Prof. Dr.-Ing. Gerd Zimmermann: Digital, experiment-keen and open-minded – The Bauhaus of the 21st century

The Bauhaus University Weimar has a well-defined, sound profile that generates unique study and re­­search a­­­chievements. The arts, techno­logy and humanities disciplines, which usually operate separately, work together closely within our university. This symbiotic relationship creates completely new fields of work, from which unusual and future-oriented approaches emerge.

bild6

In 1919 Walter Gropius founded the Bau­­haus in Weimar – four years later he initiated the quest for “new unity of arts and technology”. That is, to connect art and design avant-garde with modern industry. The Bauhaus University today follows the same experimental and open-minded work methods that the state Bauhaus practised in the early 1920s. With the involvement of modern and contemporary technology and work methods, the Bauhaus of the 21st century, in the “Gropius sense”, is a di­­gital Bauhaus. All the faculties grasp the task of collaborating on the conception, construction and organization of current and future living spaces – analytical, creative and innovation-keen. In that way, practical-orientation plays a significant role in all areas.

The interdisciplinary project-based course is a substantial quality and key-differentiating feature of the study course at the Bauhaus University. It supports the explicit practical-orientation of training through everyday tasks and real-life as­­signments. Currently the Bauhaus Uni­­versity has almost thirty study courses available in four fundamental fields of discipline: architecture, especially city planning and research; engineering, from materials science to construction en­­gineering up to construction management and environmental technology; art and design, especially free art, visual com­­munication and product design; as well as the field of me­­dia in media design, media sciences and media systems.

bild7
The intensive collaboration with econo­m­­ics and the connection of university works on people’s everyday like activities, is the central obligation of the Bauhaus University. It considers itself to be a partner in all areas of environmental organization and simultaneously a partner for the region, nationally and internationally.

In this way numerous ideas for business start-ups flow from the project courses. Young engineers as well as designers, digital media designers, architects and construction engineers use the opportunity while still at university to arrange their own future businesses. They are supported herein by the Bauhaus Uni­versity’s business start-up workshop, “neudeli”. The “neudeli” team has, since the initiation of its workshop in 2001 until the summer of 2007, taken care of more than 100 start-up projects, of which about 40 are still active in the market, with 30 thereof located in Weimar.

bild4

The young founders find further stimulus through the cooperation with the Friedrich Schiller University Jena. From 2007 until 2009, close to one million euros aid money will flow to both univer­sities under the concept of a Weimar-Jena young founder and innovation campus. This should result in even stronger sup­­port for student spin-offs and for collaboration with the regional economy to archieve sustained extension.
The transfer of research findings from the university into business practice is a declared objective of the Material Re­­search and Testing Institute (MFPA) and “Knoten in Weimar”, which is the inter­na­tional transfer liaison of environmen­tal biotechnology in the waste industry. Both are associated institutions of the Bauhaus University. With the completion of the Centre for Intelligent Building (CIB) in spring 2008, the institutions located in the Coudraystraße in Weimar will obtain additional stimulus.

 

bild3

In summer 2007, the Bauhaus Univer­sity took a further step towards scientific and research transfer through the erection of a design transfer centre to intensify and professionalize the colla­b­oration between universities and the economy. Business communication, lo­­cation marketing, transfer of services, design research and the development of formats for further education are only some of the tasks of the transfer centre. The objective also associated with the foundation of the centre, is the establishment of the Weimar design location through networking and the promotion of international cooperation. The official opening of the design transfer cen­tre is scheduled for the beginning of 2008.

International contacts between academ­­ics and students are the normal cour­­se of university life. The university ope­r­ates in a far-reaching network of international relationships that sustain partnerships within the European programme ERASMUS or bilateral agreements or al­­ternatively on a teaching-based co­op­eration. Reputable partners are for in­­­­stance the ETH Zurich, the Oxford Bro­okes University, the Illinois Institute of Tech­nology in Chicago, the Pratt Ins­ti­­­tute in New York as well as the Waseda Uni­versity in Tokyo. Foreign students also considerably shape life at the Bau­­haus University and its image: foreign participation amounts to as much as 30 per cent in several study courses and 14 per cent of the entire university.

Rektor1The author was born in 1946 and stud­ied architecture in Weimar and received his doctorate in 1974. He was initially em­­ployed in academic capa­­cities in Ber­lin and at the HAB building academy, Weimar. Since 1992 he has been profes­­sor at the HAB for “Design and Archi­tec­­­­­tural Theo­­ry”. The rector of the Bau­haus University Weimar is the chairper­son of the state rectors’ conference in Thurin­gia.

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Gerd Zimmermann: Digital, experimentierfreudig und weltoffen – Das Bauhaus des 21. Jahrhunderts

Die Bauhaus-Universität Weimar verfügt über ein klar umrissenes, markantes Profil, das einzigartige Studien- und Forschungsergebnisse hervorbringt. In­­nerhalb unserer Universität arbeiten sonst getrennt agierende Disziplinen wie Kunst, Technik und Geistes­wis­sen­schaf­­ten eng zusammen. Diese symbiotische Beziehung schafft völlig neue Arbeits­felder, aus denen ungewöhnliche und zu­­kunftsorientierte Lösungs­ansätze ent­­stehen.

bild6

Walter Gropius gründete 1919 das Bau­­haus in Weimar – vier Jahre später for­­derte er, die „neue Einheit von Kunst und Technik“ zu suchen. Das hieß, eine Avantgarde der Kunst und der Ge­­stal­tung mit der modernen Industrie zu ver­­knüpfen. An die experimentelle, offe­ne Arbeitsweise, die das Staatliche Bau­haus der frühen 1920er Jahre pflegte, knüpft die Bauhaus-Universität heute an. Unter Einbeziehung modernster, zeit­ge­­nössischer Techniken und Arbeitsmit­tel versteht sie sich im Gropius’schen Sinne als ein Bauhaus des 21. Jahrhun­derts, als ein digitales Bauhaus. Alle Fa­­kultäten begreifen es als ihre Aufga­be, an der Konzeption, Konstruktion und Gestaltung gegenwärtiger und zukünfti­ger Lebens­räume mitzuarbeiten – analytisch, kreativ und innovationsfreudig. So spielt in allen Bereichen die Praxis­nähe eine große Rolle.
Das interdisziplinäre Projektstudium ist ein wesentliches Qualitäts- und Allein­stellungsmerkmal des Studiums an der Bauhaus-Universität. Es unterstützt die ausdrückliche Praxisorientierung der Lehre durch lebens- und alltagsnahe Aufgabenstellungen. Gegenwärtig verfügt die Bauhaus-Universität über fast dreißig Studiengänge in vier wesentlichen Disziplinfeldern: der Architektur, insbesondere der Stadtplanung und -forschung; des Ingenieurwesens, von der Materialwissenschaft über den kons­truk­­tiven Ingenieurbau bis hin zum Bau­­management und der Um­­welt­technik; der Kunst und des Designs, speziell der freien Kunst, der visuellen Kommunika­tion und des Produktdesigns; sowie auf dem Feld der Medien in der Me­diengestal­tung, der Medien­wissen­schaft und der Mediensysteme.

bild7

Die intensive Zusammenarbeit mit der Wirtschaft und die Ankopplung der uni­­versitären Arbeit an den Alltag der Men­­schen ist ein zentraler Anspruch für die Bauhaus-Universität. Sie versteht sich als ein Partner auf allen Gebieten der ge­­stalteten Umwelt und zugleich als Part­ner für die Region, national und international.

So gehen aus dem Projektstudium jähr­­lich zahlreiche Ideen für Existenz­grün­dungen hervor. Sowohl junge Ingenieure als auch Designer, Mediengestalter, Ar­­chitekten und Bauingenieure nutzen die Chance, sich bereits aus der Uni­versität heraus eine eigene Existenz aufzubauen. Unter­stützt werden sie dabei von der Existenz­gründerwerkstatt der Bauhaus-Universität „neudeli“. Seit der Einwei­hung der Werk­­statt im Jahr 2001 bis zum Sommer 2007 betreute das neudeli-Team über 100 Grün­dungs­vorhaben, von denen sich heute noch etwa 40 am Markt be­­finden, davon allein 30 ansässig in Wei­mar. Weitere Impulse erhalten die Jung­­gründer von der Ko­­operation mit der Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena. Mit dem Konzept eines Gründer- und Inno­vationscampus Jena-Weimar fließen im Rahmen einer Bundesförderung in den Jahren 2007 bis 2009 nahezu eine Million Euro För­der­gelder an die beiden Hoch­schulen, um studentische Ausgründun­gen noch stärker zu unterstützen und die Zusammen­arbeit mit der regionalen Wirtschaft nachhaltig auszubauen.

bild4

Der Transfer von Forschungsergebnis­sen aus der Universität in die Wirtschafts­praxis ist ein erklärtes Ziel der Material­for­schungs- und -prüfanstalt (MFPA) und der internationalen Transferstelle für Um­­welt­bio­tech­­nologie in der Abfall­wirt­schaft (Knoten Weimar), beides An-Ins­titute der Bau­haus-Universität. Mit dem im Frühjahr 2008 fertiggestellten Cent­rum für In­­tel­li­gentes Bauen (CIB) erhalten die in der Weimarer Coudraystraße ansässigen Institute zusätzliche Im­­pulse.

Im Sommer 2007 ging die Bauhaus-Uni­versität mit dem Aufbau des Trans­fer­zentrums Design, das die Zusammen­ar­beit zwischen Hochschule und Wirt­schaft intensivieren und professionalisieren soll, einen weiteren Schritt in Richtung Wissenschafts- und Forschungstransfer. Wirtschaftskommunikation, Standort­mar­­keting, Transfer von Dienstleistungen, Designforschung und die Entwicklung von Weiterbildungsformaten sind nur einige der Aufgaben des Transfer­zentrums. Mit dem Aufbau verbunden ist auch das Ziel, den Designstandort Weimar durch Netzwerkbildung zu etablieren und internationale Kooperationen auszubauen. Die offizielle Gründung des Transferzentrums Design erfolgt Anfang 2008.

bild3

Internationale Kontakte zwischen Wis­sen­schaftlern und Studierenden sind in Weimar universitärer Alltag. Die Uni­versität arbeitet in einem weit reichenden Netz internationaler Beziehungen, die sich auf Partnerschaften innerhalb des europäischen Programms ERASMUS oder auf bilaterale Vereinbarungen be­­ziehungsweise lehrbasierte Koopera­tio­­nen stützen. Namhafte Partner sind etwa die ETH Zürich, die Oxford Brookes Uni­­versity, das Illinois Institute of Tech­no­logy in Chicago, das Pratt Institute, New York sowie die Waseda University in Tokio. Auch die ausländischen Stu­dierenden gestalten das Leben an der Bauhaus-Universität und ihr Bild we­­sent­­lich mit: Bis zu 30 Prozent beträgt der Ausländeranteil in einigen Studien­gängen, 14 Prozent sind es an der ge­­samten Hochschule.

Rektor1Der 1946 geborene Autor studierte in Wei­mar Architektur und wur­de 1974 pro­mo­viert. Zunächst wissen­schaft­­lich in Ber­lin und an der Hoch­schule für Archi­tektur und Bauwesen (HAB) Weimar tätig, wurde Zimmermann 1992 Professor an der HAB für „Entwerfen und Architek­­tur­theo­­rie“. Der Rektor der Bau­­­haus-Uni­­versität ist Vor­sitzen­­der der Landes­rektoren­kon­fe­renz Thüringen.