Prof. Dr. Hans-Peter Seidel: Start into a knowledge-based society

More cutting-edge research in Ger­­ma­­ny should facilitate the Excellence Initiative of the federal government and federal states in the coming years. Funds of 1.9 billion euros are available for this na­­tion­­wide until 2012 – financial means that should contribute to improving the international competitiveness of German colleges.

In a multistage process, the international group of experts summoned by the German Research Foun­­dation (Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft DFG) awarded the contract at Saarland Uni­­versity as well as the request for a Cluster of Excellence to the theme “Multimodal Computing and Inter­­ac­­tion” and also the concept of an international graduate school for computing sciences in 2007.

pinkal_forschung (2)

Together, both establishments shall be funded for this with around 40 mil­­lion euros by the federal government and states over the coming five years.

Start into a knowledge-based society
The starting point of the Cluster of Ex­­cellence is the observation that our liv­­ing and working conditions have dramatically changed over the past three decades – commonly described as the start into a knowledge-based society. To­­day, digital content is om­­ni­present. Ten years ago, such content generally consisted of text; today it is expanded as audio, video and graphics. It has be­­­­come a challenge to or­­ganize this multi­­modal information in a robust, efficient and intelligent manner, to understand and to in­­vestigate as well as to create re­­liable systems with intuitive multimodal in­­teraction opportunities.

The “Multimodal Computing and In­­teraction” Cluster of Excellence rises to this challenge. In this counted, the term “multimodal” describes various types of information such as text, language, pictures, video, graphics and high di­­mensional data as well as also types of perception and communication – par­­ticularly through seeing, listening and human expression.

Multimodal processing and interaction
Day-to-day interpersonal communica­­tion is based on a number of different modalities (language, mimic, gesture and so forth). The first research aim is a similar natural multimodal interaction with information systems, anywhere and at any time. The systems must consider the environmental context, react to language, text and gestures and reply with language, text, video, virtual representation or by means of virtual characters.

The second research aim is to im­­prove the abilities of computer systems to record, process and present data of completely different modalities efficiently and robustly. Also large, divid­­ed, noisy and incomplete multimodal data should be analyzed and interpret­­ed; the recorded knowledge should be prepared and visualized in real-time. We call this multimodal pro­cess­­ing.

pinkal_forschung

Participating in the Cluster of Ex­­cel­lence are computer scientists, comput­­er linguists, linguists, phoneticians, bioinfor­­maticians, and also psychologists and sociologists. The Cluster is organized into nine re­­search areas.
Four of these (Text and Speech Pro­­cess­­­ing, Visual Computing, Algorithmic Foun­­­­da­­tions and Secure Autonomous Net­­worked Systems) are more basis-ori­­ent­­ed, while the other five (Open Science Web, In­­for­­­­ma­­tion Pro­­cessing in the Life Sciences, Large-Scale Virtual Environ­­ments, Synthetic Virtual Characters and Multimodal Dia­­lo­­gue Systems) are more strongly oriented to application. The cluster en­­co­­m­­pass­­es the leading German faculties for com­­pu­­ter sci­­enc­­es and com­­­pu­ta­­ti­­onal linguistics and phonetics of Saar­­­­land University, the Max Planck In­­s­­ti­­tute for Computer Sci­­ence, the Ger­­­­man Research Center for Artificial In­­telli­­gence as well as the newly-founded Max Planck Institute for Software Sys­­tems. A central aim of the cluster is the qualification and promo­­tion of the younger generation of scientists. The predominant part of the re­­quested means is therefore foreseen for the establishment of 20 junior groups. The engaged institutes have agreed upon a joint long-term research programme that forms the foundation of this venture.

 

AutorbildProf. Dr. Hans-Peter Seidel has been scientific director at the Max Planck Institute for Computer Science since 1999 as well as professor at Saarland University. He has been spokesman of the Excellence Cluster “Multimodal Com­­puting and Interaction” since 2007. In 2003, Seidel was awarded the Leibniz Prize by the German Research Foun­­dation (DFG) for his scientific performance.

Prof. Dr. Hans-Peter Seidel: Aufbruch in die Wissensgesellschaft

Mehr Spitzenforschung in Deutschland will die Exzellenzinitiative von Bund und Län­­dern in den kommenden Jahren er­­­­mög­­lichen. 1,9 Milli­­ar­­den Euro För­­der­­gel­­d­­er steh­­en dafür bundesweit bis 2012 zur Verfügung – Mittel, die dazu beitragen sol­­len, die internationale Wett­­be­­werbs­­­fäh­­ig­­keit der deutschen Hoch­­schu­­­­len deutlich zu ver­­bes­­sern.

In einem mehrstufigen Verfahren hat das von der Deutschen For­­schungs­­ge­­mein­­schaft (DFG) einberufene internationale Gutachtergremium 2007 an der Uni­­ver­­si­­tät des Saarlandes sowohl dem Antrag auf ein Exzellenzcluster zum Thema „Mul­­timodal Computing and In­­teraction“ als auch dem Konzept einer internatio­­na­­len Graduiertenschule für Informatik den Zu­­schlag erteilt.
Zusammen werden die bei­­den Ein­­rich­­tun­­gen von Bund und Län­­dern damit für die kommenden fünf Jahre mit rund 40 Mil­­lionen Euro gefördert.

pinkal_forschung (2)

Aufbruch in die Wissensgesellschaft
Ausgangspunkt des Exzellenzclusters ist die Beobachtung, dass sich unsere Le­­bens- und Arbeitsumstände in den letzten drei Jahrzehnten dramatisch ver­­­­än­­dert haben – gemeinhin beschrieben als Auf­­bruch in die Wis­­sen­­s­­ge­­sell­­schaft. Digi­­tale Inhalte sind heute allge­­gen­­wär­­tig. Vor zehn Jahren bestanden solche Inhal­­te überwiegend aus Text, heute sind sie erweitert um Audio, Vi­­deo und Grafik. Als Heraus­­for­­derung ergibt sich, diese mul­­timodale In­­­­for­­ma­­tion auf ro­­buste, effiziente und in­­tel­­li­­gente Weise zu or­­ga­­nisieren, zu verstehen und zu durchsuchen sowie zuverlässige Sys­­te­­me mit intuitiven multimodalen Inter­ak­­tions­­mög­­lichkeiten zu schaffen.

Der Exzellenzcluster „Multimodal Com­­puting and Interaction“ stellt sich die­­ser Herausforderung. Hierbei bezeichnet der Begriff „multimodal“ sowohl die unterschiedlichen Arten von Infor­­ma­tion wie Text, Sprache, Bilder, Vi­­deo, Grafik und hochdimensionale Daten wie auch die Art der Wahr­­neh­­mung und Kom­­mu­­ni­­kation, insbesondere durch Seh­en, Hö­­ren und menschlichen Aus­­druck.

Multimodale Verarbeitung und Interaktion
Die tägliche zwischenmenschliche Kom­­mu­­nikation beruht auf einer Vielzahl un­­­­terschiedlicher Modalitäten (Sprache, Mimik, Gestik und so weiter). Erstes For­­schungsziel ist eine ähnliche natürliche multimodale Interaktion mit Infor­­ma­­tions­­systemen, und zwar überall und zu jeder Zeit. Die Systeme müssen den Umgebungskontext berücksichtigen, auf Sprache, Text und Gesten reagieren und mit Sprache, Text, Video, virtuellen Dar­­stellungen oder mittels virtueller Cha­­rak­­tere antworten.

pinkal_forschung

Zweites Forschungsziel ist es, die Fäh­­ig­­keiten von Computersystemen zu verbessern, Daten ganz unterschiedlicher Modalitäten effizient und robust zu er­­fassen, zu verarbeiten und darzustellen. Auch große, verteilte, verrauschte und un­­vollständige multimodale Daten sollen analysiert und interpretiert werden; das erfasste Wissen soll aufbereitet und in Echtzeit visualisiert werden. Wir be­­zeich­­nen dies als multimodale Ver­­ar­­beitung.

An dem Exzellenzcluster sind Infor­­ma­­ti­­ker, Computerlinguisten, Linguisten, Pho­­ne­­ti­­ker, Bioinformatiker, ferner auch Psy­­cho­­­­logen und Soziologen, beteiligt. Der Cluster gliedert sich in neun For­­schungs­­gebiete.
Vier davon (Text and Speech Pro­­cess­­ing, Visual Computing, Algorithmic Foun­­da­­tions, Secure Autonomous Net­­worked Sys­­­­tems) sind stärker grundlagenorientiert, während die anderen fünf (Open Science Web, In­­formation Processing in the Life Sciences, Large-Scale Virtual Envi­­ron­­ments, Syn­­the­­tic Virtual Characters, Mul­­ti­­­­­­modal Dia­­logue Systems) sich stärker an An­­wen­­dun­­gen orientieren. Der Cluster um­­fasst die führenden deutschen Fach­­be­­rei­­che für In­­for­­matik beziehungsweise Com­­­­pu­­ter­­lin­­gu­­is­­tik und Phonetik der Uni­­­­­­ver­­si­­tät des Saar­­lan­­des, das Max-Planck­­­­­In­­sti­­tut für Infor­­ma­­tik, das Deutsche For­­­­­schungs­­zen­­trum für Künstliche In­­telli­­­­genz sowie das neu gegründete Max-Planck-Institut für Soft­­ware­­sys­­teme. Ein zentrales Ziel des Clusters ist die Quali­­fi­­kation und För­­der­­ung des wissenschaft­­lichen Nach­wuch­­ses. Der überwiegende Teil der be­­antragten Mittel ist deshalb für die Ein­­richtung von 20 Nach­­wuchs­­grup­­pen vor­­gesehen. Die be­­teiligten Ein­­rich­­tun­­gen haben sich auf ein gemeinsames und langfristiges For­­schungsprogramm ver­­ständigt, das die Grundlage dieses Vor­­habens bildet.

AutorbildProf. Dr. Hans-Peter Seidel ist seit 1999 wissenschaftlicher Direktor am Max-Planck-Institut für Informatik sowie Pro­fessor an der Universität des Saar­­lan­­des. Seit 2007 ist er Sprecher des Ex­­zellenz­­clusters „Multimodal Com­­put­ing and Interaction“. Für seine wissenschaft­­lichen Leistungen wurde Prof. Dr. Hans-Peter Seidel 2003 von der Deutschen For­­schungs­­­ge­­mein­schaft (DFG) mit dem Leibniz-Preis aus­gezeichnet.