmen bis hin zur Koope­­ration in Wirtschaft und Wissen­schaft verbindenden Clustern. Ihre Bedeutung nimmt in der modernen wissensbasierten Gesellschaft rapide zu, so dass die Universität sich um regelmäßige und intensive Kontakte zur regionalen Wirt­schaft beständig bemüht.


93R20_uhg_frei_print

Einen nicht zu unterschätzenden Beitrag zur Verflechtung von Universität und Region sowie zur Steigerung des In­­no­­vationspotenzials am Standort leis­ten zahlreiche Ausgründungen, sei es aus der Universität oder anderen For­­schungs­­institutionen, maßgeblich un­­ter­stützt durch die Ausbildungs- und Coaching­aktivitäten der Wirtschafts­wis­­senschaft­lichen Fakultät sowie durch das Büro für For­schungs­för­derung und Forschungs­­transfer, das als „One-Stop-Agency“ zur Gründungs­beratung für die Gesamt­uni­versität ausgebaut wurde. Ausgrün­dun­gen be­sitzen für die Frie­drich-Schiller-Uni­ver­sität eine strate­gische Bedeutung: Sie stärken die Tech­nologieregion, er­­höhen die Nach­frage nach qualifiziert ausgebildeten Absolventen, intensivieren den For­schungsverbund In­dus­trie-Hoch­schule und machen die Universität attraktiv für Studienanfänger, Dokto­ran­­den und Hoch­­­schullehrer. Damit wird in der Tradition von Abbe und Zeiss die Synthese von Grund­lagen­for­schung, an­­­wen­dungsorientierter For­schung mit Spitzenplätzen bei der Patentanmeldung und industrieller Umsetzung konsequent fortgeführt.

Nach der Wende, Schwerpunktbildung
Mit dem Neuaufbau nach der Wende hat die Universität das ehrgeizige Ziel verbunden, wieder in die erste Liga der europäischen Universitäten aufzusteigen. Die Neustrukturierung in zehn Fa­­kultäten, bauliche Sanierungs­maß­nah­men, der Aufbau einer schlanken, aber effizienten Verwaltung, eine von entschei­­dungshemmenden Ritualen der Grup­pen­universität freie Struktur der akademischen Selbstverwaltung halfen, güns­­tige und stabile Beding­ungen für eine ste­tige Aufwärts­entwick­lung in Forschung und Lehre zu schaffen. Ein wichtiger Fak­­tor war weiterhin die An­­siedlung von Forschungs­einricht­ungen der Max-Planck-Ge­sel­l­schaft, der Leib­niz-Gemeinschaft und der Fraun­hofer-Gesell­schaft auf dem heute boomenden Campus Beutenberg. Die wichtigste Wei­chenstellung ist aber in einer auf Qua­lität setzenden Beru­fungspolitik in Ver­bindung mit einer ziel­­gerichteten Nach­­­wuchs­förderung zu sehen. Die bes­ten Köpfe für Jena – das ist und bleibt die Standortstrategie der Uni­versität.

In konkret fünf Forschungsbereichen strebt die Universität in Kooperation mit Forschungsinstitutionen Jenas und der Region eine Spitzenstellung in Europa an: Photonik, Neue Materialien, Biotech­nologie, sowie in den Forschungs-Schwer­punkten „Wissenschaft und kulturelle Muster“ (Geistes- und Sozial­wissenschaften) sowie „Individuen und sozialer Wandel“ (Sozial­wissenschaften und Ökonomie).

Diese Schwerpunkte bilden kein starres Korsett, sondern ein Gerüst für dynamische Interaktionen zwischen den verschiedenen Forschungsfeldern.

Herausforderungen der Gegenwart
Auf dieser Basis ist die Universität gut gerüstet, die wichtigsten Heraus­for­de­rungen der Gegenwart zu meistern:

93R20_campus_3_print-2

Die von der Bologna-Reform angestrebte Neuausrichtung der Ausbil­dungs­struk­turen ist durch Umstellung von 80 Prozent der Studiengänge auf das Bachelor-Master-Format angegangen. Nun müssen die neuen Strukturen so ausgestaltet werden, dass sie mit dem akademischen Bildungs­auftrag der Uni­versität, der Förderung internationaler Mobilität sowie der Vermittlung extracurricularer Schlüssel­qualifikationen kompatibel sind. Hierzu hat die Uni­versität 2007/2008 eine Lehrinitiative gestartet. In der Pflege des wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchses hat die Uni­versität durch Gründung der Jenaer Graduierten­aka­demie (2006) für die strukturierte Doktoranden­ausbildung einen großen Schritt in Richtung europäischer Exzellenz­maßstäbe getan. ­Die Schwerpunktbildung in der For­schung ermöglicht in ihren Quer­strukturen die rasche Bildung von Netzwerken, welche die Wettbewerbs­fähigkeit der Uni­­ver­sität stärken und die Trias von interfakultativer, interinstitutioneller und in­­ternationaler Kooperation als identitäts­bildende Innovationskraft der Fried­rich-Schiller-Universität zur Geltung bringen.

Die Neuausrichtung der Leitungs- und Entscheidungsstrukturen stärkt die universitäre Autonomie durch ein ausbalanciertes Miteinander starker Gremien und einer starken Leitung bei schlanken Strukturen und flachen Hierarchien.

Die Universität ist auf gutem Weg, an die Spitzenstellung zu Beginn des 20. Jahrhunderts anzuknüpfen.

Bild-des-RektorsDer 1953 geborene Autor studierte Po­­li­tik­wissenschaft, Geschichte, katholische Theologie und Philosophie in Marburg und Tübingen. Nach seiner Pro­motion und Habilitation lehrte er an der FU Berlin und in Mainz. Der Professor für „Politische Theorie und Ideenge­schich­te“ ist Rektor der Uni­ver­sität Jena. Seit 2006 amtiert er auch als Vizeprä­sident der Hochschul­rektorenkonferenz.