Prof. Dr.-Ing. Dieter Weidlich: A region well-equipped for the future

Mechanical engineering has a long tradition in Saxony. The territory is commonly believed to be the cradle of the industrial sector. Already in 1703, Johann Esche founded the first German factory for specialized machinery for the textile industry in Limbach. The German machine tool manu­­facturing industry also has its roots in Saxony. The first mechanical cloth weaving loom in the world, the first German high-speed colour press and sewing mech­­­­anism technology – all stem from Saxony.
Today, more than 38,000 people are employed in mechanical engineering in Saxony and the organizations in the sector transact business of more than six billion euros.

27666-060

The Dresden region
In the Dresden region in eastern Saxony, there is a genuine focus, especially on the fields of research and development. From the Dresden University of Tech­­no­­l­­ogy and the University of Applied Sci­­enc­­es in Dresden to the Zittau/Görlitz Uni­­ver­­sity of Applied Sciences right up to the na­­tion-wide unique concentration of diverse research institutions of the Fraun­­hofer Society, the Max Planck Society and the Leibniz Association – in combination with the existing economy, this research and development landscape in the Dres­­den region proves itself to be ab­­solutely sustainable also in the long term.
In the Dresden and East Saxony region, the organizational landscape for mech­­anical and plant engineering distinguishes itself, in addition to research
– in Dresden in the following specialized areas:
• specialized machinery
• automation technology
• printing presses
• plant engineering as well as
• foodstuff- and
• packaging machines

– in Görlitz/Zittau in the following specialized areas:
• specialized machinery
• automation technology as well as
• machine tools and forming technology.
Excellent examples of market-leading organizations can be found in many of the modern mechanical and plant engineering spheres.

For instance, Trumpf Sachsen GmbH with its 400 employees produces high per­­for­­m­­ance laser cutting machines. The or­­ga­­ni­zation is one of the most prestigious machine tool producers in Saxony and stands for automated components and laser cutting machines.

 


IMG_1384

On the other hand, in the specialized machine engineering and automation technology combination, the Siemens AG is the most well-known producer. Siemens Görlitz is a worldwide deliverer of and market-leader in steam turbines up to 150 megawatts.
In addition, the group’s competence centre of medium-capacity transformers is found in Dresden.

Beyond that, specialized machinery for the automation sector is produced in Dresden by the company XENON Auto­­ma­­ti­­sierungstechnik GmbH. In the area of plant engineering, the organizations Linde-­­KCA-Dres­­den and von Ardenne are to be mentioned.

In the printing press domain, the Koenig & Bauer AG, with its registered office in Radebeul, is the technological leader for waterless offset printing presses.
As exemplary specialists for foodstuff- and packaging machines, the Glatt Sys­­tem­­­­tech­­nik GmbH and the Thee­­garten-Pactec GmbH & Co. KG, both with registered of­­fices in Dresden, are to be men­­tioned. The economic sector is varied at the location and is able – across all political systems – to refer to a long operating experience

 

Unbenannt-1

International competition
In order for market opportunities to be recognized and utilized, innovations in products and processes to be offered and economic reserves be made available, the Free State of Saxony has founded the Ver­­­bundinitiative Maschinen­­bau Sachsen (VEMAS – Saxony mechanical enigineering network initiative). VEMAS consolidates specialized areas into orga­­nizational networks and technological projects. In this way, research and devel­­opment can be promoted and innovative system solutions can be offered on the global market.
Since 2003, VEMAS has been operating on behalf of the Saxon State Ministry for Economic Affairs and Labour and it is administered by the Fraunhofer Insti­­tu­­te for Machine Tools and Forming Techno­­logy (IWU). The initiative finds industrial support through the competence centre of the Maschi­nenbau Chemnitz/Sachsen eV (mechanical engineering association).
The core tasks of the network initiative are the improvement of organizational innovation through technology transfer, the initiation of cooperation projects, sup­­porting the development of new markets as well as the acquisition and assurance of highly qualified skilled personnel. For the development of innovation and efficiency of Saxon SMEs, the activities of VEMAS are aimed at sustainable colla­­boration between science and economy.
For this purpose, in 2009 VEMAS already for the second time organized a joint par­­ticipation stand at the intec trade fair in Leipzig under the topic “Meeting Point for Industry and Science”. The im­­­ple­­men­­ta­­tion of topic-specific workshops and the initiation and attendance of cooperation pro­­jects in this year lead to a further strengthening of the technological capacity of organizations.
The focus of the development of new markets is primarily aimed at Russia and India. In addition to the support of Saxon organizations in the target markets on location, the attendance of foreign delegations in Saxony also contributes to­­wards the initiation of concrete cooperation pro­­jects.


Trumpf-Hochgeschwindigkeits-Laserschneidmaschine

Outlook
The global financial market crisis may afflict many economic sectors. Long-term success is however granted to those who focus on innovation. The research-in­­ten­­sive environment in the Dresden region is a guarantor of mechanical engineering in the region and the whole of Saxony for entrepreneurial success and therewith also for growth and employment in the long term.
Investors are well-advised in and together with Saxony. Engineering – of course in Saxo­­ny!

 

WeidlichThe author was born in 1952 and studied mechanical engineering at the Chemnitz University of Tech­­no­­logy (TU). In 1982 he was awarded his doctorate and in 2002, was ap­­point­­ed extracurricular professor at the TU Chemnitz. He work­ed as chief engineer at the Fraunhofer Institute for Machine Tools and Forming Technology. Since April 2009, Prof. Weidlich has been the project manager at the Ver­­­­­bund­ini­tia­tive Maschinenbau Sach­­­­sen VEMAS.

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Dieter Weidlich: Region für die Zukunft gut gerüstet

In Sachsen hat der Maschinenbau eine lange Tradition. Das Land gilt gemeinhin als Wiege der Branche. Bereits 1703 gründete Johann Esche in Limbach die erste deutsche Fabrik für Spezial­­ma­­schi­­nen der Textil­­in­­dus­­trie. Auch der deutsche Werk­­zeug­­ma­­schi­­nenbau hat in Sachsen seine Wurzeln. Aus Sachsen stammen der erste ma­­schinelle Tuch­­webstuhl der Welt, die erste deutsche Farbdruckschnellpresse oder die Näh­­wirktechnik.
Heute sind mehr als 38.000 Menschen im sächsischen Maschinenbau beschäftigt und die Unternehmen der Branche setzen mehr als sechs Milliarden Euro um.

27666-060

Die Region Dresden
Im östlichen Sachsen, in der Region Dresden, sind gerade die Bereiche For­­schung und Entwicklung ein echtes Schwer­gewicht. Von der Technischen Uni­­­versität Dresden und der Hoch­­schu­­le für Technik und Wirtschaft in Dres­­den über die Hochschule Zittau/Görlitz bis hin zu der bundesweit einzigartigen Kon­­zentration diverser For­­schungs­­in­­stitute der Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft, der Max-Planck-Gesell­­schaft und der Leib­­niz-Gemeinschaft – im Verbund mit der bestehenden Wirtschaft er­­weist sich diese For­schungs- und Ent­­wick­­lungs­­land­­schaft in der Region Dres­­­­den auch auf lange Sicht als ausgesprochen zukunftsfähig.
In der Region Dresden und Ostsachsen zeichnet sich die Unternehmens-Land­­schaft für Maschinen- und Anlagenbau neben der Forschung
– in Dresden durch die Kompe­­tenz­­fel­­der
• Sondermaschinen,
• Automatisierungstechnik,
• Druckmaschinen,
• Anlagenbau sowie
• Nahrungsmittel- und
• Verpackungsmaschinen

– in Görlitz/Zittau durch die Kompe­­tenz­­felder
• Sondermaschinen,
• Automatisierungstechnik sowie
• Werkzeugmaschinen- und Formen­bau aus.
Exzellente Beispiele für marktführende Unternehmen lassen sich in vielen Bereichen des modernen Maschinen- und Anlagenbaus aufzählen.
So produziert Trumpf Sachsen GmbH mit sei­­nen 400 Mitarbeitern Hoch­­leis­­tungs­­la­­ser­­schneidmaschinen. Das Un­­ter­­­­­­­­­­neh­­men ist einer der renommiertes­­ten Werk­­zeug­­­­maschinenhersteller in Sach­­­­sen und steht für Auto­­ma­­ti­­sierungs­­­kom­­po­­nenten und Laser­­schneid­­ma­­schi­­nen.
In der Kombination Son­­der­­ma­schi­­nen­­bau und Automatisierungstechnik ist wie­­der­­um die Siemens AG der bekannteste Her­­steller. Siemens Görlitz liefert weltweit und marktführend Dampf­turbinen bis 150 Megawatt.
In Dresden befindet sich zudem das Kom­­petenzzentrum des Kon­­zerns für Mittelleistungstransformatoren.


IMG_1384

Sondermaschinen für den Bereich Au­­­tomatisierung produziert in Dresden darüber hinaus die Firma XENON Auto­­ma­­ti­­sierungstechnik GmbH. Im An­­la­­gen­­bau sind die Unternehmen Linde-­­KCA-Dres­­den und von Ardenne zu nennen.

Auf dem Gebiet des Druck­­ma­­schi­­nen­­baus ist die Koenig & Bauer AG mit Sitz in Radebeul der Technologieführer für was­­serlose Offsetdruckmaschinen.
Als beispielhafte Spezialisten für Nah­­rungs­­mittel- und Ver­­pack­­ungs­­ma­­schi­­nen sind etwa die Glatt Systemtechnik GmbH und Thee­­garten-Pactec GmbH & Co. KG, beide mit Sitz in Dres­­den, zu nennen. Der Wirt­­schafts­­sektor ist am Standort vielseitig und kann – über alle politischen Systeme hinweg – auf eine lange Erfahrung verweisen.

Unbenannt-1

Internationaler Wettbewerb
Damit neue Marktchancen erkannt und genutzt werden, Innovationen in Pro­­dukt und Prozess angeboten und Wirt­­schaftlichkeitsreserven erschlossen wer­­den, hat der Freistaat Sachsen die Ver­­­bundinitiative Maschinenbau Sachsen (VEMAS) ins Leben gerufen. Die VEMAS führt die Kompetenzfelder zu Unter­­neh­­mensnetzwerken und Tech­­no­­logie­­pro­­jek­­­­ten zusammen. So können For­­schung und Entwicklung vorangebracht und in­­no­­va­­tive Systemlösungen dem globalen Markt angeboten werden.
Die VEMAS ist seit 2003 im Auftrag des Sächsischen Staatsministeriums für Wirt­­­­­­schaft und Arbeit tätig und wird vom Fraunhofer Institut für Werkzeug­­ma­­schi­­nen und Umformtechnik (IWU) geführt. Indus­­tri­­elle Un­­ter­­­stüt­­zung erfährt die Initiative durch das Kom­­petenz­­zentrum Maschi­nenbau Chem­­nitz/Sach­­sen eV.

Kernaufgaben der Verbundinitiative sind die Verbesserung der Innovationskraft der Unternehmen durch Technologie­transfer, die Initiierung von Ko­­opera­­ti­ons­­­projekten, die Unterstützung bei der Er­­schließung neuer Märkte sowie die Ge­­­­winnung und Sicherung von hochqualifizierten Fachkräften. Für den Ausbau von Innovationskraft und Leis­tungs­fähigkeit der sächsischen KMU zielen die Aktivi­täten der VEMAS auf die nachhaltige Zusammenarbeit zwischen Wissenschaft und Wirtschaft.


Trumpf-Hochgeschwindigkeits-Laserschneidmaschine

Im Jahr 2009 organisierte die VEMAS dazu bereits zum zweiten Mal einen Gemein­schaftsstand zur Messe intec in Leipzig unter dem Thema „Treffpunkt Industrie und Wissenschaft“. Auch die Durchführung von themenspezifischen Workshops und die Initiierung und Be­­gleitung von Ko­­opera­tionsprojekten führten im dem Jahr zu einer weiteren Stär­­kung der tech­­no­­lo­­gischen Kompetenz der Unter­neh­­men.
Der Fokus bei der Erschließung neuer Märkte ist vor allem auf die Länder Russland und Indien gerichtet. Neben der Begleitung der sächsischen Unter­neh­­men in den Zielmärkten vor Ort trägt auch die Betreuung von ausländischen Delegationen in Sachsen zur Anbahnung konkreter Kooperations­vor­haben bei.

Ausblick
Die globale Finanzmarktkrise mag vielen Wirtschaftsbereichen zusetzen. Lang­­­­fristiger Erfolg ist aber jenen beschieden, die auf Innovation setzen. Das for­­schungsintensive Umfeld in der Region Dresden ist dabei für den Maschinenbau in der Region und in ganz Sachsen ein Garant für unternehmerischen Erfolg und damit langfristig auch für Wachs­­tum und Be­­schäf­­ti­­gung.
Investoren sind in und mit Sachsen gut be­­raten. Maschinenbau – natürlich Sach­­sen!

WeidlichDer 1952 ge­­­bo­­re­­ne Autor hat an der TH Chemnitz Maschinen­bau studiert, wurde 1982 promoviert und 2002 von der TU Chem­nitz zum außerplan­­mäßigen Pro­fes­sor ernannt. Er hat un­­ter an­­de­­­rem als Ober­­­ingenieur am Fraun­­­­­­hofer-Institut für Werk­­zeug­ma­schi­nen und Um­­form­­­tech­nik ge­­wirkt. Prof. Weidlich ist seit April 2009 Projektmanager bei der Ver­­­­­bund­ini­tiative Maschinenbau Sach­­­­sen VEMAS.