Prof. Dr. Helmut-Eberhard Paulus: Preserving and conveying a cultural heritage – the Thuringia Castle and Garden Foundation

Thuringia is extraordinarily rich in monuments to courtly culture. They reflect artistic and social ideals of various historic eras as the basis of their special ­fascination and attraction. To preserve them in future for the region and to ­present them beyond the borders of the state is the defining aim of the work of the Thuringia Castle and Garden Foundation.

The Thuringia Castle and Garden Foundation of the Free State of Thuringia, which was established in 1994, has 31 monumental ensembles and exemplifs the entire spectrum of the state’s history from the Middle Ages to the 20th century. Besides fortresses and ruined cloisters, the castles and their gardens form a special point of emphasis of which Thuringia possesses an unusual quantity. The “cheek-by-jowl” existence of several royal houses and frequent territorial divisions has left behind a large number of residences and summer lodges. As striking witnesses to Thuringia’s history, they characterise its cultural landscape to the present day. For centuries, the seats of power and the residential towns that grew up around them, were political, social and cultural centres. The still-extant variety of representative build­­ings, theatres, orchestras and museums is due to the tight network of minor territorial states in modern-day Thuringia.

In their high artistic quality and as the embodiment of architectural tradition and regional history, the castles and gardens are places of all-embracing education and culture, reference points of social identification and – not least – tourist destinations. Great residential castles such as Schloss Heidecks­­burg in Rudolstadt with their splendid structural works of art and the museums attributable to a princely passion for collecting, but also all commercial centres make it possible to understand in a true-to-life way what life at the court was like. The summer residences, away from the seats of government and power, combine the programmatic with dispersion – embodied par excellence in the Dornburg castles and gardens with their richness of style of several centuries.

For the historic monuments to fulfil their social function and be passed on to future generations, major efforts are necessary. Continual care of the artistic buildings and gardens is one of the main tasks of the Thuringia Castle and Garden Foundation. In the castles’ history, this means having to continue a traditional custom of preserving what has been passed down and sometimes continuing to correct mistakes from earlier work. If that succeeds, an experience of historic developments and contexts perceptible with all senses will become possible.

Beyond wear and tear and the need for restoration, the major problem buildings, whose long-term preservation must be ensured with extensive renovation projects, are also a constant worry. The reasons are as varied as the buildings themselves. In many cases, the castles have only been partially repaired since they were first built and, after several centuries, major repairs are now unavoidable. In many buildings, partial repairs have been thoughtlessly made, thereby causing long-term weakening in many places. In other cases, excessive structural overloading or stresses have been added, for example where storage depots have been erected in attics which cannot take the extra weight. This has been the case in many castles that have been used as museums since 1918. But wanton destruction in the past has also cast its long shadow into the present, such as at Schloss Schwarzburg, where the National Socialists began a radical conversion project in 1940, only to leave a structural ruin two years later – a heavy burden for one of Thuringia’s most historically significant castles.

The major renovation work, which often takes years, can only be tackled with the help of financial aid. The European Re­­gional Development Fund (ERDF) and various programmes of the German government have already made great pro­­gress, for example the total renovation of the Greiz Summer Palace and parts of the Greiz Princely Park or reinforcing Castle Schwarzburg. With a scheduled subsidy of 60 million euros for Castle Friedenstein and the Ducal Park in Gotha, the German government and the Free State of Thuringia recently made an important residential castle remarkably well-known outside Thuringia.

Once the renovation work is completed, it will benefit not only the continued existence of the buildings but also (directly) users and visitors. For example, the renovations to Castle Heldburg were a prerequisite for the construction of the German Castle Museum at Veste Heldburg, the first museum in Europe to provide an overview of this subject. And in 2018, the Ducal arms collection will be moved back to the renovated arsenal at Schloss Schwarzburg, which will mean the return of a unique group of castles and arms in German-speaking Europe. Both projects are of major significance for Thuringia as a centre of cultural worth and as a tourist destination.

But it is not enough to physically preserve these monuments. Only the experience of art and culture in historic rooms and gardens really passes on the courtly heritage. There is the brand “Treasure Vault of Thuringia”, which belongs to the tourist umbrella brand “Discover Thuringia”. In this case, the Thuringia Castle and Garden Foundation cooperates with the residence museums in Thuringia. Together, the content and offers are being prepared and marketed, such as the annual “Thuringia Castle Days”, which take place every Whitsunday and which are now becoming a visitor magnet. The Foundation also works closely with supporters’ organisations whose volunteer efforts are vital. Besides the seasonal openings and autumn symposium, the highlights in the Foundation’s own annual programme includes the Dornburg Castle Night. This festival, now a fixed series of events in Thuringia, with a variety of musical events and artistic performances, makes the idea of the princely summer residence in today’s culture come alive again for an August evening.

autorenbild_paulusProf.Dr. Helmut-Eberhard Paulus
After completing his university studies, including a doctorate, lawyer and art historian Pro­fessor Helmut-Eberhard Paulus worked initially at the Bavarian State Office of Preservation of Historical Monuments in Munich. He became a contract employee in 1981 and in 1986 be­came an official of the Monument Preservation Authority of the city of Regensburg, which he headed from 1987 to 1994. He was promoted Director of the Thuringia Castle and Garden Foundation based at Heidecksburg in Rudolstadt in 1994. Paulus has been an Honorary Professor at the Julius Maximilians University of Würzburg since 2010 and is a member of the Thuringia Historical Commission.

Prof. Dr. Helmut-Eberhard Paulus: Kulturerbe bewahren und vermitteln – Die Stiftung Thüringer Schlösser und Gärten

Thüringen ist außergewöhnlich reich an Denkmalen der höfischen Kultur. Sie spiegeln künstlerische und gesellschaftliche Ideale verschiedener historischer Epochen. Darin gründet ihre besondere Faszination und Anziehungskraft. Diese für die Region auch in Zukunft zu erhalten und über die Landesgrenzen hinaus zu präsentieren, ist bestimmendes Ziel für die Arbeit der Stiftung Thüringer Schlösser und Gärten.

31 Denkmalensembles gehören zum Bestand der 1994 vom Freistaat Thüringen errichteten Stiftung. Sie zeigen beispielhaft die ganze Bandbreite der Landesgeschichte vom Mittelalter bis in das 20. Jahrhundert. Neben Burgen und Klosterruinen bilden die Schlösser mit ihren Gärten einen besonderen Schwerpunkt, über die Thüringen in außergewöhnlicher Dichte verfügt. Das Nebeneinander mehrerer Fürstenhäuser und häufige Landestei­­­­lungen haben eine Vielzahl von Residenzen und Sommersitzen hinterlassen. Sie prägen als markante Zeugnisse der Landesge­­schichte die Thüringer Kulturlandschaft bis in die Gegenwart. Jahrhundertelang waren die Herrschaftssitze und die um sie ge­­wachsenen Residenzstädte politische, gesellschaftliche und kulturelle Zentren. Die noch heute bestehende Vielfalt an repräsentativen Bauwerken, Theatern, Orchestern und Museen ver­­dankt sich dem engen Netzwerk kleiner Territorialstaaten auf dem Gebiet des heutigen Thüringen.

In ihrer hohen künstlerischen Qualität und als Verkörperung baulicher Traditionen und regionaler Geschichte sind die Schlösser und Gärten Orte umfassender Bildung und Kultur, Bezugspunkte gesellschaftlicher Identifikation und nicht zuletzt touristische Ziele. Große Residenzschlösser wie Schloss Hei­­decks­­burg in Rudolstadt mit ihren prachtvollen Raum­­kunst­­werken und den auf fürstliche Sammelleidenschaft z­­u­­rück­­gehenden Museen, aber auch sämtlichen Wirt­schaft­s­­­­einrichtungen er­­mög­­lichen es, die höfische Lebenswelt auf lebendige Weise nach­­zuvollziehen. Die Lustschlösser abseits der Regie­rungs­­­­zentren verbinden Programma­­ti­­sches mit Zerstreuung – par excel­­lence umgesetzt in den Dornburger Schlössern und Gärten mit ihrem mehrere Jahrhunderte repräsentierenden Stilreichtum.

Damit die historischen Denkmale ihre gesellschaftliche Funktion erfüllen und an künftige Generationen weitergegeben werden können, sind große Anstrengungen notwendig. Die Bau- und Gartenkunstwerke kontinuierlich zu pflegen, gehört zu den zentralen Aufgaben der Stiftung Thüringer Schlösser und Gärten. Damit gilt es eine in der Geschichte der Schlösser über Jahrhunderte tradierte Gepflogenheit der Instandhaltung des Überlieferten fortzuführen, manchmal auch Fehler aus früheren Maßnahmen rückgängig zu machen. Gelingt das, wird ein mit allen Sinnen wahrnehmbares Erlebnis historischer Entwicklungen und Zusammenhänge möglich.

Jenseits von Abnutzung und Restaurierungsbedarf gibt es immer wieder auch die großen Sorgenkinder. Dann muss mit umfassenden Sanierungsprojekten der langfristige Erhalt gesichert werden. Die Gründe sind so vielfältig wie die Objekte selbst. In vielen Fällen wurden die Schlösser seit ihrer Er­­richtung nur mit Teilreparaturen bedacht, und nach mehreren Jahr­hun­­derten wird nun eine Gesamtsanierung unumgänglich. Mancher­­orts hat man unbedacht mit Veränderungen in die Bauwerke eingegriffen und damit langfristige Schwä­­chungen versursacht. Hinzu kommen oft Überlastungen, wenn beispiels­­weise Depots in Dachgeschossen eingerichtet wurden, die den Gewichten nicht gewachsen waren. Das ist bei den seit 1918 als Museen dienenden Schlössern vielfach der Fall. Aber auch mutwillige Zerstörungen in der Vergangenheit werfen manchmal lange Schatten bis in die Gegenwart, so etwa auf Schloss Schwarzburg, wo 1940 die Natio­­nalsozialisten einen radikalen Umbau begannen, um zwei Jahre später eine Bauruine zu hin­ter­­lassen – eine schwere Bürde für eine der ge­­schichtsträchtigsten Schlossanlagen Thüringens.

Die großen, oft Jahre in Anspruch nehmenden Sanierungs­­maß­­nahmen können nur mit Hilfe von Förderungen bewältigt werden. Der Europäische Fonds für Regionale Entwicklung (EFRE) und verschiedene Programme der Bundesrepublik Deutschland machten bereits große Fortschritte möglich, etwa die Gesamtsanierung des Sommerpalais Greiz mit Teilen des Fürstlich Greizer Parks oder bei der Sicherung von Schloss Schwarzburg. Jüngst haben sich der Bund und der Freistaat Thüringen mit einer vorgesehenen Förderung von 60 Millionen Euro für Schloss Friedenstein und den Herzoglichen Park in Gotha eindrucksvoll zu einem über die Grenzen Thüringens hinaus bedeutsamen Residenzschloss bekannt.

Sind die Sanierungen abgeschlossen, kommen sie nicht nur dem Fortbestand des Bauwerks, sondern auch ganz direkt den Nutzern und Besuchern zugute. Die Sanierung der Veste Heldburg beispielsweise war Voraussetzung für die Einrich­tung des Deutschen Burgenmuseums auf der Veste Heldburg, des ersten Überblicksmuseums zu diesem Thema in Europa. Und 2018 zieht auf Schloss Schwarzburg die fürstliche Waffe­n­samm­­lung wieder in das sanierte Zeughaus ein, womit ein im deutschsprachigen Raum einmaliges Ensemble von Bauwerk und Ausstattung wieder entsteht. Beide Projekte sind von großer Relevanz für den Freistaat Thüringen als Kulturstandort und Tourismusdestination.

Mit dem baulichen Erhalt der Denkmale ist es nicht getan. Erst das Erlebnis von Kunst und Kultur in historischen Räumen und Gärten bedeutet eine wirklich vitale Vermittlung des höfischen Erbes. Dafür gibt es die Marke „Schatzkammer Thüringen“, die zur touristischen Dachmarke „Thüringen entdecken“ gehört. Hier kooperiert die Stiftung Thüringer Schlösser und Gärten mit den Residenzmuseen Thüringens. Gemeinsam werden die Inhalte und Angebote erarbeitet und vermarktet, wie etwa die jährlich zu Pfingsten stattfindenden „Thüringer Schlössertage“, die sich inzwischen zu einem Besuchermagneten entwickeln. Darüber hinaus arbeitet die Stiftung eng mit Fördervereinen zusammen, deren ehrenamtliches Wirken unverzichtbar ist. Zu den Highlights im eigenen Jahresprogramm der Stiftung gehört neben Saison­­eröffnung und Herbstsymposion die Dornburger Schlössernacht. Das inzwischen im Thüringer Veranstaltungsreigen fest verankerte Fest mit großer musikalischer Vielfalt und künstlerischen Auftritten lässt für einen Augustabend die Idee der fürstlichen Sommerresidenz in der Gegenwartskultur lebendig werden.

autorenbild_paulusProf. Dr. Helmut-Eberhard Paulus
Nach Studium und Promotion arbeitete der Jurist und Kunsthistoriker am Bayerischen Landesamt für Denkmalpflege in München. 1981 wurde er freier Mit­arbeiter und 1986 Beamter der Denkmalschutzbehörde der Stadt Regensburg. Von 1987 bis 1994 leitete er diese Behörde. 1994 wurde er zum Direktor der Stiftung Thüringer Schlösser und Gärten mit Sitz auf Schloss Heidecksburg in Rudolstadt berufen. Seit 2010 ist Paulus Honorarprofessor der Julius-Maximilians-Universität Würzburg. Er gehört der Historischen Kommission für Thüringen an.