Prof. Dr.-Ing. Andreas Reuter & Dr. Stephan Barth & Dr.-Ing. Jan Teßmer: Intelligent rotor blades reduce the pressure on wind energy giants

What is really noticeable about the new generation of wind turbine prototypes is their particularly long rotor blades. These enormous structures are intended to increase the energy yield. Each time the turbine rotates it covers an area as large as several soccer fields and with very different wind conditions in different places. The Wind Energy Research Alliance is developing “intelligent rotor blades”, which regulate the differing loads across this area and thus improve the profitability of wind turbines.

 

The prototypes for the new generation of offshore turbines – an eight-megawatt turbine with a rotor diameter of 164 me­­tres in Denmark and a seven-megawatt turbine with a rotor diam­eter of an incredible 171 metres in Scotland – were erected at the start of the year. The developers have made a considerable leap forward when it comes to the size – the rotor blades are around 20 metres longer than those of current standard turbines. Rotor diameters in the onshore segment are now commonly around 120 metres. The only way to comprehend dimensions like these is to compare them with other technical products: long-haul aircrafts have a wing span of 80 metres.

Rotorblätter sind Hightech-Produkte mit Abmessungen, die die Spannweite eines Langstrecken-Passagierflugzeuges bei weitem übertreffen.

Rotor blades are high-tech products that exceed the wing span of long-distance airliners by far.

Growth in wind turbines is currently mainly driven by the growth in the rotor area. This trend was motivated by the desire to achieve the maximum possible energy yield within the available areas and by the increasing use of locations with weaker wind conditions. The expan­sion of installed wind power capacity around the world is creating a need to develop locations as close to load centres as possible in order to keep energy transport costs down. Many of these locations have only moderate wind conditions, which is why the rotor area relevant for the “wind harvest” has been increased.

In offshore wind energy, the devel­­opment has also been driven by the need to achieve the maximum possible yield, given the infrastruc­ture that has to be set up (founda­tions, grid connection). The higher wind speeds at sea mean that the most cost-effective way to do this is with a com­­­­bination of a large rotor and a high nominal capacity.

The author studied Aerospace Technology at the TU Berlin and gained his doctorate in 1995. He then held managerial positions at various wind turbine manufacturers and engineering offices. Reuter is the Director of the Fraunhofer Institute for Wind Energy and Energy System Technology IWES Northwest.

 

Measuring up to 85 metres in length, the new rotor blades now cover an area the size of several soccer fields with every rotation. However, the gusty nature of the wind within this large area creates very different wind conditions, so that simply adjusting the entire rotor blade us­ing pitch systems is not enough to achieve opti­­mum regula­tion. Innovative technologies such as adjust­­able slats, trailing edges and other systems could in­­fluence the local air flow on rotor blades more accurately and quickly.

Wind turbine manufactures are currently reluctant to de­­velop and use smart blades technology, however, as it presents massive challenges. Completely new models need to be developed for describing the air flow conditions alone, as the previous approaches in wind power are too general and are unable to map many local phenomena. The formation of the actuators cannot be adopted directly from aviation, as the loads and deform­ations on rotor blades are very different from those on wings. A life span of 20 years with minimal mainten­ance must also be achieved. Because wind power components made from composite materials have to be around 10 to 100 times cheaper than aviation components, there is of course a very limited budget for active mechanisms in rotors.

Barth_bearbeitetThe author has been Managing Director of ForWind, the Center for Wind Energy Research of the universities of Oldenburg, Hannover and Bremen, since 2008. Before this, the doctor of physics conducted research in the field of rotor and wind park aerodynamics at the ECN in the Netherlands. Alongside various other roles, Barth is a member of the board of the European Wind Energy Association (EWEA)

In the Smart Blades research project funded by the BMUB, the Fraunhofer Institute for Wind Energy and Energy System Technology (IWES), the Center for Wind Energy Research of the universities of Oldenburg, Han­nover and Bremen (ForWind) and the German Aero­space Center (DLR) aim to prove that the use of active flap systems or passive structural control on rotor blades can achieve more efficient turbine behaviour and ultimately a longer life span. These changes to the design have the potential to allow the entire turbine to be designed in a lighter way with optimum aerodynamic properties, thus saving on material and logistics costs. The key challenge here is to prevent the active mechanisms from ultimately making the rotor blades more fault-prone, heavier and higher-maintenance, which would increase the cost of generating electricity. The goal of the joint research project, which has received 12 million euros in funding, is therefore to prove the feasibility, efficiency and reliability of smart blades.

Passive smart blades are designed in such a way that, when subjected to different aerodynamic load, they not only bend but twist on their axes. This changes the angle of inflow and automatically protects the blade from an excessive load. This technology is the closest to commercial use and the plan is to demonstrate it on a re­search wind turbine in another project directly following this one.

Active smart blades achieve the same effect with the help of deformable components or adjustable flaps, which can be located either at the leading or trailing edge.

Compared to passive systems, the implementation of active systems for adjusting the trailing edge requires significantly more research, especially with regard to the actuator systems, as well as into coupling the active systems to the blade. It is hoped that a blade set can be built and tested for this technology in the fu­­ture, too.

The author studied Construction Engineering at the University of Hannover and gained his doctorate in numerical mechanics in the year 2000. He held managerial positions in research and industry in the field of structural mechanics. He also is the coordinator of wind energy research of the DLR since 2012.

Both technologies will be continued up to the development of finished construction documents during the three-year project.

Fraunhofer IWES has developed a reference turbine with an 80-metre rotor blade in order to allow the comparison of the individual concepts which are in line with state-of-the-art research and industrial use. The methods for the design and load calculation of active and passive intelligent blades have also been modified and developed further. The different behaviours of the blades mean that individual components such as the controller have to be investigated and adjusted with great precision. The behaviour of the innovative reference blade results in a very distinct load situation that needs to be taken into account. New test methods for this have been designed and tested in application.

The work of the researchers at the DLR includes the conceptual implementation of the active elements. This involves investigating the suitability of various concepts for a flexible leading or trailing edge and using generated aerodynamic or structural conditions to evaluate them. The effectiveness of a leading or trailing edge with a variable shape is also investigated numerically in order to define the necessary dimensions and the control be­­haviour of the elements. In order to make production more efficient, new material systems are being tested and work on the automation of production processes is also being conducted at the DLR.

Experiments in a wind tunnel are being used to test a third technology: the implementation of adaptive slats or active leading edges, conducted in the ForWind wind tunnel at the University of Oldenburg.

The researchers at ForWind are also working on interdisciplinary topics such as the validation of flow simulations and the constructive design of the blades, con­trol concepts and reliability analyses of wind turbines with smart blades as a complete system.

The project period will end with a detailed evaluation of the various approaches to identifying potential and weaknesses, to which both the experimental and the numerical results will contribute.

The aim is to develop and assess the expertise, tools and resources that rotor blade manufacturers and the wind power industry need to bring more effective, cost-efficient and reliable solutions onto the market and thus strengthen their competitiveness.

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Andreas Reuter & Dr. Stephan Barth & Dr.-Ing. Jan Teßmer: Intelligente Rotorblätter entlasten Windenergie-Riesen

Die neue Generation von Windenergieanlagen-Prototypen fällt durch besonders lange Rotorblätter auf. Die riesigen Strukturen sollen die Energieausbeute erhöhen. Bei jeder Umdrehung der Anlage wird eine Fläche überstrichen, die mehrere Fußballfelder groß ist – und punktuell sehr unterschiedliche Windverhältnisse aufweist. Im Forschungsverbund Windenergie werden „intelligente Rotorblätter“ entwickelt, die die unterschiedlichen Belastungen auf dieser Fläche regulieren und somit die Wirtschaftlichkeit von Windenergieanlagen verbessern.

 

Die Prototypen der neuen Offshore-Anlagengeneration – in Dänemark eine Acht-Megawatt-Anlage mit einem Rotor von 164 Metern Durchmesser, in Schottland eine Sie­ben-Megawatt-Anlage mit sogar 171 Metern Rotordurchmes­ser – wurden Anfang des Jahres aufgebaut. Die Ent­­wick­ler haben einen ge­­waltigen Größensprung im Ver­gleich zu den derzeitigen Serienanlagen, deren Rotorblätter etwa 20 Meter kürzer sind, realisiert. Im Onshore-Bereich sind Rotordurch­messer von 120 Metern inzwischen eine üb­­liche Größen­­ordnung. Diese Abmessungen werden erst durch Ver­­gleiche mit anderen technischen Produkten greif­­bar: Die Spannweite großer Langstrecken-Passagierflug­zeuge beträgt 80 Meter.

Rotorblätter sind Hightech-Produkte mit Abmessungen, die die Spannweite eines Langstrecken-Passagierflugzeuges bei weitem übertreffen.

Das derzeitige Wachstum der Windenergieanlagen be­­trifft insbesondere die Rotorfläche. Die Motivation für diesen Trend waren der Wunsch nach maximaler Ener­gie­ausbeute innerhalb der verfügbaren Flächen und die zunehmende Nutzung windschwächerer Stand­orte. Der weltweite Ausbau der installierten Windenergie­­ka­pazität erfordert die Erschließung von Standorten mög­lichst nahe an Verbrauchszentren, um die Kosten für den Energietransport gering zu halten. Viele dieser Stand­orte verfügen über nur mäßige Windverhältnisse. Daher wurde die für die „Windernte“ relevante Rotor­­fläche vergrößert.

Für die Offshore-Windenergie war der Treiber ebenfalls der möglichst maximale Ertrag bezogen auf die zu errichtende Infrastruktur (Grün­­dung, Netzanschluss). Aufgrund der höheren Windge­schwindigkeiten auf See konnte dies am kostengünstigsten mit einer Kombination von großem Rotor und hoher Nennleistung erreicht werden.

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Andreas Reuter hat Luft- und Raumfahrttechnik an der TU Berlin studiert und wurde 1995 promoviert. Anschließend wirkte er in leitender Funktion bei verschiedenen Windkraftanlagenherstellern und Ingenieurbüros. Reuter ist Leiter des Fraunhofer-Instituts für Windenergie und Energiesystemtechnik IWES Nordwest.

 

Inzwischen überstreichen die neuen, bis zu 85 Meter langen Rotorblätter bei jeder Umdrehung eine Fläche, die der Größe mehrerer Fußballfelder entspricht. Die Böigkeit des Windes innerhalb dieser großen Fläche führt aber zu sehr unterschiedlichen Windverhältnissen, so dass ein alleiniges Verstellen des gesamten Rotor­blattes durch so genannte Pitch-Systeme keine optimale Re­­gelung bewirkt. Innovative Technologien wie bewegliche Vorflügel, Hinterkanten und andere Systeme könnten die lokale Strömung an Rotorblättern genauer und schneller beeinflussen.

Anlagenbauer scheuen bislang jedoch die Entwicklung und den Einsatz von Smart-Blades-Technologien, denn die Herausforderungen sind gewaltig: Allein zur Be­­schrei­­bung der Strömungsverhältnisse müssen neue Modelle entwickelt werden, die bisherigen Ansätze der Wind­en­ergie arbeiten zu pauschal und können viele lokale Phä­­nomene nicht abbilden. Die Ausbildung der Stell­glieder kann nicht direkt aus der Luftfahrt übernommen werden, da die Beanspruchungen und die Verformungen an Rotor­­blättern sich stark von denen an Tragflächen unterschei­den. Weiterhin muss eine Lebens­­dauer von 20 Jahren bei gleichzeitig minimaler Wartung erreicht werden. Da Wind­­energiebauteile aus Verbund­werkstoffen um den Faktor 10 bis 100 preiswerter sein müssen als Bauteile aus der Luftfahrt, steht natürlich auch nur ein sehr begrenztes Budget für aktive Me­­cha­nismen in Rotoren zur Verfügung.

Dr. Stephan Barth ist seit 2008 Geschäftsführer von ForWind, dem Zentrum für Wind­energieforschung der Universitäten Oldenburg, Hannover und Bremen. Davor forschte der promovierte Physiker beim niederländischen ECN als Projektleiter im Bereich Rotor- und Parkaerodymamik. Barth ist neben weiteren Funktionen Vorstandsmitglied des europäischen Windenergieverbandes EWEA. 

Im BMUB-geförderten Forschungsprojekt „Smart Blades“ wollen das Fraunhofer-Institut für Windenergie und Ener­­giesystemtechnik (IWES), das Zentrum für Windener­gie­­­forschung der Universitäten Oldenburg, Hannover und Bremen (ForWind) und das Deutsche Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) nachweisen, dass der Einsatz ak­­tiver Klappensysteme oder passiver struktureller Rege­lung an Rotorblättern ein effizienteres Anlagenverhalten und letztlich eine Verlängerung der Lebensdauer erzielen kann. Diese Designänderungen haben das Potenzial, ein aerodynamisch optimiertes, leichteres Design der Gesamtanlage und somit Ein­­sparungen bei Material- und Logistikkosten zu ermöglichen. Die große Heraus­forderung ist, dabei zu verhindern, dass die Rotorblätter durch aktive Mechanismen letztlich nicht fehleranfäl­liger, schwerer und wartungsintensiver werden, was die Stromgestehungskosten treiben würde. Ziel des mit 12 Millionen Euro geförderten Verbundforschungspro­jektes ist es daher, die Mach­barkeit, die Effizienz und die Zu­­verlässigkeit von Smart Blades unter Beweis zu stellen.

Passive Smart Blades werden so ausgelegt, dass sie sich bei aerodynamischen Laständerungen nicht nur biegen, sondern auch um ihre Achse verdrillen, damit den An­­strömwinkel verändern und sich somit automatisch einer überhöhten Belastung entziehen. Diese Technologie ist einem kommerziellen Einsatz am nächsten und soll in einem direkten Folgeprojekt an einer Forschungswind­energieanlage demonstriert werden.

Aktive Smart Blades erreichen den gleichen Effekt mit Hilfe verformbarer Teile oder verstellbarer Klappen, die sich entweder an der Vorder- oder an der Hinterkante des Blattes befinden können.

Im Vergleich zu passiven Systemen besteht zur Imple­mentierung von aktiven Systemen zur Verstellung der Hinterkante noch deutlich höherer Forschungsbedarf, insbesondere hinsichtlich der Aktuatorik, aber auch der Ankopplung der aktiven Systeme an das Blatt. Auch zu dieser Technologie soll in Zukunft ein Blattsatz gebaut und getestet werden können.

Dr. Jan Teßmer hat Bauingenieurswesen an der Universität Hannover studiert und promovierte 2000 im Bereich der numerischen Mechanik. Er arbeitete in For­schung und Industrie in leitender Funktion auf dem Gebiet der Strukturmechanik und ist seit 2012 Koordinator für Windenergieforschung im DLR.

Beide Technologien werden im Rahmen der dreijährigen Projektlaufzeit bis zur Entwicklung fertiger Konst­ruk­tionsunterlagen geführt.
Das Fraunhofer IWES hat eine Referenzanlage mit einem 80-Meter-Rotorblatt entwickelt, um die einzelnen Konzepte, die dem aktuellen Stand der Forschung und Industrie entsprechen, vergleichen zu können. Des Weiteren wurden die Methoden für Design und Lastenrechnung aktiver und passiver intelligenter Blätter modifiziert und weiterentwickelt. Aufgrund des unterschiedlichen Blattverhaltens müssen Einzelkomponenten wie zum Bei­spiel der Regler genau untersucht und angepasst werden. Das Verhalten des neuartigen Referenzblattes hat eine ganz eigene Belastungssituation am Material zur Folge, die Be­­rücksichtigung finden muss. Hierfür wurden neue Test­­­methoden konstituiert und in der Anwendung überprüft.

Am DLR arbeiten Forscherinnen und Forscher unter anderem an der konzeptionellen Umsetzung der aktiven Elemente. Dabei werden verschiedene Konzepte für eine flexible Vorder- beziehungsweise Hinterkante auf ihre Tauglichkeit untersucht und über generierte aerodynamische oder strukturelle Rand­­bedingungen evaluiert. Um die erforderlichen Dimensi­onen und das Regelungsverhalten der Elemente zu be­­stimmen, wird zudem die Wirksamkeit einer formvariablen Vorder- oder Hinterkante numerisch untersucht. Zur Stei­­ge­rung der Produktionseffizienz werden am DLR neue Materialsysteme erprobt und darüber hinaus an der Automatisierung der Produktionsprozesse gearbeitet.

Im Windkanalversuch wird dann noch eine dritte Tech­nologievariante experimentell erprobt: die Implemen­tierung von adaptiven Vorflügeln oder aktiven Vorder­kanten, durchgeführt im Windkanal von ForWind an der Universität Oldenburg.
Die Forscherinnen und Forscher von ForWind beschäftigen sich außerdem mit Querschnittsthemen wie der Validierung von Strömungssimulationen sowie der kon­­struktiven Auslegung der Blätter, Regelungskonzepte und Zuverlässigkeitsanalysen von Windenergieanlagen mit Smart Blades als Gesamtsystem.

Am Ende der Projektlaufzeit steht eine detaillierte Be­­wer­­tung der unterschiedlichen Ansätze zur Identifikation von Potenzialen und Schwachstellen. Dazu sollen die expe­rimen­­tellen, aber auch die numerischen Ergebnisse beitragen.

Dabei sollen das Know-how, die Werkzeuge und die Res­­sourcen entwickelt und beurteilt werden, die Rotorblatt­hersteller und die Windenergieindustrie benötigen, um effek­­tivere, kosteneffizientere und zuverlässigere Lösungen auf den Markt zu bringen und somit die eigene Wettbe­werbsfähigkeit zu stärken.