Prof. Dr. Holger Hanselka: Research for real life

The Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft (Fraunhofer Society or Fraunhofer is Europe’s largest application-oriented research organisation) is the leading organisation for applied research in Europe. The organisation undertakes application-oriented research for the direct benefit of companies and to the advantage of society at large. In 60 Fraunhofer Institutes at 40 different locations in Germany, 18,000 employees yield an annual research volume in the value of 1.65 billion euros. More than 70 per cent of the research contracts come from the industry and publicly funded research projects. International branch offices ensure the contact to the most important current and future scientific and economic areas.

Key technologies relevant to the future strengthen the process of innovation. With its clear focus on applied research and the institutes’ focusing on future-
oriented key technologies, the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft plays a central role in the innovation process in Germany and Europe. The effect of applied research surpasses the direct benefits for the individual customer: with their research and development work, the Fraunhofer Institutes help reinforce the capacity for the competitiveness of the region, Germany and the whole of Europe. The Institutes promote innovation, strengthen technological capacity, and improve the acceptance of modern technologies, provide training and continued education for the urgently needed scientific-technological up-and-coming scientists and engineers and thus play a significant role in their business location and are considered an attractive employer.

Fraunhofer-LBF_Frecco_virtuell_weiß_komplett_V4_6

For top-level research in the Rhine-­­Main region, a total of three Fraunhofer Institutes are located here and thus contribute significantly to securing the science city of Darmstadt and its reputation. The Fraunhofer Institute for Computer Graphics Research IGD is the worldwide leading institution for applied research in visual computing. Visual computing is the image- and model-based computer science. These include graphical data processing, computer vision and virtual as well as augmented reality. The Fraunhofer IGD develops prototypes and complete solutions in accordance with specific customer requirements. The researchers of the Fraunhofer IGD utilize, record and process images and graphics for all kinds of computer-based applications. The research and development projects at the Fraunhofer IGD have a direct relationship to current problems in the economy. The application scope of the concepts, mock-ups and recommended practical solutions is very diverse but it is also specialised.
It ranges from virtual product development to medicine, transportation and to multi-media learning and training.

Together with its partner universities, the Fraunhofer IGD researches various key technologies and works together with companies of the most diverse branches of industry. The Fraunhofer IGD with its headquarters in Darmstadt has additional locations in Rostock, Graz and Singapore. The Institute employs approximately 180 (FTE) permanent staff members. The budget is about 16 million euros.

The Fraunhofer Institute for Secure Information Technology, SIT, supports companies and organisations in securing data and IT-based equipment, (trans-border) networks and infrastructures. Whether cloud computing, secure software development or mobile security, the Institute develops security software solutions for all relevant fields of technology, which are immediately deployable and completely tailored to the needs of the client. The Institute is known for its work around electronic identification cards as well as for its testing and IT security analysis. Experts also appreciate the development of protection against piracy and the development of auto­mated fraud detection through the analysis of corporate data. Widespread are the digital watermarks of the Fraunhofer SIT, which are already used in diverse download portals, audio books and archives for copyright protection and are also able to secure videos, photos, PDFs and e-books. The Fraunhofer SIT is also involved at the European Center for Security and Privacy by Design (EC-SPRIDE), which is funded by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research.

Fraunhofer_LBF_Modellregion_Pedelec_Hoehne_MG_5038

Darmstadt is not only a proven science city, but also the birthplace of structural durability, the scientific basis for the testing and the evaluation of all security-
relevant structures and components, such as automotive wheels, aircraft wings or vehicle bodies of railcar rolling stock. In this way, the findings of the Fraunhofer Institute for Structural Durability and System Reliability, LBF, flow from here into the admission requirements for developments in the German, European and American vehicle and aircraft
industry as well as to their suppliers. The Fraunhofer LBF is one of the most traditional Fraunhofer Institutes. It has more than 70 years of experience in structural durability. Today its core competencies are also system reliability and adaptronics. At location Kranich­stein, a team of 350 employees, together with the associated TU Department of System Reliability and Machine Acoustics, SzM, realises customised solutions for all security components – from materials to systems, from the idea to the product. In addition to a versatile expe­rimental testing and laboratory area on more than 17,000 square metres, also a virtual testing environment is utilised and thus reduces the development timeframes. The clients come from various sectors such as automotive and commercial vehicles, rail transport technol­ogy, shipbuilding, aerospace, machinery and plant engineering as well as energy, environment and health. Two spin-offs from the Fraunhofer LBF, the ISYS Adaptive Solutions GmbH and the Stress & Strength GmbH, transfer successful research activities into innovative products and offer these on the market.
At the Fraunhofer Adaptronics Transfer Center, which is part of the Fraunhofer LBF, in particular small and medium-sized companies (SMEs) and also industrial companies can benefit from the expertise of the Fraunhofer LBF and the infrastructure of the centre through topic-specific research and development partnerships. The project house is equipped with state-of-the-art vibration-technical measurement and manufacturing technology for adaptronic structural solutions as well as test facilities and IT technology. The bundling of adaptive know-how in the region is also supported by the development of the Rhine-Main Adaptronics network.

Fraunhofer_LBF_GFZ_BMW_OKAY

In 2008, as part of the Hessian research funding programme “LOEWE –Initiative for the Development of Scientific and Economic Excellence”, the Fraunhofer LBF and the Fraunhofer SIT together with the TU Darmstadt and the Darmstadt University of Applied Sciences successfully established themselves with two applications for one LOEWE-Center each. The AdRIA (LOEWE-Center Adaptronics – Research, Innovation, Application) is in the context of the Hessian state strategy for the development of scientific-economic excellence initially funded with 17.7 million euros. In the medium term, an internationally leading research centre for adaptronics is to come into being at science location Darmstadt under the auspices of the Fraunhofer LBF and the main areas of the research in adaptronics are to be defended at the TU Darmstadt and the Darmstadt University of Applied Sciences. At the LOEWE-Center CASED (Center for Advanced Security Research Darmstadt), computer scientists and mathematicians from the Fraunhofer SIT research with lawyers and economists and other disciplines under one roof for IT security.

Closely linked to the Technical University of Darmstadt. All three Fraunhofer Institutes maintain professorships at the TU Darmstadt. The interaction between university research and teaching with the applied research at Fraunhofer develops huge potential along the entire value chain and is a major economic factor. The direct contact to the next generation of scientists and other employers to the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft bring profits for both sides.

Fraunhofer_IGD_Echtzeitsimulation

An important facet of the technology transfer can be found also in the spin-offs of a university. They are a perfect proof that this always needs to be understood in a bidirectional manner: in the start-up phase, young companies need the special closeness to the university, which can be reflected for instance, in mutual contracts. On the other hand, the economy can be very helpful for the researchers to identify important future topics and provide numerous starting points. These trends recognised at an early stage can be used for the research strategy of the TU Darmstadt.

LBF05_Prof.-Hanselka-46The author is director of the Fraunhofer Institute for Structural Durability and System Reliability LBF, a member of the Presidium of the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft and Fraunhofer coordinator and spokesman of different Fraunhofer networks. He heads the Department of System Reliability and Machine Acoustics at the Technical University of Darmstadt SzM and since January 2011 has been Vice President for Knowledge and Technology Transfer.

Prof. Dr. Holger Hanselka: Forschen für die Praxis

Die Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft ist die führende Organisation für angewandte For­schung in Europa. Sie betreibt anwen­dungs­orientierte Forschung zum direkten Nutzen für Unternehmen und zum Vorteil der Gesellschaft. In 60 Fraunhofer-Insti­tuten an 40 verschiedenen Standorten in Deutschland erbringen 18.000 Mitar­beit­erinnen und Mitarbeiter ein Forschungs­­volumen im Wert von 1,65 Milliarden Euro jährlich. Über 70 Prozent der Forschungs­­auf­träge kommen aus der Industrie und öffentlich finanzierten Forschungs­pro­jekten. Internationale Niederlassungen sorgen für Kontakt zu den wichtigsten gegenwärtigen und zukünftigen Wissen­schafts- und Wirtschaftsräumen.

Zukunftsrelevante Schlüssel­technologien stärken den Innovationsprozess. Mit ihrer klaren Ausrichtung auf die angewandte Forschung und ihrer Fokussierung auf zukunftsrelevante Schlüsseltechnologien spielt die Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft eine zentrale Rolle im Innovationsprozess Deutschlands und Europas. Die Wirkung der angewandten Forschung geht über den direkten Nutzen für die Kunden hinaus: Mit ihrer Forschungs- und Ent­wick­lungs­­arbeit tragen die Fraunhofer-Institute zur Wettbewerbsfähigkeit der Region, Deutschlands und Europas bei. Sie fördern Innovationen, stärken die technologische Leistungsfähigkeit, verbessern die Akzep­tanz moderner Technik, sorgen für Aus- und Weiterbildung des dringend benötigten wissenschaftlich-technischen Nach­­wuchses und spielen damit eine bedeutende Rolle an ihrem Wirtschafts­stand­ort und gelten als attraktiver Arbeitgeber.

Fraunhofer-LBF_Frecco_virtuell_weiß_komplett_V4_6

Für Spitzenforschung in der Region Rhein-­­Main stehen insgesamt drei Fraunhofer-Institute und tragen damit maßgeblich zur Sicherung und zur Reputation der Wissenschaftsstadt Darmstadt bei. Das Fraunhofer-Institut für Graphische Daten­­verarbeitung IGD ist die weltweit führende Einrichtung für angewandte Forschung im Visual Computing. Visual Computing ist bild- und modellbasierte Informatik. Hierzu zählen graphische Datenver­ar­bei­t­ung, Computer Vision sowie virtuelle und erweiterte Realität. Das Fraunhofer IGD entwickelt Prototypen und Komplett­­­lös­ungen nach kundenspezifischen An­­for­­derungen. Die Forscherinnen und Forscher des Fraunhofer IGD verwenden, erfassen und bearbeiten Bilder und Graphiken für alle denkbaren computerbasierten Anwen­­dungen. Die Forschungs- und Entwick­lungs­projekte des Fraunhofer IGD haben direkten Bezug zu aktuellen Problem­stellungen in der Wirtschaft. Das Anwen­dungs­spektrum der Konzepte, Modelle und Praxislösungen ist sehr vielfältig, aber auch spezialisiert. Es reicht von der vir­­tu­­ellen Produktentwicklung über Medi­­zin, Verkehr bis hin zu multimedialem Lernen und Training.
Gemeinsam mit seinen Partneruni­ver­si­täten forscht das Fraunhofer IGD an ver­­schiedenen Schlüsseltechnologien und arbeitet mit Unternehmen unterschiedlichster Industriesektoren zusammen. Das Fraunhofer IGD hat neben dem Haupt­sitz in Darmstadt weitere Standorte in Rostock, Graz und Singapur. Es beschäftigt rund 180 (vollzeitäquivalente) feste Mitarbeite­r­innen und Mitarbeiter. Der Etat beträgt etwa 16 Millionen Euro.

Das Fraunhofer-Institut für Sichere Infor­­mationstechnologie SIT unterstützt Unter­­­nehmen und Organisationen bei der Ab­­­sich­­erung von Daten und IT-basierten Geräten, Netzen und Infrastrukturen. Ob Cloud Computing, sichere Software-Entwicklung oder mobile Sicherheit, für alle relevanten Technologiefelder entwickelt das Institut unmittelbar einsetzbare Sicherheitslösungen, die vollständig auf die Bedürfnisse der Auftraggeber ausgerichtet sind. Bekannt ist das Institut etwa für seine Arbeiten zu elektronischen Ausweisen sowie für seine Tests und IT-­Sicherheitsanalysen. Experten schätzen auch die Entwicklungen zum Schutz vor Produktpiraterie sowie die Entwicklungen zur automatisierten Betrugserkennung durch Analyse von Unternehmensdaten. Weit verbreitet sind die digitalen Wasser­­zeichen des Fraunhofer SIT, die bereits in diversen Downloadportalen, Hörbüchern und Archiven zum Urheberrechtsschutz verwendet werden und sowohl Videos, Fotos, PDFs als auch E-Books absichern können. Das Fraunhofer SIT ist auch am Europäischen Kompetenzzentrum für Security and Privacy by Design (EC-SPRIDE) beteiligt, das durch das Bundes­mini­sterium für Bildung und Forschung finanziert wird.

Fraunhofer_LBF_Modellregion_Pedelec_Hoehne_MG_5038

Darmstadt ist nicht nur ausgewiesene Wissenschaftsstadt, sondern auch der Geburtsort der Betriebsfestigkeit, der wissenschaftlichen Basis zur Prüfung und Bewertung aller sicherheitsrelevanten Konstruktionen und Bauteile, wie Auto­mobil­räder, Flugzeugflügel oder Wagen­­kästen von Schienenfahrzeugen. So fließen die Erkenntnisse des Fraunhofer-Instituts für Betriebsfestigkeit und System­zu­ver­lässigkeit LBF von hier aus in die Zu­­las­sungsbedingungen für Entwicklungen der deutschen, europäischen und amerikanischen Fahrzeug- und Flugzeugindustrie sowie ihrer Zulieferer ein. Das Fraunhofer LBF ist eines der traditionsreichsten Fraunhofer-Institute. Es verfügt über mehr als 70 Jahre Erfahrung in der Betriebs­fest­igkeit. Zu den Kernkompetenzen gehören heute auch die Systemzuverlässigkeit und die Adaptronik. Am Standort Kranich­stein realisiert ein Team von rund 350 Mit­­­arbeitern gemeinsam mit dem assozi­ier­ten TU-Fachgebiet System­zuverlässig­­keit und Maschinenakustik SzM maßgeschneiderte Lösungen für alle Sicher­heits­bauteile – vom Werkstoff bis zum System, von der Idee bis zum Produkt. Neben einer vielseitigen experimentellen Prüf- und Laborlandschaft auf über 17.000 Quadratmetern setzen sie auch eine vir­­tuelle Prüfumgebung ein und redu­­zieren so Entwicklungszeiten. Die Auftrag­­geber kommen aus den Branchen Auto­motive und Nutzfahrzeuge, Schienen­ver­­kehrs­technik, Schiffbau, Luft- und Raum­­fahrt, Maschinen- und Anlagenbau sowie Energie, Umwelt und Gesundheit. Zwei Aus­grün­­dungen aus dem Fraunhofer LBF, die ISYS Adaptive Solutions GmbH und die Stress & Strength GmbH, setzen erfolg­­reiche Forschungsleistungen in inno­­vative Produkte um und bieten diese dem Markt an.
Im Fraunhofer-Transferzentrum für Adap­tronik am Fraunhofer LBF können insbesondere kleine und mittelständische Unter­­nehmen (KMU) sowie Industrie­unter­nehmen durch themenspezifische For­schungs- und Entwicklungs­partner­schaf­ten von der Kompetenz des Fraun­hofer LBF und der Infrastruktur des Zen­­trums profitieren. Das Projekthaus ist mit mod­ernster schwingungstechnischer Mess-­­ und Fertigungstechnik für adaptronische Strukturlösungen sowie mit Testständen und IT-Technik ausgestattet. Die Bündelung von Adaptronik-Know-how in der Region wird auch durch den Auf­bau des Netz­werkes Rhein-Main Adap­tronik unterstützt.

Fraunhofer_LBF_GFZ_BMW_OKAY

Im Rahmen des hessischen Forschungs­förder­ungsprogramms „LOEWE – Landes-­Offensive zur Entwicklung Wissenschaft­lich-­ökonomischer Exzellenz“ hatten sich das Fraunhofer LBF und das Fraunhofer SIT 2008 gemeinsam mit der TU Darm­­stadt und der Hochschule Darmstadt mit zwei Anträgen für je ein LOEWE-Zen­trum erfolgreich durchgesetzt. Das LOEWE-­­Zentrum AdRIA (Adaptronik – Research, Innovation, Application) wird dabei im Rahmen der Landes-Offensive zur Ent­wick­lung Wissenschaftlich-öko­no­mi­­scher Exzellenz zunächst mit 17,7 Milli­­onen Euro gefördert. Mittelfristig sollen am Wissenschaftsstandort Darmstadt unter der Federführung des Fraunhofer LBF ein international führendes Forschungs­zen­­­­­trum für Adaptronik entstehen und die Forschungsschwerpunkte in der Adap­tronik an der Technischen Universität Darmstadt und an der Hochschule Darm­­­stadt verstetigt werden. Am LOEWE-Zen­­trum CASED (Center for Advanced Security Research Darmstadt) forschen Infor­ma­­tiker und Mathematiker des Fraun­­hofer SIT mit Juristen und Wirt­schafts­wissen­schaftlern sowie anderen Fachrichtungen unter einem Dach zur IT-Sicherheit.

Enge Verknüpfung zur Technischen Uni­­versität Darmstadt. Alle drei Fraunhofer-Institute unterhalten Lehrstühle an der TU Darmstadt. Das Wechselspiel zwischen der universitären Forschung und Lehre mit der angewandten Forschung bei Fraun­­hofer entfaltet riesige Potenziale entlang der gesamten Wertschöpfungskette und ist ein wesentlicher volkswirtschaftlicher Faktor. Der direkte Kontakt zum wissen­schaftlichen Nachwuchs und andererseits zum Arbeitgeber Fraunhofer bringen Gewinne für beide Seiten.

Fraunhofer_IGD_Echtzeitsimulation

Eine wichtige Facette des Technologie­transfers liegt auch in den Ausgründungen einer Universität. Sie sind ein idealer Beleg dafür, dass dieser immer bidirektional zu verstehen ist: Junge Unternehmen benötigen in der Start-up-Phase die be­­sondere Nähe zur Universität, was sich zum Beispiel in gegenseitigen Aufträgen niederschlagen kann. Andererseits kann die Wirtschaft für die Forscher bei der Identifikation zukünftiger Themen hilfreich sein und zahlreiche Ansatzpunkte geben. Diese frühzeitig erkannten Entwicklungen können für die Forschungsstrategie der TU Darmstadt genutzt werden.

LBF05_Prof.-Hanselka-46Der Autor ist Leiter des Fraunhofer-Instituts für Betriebsfestigkeit und Sys­tem­­­zuver­lässigkeit LBF, Mitglied im Präsidium der Fraunhofer-Gesell­­schaft sowie Koordi­nator und Spre­cher verschiedener Fraunhofer, Netzwerke. Er leitet das Fach­gebiet System­­­zuver­lässig­keit und Maschinenakustik SzM an der Technischen Universität Darmstadt und ist seit Januar 2011 Vizepräsident für Wissens- und Technologietransfer.