Prof. Dr. Heinz Riesenhuber: Promoting innovation in the social market economy free of ideology

Here in Germany, technological innovations ensure growth, jobs, prosperity and social peace. At the same time, they also help master the major challenges of the 21st century: climate change, energy shortage, demographic change, security of food supply in the world and peacekeeping.

 

Intelligent security systems, the latest technology for digital cameras, solar energy and wind energy plants – high tech made in Germany is conquering the world. We are the world’s export vice-champion of research-intensive goods. To retain this title, we must be one step ahead of our international competitors in future, be increasingly quicker and better and score points with constantly new high-tech products, processes and services and the outstanding skilled employees who develop them.

The competition is tough, especially from our classical technology competitors, the USA and Japan. But the booming emerging economies such as China are continuing to catch up with us.

Our prerequisites for success are good. We have an ex­­cellent research climate, a strong medium-sized econ­omy, an infrastructure which is the envy of the world, efficient and broadly based research and development promotion programmes and a very good education and training system.

But there are also challenges which we must address with our comprehensive high-tech and innovation strategy. We need to make the underlying legal and tax-related conditions innovation-friendlier, counter the lack of skilled employees, accelerate the implementation of research results in the markets, make Germany into a high-tech start-up country and use new technologies such as the internet, nanotechnology, energy technologies, biotechnology in a mission-oriented manner for important social aims so that “CO2-free cities”, “intelligent factories”, an independent and healthy life well into old age become reality in just a few years.

Promotion of innovation in this direction has its price. For example, Germany’s majority conservative government of 2006-2013 spent over 13 billion euros more on research and development and there will be another three billion euros by 2015. Expenditure on research in Germany has increased to about three per cent of GDP – currently about 80 billion euros – of which the private sector pays about two thirds.

However, to continue to be successful in the future it will not only be a matter of money. We must also free ourselves from those ideological ideas which used to in­­fluence the subsidisation of innovation, which still do today and which fuel fears of technology in Germany.

Example: the energy switch and the nuclear energy phase-out: One of the major advantages of nuclear power is the concentrated supply of CO2-free energy, which can largely be used safely with ultra-modern security technology, as the last few decades have shown. In major accidents such as at Chernobyl in 1986 and in Fuku­shima in 2011, the consequences are hardly controllable and threaten humans and the environment over large areas. Moreover, the removal problem remains unsolved. So all political parties in Germany realised relatively early that nuclear power could only ever be a form of transitional technology. The only bone of contention was: for how long?

While the first decision to phase out the use of nuclear power in Germany in 2000 and the beginning of promoting renewable energies was still ideologically based, we have, for the first time after Fukushima, presented a coherent and scientifically based plan for an energy ­switch for one of the biggest industrial countries in the world. However, here, too, we are faced to some extent with purely ideologically based barriers to implementation. This starts with the battle-cry “Not in my backyard”, over the necessary expansion of the electricity highway from Germany’s North Sea to the industrial regions in the south and is nowhere near stopping with the resistance against the equally necessary ending of the over-subsidisation of expensive solar energy and the protest against the essential exceptions to the EEC renewable energy surcharge for our export industry.

The energy-switch is a mammoth task for entire generations. It demands much from us all: costs and giving up vested interests. But it also offers great opportunities for an independent, environmentally friendly and affordable energy supply and for export opportunities for our companies which now lead the world markets in energy and environmental technology. If we can suc­cessfully use this great potential, we must remain ob­jective. The current reform of the German Renewable Energy Sources is an important step, which must be followed by more.

Example: fracking: To achieve a successful energy ­switch, we will – at least for a transitional period – also need new energy technologies which will open up new energy reserves. Once such technology might be fracking, in which natural gas reserves buried in deep layers of the earth are developed, as the USA has been successfully doing for several years. Of course, all risks must be reduced as far as possible so that humans and the environment suffer no harm. Here, too, only a scientifically and objectively-based procedure, which tests all opportunities and risks, will get us any further – but not an almost bitter and ideologically-coloured counter-­attack against fracking which hardly takes account of factual arguments.

Example: green genetic technology: Green genetic technology can help in a relatively short time to breed plants which supply tailor-made answers for all possible purposes. These include plants that can be cultivated in dry regions to help combat hunger in the world; industrial crops which will help make the production of chemicals environmentally friendlier, including bio-degradable packaging; energy plants for the bio-fuels sector, which are also opening up alternative sources of income for agriculture in Germany of all countries and which, in this case, do not – as in some other countries, unfortunately – compete with food production or lead to the destruction of near-natural areas or forests.

The example of green genetic engineering especially shows that it depends particularly on the right basic conditions for the use of new technologies because these often decide whether these technologies cause damage or are useful. Here, too, only a non-ideological and objective-scientifical approach can bring about the right decision. The German Genetic Engineering Act, which we approved in 1990 after a tough battle, its sub­se­quent amendments and our new national research and political strategy “BioÖkonomie” (BioEconomy) 2030 are a good basis for one day enabling us to – hopefully – make use of the potential of impartially green genetic engineering with all due care where it can be of use to us all.

Example: a national regulatory framework: Unfortu­nately, it is not always possible to call the national re­gulatory framework non-ideological. It has unfortunately one feature that all governments have appropriated since time immortal: the – sometimes excessive – wish for control. As a result, our innovative companies and tech­­nology start-ups in particular suffer from reform backlogs and bureaucratic straitjackets under a tax  regime that does not favour investment in innovation as it does in other countries. They also suffer from an education system that, in schools in particular, permits many – some­times ideologically based – experiments and trains too few scientific technical and commercially minded new blood – especially female ones. Over the last few years, we have been able to reduce the costs of bureaucracy by one quarter, i.e. by about 12 billion euros a year. But new costs in other quarters, a weak venture capital market compared to other countries, the lack of tax con­ces­sions for research and the arduous road to achieving uniform educational standards in Germany’s individual states show how far the road to really innovation-­friendly underlying conditions still is.

But in order to win the future, this is a road that we must go down. At the same time, we must remain flexible and open for new ideas and new networks which involve people more. We must take their needs and concerns very seriously, take an unblinkered, sober and non-ideological look at new technologies, carefully weigh up their opportunities and risks and openly discuss ethical limits, as we have successfully done since the 1970s with the scientific assessment of the consequences of technology, and then courageously and resolutely make the right decisions for efficiently subsidising innovation.

The author, born in Frankfurt am Main in 1935, is the Father of the House of the German Bundestag and was German Minister of Research in the cabinet of Helmut Kohl from 1982 to 1993. Heinz Riesenhuber has a doctorate in chemistry and is an honorary professor at the Johann Wolfgang Goethe University in Frankfurt am Main.

Only in this way can we unleash the innovative forces in Germany and initiate developments which, in spite of demographic change – as forecast by the latest Prognos Report – will lead us to the “Golden Twenties” and make our social market economy a model of success for the people in Germany and the whole world.

Prof. Dr. Heinz Riesenhuber: Innovation in der sozialen Marktwirtschaft ideologiefrei fördern

Technologische Innovationen sichern Wachstum, Arbeitsplätze, Wohlstand und sozialen Frieden bei uns im Land. Und helfen gleichzeitig dabei, die großen Herausforderungen des 21. Jahrhunderts zu meistern: Klimawandel, Energieverknappung, demografischer Wandel, Ernährungssicherung in der Welt, Friedenssicherung.

 

Intelligente Sicher­heits­­­systeme, neueste Tech­nik für Digitalkameras, Solar- und Windkraft­anlagen – Hightech made in Germany erobert die Welt. Wir sind Vizeexport­­weltmeister bei forschungsin­tensiven Gütern. Damit das auch so bleibt, müssen wir un­­seren Konkurrenten im weltweiten Innovationswettlauf auch künftig immer eine Nasenlänge voraus sein und immer schneller immer besser werden, mit immer neuen High­tech-Produkten, Verfahren und Dienstleistungen punkten, und mit hervorragenden Fachkräften, die sie entwickeln.

Die Konkurrenz ist groß, allen voran unsere klassischen Technologie-Mitbewerber USA und Japan. Aber auch auf­­strebende Schwellenländer wie China sind uns immer dichter auf den Fersen.

Unsere Voraussetzungen für den Erfolg sind gut. Wir haben eine hervorragende Forschungslandschaft, einen starken innovativen Mittelstand, eine Infrastruktur, um die uns die Welt beneidet, eine effiziente und breit auf­gestellte Forschungs- und Innovationsförderung und ein sehr gutes Ausbildungssystem.

Aber es gibt auch Herausforderungen, die wir mit unserer umfassenden Hightech- und Innovationstrategie adressieren. Wir wollen die rechtlichen und steuerlichen Rah­menbedingen innovationsfreundlicher gestalten, den Fach­kräftemangel beseitigen, die Umsetzung von Forschungs­ergebnissen in die Märkte beschleunigen, Deutschland zu einem High­­tech-Gründerland machen und neue Tech­nologien wie Internet, Nano­­technologie, Energietechno­logien, Biotechnologie missionsorientiert für wichtige gesellschaftliche Ziele einsetzen. So sollen zum Bei­­spiel die „CO2-freie Stadt“, die „Intelligente Fabrik“, das Selb­ständige und gesunde Leben bis ins hohe Alter schon in wenigen Jahren Wirklichkeit werden.

Innovationsförderung in diese Richtung hat ihren Preis. So hat die unionsgeführte Bundesregie­rung von 2006-2013 über 13 Milli­arden Euro mehr für Forschung und Entwicklung aus­­gegeben, und bis 2015 kommen weitere drei Milliarden Euro dazu. Die Forschungs­­ausgaben in Deutschland sind auf rund drei Prozent des BIP gestiegen, das sind aktuell rund 80 Milliarden Euro, davon zahlt die Wirtschaft rund zwei Drittel.

Um weiter erfolgreich zu sein, geht es aber nicht nur ums Geld. Wir müssen uns gerade auch von ideologischen Vor­­stellungen befreien, die in früheren Jahren und teilweise auch noch heute die Innovationsförderung beeinflussen und auch die Technikangst in Deutschland schüren.

Beispiel Energiewende und Atomausstieg: Einer der großen Vorteile der Atomkraft ist bis heute die konzentrierte CO2-freie Energieversorgung, die beim Einsatz hochmoderner Sicherheitstechnologien überwiegend sicher genutzt werden kann, wie die letzten Jahrzehnte gezeigt haben. Bei großen Unfällen wie 1986 in Tscher­­nobyl und 2011 in Fukushima sind die Folgen allerdings kaum beherrschbar und bedrohen Menschen und Umwelt über große Entfernungen hinweg. Nach wie vor ungelöst ist auch die Entsorgungsfrage. Schon relativ früh war des­­halb für alle politischen Parteien klar, dass die Atom­kraft nur eine Übergangstechnologie sein konnte – der Streit­punkt war nur: bis wann?

Waren der erste Atomausstiegsbeschluss in Deutschland im Jahr 2000 und der Einstieg in die Förderung von erneuerbaren Energien noch eher ideologisch begründet, haben wir nach Fukushima erstmals ein schlüssiges und wissenschaftlich fundiertes Energiewendekon­zept für eins der größten Industrieländer der Welt vorgelegt. Aber auch hier stehen wir vor teilweise rein ideologisch begründeten Schranken bei der Umsetzung. Das fängt an beim – fast kann man schon sagen – Schlachtruf „Not over my backyard“ beim notwendigen Ausbau der Strom­­highways von der Nordseeküste bis zu den Industrie­zonen im Süden und hört mit dem Widerstand gegen den notwendigen Abbau der Überförderung des teuren Solarstroms und dem Protest gegen die notwendigen Ausnahmen bei der EEG-Umlage für unsere Exportindus­trie noch lange nicht auf.

Die Energiewende ist eine Mammutaufgabe für ganze Generationen. Sie verlangt uns allen viel ab, an Kosten, an der Aufgabe von Besitzständen. Aber sie bietet auch große Chancen für eine unabhängige, umweltfreundliche und bezahlbare Energieversorgung und für die Export­chancen unserer Unternehmen, die in der Energie- und Umwelttechnik schon jetzt mit führend auf den Welt­märkten sind. Wenn wir dieses große Potenzial erfolgreich nutzen wollen, müssen wir sachlich bleiben. Die aktuelle Reform des erneuerbare-Energien-Gesetzes ist ein wichtiger Schritt, dem noch weitere folgen müssen.

Beispiel Fracking: Für eine erfolgreiche Energiewende brauchen wir zumindest für eine Übergangszeit auch neue Energietechnologien, die neue Energiereserven er­­schließen können. Eine solche Technologie könnte auch das Fracking sein, bei dem Erdgasvorräte in tieferen Boden­­schichten erschlossen werden, wie dies die USA seit einigen Jahren erfolgreich tun. Natürlich müssen dabei alle Risiken so weit minimiert werden, dass Mensch und Umwelt keinen Schaden nehmen. Auch hier bringt uns nur eine wissenschaftlich und sachlich fundierte Vorgehensweise weiter, die alle Chancen und Risiken austestet – nicht aber eine fast schon erbitterte und ideologisch gefärbte Gegenwehr gegen Fracking, die Sachargumente kaum zur Kenntnis nimmt.

Beispiel Grüne Gentechnologie: Die Grüne Gentechnik kann dazu beitragen, in relativ kurzer Zeit Pflanzen zu züchten, die passgenaue Antworten für alle möglichen Zwecke lie­­fern: Pflanzen für den Anbau in trockenen Ge­­bieten, die helfen, den Hunger in der Welt zu bekämpfen. Industrie­pflanzen, die helfen, die Chemieproduktion um­­weltfreund­licher zu machen, einschließlich biologisch abbaubarer Verpackungen. Energiepflanzen für die Bio­­spritbranche, die gerade in Deutschland auch alternative Einkommens­quellen für die Landwirtschaft erschließen und hier nicht – wie leider in manchen anderen Ländern – in Konkurrenz zur Nahrungsmittelproduktion stehen oder zur Zerstörung naturnaher Flächen oder Wälder führen.

Gerade das Beispiel Grüne Gentechnik zeigt, dass es be­­sonders auf die richtigen Rahmenbedingungen für den Einsatz neuer Technologien ankommt, denn sie entscheiden oft über Schaden oder Nutzen dieser Technologien. Auch hier kann also nur eine ideologiefreie und sachlich-­wissenschaftlich-fundierte Herangehensweise die richtigen Entscheidungen herbeiführen. Das Gentechnikge­setz, das wir 1990 nach zähem Ringen verabschiedet haben, die nachfolgenden Novellierungen und unsere neue nationale Forschungs- und Politikstrategie BioÖko­­nomie 2030 sind eine gute Grundlage dafür, dass wir eines Tages hoffentlich auch die Potenziale der Grünen Gentechnik vorurteilsfrei und mit aller gebotenen Vorsicht dort einsetzen können, wo sie für uns alle nützlich ist.

Beispiel staatliche Rahmenbedingungen: Leider kann man auch die staatlichen Rahmenbedingungen für Inno­­vationen nicht immer ideologiefrei nennen. Denn eins ist leider allen Regierungen seit jeher zu eigen: der zum Teil übermäßige Wunsch nach Kontrolle. So leiden gerade unsere innovativen Unternehmen und Technologiegrün­der unter Reformstau und Bürokratiezwängen, unter einem Steuerrecht, das Investitionen in Innovationen im Gegensatz zu anderen Ländern nicht begünstigt, und unter einem Bildungssystem, das gerade im schulischen Bereich viele – teilweise ideologisch begründete – Ex­­perimente zulässt und zu wenig naturwissenschaftlich-­technischen und wirtschaftlich denkenden Nachwuchs ausbildet, insbesondere weiblichen. Die Bürokratiekosten konnten wir zwar in den letzten Jahren um ein Viertel, das heißt rund 12 Milliarden Euro jährlich verringern. Aber neue Kosten an anderer Stelle, ein im internationalen Vergleich schwacher Wagniskapitalmarkt, die fehlende steuerliche Forschungsförderung und der mühsame Weg zu einheitlichen Bildungsstandards in den Ländern zeigen, wie weit unser Weg zu wirklich innovationsfreundlichen Rahmenbedingungen noch ist.

Aber diesen Weg müssen wir gehen, um die Zukunft zu gewinnen. Dabei müssen wir flexibel und offen für Neues bleiben, neue Netzwerke knüpfen, die Bürgerinnen und Bürger besser einbinden und ihre Bedürfnisse und Sorgen sehr ernst nehmen, neue Technologien ohne Scheuklap­pen, nüchtern und ideologiefrei betrachten, ihre Chancen und Risiken sorgfältig abwägen und offen über ethische Grenzen diskutieren, wie wir dies seit den 70er Jahren mit der wissenschaftlichen Technikfolgenabschätzung immer wieder erfolgreich getan haben – und dann mutig und konsequent die richtigen politischen Weichen für eine effiziente Innovationsförderung stellen.

Der 1935 in Frankfurt am Main geborene Autor ist Alterspräsident des Deutschen Bundestages und war von 1982 bis 1993 Bundesforschungsminister im Kabinett Helmut Kohl. Heinz Riesenhuber ist promovierter Chemiker und Honorarprofessor an der Johann Wolfgang Goethe-Universität in Frankfurt am Main.

Nur so können wir die Innovationskräfte in unserem Land entfesseln und Entwicklungen anstoßen, die uns trotz demografischem Wandel in – wie der jüngste Prognos-Report prophezeit – „Goldene Zwanziger Jahre“ führen und unsere soziale Marktwirtschaft auch künftig zum Erfolgsmodell für die Menschen in Deutschland und für die ganze Welt machen.