Prof. Dr. Horst Hanusch: The university as a business location

Here are some facts to give you a first idea of the importance and size of this tertiary education institution. Over 14,000 students are currently enrolled at the University of Augsburg, more than half of whom are women. More than ten per cent of students come from abroad, which attests to the international character of the campus. Students are offered the op­­portunity to establish and expand world­­wide contacts by participating in 180 cooperative projects with universities in other countries. Since it was found­­ed 40 years ago, seven faculties have been created at the University of Augs­burg: The Faculty of Business Adminis­tration and Economics and the Faculty of The­ology, which were established at the same time as the university itself, were followed by the Faculty of Law, the Fac­­ulty of Philosophy and Social Sci­­ences, the Faculty of Philology and His­­tory, the Faculty of Mathematics and Natural Sci­­ences, and, just a few years ago, the Faculty of Applied Computer Science, offering a total of 55 courses altogether. Four courses can be combined with work. The number of university dropouts has been reduced significantly in recent years – in the 2007/08 academic year, a total number of 2,538 students completed their courses successfully, with a more or less balanced proportion of male and female graduates.

Since the summer semester of 2007, the majority of students have had to contrib­­ute to financing their studies by paying a tuition fee of 500 euros per semester. This money was used to substantially im­­prove the courses offered, including the quality of teaching. 176 professors are currently employed at the seven faculties and eleven cross-faculty institutes, the proportion of women being 16.3 per cent. On the whole, almost one thousand sci­­entists are involved in teaching and re­­search.

In addition, the university employs 611 non-academic staff members. These fig­­ures may serve to illustrate the importance of the University of Augsburg, not only as an educational institution but also as a significant part of the local economy.

Networking between industry and aca­demia manifests itself even more clearly and is particularly strong in the centres of competence, which are often part of the Elite Network of Bavaria.

Campus-1

One example is the Core Competence Centre Finance and Information Man­age­­ment, which, under the scientific direction of Prof. Dr. Hans Ulrich Buhl and Prof. Dr. Marco C. Meier, has made a name for itself as an internationally renowned re­­search centre at the interface of fi­­nance and information management.

For several years it has initiated innova­­tive projects to support numerous global players in the financial services and IT industries as well as industrial compa­­nies in the areas of corporate finance and cus­­tomer management. Among other fac­­tors, its success is based on the syn­­er­get­­ic in­­teraction between research, teach­­ing and hands-on projects. Publicly and pri­vate­­ly funded research projects com­­plement each other in a unique way. On the one hand, companies benefit directly from the latest research findings and tech­­nol­­o­gies, on the other, those projects en­­hance the empirical relevance of research and the attractiveness of programmes offered to students.
As a second example, let us look at the activities of the Department of Physics. Early in September 2009, the Bavarian Minister of Economic Affairs, Mr Zeil, and the former Federal Minister of Eco­­nomics, Mr zu Guttenberg, laid the foun­­dation stone for a centre for lightweight production technology on the premises of the University. This undertaking will mark the beginning of cooperative work between the German Aerospace Cent­­er (DLR), Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft and the University of Augsburg in this field, which is of vital importance to modern industry. Together with DLR, the Depart­­ment of Physics will also set up a chair for fibre-reinforced composite materials technology. The materials investigated and developed here may be important for the next generations of Airbus or Boeing aircraft.

campus-1_5

A third and final example is the Centre for Further Education and Transfer of Knowl­­edge (ZWW), where the University deals with management-related activities. Sci­­entific further education in gen­­eral, and in particular the transfer of knowl­­edge and technology are the third major core area of competence the University can offer, besides research and teaching. The purpose of the ZWW is to prepare and convey state-of-the-art specialist, cross-disciplinary and methodical knowledge obtained through academic research in such a way that professionals with de­­ci­­sion-making responsibilities can use it to successfully address their everyday work problems. On the other hand, the dialogue with practice involved in knowl­­edge and technology transfer substantially contributes to the development of innovative and competitive products and processes, resulting in the effect that this transfer, too, contributes a lot to safeguarding the well-being of Germany as a business location.
According to a statement by Financial Times Germany on 4 April 2007, the Uni­­versity of Augsburg is one of the few German universities that successfully provide attractive offers in this field of professional further education.

campus-1_2

A look at the working conditions at the University of Augsburg serves to confirm its attractiveness as a place to work and do business. The University of Augsburg has made a point of becoming the most family-friendly university in Germany. A day-care centre for children and a toddler group on the campus as well as the Gen­­der Zentrum Augsburg (GZA; Augsburg gender centre) provide excellent prere­quisites to achieve this, as do numerous part-time and teleworking opportunities. Anyone wishing to study or work at the University of Augsburg or planning to locate to the science park which is cur­­rently being built, can expect to not only be offered an attractive workplace but to live in an environment where their whole family will feel comfortable.

In conclusion, I recommend you take ad­­vantage of Augsburg as a business lo­­ca­­tion, whose significance and appeal are not least represented by the University of Augsburg.

Hanusch_neuThe author, born in 1942, obtained a doc­­torate and a professorship at Erlangen-Nuremberg university. In 1974 he was appointed to a chair of economics at the University of Augsburg. He is the managing director of the Institute for Public Health and Health Economics at Augsburg university. Since 2007, he has held the office of vice president of the University of Augsburg.

Prof. Dr. Horst Hanusch: Die Universität als Wirtschaftsstandort

Einige Fakten zur Universität Augsburg sollen helfen, sich vorab ein Bild von der Bedeutung und Größe dieser Ein­rich­­tung zu machen. An der Universität Augs­­burg sind derzeit etwas mehr als 14.000 Stu­­­dierende immatrikuliert, von denen gut die Hälfte weiblich ist. Über zehn Pro­zent der Studenten und Stu­den­tin­­nen kommen aus dem Ausland, was vom internationalen Flair auf dem Campus zeugt. Den Studierenden wird in 180 Ko­­operationen mit Hochschulen des Aus­­landes die Möglichkeit geboten, welt­­weit Kontakte aufzunehmen und zu vertiefen. An der Universität Augsburg entstanden in den 40 Jahren seit ihrer Gründung sieben Fakultäten: Nach der Wirt­schafts­­wissenschaftlichen Fakultät und der Ka­­tholisch-Theologischen Fa­­kul­­­­tät, mit deren Hilfe die Universität ge­­gründet wurde, folgten die Juris­ti­sche, die Philoso­phisch-Sozialwissen­schaft­li­­che, die Philologisch-Historische, die Mathe­­ma­­tisch-Natur­wis­sen­­schaftliche Fakul­tät, sowie vor einigen Jahren die Fakultät für Angewandte In­­formatik, in denen 55 Studiengänge an­­geboten werden. Vier Studiengänge kön­­nen berufsbegleitend belegt werden. In den letzten Jahren konnte die Zahl der Studienabbrecher deutlich reduziert wer­­den, sodass im Studienjahr 2007/08 insgesamt 2.538 Studierende ihre Stu­dien erfolgreich abschlossen, wobei sich männliche wie weibliche Absolventen in etwa die Waage halten.
Seit dem Som­­mersemester 2007 muss sich ein Groß­­teil der Studierenden an der Finanzie­rung ihres Studiums mit ei­­nem Studien­­beitrag von 500 Euro pro Semester be­­teiligen. Mit diesen Bei­trä­gen konnte das Lehrangebot und somit auch die Lehrqualität erheblich verbes­sert werden. In den sieben Fakultäten und elf fakultätsübergreifenden Insti­tu­ten sind derzeit 176 Professorinnen und Pro­fes­­soren beschäftigt, bei einem Frau­­en­an­­teil von 16,3 Prozent. Insgesamt en­­gagieren sich fast tausend Wissen­schaft­ler in Lehre und Forschung. 611 Ange­stellte gehören zum nicht-wissenschaftlichen Personal der Universität. Diese Zahlen können auch ganz gut die Be­­deutung der Universität Augsburg nicht nur als Bildungs-, sondern auch als Wirtschafts­standort verdeutlichen.
Noch offenkundiger und besonders in­­ten­siv ist die Vernetzung zwischen Wirt­­schaft und Universität in deren Kompe­tenzzentren, die häufig auch einen Teil des Elitenetzwerkes Bayern darstellen.

Campus-1

Als ein erstes Beispiel hierfür sei das Kern­­kompetenzzentrum Finanz- & Informa­tions­management genannt. Unter der wissenschaftlichen Leitung von Prof. Dr. Hans Ulrich Buhl und Prof. Dr. Marco C. Meier hat es sich als international an­­er­­kanntes Forschungszentrum an der Schnittstelle von Finanz- und Informa­tions­management etabliert.
In innovativen Pro­­jekten unterstützt es seit Jahren zahlreiche Global Player aus der Finanz­dienstleistungs- und IT-Branche sowie Industrieunternehmen in den Berei­chen betriebliche Finanzwirtschaft und Kun­­denmanagement. Erfolgsfaktor hierfür ist unter anderem das synergetische Zu­­sammenwirken von Forschung, Leh­­re und Praxisprojekten. Öffentlich und pri­­vat geförderte Forschungsprojekte er­­gänzen einander in einzigartiger Art und Weise. Einerseits profitieren die Unternehmen dabei direkt von den neu­­esten wissenschaftlichen Erkennt­nissen und Technologien, andererseits steigt die empirische Relevanz der For­­schung sowie für die Studenten die At­­traktivität der Lehre.

Als zweites Beispiel können die Aktivi­tä­­ten des Instituts für Physik herausgeho­ben werden. Anfang September 2009 legten der bayerische Wirtschafts­mi­nis­­ter Zeil und der vormalige Bundes­wirt­­schafts­minister zu Guttenberg auf dem Ge­­lände der Universität den Grund­­stein eines Zentrums für Leichtbauproduk­tions­­technologie. Dieser Bau wird eine Kooperation von DLR, Fraunhofer-Gesell­­schaft und der Uni­­versität Augsburg auf den Weg bringen und die Forschung auf diesem für die moderne Wirtschaft so wichtigen Ge­­biet vorantreiben. Das Insti­­tut für Phy­sik wird auch gemeinsam mit der DLR eine Professur für Faserverbund­stoff­tech­no­­logie einrichten. Die hier er­­forsch­ten und produzierten Werkstoffe können für die kommenden Generatio­nen des Airbus sowie der Boeing-Flug­zeuge eine wichtige Rolle spielen.

campus-1_5

Als drittes Beispiel, schließlich, sei auf das Zentrum für Weiterbildung und Wis­­senstransfer (ZWW) verwiesen, in dem sich auch die unternehmerische Betäti­gung der Universität Augsburg wiederfindet. Die wissenschaftliche Weiterbil­dung im Allgemeinen sowie der Wis­sens- und Technologietransfer im Beson­de­­ren sind neben Forschung und Lehre nämlich ein drittes bedeutsames Kernan­ge­bot, das die Universität zur Verfügung stellen kann. Dabei gilt es, aktuelles fach­­liches, überfachliches und methodisches Wissen aus der universitären Forschung so aufzubereiten und zu vermitteln, dass es von berufstätigen Menschen in verant­­wortlichen Positionen zur erfolgreichen Lösung ihrer Praxisprobleme eingesetzt werden kann. Wissens- und Tech­­nologie­transfer wiederum leistet im Dialog mit der Praxis einen wesentlichen Beitrag zur Entwicklung innovativer und konkur­­renz­­fähiger Produkte und Verfahren und kann somit ebenfalls einen bedeutsamen Bei­trag zur Sicherung des Wirt­schafts­stand­­ortes Deutschland leisten.
Nach Einschätzung der Financial Times Deutschland vom 4. April 2007 hat die Universität Augsburg als eine der wenigen deutschen Hochschulen in diesem Bereich der beruflichen Weiterbildung mit großem Erfolg attraktive Angebote präsentiert.

campus-1_2

Auch ein Blick auf die Arbeitsbedin­gun­gen an der Universität Augsburg kann deren Attraktivität als Wirtschafts­stand­ort unterstreichen. Die Universität Augs­­burg hat es sich zur Aufgabe gemacht, die familienfreundlichste Universität in Deutschland zu werden. Eine Kinder-Ta­­gesstätte und Krabbelgruppe auf dem Campus sowie das Gender Zen­trum Augs­­burg (GZA) bieten hierfür hervorragende Voraussetzungen, ebenso wie die zahlreichen Teilzeit- und Telearbeits­plätze. Wer nach Augsburg an die Uni­versität kommt oder sich auf dem ge­­rade in Entstehung befindlichen Sci­ence­park ansiedeln will, kann davon ausgehen, dass er hier nicht nur einen attraktiven Arbeitsplatz vorfindet, sondern auch ein Umfeld, in dem er sich und seine Familie bestens eingebettet weiß.

Fazit: Nutzen Sie den Wirtschafts­stand­ort Augsburg, für dessen Bedeutung und Attraktivität nicht zuletzt die Universität Augsburg steht.

Hanusch_neuDer 1942 geborene Autor promovierte und habilitierte an der Universität Er­­lan­gen-Nürnberg. Anschließend wur­de er 1974 Ordi­na­rius für Volks­wirt­schafts­­lehre an der Universität Augs­burg. Am Institut für Öffent­liche Ge­­sundheit und Gesund­heits­öko­no­mie der Universität Augsburg ist er ge­­schäftsführender Di­­rektor. Seit 2007 ist er an der Univer­si­tät Augsburg als Vize­präsi­dent tätig.