Prof. Dr. Karl Max Einhäupl: 300 years of Charité Berlin – Tradition and innovation side by side

More than ever our society is steeped in the assessment of individual and collec­­tive knowledge, especially specialist knowledge.

Medicine is a particularly good example. All the research, development and appli­­cations in this area affect mankind in their basic needs and interests: maintaining their health and recovering from diseases. In co-operation with his doctor, the knowl­­edge­­able patient makes reason­­able decisions based on a sufficient edu­­cation and good information. In addition, emotional and social needs must be considered. Modern medicine enables the patient to be more than merely an object of medical care. The increasing number of new health centres where diagnostic and therapeutic offers of the modern high-performance medicine are explained to the patients in talks and in easy-to-under­­stand information materials is there­­fore to be appreciated. Modern university hospitals turn more and more into aca­­demic health centres where the entire range of personal healthcare and public health are attended to and studied.


CBB-Haus01

This way medicine can continuously fill the always current project of enlighten­ment with new life. Health issues are of interest to all people and everybody can experience first-hand what positive re­­sults sci­­en­­tific progress can have in an enlightened and humane knowledge society.

1710 till 2010. For 300 years now, the Charité has been pursuing this development, from a hos­­pital for the poor in the beginning to a faculty of medicine and to today’s united “Charité – Univer­si­täts­medizin Berlin”. The history of the Charité began with establishing a pesthouse in front of the gates of Berlin and is now associated with groundbreaking achievements in the fields of science, medicine and nurs­ing. The name Charité is associated with re­­nowned scientists and doctors, like Robert Koch, Hermann von Helmholtz or Rudolf Virchow. The Charité owes its international fame to them. Tradition and change are close to each other: What has remained is the basic idea of charity – the name Charité (charity, mercy) says it all – and the mission to provide clinical training on the highest level for future doctors. The tasks that were para­­mount at that time were the reason to found the hospital.

CVK-Forschhungshaus02

Since then the questions regarding the exis­­t­­ence, extension, re­­modelling or re­­con­struc­­tion of the hospital as well as de­­mands and re­­quire­­ments of the author­­­ities of Berlin have been nothing unusual. All difficulties throughout the centuries could always be solved successfully. The institution’s innovative power is a clear proof and encourages us to face the tasks of the future.
Since the unification of all medical facilities of all the universities in town the Charité has become one of Europe’s biggest uni­­versity hospitals with 107 teaching hospitals and institutes in 17 Charité centres, as well as more than 13,000 employees and with 130,500 in-patient and 530,200 out-patient treatments. 5,700 surgeries as well as 700 transplantations and 5,800 births are carried through each year at the Charité – only a few examples of the manifold tasks of a hospital of maximum medical care. This makes the Charité a significant economic factor for Berlin and the capital region and an important driving force for medical in­­no­­vations. “Caring, scientific, entrepreneur­ial”, these are the characteristics of today’s Charité. This way it brings top research to the sickbed – for a self-determined life.

For the sake of a modern, integral medicine with a broad variety of genome-based, individualized medicine, the Charité wants to improve the research at universities in Berlin and discover new ways for diagnosis, prevention and therapy. As a training centre for about 7,300 students of human medicine and dentistry as well as for young nursing professionals, the Charité is highly committed to teaching and training. To ensure the scienti­fic excellence for the long term and to provide equal opportunities, numerous structured training pro­grammes like postgraduate lectures, post­graduate courses and positions for inde­pendent research by young colleagues (research grants, research professorships et ce­­tera)
are offered. This way the Charité has extended the typical German pro­ject-focused research funding with a strongly people-oriented approach.

CCM-Hochhaus-02

In addition, the Charité is part of many international co-operation projects, which reach as far as China, Japan and the USA. Every year there are summer schools for students from all over the world.

The “Athens on the Spree” and city of health. Cities like Berlin still are hubs where new knowledge is created, connected with the various fields of research in an inter­­disciplinary way and then transformed into economic power and radiant cultural vigour. The metropolis of Berlin is such a hub and the Charité is one of the biggest and most important facilities in this city.

The scientific landscape and the cultural surroundings are the basis for continuously generating new concepts and ideas. The aspiration to be among the best centres of the world is very attractive to the young generation. Berlin lives on the sciences and as a science city, it has the obligation to commit itself to the political ideal of the enlightened reason and to contribute to an open and optimistic discussion about the future. It is necessary to develop visions that do not stop at national borders and are based on all areas of science, the natural sciences, humanities, arts and social sciences plus economics and politics.


CBF-Luftbild01

The Charité will accept its role in this regard. It wants to accept responsibility, further the medical progress and make it available for everyone. It is supported by the most important university health centres in the world.

 

P9019614The author has been the chairman of the Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin since 2008. He was born in Munich in 1947, where he also studied medicine. After having gathered some experience in a medical practice and at a hospital and after having habilitated in 1986, Dr. Karl Max Einhäupl was offered the professor­ship for neuro­­logical intensive care. He is a member of the renowned German Academy of Sciences Leopoldina.

Prof. Dr. Karl Max Einhäupl: 300 Jahre Charité Berlin – Tradition und Innovation nah beieinander

Unsere Gesellschaft wird, wie nie zu­­vor, von der Gewichtung von individuellem und kollektivem Wissen, insbe­­sondere Spezialwissen durchdrungen.

Die Medizin ist für diese Entwicklung ein besonders gut geeignetes Beispiel. Alles was hier erforscht, entwickelt und angewendet wird, betrifft den Men­­schen in seinen elementaren Bedürf­nissen und Interessen: die Erhal­tung seiner Gesund­heit und die Genesung von Krankheiten. Der aufgeklärte Pa­­tient trifft, auf Basis einer ausreichen­den Grund­bildung und guter Infor­ma­tion, gemeinsam mit seinem Arzt rationale Ent­scheidungen. Da­­bei müssen zudem emotionale und so­­ziale Grund­be­dürf­nisse berücksichtigt werden. Die moderne Medizin erlaubt, dass der Pa­­tient nicht mehr pures Ob­­jekt der me­­dizinischen Fürsorge ist. Die zunehmende Errichtung von Gesund­heits­­­zen­­tren, in denen diagnostische und the­­ra­peutische Angebote der modernen Hochleistungs­medizin den Patien­­­ten im Gespräch und durch verständliches In­­formationsmaterial nahegebracht werden, ist daher zu be­­grüßen. Mo­­der­­­ne Universitäts­klini­ken werden immer mehr zu aka­de­mi­schen Gesund­heits­zentren, in denen das gesamte Spek­trum der persönlichen Gesund­heits­pfle­ge und der öffentlichen Gesund­heit betreut und erforscht wird.
Die Medizin kann so das bleibend ak­­tu­­el­le Projekt der Aufklärung stets mit neuem Leben füllen. Fragen der Ge­­sund­­heit beschäftigen jeden Men­­schen und jeder kann am eigenen Leib erfahren, was wissenschaftlicher Fort­­schritt in einer aufgeklärten, humanen Wissens­­­gesell­schaft im positiven Sinne bedeutet.


CBB-Haus01

1710 bis 2010. Seit 300 Jahren verfolgt die Charité Berlin konsequent diese En­wicklung, zu­­nächst vom Armen­kran­ken­haus zur Me­­dizi­nischen Fakultät und zur heute ver­­einten „Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin“. Die 1710 mit der Einrichtung eines Pest­­hauses vor den Stadttoren Berlins be­­­­ginnende Geschichte der Charité ist mit bahn­brechenden wissen­schaftlichen, medizinischen und pflege­rischen Leis­tungen verbunden. Der Name Charité ist
verbunden mit renommierten Wis­sen­­­schaftlern und Medizinern, wie Ro­­bert Koch, Hermann von Helm­holtz oder Rudolf Virchow. Sie verhalfen der
Cha­­rité zu internationaler Bekannt­heit. Tradition und Wandel liegen nah beiein­ander: Bestand haben bis heute die karitative Grund­idee – der Name Charité (Caritas, Barm­herzigkeit) ist Pro­gramm – und der Auf­trag zur klinischen Aus­­bil­dung künfti­ger Medi­ziner auf höchs­­tem Niveau. Die damals essenziellen Auf­­ga­ben ga­­ben den Ausschlag zur Grün­dung des Kran­ken­­­hauses.
Seither stehen regelmäßig Fragen nach Be­­stand, An-, Um- oder Neubau des Kranken­hauses sowie For­derungen und Anforde­rungen der Stadt Berlin auf der Tages­ordnung. Alle Schwie­­rigkeiten über die Jahr­hunderte hinweg konnten stets erfolg­reich gelöst werden. Die Innovations­­kraft der Insti­tution ist dafür beredter Beleg und macht Mut für künftige Aufgaben.

CCM-Hochhaus-02

Seit der Vereinigung der gesamten uni­versitären Medizin in der Stadt ist die Charité mit 107 Kli­niken und Insti­tuten in 17 Charité-Centren sowie mehr als 13.000 Mitarbeitern und mit 130.500 stationären und 530.200 ambulanten Fällen eine der größ­ten Univer­sitäts­kli­­niken Europas. 5.700 Operatio­nen so­­wie 700 Transplanta­tio­nen und 5.800 Geburten werden jährlich an der Charité durchgeführt – nur einige Beispiele für die vielfältigen Auf­ga­­ben eines Kli­ni­kums der Maxi­mal­ver­­sor­­gung. Damit ist die Charité ein erheblicher Wirtschafts­fak­­tor für Berlin und die Haupt­stadtregion und wichtiger Im­­puls­­­ge­­ber für medizinische Inno­vation. „Für­­sorglich, wissen­­schaftlich, unternehmerisch“, so lauten die Merkmale der Charité heute. So bringt sie Spitzen­forschung ans Kran­kenbett – für ein selbstbestimm­­tes Leben.

Im Sinne einer modernen, ganzheitlichen Medizin mit einem umfassenden Spek­trum ge­­nom­­basierter, individualisierter Medi­zin will die Charité die universitäre For­schung in Berlin verbessern und neue Mög­lich­­keiten der Dia­­gnose, Prävention und The­­rapie entdecken.

CBF-Luftbild01

Als Ausbildungsstätte für etwa 7.300 Studierende der Human- und Zahn­me­­dizin sowie des pflegerischen Nach­wuch­­ses engagiert sich die Charité in ho­­hem Maß in der Lehre und Aus­bil­dung. Zur dauer­haften Sicherung wissen­schaftlicher Exzel­­lenz und im Rahmen der Her­­stellung von Chancen­gleichheit werden zahlreiche struk­turierte Aus­bil­dungs­pro­­gramme wie Gradu­ierten­kol­­legs, Auf­­bau­­studien­gänge und Posi­tio­nen zur selbst­­ständigen For­schung für junge Kollegen (Stipendien, For­schungs­­professuren et cetera) angeboten. Die Charité hat da­­mit die für Deutsch­land übliche projektorientierte um eine stark personenzen­­trierte Forschungs­för­de­r­ung erweitert.

Zudem ist die Charité in zahlreiche in­­ter­­­nationale Koopera­tionen eingebunden, die sich bis nach China, Japan und die USA erstrecken. Jedes Jahr finden Sum­­mer­­­­schools für Studierende aus aller Welt statt.

Spree-Athen und Gesundheits­stadt. Städte wie Berlin fungieren auch heute als Knotenpunkte, in denen neues Wis­­sen geschaffen, interdisziplinär zwischen den verschiedenen For­schungs­be­rei­chen verbunden und in wirtschaftliche Kraft und kulturelle Vitalität mit Ausstrah­lungs­kraft umgesetzt wird. Die Metro­po­le Berlin ist ein solcher Fixpunkt und die Charité eine der größten und wichtigsten Ein­richtungen dieser Stadt.

CVK-Forschhungshaus02

Die Wissenslandschaft und das kulturelle Umfeld sind der notwendige Nähr­­boden, um ständig neue Konzepte und Ideen zu generieren. In dem Anspruch, zu den besten Zentren der Welt zu ge­­hören, liegt eine große Anziehungskraft für die junge Genera­tion. Berlin lebt von der Wissenschaft und hat als Wis­­sen­­schaftsstadt eine Verpflichtung, sich für das politische Ideal aufgeklärter Ra­­tio­­na­lität einzusetzen und dazu beizutragen, dass über die Zukunft offen und mit dem nötigen Optimismus diskutiert wird. Es gilt Visionen zu entwerfen, die sich aus allen Bereichen der Wissenschaft, den Natur-, Geistes-, Kunst- und Sozial­wis­sen­schaften nebst Ökonomie und Politik speisen und nicht an nationalen Grenzen Halt machen.

Die Charité wird hier die ihr zukommen­­de Rolle wahrnehmen. Sie will Verant­wor­­tung übernehmen, den medizinischen Fort­schritt voranbringen und für alle zu­­gänglich machen. Sie wird dabei un­­ter­stützt von den welt­weit wichtigsten aka­demischen Gesund­heits­zen­tren.

P9019614Der Autor ist seit 2008 Vorstands­vor­sit­­zender der Charité – Universitäts­medi­zin Berlin. Er wurde 1947 in München geboren und hat dort Medizin studiert. Nach Praxis- und Klinikerfahrungen so­­wie der Habili­tation 1986 wurde Dr. Karl Max Einhäupl als Professor für Neuro­lo­gische Intensiv­medi­zin berufen. Er ist Mitglied der re­­nom­­mierten Deutschen Akademie Leopoldina.