Prof. Dr. Josef Konrad Rogosch: Application-oriented research in public administration connecting citizens, policy-makers and business

In 1975, Schleswig-Holstein founded a Fachhochschule für Verwaltung und Dienstleistung (FHVD – University of Applied Sciences for administration and service). The general administration, police, pension insurance and tax ­administration departments are all part of the FHVD. Over the years, legislators have added to the FHVD’s list of tasks, particularly adding applied research tasks and consultation activities for public administration and other service ­providers. These tasks are mainly fulfilled through events, projects and publications.

Events. The university days of the FHVD are worth mentioning here, as they have treated current problems and developments in public administration over the years and are of interest to citizens as well as policy-­makers, administration and business. The cross-departmental inaugural event, held on 30 January 2014 in the new “The FHVD in dialogue” format, focused on the topic of “UN Convention on the Rights of People with Disabilities – Consequences for Administration”. The State Commissioner for Disabled Persons, Professor Ulrich Hase, painted a vivid picture of the legal consequences entailed by the UN convention after its implementation into German Federal Law.

On 24 and 25 September 2014, the university days were once again held with the objective of increasing awareness about key qualifications for interacting with handicapped persons, particularly at universities and in administration. To this end, the FHVD collaborated with the Stiftung Drachen­­­see, the inklusive Bildung project, the Lebenshilfe Landes­­verband Schleswig-Holstein e.V., Lebenshilfe Altenholz and the WIR group as well as facilities of the Nord­­deutsche Gesell­schaft für Diakonie (workshops in Schleswig and Eckernförde).

On 25 September, particularly important individual topics under the overarching topic of the university days “challenges arising from inclusion in public services” were highlighted in presentations. The events on 30 September 2015, proceeded in the same format and also revolved around “challenges arising from inclusion in public services”.

jahresbericht_fb-steuer_bild-12The university’s “Department of Police” particularly excels by realising numerous events on current topics for the university, administration, policy-makers and citizens.

On 7 and 8 May 2014, the department held the Europe Day under the motto “We are Europe! Migration: Opportunity or Risk?” Apart from students and teaching staff of the FHVD, the event was attended by numerous guests from the state police, the judiciary, organisations and associations. Experts reported on the various European points of view and highlighted economic, municipal and sociological aspects of the issue.

On 6 October 2014, the department held an event on the topic of “the interaction of mentally disturbed persons with judicial institutions based on the Lindsey case.” The presentations ranged from a general description of evaluating the competency to stand trial and criminal penalties for mentally disturbed persons to the file analysis of 31 cases from a forensic and psychological point of view.

In addition to that, the Department of Police and the State Office of Criminal Investigations in Schleswig-Holstein made “Cybercrime” the focus of the joint event held on 9 December 2014.

As part of the annual Europe Day, held by the department, the event on “Nationalism, racism and Islam – Challenges for a reunited Germany as part of the European community of values” took place on 7 May 2015. Renowned experts on extreme political and religious currents in society and the government’s defensive options could be enlisted to hold presentations on the issue.

On 7 September 2015, the Department of Police took on the current and controversial but socially relevant topic of “displacement, refuge and asylum” together with Amnesty International. They were able to enlist Manuel Raschke from Amnesty International to speak at the event. He described the situation of people in crisis regions vividly and transparently displayed the reasons for seeking refuge and asylum.

The Department of Police ended the year of 2015 with an event on “25 years of German reunification”. Walter Momper, retired Governing Mayor of Berlin, Professor Hans-Peter Bull, retired Minister of the Interior of the State of Schleswig-Holstein, and Dr. Gregor Gysi, Member of the German Parliament, could be enlisted as speakers. As witnesses to the history of the two former German states and the divided city of Berlin, the three speakers were able to give a vivid account of their experiences on 3 October 1990.

As part of the reform of federalism, freedom of assembly was transferred from the competing legislative power of the federal government to the power of the individual states. The Department of Police held a ten-part lecture series as a technical support for the implementation of the new law on freedom of assembly in Schleswig-Holstein. Speakers at the event included Professor Wolfgang Hoffmann-Riem, retired judge at the Federal Constitutional Court and Senator of Justice of Hamburg, Wolfgang Kubicki and Burkhard Peters, members of the state parliament of Schleswig-Holstein, among others.

From 1 March to 3 March 2016, the department for police held an event on the controversial and current “Refugee situation in Schleswig-Holstein – professional treatment and networked cooperation between public and private security”. Numerous senior staff of the state police of Schleswig-Holstein and from the private secur­ity sector discussed the problems of initial registration facilities and common shelters.

Events held by other departments. The department for general administration periodically displays projects implemented by its students for commissioning administrations as part of a presentation for the commissioning parties. The topics are closely related to actual problems in day-to-day administration. The project topics include: “Plain language in administrative decisions – tension between simplified language and legal requirements on the precision and reasoning of administrative decisions”, or “Administrative cooperation or administrative mergers – advantages and disadvantages” as well as “Evaluation of the introduction of a participatory budget”.

Furthermore, the university days in September 2016 focused on the problem of future-oriented administration. How administration will be organised is the question that will be answered while taking into account legal, sociological and economic issues. “Administration 4.0” was chosen as the working title.

On 11 and 12 June 2015, the department for pension insurance stated a new series of events under the banner of “Reinfelder Symposium”. The opening event was on “rehabilitation in German pension insurance – processes, structures and perspectives.” This symposium was continued in June 2016 and focuses on the problems of the SGB IX (book 9 of the German Social Insurance Code), the right to participation. This area has seen extensive reforms, and these new regulations and elaboration of the existing amendments are vital to practical application.

Publications. The FHVD supports all facets of practical administration with publications. The Department of Police published various papers on the issue of the right to assembly; essays and monographs support the legislative process of the law on freedom of assembly in Schleswig-Holstein from the start of discussions in the state parliament. In addition, there were hearings of experts in the committees on internal and legal affairs of the state parliament at which the Department of Police was present. (List of publications can be viewed on www.ebn24.com)

Summary. The FHVD lives and breathes application-oriented research in public administration connecting citizens, policy-makers and business and supports it sustainably. The duality of studying and training requires the teaching staff’s scientific supervision of the changing tasks in administration. Since they, as former employees in administration, are familiar with these processes and can provide an outside perspective, their critical scientific supervision inspires and guides processes of change in the various areas of administration.

konradProf. Dr. Josef Konrad Rogosch
The author is head of the Ausbildungszentrum für Verwaltung Schleswig-Holstein (training centre for administration) and the Verwaltungsakademie Bordesholm (academy for administration). Furthermore, Prof. Rogosch is the president of the Fachhochschule für Verwaltung und Dienstleistung in Schleswig-Holstein.

Prof. Dr. Josef Konrad Rogosch: Anwendungsorientierte Forschung im Bereich der öffentlichen ­Ver­­waltung als Bindeglied zwischen Bürgerschaft, Politik und Wirtschaft

Das Land Schleswig-Holstein hat 1975 eine Fachhochschule für Verwaltung und Dienstleistung (FHVD) geschaffen. Zu der FHVD gehören die Fachbereiche Allgemeine Verwaltung, Polizei, Rentenversicherung und Steuerverwaltung. Der Aufgabenkatalog der FHVD ist im Laufe der Jahre durch die Gesetzgeber erweitert worden, insbesondere dahingehend, dass zu den Aufgaben der FHVD praxisnahe Forschungsaufgaben und Beratungstätigkeiten für die öffentliche Verwaltung und andere Dienstleistungsunternehmen zählen. Diese Aufgaben werden insbesondere durch Veranstaltungen, Projekte und Publikationen wahrgenommen.

Veranstaltungen. Zunächst sind die Hochschultage der FHVD zu erwähnen, die seit Jahren aktuelle Probleme und Entwicklungen der öffentlichen Verwaltung aufgreifen und für Bürger, Politik und Verwaltung sowie Wirtschaft von Belang sind. In dem neuen Format „Die FHVD im Dialog“ wurde als Auftaktveranstaltung fachbereichsübergreifend am 30. Januar 2014 das Thema „UN-Konvention zu den Rechten von Menschen mit Behinderung – Konsequenzen für die Verwaltung“ zum Gegenstand gemacht. Der Landes­­beauftragte für Menschen mit Behinderung, Professor Dr. Ulrich Hase, schilderte eindrucksvoll die rechtlichen Konsequenzen, die die UN-Konvention nunmehr nach Überführung in das Bundesrecht nach sich zieht.

Am 24. und 25. September 2014 wurden erneut die Hoch­schul­­tage mit dem Ziel durchgeführt, den Blick für die Schlüssel­­qualifikationen für die Begegnung mit Menschen mit Behin­derung gerade im Studium und in der Verwaltung zu schärfen. Zu diesem Zweck erfolgte eine Zusammenarbeit mit der Stiftung Drachensee, Projekt inklusive Bildung, der Lebenshilfe Landes­­verband Schleswig-Holstein e.V., der Lebenshilfe Alten­­holz und der WIR-Gruppe sowie Ein­rich­tungen der norddeutschen Gesell­­schaft für Diakonie (Schles­wiger und Eckernförder Werkstätten).

Am 25. September wurden in Referaten besonders relevante Einzelthemen zum Leitthema der Hochschultage „Anforderungen von ‚Inklusion’ an den öffentlichen Dienst“ aufgezeigt. Dieses Format der Veranstaltungen wurde am 30. September 2015 zum selben Thema „Anforderungen von Inklusion an den öffentlichen Dienst“ fortgesetzt.

jahresbericht_fb-steuer_bild-12Der Fachbereich Polizei zeichnet sich insbesondere da­durch aus, dass er aktuelle Themen in Veranstaltungen für die Hochschule, die Verwaltung sowie die Politik und die Bürgerschaft zahlreich durchführt.

Im Rahmen des Europatages, am 7. und 8. Mai 2014 absolvierte der Fachbereich Polizei eine Veranstaltung. Das Motto lautete: „Wir sind Europa! Migrations­be­wegungen: Chance oder Risiko?“. Im Auditorium waren neben den Stu­dierenden und den Lehrkräften der FHVD zahlreich ver­­treten Gäste aus der Landespolizei, der Justiz und aus Organisationen und Verbänden. Experten referierten über die europäischen Standpunkte und beleuchteten ökonomische, kommunale und sozialwissenschaftliche Aspekte dieser Thematik.

Der Fachbereich Polizei führte am 6. Oktober 2014 eine Veranstaltung zum Thema „der Umgang von Lindsey und Justiz mit psychisch gestörten Personen“ durch. Die Vor­­träge reichten von der generellen Darstellung zur Schuld­­unfähigkeitsbeurteilung und strafrechtlichen Sanktionen bei psychisch Gestörten bis zur Aktenanalyse von 31 Fällen aus forensisch-psychologischer Sicht.

Am 9. Dezember 2014 wurde darüber hinaus gemeinsam von dem Fachbereich Polizei und dem Landeskriminalamt Schleswig-Holstein das Thema „Cybercrime“ in den Mittel­­punkt der Veranstaltung gestellt.

Im Zuge der jährlich von dem Fachbereich Polizei ausgerichteten Veranstaltung zum Europatag wurde am 7. Mai 2015 die Veranstaltung zum Thema „Nationalismus, Rassismus und Islamismus – Herausforderungen für das wiedervereinigte Deutschland als Teil der europäischen Wertegemeinschaft“ durchgeführt. Es konnten nam­­hafte Expertinnen und Experten für die Referate gewonnen werden, die sich mit der Thematik extremer politischer und religiöser Strömungen in der Gesellschaft­­ befassten und welche Abwehrmöglichkeiten der Staat besitzt.

Am 7. September 2015 griff der Fachbereich Polizei das aktuelle und brisante gesellschaftsrelevante Thema „Ver­­treibung, Flucht, Asyl“ mit Amnesty International auf. Als Referent konnte Manuel Raschke von Amnesty International gewonnen werden. Er schilderte eindrucksvoll die Situation der Menschen in den Krisenregionen und stellte sehr trans­­parent die Gründe für Flucht und Asyl dar.

Das Jahr 2015 wurde mit einer Veranstaltung „25 Jahre deutsche Wiedervereinigung“ durch den Fachbereich Polizei abgeschlossen. Als Referenten konnten zu dieser Problematik gewonnen werden: Walter Momper, Regierender Bürgermeister von Berlin a. D.; Professor Dr. Hans-Peter Bull, Innenminister des Landes Schleswig-Holstein a.D., und Dr. Gregor Gysi, Mitglied des Deutschen Bundestages. Die drei Referenten konnten als Zeitzeugen aus den ehemals zwei deutschen Staaten und der ehemals geteilten Stadt Berlin über ihre Erlebnisse am 3. Oktober 1990 berichten.

Im Zuge der Föderalismusreform wurde das Versammlungs­­wesen aus der konkurrierenden Gesetzgebungskompetenz des Bundes in die Kompetenz der Länder überführt. Der Fachbereich Polizei hat zur fachlichen Begleitung der Einführung des neuen Schleswig-Holsteinischen Ver­samm­­lungsfreiheitsgesetzes eine zehnteilige Ringvorlesung durchgeführt. Als Referenten konnten unter anderem Pro­fessor Dr. Wolfgang Hoffmann-Riem, Richter am Bundes­­verfassungsgericht a. D., und Justizsenator Hamburg a. D. sowie Wolfgang Kubicki und Burkhard Peters, Mitglieder des Landtags Schleswig-Holstein, gewonnen werden.

Vom 1. März bis zum 3. März 2016 erfolgte eine Veranstaltung des Fachbereichs Polizei zur brisanten und aktuellen „Flüchtlingssituation in Schleswig-Holstein – professioneller Umgang und vernetzte Zusammenarbeit zwischen öffentlicher privater Sicherheit“. Zahlreiche Führungskräfte der Landespolizei Schleswig-Holstein und aus der privaten Sicherheitswirtschaft diskutierten über die Probleme in den Erstaufnahme- oder Sammelunterkünften.

Veranstaltungen anderer Fachbereiche. Der Fachbereich Allgemeine Verwaltung stellt regelmäßig die von den Studierenden durchgeführten Projekte für die auftraggebenden Verwaltungen im Rahmen einer Präsentation für die Auftraggeber dar. Die Themen spiegeln die Probleme in der Verwaltungspraxis wider. Als Projektthemen sind unter anderem zu nennen: „Leichte Sprache in Ver­wal­tungsentscheidungen – im Spannungsfeld zwischen sprachlicher Vereinfachung und gesetzlichen Anforderungen an die Bestimmtheit und die Begründung von Verwal­tungs­­entscheidungen“ oder „Verwaltungskooperationen oder Verwaltungsfusionen – Vor- und Nachteile“ sowie „Prüfung der Einführung eines Bürgerhaushalts“.

Weiterhin hatten die Hochschultage im September 2016 das Problem der zukunftsfähigen Verwaltung zum Thema. Wie soll sich die Verwaltung zukünftig aufstellen – Diese Frage wird aus rechtlicher, soziologischer und ökonomischer Sicht behandelt. Als Arbeitstitel ist gewählt worden: „Verwaltung 4.0“.

Der Fachbereich Rentenversicherung startete am 11. und 12. Juni 2015 mit einer neuen Veranstaltungsreihe unter dem Titel „Reinfelder Symposium“. Die Auftaktver­anstaltung behandelte das Thema „Rehabilitation im Be­­reich der deutschen Rentenversicherung – Prozesse, Strukturen und Perspektiven“. Dieses Symposium wurde im Juni 2016 fortgesetzt und hat im Fokus die Probleme des SGB IX, des Rechts auf Teilhabe; dieser Bereich ist umfänglich reformiert worden und für die Praxis sind diese neuen Regelungen und die Herausarbeitung der vorhandenen Änderungen essenziell.

Publikationen. Die FHVD begleitet die Verwaltungspraxis in allen Facetten mit Publikationen. Der Fachbereich Polizei nimmt sich der Problematik des Versammlungsrechts in mehreren Publikationen an; Aufsätze und Monographien begleiteten den Gesetzgebungsprozess des Versamm­lungs­­­freiheitsgesetzes in Schleswig-Holstein von Anbeginn der Beratungen im Landtag. Ergänzend erfolgten in dem Innen- und Rechtsausschuss des Landtages Experten­anhörungen, an denen der FB Polizei beteiligt war. (Liste der Publikationen auf www.ebn24.com einsehbar)

Bilanz. Die anwendungsorientierte Forschung im Bereich der öffentlichen Verwaltung als Bindeglied zwischen Bürgerschaft, Politik und Wirtschaft wird durch die FHVD nach­­haltig gelebt und begleitet. Die Dualität von Studium und Ausbildung erfordert von den Lehrkräften die wissenschaftliche Begleitung der sich wandelnden Aufgaben der Verwaltung. Mit dieser kritischen wissenschaftlichen Begleitung werden Veränderungsprozesse in den verschiedenen Bereichen der Verwaltung mit beflügelt und gesteuert. Denn die Lehrenden haben als ehemalige Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter in der Verwaltung einen guten Blick auf diese und können von außen reflektierend informieren.

konradProf. Dr. Josef Konrad Rogosch
Der Autor ist Leiter des Ausbildungszentrums für Verwaltung Schleswig-Holstein und der Verwaltungsakademie Bordesholm. Darüber hinaus ist Prof. Rogosch Präsident der Fachhochschule für Verwaltung und Dienstleistung in Schleswig-Holstein.